Recent Searches

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Ghosts of Georgetown Walking Tour

Washington, United States

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Discover the hidden history and local legends of Georgetown on a 3-hour ghost tour. Today the upscale area is bustling with tourists, but it also has a darker past. Learn about supernatural occurrences and listen to true crime stories as you traverse the cemeteries, churches, and alleys of the city’s oldest neighborhood.
  • See Georgetown without the tourist crowds
  • Enjoy an offbeat nighttime tour with friends
  • Listen to spooky stories about the neighborhood
  • Visit locations with reported hauntings
Licensed Guide
Pick up/ Drop off

Departure Point

Old Stone House, 3051 M St NW, Washington, DC 20007, USA

Departure Time

8:00 PM

Return Details

The Exorcist Stairs, 3535 Prospect St NW, Washington, DC 20007, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Visit DC Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the maximum group size during Ghosts of Georgetown Walking Tour?
This activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Ghosts of Georgetown Walking Tour.

Traveler Tips

  • "This problem is easy to solve; make sure that someone from Viator stands at the previously agreed place near the bridge and then walk to the new one at the old stone house." See review


13 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-6 of 13 reviews
Georgetown ghost tour family friendly.
, Jul 2020
My family and I enjoyed our tour with Melissa. She gave us unique facts and I also really enjoyed strolling in Georgetown (M street and neighborhood).
Spooky Walk Through Time
, Mar 2020
My wife and I took the Georgetown Ghost tour this past Saturday and had a really great time. Our guide was fantastic! Really friendly and knowledgeable, she gave us some great stories about the neighborhoods. The walk through the historic Georgetown homes was peaceful and pleasant. I was really impressed with the level of detail. We got to hear awesome, spooky stories about historical figures while standing outside their actual homes. It really felt like being part of history. The tour takes place in the dark, but thanks to streetlights you get to see some impressive homes and buildings, and the tour doesn't move so fast that you can't take some great pictures. Overall the tour was really informative and entertaining - we had a great time!
A good mix of spooky and historic
, Mar 2020
My husband and I took a Ghosts of Georgetown tour with Meghan on Saturday night and it was fantastic. It was fairly easy to get to the start area via Metro and Circulator bus, and then our guide met us with a smile and kindly pointed out a public restroom so that we wouldn't be stranded later in the tour with no facilities. We waited about 10 minutes for latecomers but it gave us a chance for some fun photos at the Old Stone House of Georgetown - which is actually a part of the National Parks Service. The tour was not graphic, but plenty spooky - and gave us a lot of 'city folklore' contextualized with backed-up facts of some crazy and macabre stories of this DC neighborhood. It was easy for a walking tour - there was a slight uphill walk at the beginning but mild from then on (though the cobblestone could be ugh for high-heels).  We have lived in DC for almost 2 years but had not explored much of Georgetown; thankfully this tour gave us a great overview of the area with some dark moments in history from the 1800's on through to recent years. Our guide entertained us with several accounts of curious incidents, and I've since consulted the internet for even more detail (though she gave plenty)! She ended with very helpful insights for food and nightlife and directions to transit. We ended our night with a Thai restaurant on M street talking over how much we enjoyed the tour. Thanks for a great date night!
A ghastly ghost tour
, Mar 2020
Our host shared some interesting history about Georgetown and those that have lived there. It was more of a walking tour of interesting facts....not really a ghost walk. Our tour guide was really trying, but just not a storyteller. The entertainment value was missing. He was very long winded. He had a hard time getting to the actual point of his stories... the ghosts. Several of the stops had no ghosts at all in the stories. Overall, it was disappointing.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on the tour. I'm sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations of a ghost tour. We do advertise this tour as a mix of history, humor and haunts. We try to set our tours apart from made up stories told by actors, as we are historians and share true (or as true as they believed in the 19th c) stories, however we do want all our guides to be able to deliver those stories well. We only know how to improve with feedback from guests so your constructive comments will help us ensure that future guests have a better experience with our guides. I hope you enjoyed your visit to DC nonetheless.
Had a great time!
, Nov 2019
Lots of fun facts and trivia -- enjoyable and knowledgeable tour guide! Not too long or difficult to walk.
Almost missed the tour! (But it was fun)
, Jun 2019
The tour with Erin was informative and fun, but it was less fun that the guide was not at the agreed place near the bridge. We almost missed the tour! You sent me an email a day in advance, but people on vacation don't all have access to their email. You should take that into account. This problem is easy to solve; make sure that someone from Viator stands at the previously agreed place near the bridge and then walk to the new one at the old stone house.

Product code: 41376P13

Explore Similar Things to Do