Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques

star-3.5
|
Vieques, Puerto Rico

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Loading available options...


icon1 hour  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Paddle through the waters of the BioBay, a luminescent bay outside of Vieques, on this nighttime kayaking tour. With provided kayaking equipment and instruction, simply follow your guide through the florescent waters and and learn about this natural phenomenon. Choose between an early or late evening tour; note that you must stay overnight on Vieques Island (not included).
  • Nighttime kayaking tour on the Vieques BioBay
  • All kayaking equipment and instruction included
  • Learn about the luminescent phenomenon of the bay through a guide's commentary
  • Round-trip transportation from a central Vieques meeting point
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Tour escort/host
Local guide
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

Trade Winds Guest House and Gift Shop, 107 Calle Flamboyan, Vieques, 00765, Puerto Rico

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Children from age 4 to 5 are free
  • Not recommended for child aged 3 and under
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Does not operate on days surrounding a full moon (before and after)
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Travesias

All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques?
A:
The policy on sanitization is:

  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "You will have to go barefoot after the bus and it is very dark but Ramon signals to the group with a head lamp or you can call out and he will call you over." See review
  • "Kayaking at night in pitch darkness is an experience in itself and the Bio Bay is just a cherry on top!" See review

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
71 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 71 reviews
star-5
Best BioBay tour in Vieques
VarunV
, Mar 2020
We loved this tour. This was the best thing that we did on Vieques. Our tour operator was very sensitive to our needs and provided proper gear, training and guided us throughout the tour. Once we reached the bay, he gave us a great narration on how the phenomenon of bio luminescence worked. I would highly recommend this tour and this tour operator to those wanting to do it in Vieques.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
On time, barefoot, and amazed
Gordon_L
, Feb 2020
Before embarking on this adventure I was nervous because previous reviews referred to a timeliness issue. There were NO such issues. And the evening with the new moon was the PERFECT night to go. We even saw a shooting star. Our guide, Ramon and Amelia (I think) were there 15 minutes before meeting time. Our names were checked off and we rode a comfortable, air conditioned, clean bus to an incredibly rustic road, which is uneven terrain (ALL TOURS WOULD BE ON THE ROAD, so there’s no way around this feature), but it is part of the adventure. You will have to go barefoot after the bus and it is very dark but Ramon signals to the group with a head lamp or you can call out and he will call you over. I recommend laying back in the kayak to view stars when the group is all together and Ramon is showing some constellations. Of course, you want to try for a clear moonless night. You will still see plenty of lights in the water even if there are no stars because the bay is full of fish that swim around carrying the glowing plankton. The beauty of the water and the glowing plankton should not be missed.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
No refunds offered. Ensure proper planning.
amaliamendes
, Jan 2020
I booked my tour through Viator. It is recommended to book tours in advance as they fill up pretty quickly. This costs about $113 for two persons. The ferry to Viquies is tricky and is dependent on weather conditions. The tickets for the ferry cost $10 and needs to be prebooked. We tried calling the ferry 3 hours before departure time and there was no response. Once we reached the ferry, they decided to cancel it due to rough weather. I tried calling the tour company but couldn’t get through via phone. We communicated through sms and I was told I would receive a refund for the tour. Fast forward three days, I receive an email from Viator saying that the tour company said they couldn’t refund the amount but were willing to change the dates. It would have been great if the tour company and the ferry coordinated as you lose out if the ferry cancels. I really wish I had the opportunity to go back and do this but there are a couple of recommendations- 1. Although you are told to book in advance, make sure you have a flexible time period as the ferry doesn’t always depart or return as expected. 2. I disputed the payment with my bank and got a full refund back. 3. If you don’t have sufficient time to travel to Viquies, you can head over (drive) to the tour offered in Fajardo or Lajas instead of depending on the ferry.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
bad review , because no refunds? OMG , let me write tripadvisor, because , this is nothing related with the tour. When you book a flight and you do not go to the flight, do you got a refund? When you get a concert ticket , and you do not go to the concert, do you get a refund?
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Must go when in Vieques
erincardona
, Jan 2020
The guide was cool and the bay was beautiful! It was a once in a lifetime experience and I would definitely recommend it... especially on a new moon.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Absolutely stunning!!
Curiosity644540
, Nov 2019
Definitely recommend this tour. Guide was well aware and educated us about the phenomenon. The other helper guides was also very friendly. Our guide also dropped us back home as it was late in night.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
A little disappointing
sbtbless
, Oct 2019
Not enough accurate information about how the night would go and the time and location of the meet up. Too many people and w/2 year old babies. Control and information lacking. Not worth the money.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
its a cheat, there was no Bioluminiscence
Francisco R
, Sep 2019
The tour guide was exceptional, but the trip was bad, we just do a large and boring trip just for nothing, the bioluminescence is seasonal and in September you never will see bioluminescence
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
DO NOT TAKE THIS "TOUR"!!!
ilovespring2019
, Aug 2019
Completely false advertising! We met the tour guide who never even asked our names or if we had bought tickets then boarded a smashed up van literally held together with wires. The point that we entered the bay is not what I've seen in other photos so I don't believe it's the legal entry into the bay. We waded through mud that smelled like a sewer. It was pitch black so I really couldn't say what it was. We were never given any explanation of what we were doing or if we should follow him out on the water. There was basically no tour at all! After literally 20 MINUTES on the water we headed back! For a "2 hour tour"! When we asked about it we were told "we wouldn't want to be out there that long". That may be true with this "guide". The bio-bay was our main purpose for coming to Vieques and this tour really ruined that experience.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
All the tours go through this road, the road is not pavimented since is a road going to the bioluminiscent bay. What is the problem with you? you want a limousine and a pavimented road to take a tour on a remote iland in the Caribe? OMG.... go to Dubai , with golden cars next time instead to the Caribe to do the wonderfull Biobay in the world....
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Unique life experience
mpostrom
, Jul 2019
Take time to do this. It is a wonderful experience for all ages and kayak abilities. Our guide, Raul, was enthusiastic and knowledgable. Very happy we went.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great experience!
Anirudh C
, Jun 2019
This was a rare experience and definitely worth going for when you’re there. The tour guide was professional and knowledgeable. Kayaking at night in pitch darkness is an experience in itself and the Bio Bay is just a cherry on top! It’s really hard to photograph it though. Overall, great experience!
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 29186P1

Explore Similar Things to Do