Recent Searches
Clear

Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city

|
Venezia, Italy
Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

If you’re looking to see most of Venice’s well-known sights all in one day, put your trust in this fun combination day tour. This package includes a walking tour of the city away from the crowded streets into the treasure filled pockets of the Castello area, a skip-the-line privilege at Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale) and at St. Mark's Basilica and a gondola ride on the Grand Canal and smaller canals.
  • Half-day tour package to see the highlights of Venice
  • Includes a skip-the-line admission ticket to St. Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace
  • Enjoy a walking tour of Venice, and see some of the city's must-see spots
  • Cruise through the Canal Grande and some of the smaller canals in a gondola ride

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

See the iconic sights of Venice from the land and the water
Saved to wishlist!
Headsets to hear the guide clearly
30-minute shared gondola ride (no guide)
1-hour 30 min external walking tour from St Marks square to Castello area
Entrance fees for the St Mark's Basilica and the Doge's Palace
Correr museum entrance ticket to visit on your own
Gratuities
Hotel pick up and drop off
Food and drink
Calle larga de l'Ascension, 1256 , Calle larga de l'Ascension, 1256, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

15 min before in Calle larga de l’Ascension 1256 - 30124 next to the post office San Marco (opposite side of the Saint Marks Basilica). Look for the yellow sign "Meeting point" on the wooden kiosk. Walking tour from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm Gondola ride at 3:00 pm

9:00 AM
Gondola Bauer , Calle Larga XXII Marzo, 2091/b, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

This combination tour ends in the afternoon with the 30 min gondola ride in campo San Moisè at the gondola station in front of Bauer hotel.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please arrive at each meeting point 15 minutes before the departure of the tour
  • Large bags and rucksacks are NOT allowed inside the Basilica or Doge's Palace
  • Knees and shoulders MUST be covered inside the Basilica
  • On occasion, Saint Mark's Basilica may be closed due to public holidays, religious ceremonies, private events or high water and the local service provider is not always informed in advance
  • For children document required
  • All the late arrivals or no show are NO REFUND!
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Venice Events srl
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It is difficult to walk with umbrellas in Venice as most of the streets are narrow not to mention the crowds of people." See review
  • "Everyone is right , the gondola ride is only about 20 minutes long, but that’s not the problem (mine anyway)." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
132 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 132 reviews
star-3
Not as good as expected, but still worth it
Timothy_D
, Aug 2021
We did get to see a lot of Venice and got tickets to the two big items, but the skip the line wasn’t so much skip the line as other tours; the places didn’t seem to care about the tour queue. Also, our guide was not very energetic or engaging, so even though the the places to see were impressive, it felt like a high school class tour with Ferris’ teacher.
star-3
Basic Venice
tucci642019
, Nov 2019
This tour did show the basics when touring Venice. Because we could only do Sunday made for a very long day - gondola at 11 and then wait until 2 to continue the rest of the package. There were too many people in the group for the St Marks and Palace tour - could not see what guide was referring to as we were at the back of the pack. The gondola and canal tours were very good!!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. On sundays the Saint Mark's Basilica opens at 2pm that's why we have a break between the tours and also because our travelers enjoy to have free time for the lunch. Our groups are not large as we have a maximum of 25 persons per group for the Basilica and Doge's Palace Tour. Still we are happy to see that you enjoyed the Grand Canal boat tour and also the gondola ride. Best regards, Venice Events Team.
star-5
venice was great
R2277BWjeffreyh
, Oct 2019
this tour was very well done, enjoyed every bit including the gondola ride and canal cruise, our tour guide regina was fantastic
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to see that you had a nice experience with us and we look forward in seeing you again. Kind regards, Venice Events Team.
star-3
Eh ...
Trier_H
, Sep 2019
Everyone is right ... the gondola ride is only about 20 minutes long, but that’s not the problem (mine anyway). Our guide was mediocre. For the gondola ride, the listing states to be there 15 minutes before the actual tour starts. We got there at 0925 ... but the guide was late. I called the number, and another lady told me the guide will be there in five minutes (sounded like she was sleep). The guide finally walks up; barely says “hello,” “good morning,” or “how ya doing.” We had to ask her was she the person we were waiting on. Gondola ride: short but peaceful. Enjoyed it. (0940-1000) Next stop, St. Mark’s and Doge Palace. On the way there, she would say things, but we could barely hear her. She didn’t explain anything, and her instructions were weak. I felt like the couple times I asked her for clarification, she seemed bothered. Luckily, the lady take took us inside was excited about sharing information about the two monuments. (~1040-1300) Yes, there’s was a three and a half hour gap to do whatever else you wanted but then come back to finish the tour with the boat ride. We got there about five minutes til so I could get magnets that was literally 12 steps away from the meeting place. I thought she was polite when she began waving at us, but she wasn’t. She was trying to rush us even though we still had a couple minutes to spare .... ironic, right? Mr. Gionne (Johnnie) was fabulous on the other hand. The boat tour was great and we go to see the other side of Venice.(1630-1730) She was literally a guide. She did not go on the gondola ride. She did not take us in the basilica or palace, or go with us on the boat tour. All she did was walk us from point A to B and told us to meet her at point C. After the boat ride, she was nowhere to be found. If that’s what you’re looking for, this is it. But don’t expect to have any conversation with her and ask about anything.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. The person who met our guests at the beginning of the tour is not a guide but our assistant who is there to coordinate your day and to follow you with instructions. By law the assistant is not allowed to make any kind of explanations, that's why you had a guide for the Basilica and Doge's Palace tour and also for the Grand Canal Boat Tour. The assistant is there to take you from point A to point B and to show where is the meeting point for point C. Kind Regards, Venice Events Team.
star-4
Good, but it could of been better if we had someone help us find the meeting spot spo
Christina_G
, Aug 2019
Good but it could of been better if we could have had someone help us find the meeting spot!.. Being that it was hot and time was clicking
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. On the vouchers you had our emergency numbers so you had the possibility to call us and ask for help or indications. Still we are happy to see that you had a good experience with us. Kind regards, Venice Events Team
star-5
Venice in a Day tour
Irwin_G
, Aug 2019
The guides on the tour were excellent, great sense of humour combined with great knowledge of the city. The tour had allowances for some slight bits of run over which is always great so that you do not have to such a tour in a mad rush and end up missing things !!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear Irwin, Thank you for the awesome review. We are really happy to see that you had a nice experience with us and we look forward in seeing you again touring with us. Best regards, Venice Events Team.
star-1
Terrible
CritterVet
, Aug 2019
Tour guide had no interest in talking to us, was on his phone texting the entire time. The gondola ride was a joke, no conversation or history from him either. After the tour of palace you have 3 hours to kill before the boat ride...didnt bother to even do this part given the experience we had up to that point
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear guest will be possible to have more details regarding the date and your book ref so we can check? best regards
star-5
Perfect Excursion
Nathaniel_P
, Jun 2019
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and trip was the perfect amount of time. Highly recommend to anyone..
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your awesome review. We are really pleased to see that you had a wonderful tour in Venice and we look forward to seeing you again.
star-5
Venice Day Tour
Benjamin_A
, Jun 2019
This was to be an exciting tour but unfortunately it rained most of the day. We were prepared with ponchos. It is difficult to walk with umbrellas in Venice as most of the streets are narrow not to mention the crowds of people. We met the tour guides in St Marks Square and they were great. They were not going to let the rain ruin our tour and explained what we were going to do. Our gondola ride was cancelled due to the rain and asked if we could re-schedule that part of the tour. We were leaving early the next morning so they offered and gave us a refund which showed up in my credit card account a couple of days later. The rain was not their fault and I don't feel that it caused us to not see any of our tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the church and palace in St. Marks Square. The next part of our tour was an hour boat ride around Venice starting in the Grand Canal and through some of the smaller canals and back to St. Marks. The Canal was a little rough due to the rain, but that did not stop anyone from enjoying the Guide telling us all about the city and the buildings we were passing. Dispute the rain, this was one of my favorite tours.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your awesome review. We are really happy that you had a great tour in Venice despite the bad weather, and we look forward to seeing you again.
star-5
Perfect way to see key parts of Venice in a day.
ghardgrove
, Jun 2019
We absolutely enjoyed this package. Our tour guides were well trained and informed. They gave just enough information to be interesting but not over the top. All parts of this package were well planned and executed.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your great review. We are really pleased to see that you had a wonderful tour in Venice and we look forward to seeing you again.
star-4
In general we were very pleased with...
Donald G
, Sep 2018
In general we were very pleased with the tour. The highlight was the tour of St. Marco Church and the Doge's Palace. The tour guide Andrea ?? has a degree in architecture and shared many interesting insights into the buildings and the general construction of the city of Venice. He was fabulous. The gondola ride is a have to do in Venice, but was pretty underwhelming. The canals are jammed with other boats. Our boat driver never spoke a word to us, but spent plenty of time talking with the other gondola drivers. The boat tour of the Grand Canal was interesting.
star-3
Lousy initial experience
Robert_K
, Sep 2018
This was our first time in Venice. It has the worst internet connectivity I've seen. On top of that, Google Maps kept navigating us to water taxis, rather than pedestrian bridges. In all the tours we've done elsewhere, we arrive on time or early and wait up to 30 minutes to get started. And lastly the directions provided by Viator stink. We walk everywhere, but in this case the walking directions were from Piazza San Marco, which was no where near our hotel and actually ten minutes past the meeting point. In this case, because of all the above, we were 20 minutes late for the gondola ride which was far and away the most important part of the tour. Our lateness was entirely our fault--I recognize that. But we paid over $250 for the day and no effort was made to help reschedule. In fact, everyone was pretty aloof to rude about it. We were on the first tour going out, and as many tourists as there were its hard to believe nothing could be done to help (see my Vatican review). The next step of the tour was the walking tour of the Basilica and Doge Palace. We got there 20 minutes early and waited (with another couple) under the red awning at the museo. We had to call to find out where everyone was. They were in the throng of people under an umbrella 30 yards away. We were chastised for going to the wrong place, when in fact, we did as we were told.The tour, however, was wonderful. Hazel was a great guide. I just left feeling a few people need some coaching in customer service.
star-5
Good tour to see the highlights of...
Ray T
, Sep 2018
Good tour to see the highlights of Venice, including a gondola ride and canal ride. Don't skip the museum - very well done.
star-3
Good Guides, Timing Issues
Erika W
, Jul 2018
I liked that we were able to see the major attractions in Venice and do the Gondola and Boat Tour all in one tour. The guide we had for the palace and the Church was very nice and I liked her a lot. My disappointment in the tour was that it had a long break between the 11:00 gondola ride and then 1:45 meeting time for the church/palace trip. I didn't like that we had multiple meeting points to find and would have preferred a tour that went without break between the different events instead of having a several hour period of down time to kill and where the guides took us from point to point providing information related to the sites along the way.
star-4
The Good, the Bad and the Smelly of Venice Tour
Larry_B
, Jun 2018
Let me start with the positive. First, I like the way Viator sets up their tour where you meet your guide, do the activity, then have free time on your own to eat, rest, drink, sightsee or take a bathroom break before you meet your next guide at another location to continue your experience. That allowed a good blend of tour time with free time. Our guide, that took us through St. Mark's and Doge's Palace was FANTASTIC!! He was very knowledgable and had tons of energy and personality and very friendly. He was easily the best guide we had on ANY tour on our 12 day cruise. My least favorite part was the gondola ride. Basically a waste of time. The gondolier never says anything to you and the canals are crowded with MANY other gondolas and very smelly. It was neither scenic, romantic, interesting, nor fun. After about 5 min in the gondola, I just was looking forward to getting out. The grand canal boat tour was a little better, but they put you in a water taxi boat that is covered and you really can't see out of and you can't get ANY air so you feel like a dog left in a hot car to die. Then they take you on the same route your cruise ship took to come into Venice that you have already seen and then go through the garbage dump for some unknown reason. By this time I have worked my way to the back of the boat with the other 8 people who are dying from heat stroke and we all stick our heads out of the small opening at the back of the boat to get some much needed air. FINALLY we have a little air AND we finally make it to the Grand Canal, which is supposed to be what we were touring in the first place. We all looked like prom dates on our first limo ride sticking our heads out of the sunroof, but at least we got to see the scenery along the Grand Canal and it was beautiful. I can't tell you if our guide was good or not because I was way more worried about breathing than listening. PLEASE use a boat that is open or that people can see out of and breathe for this Grand Canal Boat Tour and skip the garbage dump. Overall, we enjoyed our tour, but will definitely skip any boat tours next time we are in Venice unless I get to see and approve the boat first.
star-2
The gondola ride was the best part...
Marjorie G
, May 2018
The gondola ride was the best part of this tour. The tour starts with the gondola ride, no explanation about what you are seeing during the gondola ride. Just time in the boat ride. Then you have to walk, on your own, without a guide, to the Doges Palace/St. Marks, where you wait for the tour guide. We waited over 90 minutes. Then you are met by the guide and you get your headsets, and your tour guide for the Doges Palace/St Mark tour. There are a lot of stairs to climb on this tour. Our tour guide didnt speak English very well and was hard to understand. She may have been knowledgeable, but she didnt relay the information in an understandable or engaging manner. The tour seemed to drag on. Then, it was another 3 hours until the boat tour through the Grand Canal. No explanation was given as to why a 3 hour delay was needed. You can get the same boat tour of the grand canal, using the vaporetto. For what was provided, this tour was greatly overpriced.
star-3
Too much shuffling around with...
Kristyne B
, Feb 2018
Too much shuffling around with different guides and different times of day.
star-5
St Marks was amazing and the host...
David W
, Jan 2018
St Marks was amazing and the host was great! The gondola ride was very crowded - but a must do in Venice. I liked that the day was planned for you but with breaks included so you could enjoy near by shops and restaurants.
star-4
Wonderful tour and guide for the...
Jon S
, Nov 2017
Wonderful tour and guide for the Basilica and the Doges' Palace. The water taxi tour was a great way to see city as a whole.
star-2
The trip stated that we would spend...
coop19691
, Nov 2017
The trip stated that we would spend 2 hours touring the city, what it didn't say was that we would tour it on our own. We met the tour guide and within 5 minuets she said I'll meet you here in 2 hours, your on your own for 2 hours. The rest of the tour was OK, nothing special.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city
Likely to Sell Out
Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city

star-4132

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$156.52

star-4.552

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.07

star-51

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$207.31

star-52

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$133.71

star-58

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$466.44

star-58

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$86.03

star-4.550

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$139.94

star-3.5132

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$64.27

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$266.55
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations