Recent Searches
Clear

We’re committed to helping you feel confident as you get back out there. Check out our flexible cancellation policies and learn what steps operators are taking to keep you safe. As conditions evolve, check local regulations for the latest information.

Read More

Sunset Dolphin Kayak Tours

star-4.5
|
Virginia Beach, United States
2

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Watch the sun set over Chesapeake Bay on a 2-hour, small-group dolphin tour by kayak from Virginia Beach. Paddle along the coast as you spot Atlantic bottlenose dolphins, and see the Cape Henry Lighthouses and Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel from the water.
  • 2-hour kayak tour from Virginia Beach
  • See native dolphins in their own habitat
  • Paddle to Cape Henry Lighthouses
  • Perfect for all ages and skill level
  • Small-group tour
  • All necessary equipment included
Make your way to First Landing State Park where this tour begins, and start by getting fitted with an easy-to-use, sit-on-top kayak. The boats are well suited to even beginning boaters, and after a short briefing on kayak safety and technique, you'll be ready to launch your kayak into the Chesapeake Bay.

Follow a route along the shoreline that’s especially good for sighting dolphins, which travel along the coast in small pods. Enjoy the cooler temperatures of the early evening, and spot some of the diverse seabirds that thrive in the Chesapeake Bay.

Paddle as far as the Cape Henry Lighthouses, a pair of historic signal lights that guide vessels into the Chesapeake Bay. See the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel light up in the evening sun as you make the return trip to the beach at First Landing State Park, and pause to photograph the coast in the warm, evening light. This 2-hour kayak tour concludes at First Landing State Park.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
First Landing State Park
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Cape Henry Lighthouse
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Chesapean Outdoors
Admission Ticket Free
The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Sunset Dolphin Kayak Tours?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Sunset Dolphin Kayak Tours.

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
58 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
star-5
Adventure yak
Amanda_M
, Jul 2020
Such an awesome experience! Both the guides, Matt and Matt (ha) were knowledgeable and easy going. They made it a point to talk to everyone once we were out on the water. The kayaking itself was awesome, we weren’t able to have a full tour due to a storm that moved in pretty fast, but the way in with the storm at our backs and the waves pushing us towards shore was just the adventure my partner and I were looking for ! Highly recommend if you enjoy beautiful sunset views and adventure.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Thank you so much!!!!
star-5
Sunset
Kyra_L
, Jul 2020
We were running late they were considerate and even had a guide wait for us. Every person we had talked to was so kind. Brenden our guide was amazing! Unfortunately we didn’t see dolphins but I would recommend.
star-5
Great time
Nathan_W
, Jul 2020
Beautiful trip to see dolphins, one even bumped our kayak for a close encounter! It was awesome, the guides we're very knowledgeable and friendly.
star-3
I dont recommend
Charlene_R
, Jun 2020
We never saw one dolphin, which sucks, u pay all that money and get your hopes up. Also leaving a 3 star bc, I was told parking was 5.00, not 10.00 when we got there. That was not fair to treat your first time customers like this.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Hi Charlene! We are so sorry your tour did not see dolphins- that is a total bummer! We don’t advertise it as a guarantee and being that dolphins are wild animals we can’t control them! In regards to the state park increasing their pricing for parking- we apologize. We hope your guide was professional and that you were able to enjoy the kayaking aspect of the tour.
star-2
Trip was cancelled
Departure437252
, Aug 2019
Due to a storm likely in the area, the guide called and cancelled the trip. Hoping to get refunded!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
If the tour is cancelled due to inclement weather we always provide refund.
star-1
A very scary kayak tour
Melikean J
, Aug 2019
We had to wait over an hour for our tour to begin because of some people being late and a couple of storms rolling in. Our 2 guides (which were wonderful) let us know that they didn't want to put any of us in danger with a possible thunder and lightening storm all around us. They did cancel the tour after an hour of being on the water. Several of us were a bit scared and couldn't really enjoy the tour. I did get a partial refund but should have been refunded all my money.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
The delay for launching the tour was because of the potential for storms not because people were late. We deal with the challenges of weather on a daily basis and have been for over 20 years. We always put the customers safety first and on this night we cancelled mid way through the tour to ensure the safety of our guides and customers due to the storms direction and proximity. We cannot control the weather and sometimes we have to take action on the water. As far as the refund is concerned the customer did over an hour on the water and saw dolphins. If they felt unhappy with the partial refund they could have called us to express that to see what could be done rather than simply giving us a sub-standard review.
star-5
A Beautiful Workout!
72theresas
, Aug 2019
Carson and David our tour guides were very attentive and friendly. We lucked out with great weather , saw plenty of dolphins and to top the night off a orange glow sunset. Would recommend but if you are older or out of shape don't attempt. Overheard an older couple saying it was too much, they didn't seem happy at the end.
star-4
Beautiful views if willing to put in the work
cgreisen2019
, Jul 2019
Stunning view but lots of work. Staff was wonderful. They were patient with newbies and really worked hard to help us find dolphins. They also took our photos in the kayaks and at sunset at no additional charge.
star-5
Had an awesome time ! The guides...
Maureen M
, Aug 2017
Had an awesome time ! The guides were helpful, offering pointers along the way and they kept a close eye on everyone making sure no one was too far behind. We unfortunately didn't get to see any dolphins, but the sunset did not disappoint!
star-5
Awesome kayak trip. The owners and...
Lynn R
, Jul 2017
Awesome kayak trip. The owners and employees are just great. My family includes two visually impaired teenagers, Chet and Frazier were so patient and helpful. We saw many dolphin and a lovely sunset. Thank you so much!

Product code: 31434P5

Explore Similar Things to Do