Recent Searches
Clear

Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

star-4.5779 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Tel Aviv, Israel
Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon12 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Visit Masada and the Dead Sea on a full-day trip from Tel Aviv. Travel by air-conditioned coach through the Judean desert from Tel Aviv to the Dead Sea, and visit Masada on route. Ride the cable car to the mountaintop for a guided tour of the 2,000-year-old ruins, and continue to the Dead Sea to ‘swim’ in its salt-rich waters and, if you wish, take a therapeutic mud bath. The day trip also passes the site of the New Testament parable of the Good Samaritan, and ancient city of Jericho.
  • Full day trip from Tel Aviv to Masada and the Dead Sea
  • Guided tour of the popular Holy Land sights by local experts
  • Ascend to the top of Masada by cable car
  • Float in the famous salt-rich waters of the Dead Sea
  • Transport by air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel pick up and drop-off

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Unlike many Masada trips, this includes a tour of the mountaintop so you get the full scoop on its 73 AD siege.
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop off
Professional guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Entrance fees
Cable Car up to Masada
Food and drinks, unless specified
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

6:40 AM
Start your day trip with a pickup from your central Tel Aviv hotel. Settle into your air-conditioned coach and travel into the Judean desert, the rugged wilderness in the heart of Israel.

Enjoy the views of the desert, and pass the site of the Inn of the Good Samaritan. Then, get glimpses of the Dead Sea as you approach Masada, a mountain topped by a ruined fortress-palace built by King Herod more than 2,000 years ago.

Ride the cable car to the mountaintop and take a guided tour of the fascinating archaeological ruins. Soak up the awesome views as you inspect the crumbled remnants and hear about the site’s history.

Descend the mountain and drive to the Dead Sea past the Ein Gedi oasis and ancient settlement of Qumran. Stop to enjoy views of the famous Qumran caves, where approximately 900 ancient parchments, many incorporating the earliest known manuscripts of the Bible were discovered - the fabled Dead Sea Scrolls.

Continue to the Dead Sea and enjoy roughly two hours to relax on a mineral beach. This salt-rich lake sits at around 1,312 feet (400 meters) below sea level — the Earth’s lowest point. Wade into the waters to experience the bizarre floating sensation, enjoy a therapeutic mud bath, and if you wish, take the opportunity to buy some rejuvenating Dead Sea skin products (own expense) at duty free prices.

Afterward, return to your coach and pass the ancient city of Jericho as you travel back to Tel Aviv, where your trip ends at your hotel.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Harei Yehuda
Travel through the Judean Hills
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Khan Al-Hatruri - The Good Samaritan Inn
Pass by the Good Samaritan Inn
Stop At:  
Masada National Park
Ascend to Masada and explore the National Park
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Herod's Western Palace
Tour the remains of Herod’s palace
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
En Gedi Nature Reserve
See Ein Gedi Natural Reserve
Pass By:  
Qumran Caves
Pass by the Qumran where the Dead Sea Scrolls were found
Stop At:  
Dead Sea
Float and mud yourself at the Dead sea
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Recommended to bring hats, bathing suit, towels, sun protection.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Please note this tour is not suitable for children under the age of 4
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bein Harim Ltd
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Make sure you take water shoes to wear at the Dead Sea as the ground down to the sea is rough and too hot for your feet." See review
  • "The lockers work via credit card but bear in mind you can only open them again once or you have to pay again." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
779 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 779 reviews
star-1
Bad guide and bad tour
Michael_H
, Jun 2022
Awful. The tour guide was terrible she was not at all interested in her guests and was a little work shy. At one stage a tourist was missing and she never realised it. was rushed rushed rushed . It was also the worst of mass tourism just visiting tourist traps with no contact with local culture or life. No stop at ein edi. The content on this tour does not even come close to justifying the price in . The disingenuous guide dafna and visiting sites ruined by mass tourisin meant it was a waste of money .No idea how this tour has high rating.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Michael, we are sorry to read that this was the nature of your experience with a guide on our team. Firstly this tour doesn't stop at Ein Gedi (not sure why you presumed it did). This does seem like a misexpectation of sorts... The tour description doesn't match what you envisaged. Masada Fortress is a highlight tourist location, the Dead Sea beach resort as well. Indeed there is no contact with local people in this region whatsoever. Mass tourism because you traveled in a group? Group travel is not suited to all travelers, and busy tourist locations either. Most of all it is important to read the tour description in order to level expectations and be accurate when reviewing, out of fairness, even if you were not satisfied. Your guide received numerous favorable reports for her guidance, we may add. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
star-5
Brilliant
Julie_N
, Jun 2022
Iram made the whole trip very pleasurable. The journey passed with some informative anecdotes. His knowledge of Masada and the Red Sea was fantastic.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks so much for this reve review of your guided by Omri.He sure deserves your feedback and compliments for his wealth of knowledge and intersting commentary.Glad you ahve come away with a tour experience to cherish.
star-5
Great time with a great friend
Mark_S
, Jun 2022
Aaron was amazing. Loved his quirky attitude. He absolutely made it fun and exciting. Thanks so much for your kindness and hospitality.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
It is wonderful to read this rave review of Aaron your guide, his pleasant manner and skilled tour management. He sure is worthy of your compliments for his efforts.
star-5
Extraordinary day, from the mountain top of Masada to the lowest point in the world, The Dead Sea!
Frances_S
, Jun 2022
Our guide Avi was so informative and loved sharing his knowledge about his homeland of Israel. Our trip wouldn’t have been complete without visiting Masada and the Dead Sea. I highly recommend our tour booked through Viator.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Traveler, Thanks so much for this complimentary review of your tour guided by Avi. It is clear you came away with an enlightening and memorable tour experience to cherish. We at Bein Harim Tourism are very proud to be Viator representative in Israel and provide such top-quality tours. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
star-2
Guide had very poor...
Igor_S
, May 2022
Guide had very poor english communication skills. Knowledge of history, geography, politics and economy was at sub par level as well. Guide was polite and made a lot of effort to please customers. Othewise, we'd given one star.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Igor, We are regretful that this is the nature of your tour experience. We will certainly check this out. We do not want to compromise our standards, but we are giving new professionals in the field of tour guiding an opportunity. Thanks for the mention that his manner was respectful and pleasant. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
star-5
Our guide was Erez and he...
Candice_W
, May 2022
Our guide was Erez and he was great. Erez was knowledgeable and energetic. He obviously loves his subject matter. Erez is doing his advanced studies on the reign of King Herod et al and he could talk excitedly on Masada all day long. Lovely man. Our driver Ahmed was also a great guy. The float in the Dead Sea in the afternoon was super fun. Absolutely recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks so much for sharing your satisfaction, with our guide Erez,and the informative commentary he provided at Massada. We are always happy to read of satisfied travelers who share for others to read. Your warm recommendation of our tours is much appreciated.
star-5
Compelling trip back in time
STEVE_R
, May 2022
Masada was very cool; isolated but a site that’s easy to protect. I’m still amazed the Romans were able to storm it. Fantastic history! Kudos to our guide (Emmanuel’s dad 😄), who was superb.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks so much for this complimentary review of your guide and tour to this spectacular location. We are always happy to read of satisfied travelers.
star-5
Vege虎
Zenghu_G
, May 2022
Very mysterious place, another world, hope to come back to travel again. Thank you to the tour company for helping us travel all the way, the tour guide is very professional
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for this 5* star review .It is clear you had a memorable tour experience to cherish on this tour with Bein Harim. Indeed it is a spectacular location and definitely worth another visit, so come again soon.
star-5
Superior guide
Damiano_M
, May 2022
Ami was an amazing guide and part of the unique experience. Very interesting visit. Masada has a story you need to know. Dead Sea beach is crowded.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Damian, SO glad you came away with an extraordinary and memorable tour experience to cherish with our guide Ami. He is worthy of your compliments for his efforts and wealth of commentary. This time of the season the beach at Dead Sea can be busy, but its the sea you come for! Sincerely, Bein Harim team
star-5
Great experience
Sun_S
, Apr 2022
Interesting stories about Masada. Just so rich in history. Guide was great, a little crowded at the lunch place.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for this feedback that you enjoyed the tour .You certainly visited a spectacular area. in our country Indeed we are experiencing crowds these weeks because of the high holidays as well as the fact there are almost NO restaurants available in this region that cater for groups. Sorry you felt this way
star-3
I love Viator, but…
Lorrie_L
, Apr 2022
Since this is a less than perfect review I want to start with the good: I am a big fan of Viator, have used them for many years and will continue to do so. I also want to start by saying that our guide Ami is an excellent guide and we were lucky to have his impassioned insights on Masada. It was clear that this place is very special to him. That being said I have to report a couple of things that impacted the day in a less than stellar way. The pick up at the pre-designated location arrived right on time with VERY nice staff in attendance. However, the pick up was not our tour, but rather a shuttle which delivered us to a central location where many of us were being organized onto our respective tours. This was not known to me in advance. I was very disappointed to learn that instead of the ‘small group tour’ that I believe booked (and one of the main reasons I use Viator) that I was now to be part of a large group of 35 (!) on a very nice but very large bus. I spoke with another solo person on my bus who also thought that his tour was to have been for ‘less than 20’. Some background: I specifically declined an earlier invitation to join friends on a large tour as I prefer smaller groups and stayed behind to book this one instead. The end result was that I still ended up in a large group but without my friends. Bummer. The tour itself was just what was looking for as far as the destinations. Very happy with what I saw and learned about the Dead Sea and Masada. But with 35 people, poor Ami spent too much time trying to ‘herd’ us all together for his talks and to keep us moving. “Guys, guys, come over here, just for a moment, guys…guys…” Now about our guide. This is the most difficult part of this review because I genuinely liked Ami very much! He is a good man and a good guide and his passion especially for Masada was palpable. But please, dear Ami…STOP SHOUTING AT US! I realize that with a large group a large voice is sometimes necessary. But it is not necessary to shout at us all.the.time. Even when on the microphone on the bus and when we are in a tiny enclosed room of the ruins when a normal voice would do. That is part of the reason some of the group hung back a bit to create a bit of ‘space’ if you will. I must report that some of the other nearby groups were making comments about how loud our guide was and that they couldn’t hear their own. At one point another guide moved his group away from us so that he could communicate with his own without interference. I truly feel bad about saying anything negative about Ami, because I liked him very much and learned a great deal from him. But the constant shouting voice was just too much. My apologies sir, but I must be honest. Ami otherwise was helpful, attentive and very accommodating even going so far as at the end of the day making a special stop to retrieve a child’s teddy bear that had been left behind at an earlier location. Viator is lucky to have him. All in all it was not a bad day, and I got to visit the places I wished to see. I will of course continue to be a Viator customer.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Lorrie, We are glad to read you were fully satisfied with Ami, our highly skilled and professional guide. Firstly our pickup system is devised so that we are able to pickup the maximum amount of travellers from all over the city without having everyone go through every hotel or contend with morning traffic that can compound matters considerably. We do mention that change of vehicle may be necessary. Thus the meeting up at central meeting point, to ascend your specific tour bus However allow me to expand on why you were not informed in advance of the large group. The reason behind this large group is that the night before a horrific terror attack occurred and all tours to Bethlehem were canceled (military force majeur) and travelers were redirected at their choice to join a tour of Masada instead of Jerusalem. At this late stage (literally at 6 am on the morning of this tour) it was not possible to organise another guide and bus, thus as a result the tour volume rose to 35 travellers. Ami is highly experienced and we have no doubt he managed to the best of his ability. We are regretful that you felt he was shouting to be heard. We are happy that you will continue to support Viator that provides high quality services throughout the world Sincerely, Bein Harim Tourism Services team.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Perfect daytrip with perfect guide
Jillis_T
, Apr 2022
Perfect daytour with a perfect guide. On our way Daniel shared a lot about the country, culture and all you want to know. Besides the amazing Masada fortress and the Dead Sea, the bus trip on it’s own is also both educative and comfortable. You’ll also learn and see a bit of Jeruzalem from the bus and you’ll make a little stop at Jericho, the oldest city in the world. Thanks driver Anis and guide Daniel!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks so much for sharing this valuable feedback of your memorable and enjoyable tour. We are always happy and glad to read when travellers share their good experiences for others to read.
star-5
Lior is awesome!
Linda_Z
, Mar 2022
Lior was kind and great-great history and funny! The day ran on time and we had ample time to explore Masada and enjoy the Dead Sea.
star-1
Not a good trip.
Alvin_G
, Mar 2022
The sights were wonderful and the guide was truly informative. The BIG problem was the transportation. The trip was advertised as going from hotel to Masada and the Dead Sea and returning. In fact, we were transfered to three different vans both going and returning with stops and van changes in Tel Aviv and Jerusalem, both encountering heavy rush hour traffic. The delays added hours -- not minutes -- to this trip. Sitting in a very uncomfortable seat for hours is not fun. BE AWARE before you hook this trip. I am sure there are other tours available that won't treat you this poorly.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Alvin, We are regretful that this was your experience. However, we are happy you found the guide professional and that he provided a wealth of interesting commentary. Some days can get complex with vehicle changes, but there are operational constraints that force this upon us (as we are back on track operating after 2 years in shutdown due to Covid), such as prioritising that you went on an English only guided tour, not a bilingual tour as is sometimes the case and what we state very clearly. For this very purpose, you had to change to the van with an English-speaking guide. The second constraint is the drop off destination for those travelling to Jerusalem., again this is no excuse, but we certainly try our very hardest not to operate like this. But to save time we may need to change vehicles and not waste time as you imply. Nevertheless, it was the case that particular day that required the vehicle change. Traffic throughout the big cities is a huge daily challenge for our drivers. As you can see many reviews here all paise our guides, tours including transport operations. We are sorry that you found the seat uncomfortable, even though these are high-quality tourism vehicles of Mercedes, commonly used throughout the country. We are disappointed that you feel it necessary to warn people off. We make every effort to provide a memorable and meaningful tour experience for all our travellers, to the spectacular destinations they visit. However much we try there are such days when vehicle change was necessary with no intention to treat you poorly. Daily we keep the traveller's best interest as our top priority and will continue to do so. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
star-5
Unique tour to Massada
Maria_M
, Feb 2020
Great experience, especially thanks to the best guide I ever had in my life: Amir (with the ponytail)
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great
Oksana_D
, Feb 2020
Hava was very good , the trip was great They picked me up just on time, and even ordered a separate taxi to drop at my hotel
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
DONT GO ON A TOUR WITH BEIN HARIM Tourism!!!!
Carlos_G
, Feb 2020
Bad experience with BEIN HARIM TOURS.. the tour guide did not ‘connected’ with its passengers at all.. barely spoke English, the explanations in Masada were plain and simple.. and the ‘strawberry of the cake’ was that he left us abandoned at Kalia Beach (Dead sea) eventhough we were at 16.00 hours at the meeting point : he was unable to count its pax!!!! We had to call the agency and he picked us 1 hour later....NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE!!!! And the worst thing was that he or the agency did not apologize for that mistake..!!!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Easy way to see some sights
Courtney_G
, Feb 2020
Itamar was a great guide! Although they had many tours going all over it was very organized. He was very clear where, when, and how long we had for everything as well as being knowledgeable about the area. We had so much fun at the Dead Sea, just wish we had more time!
star-5
Unique experience
MARIA_P
, Feb 2020
Unique experience at the Dead Sea and Mandala that every one must have. Professional guide and driver
star-5
Dead Sea is a must!
mjcook419
, Feb 2020
I took several tours in Israel and this was by far my fav. It’s nice to see Masada and get to know the history. And the Dead Sea is incredible - perfect amount of time to mud yourself and float and enjoy.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv
Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

star-4.5770

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00

star-4.5291

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$133.00

star-491

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-00

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$351.77

star-462

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$119.00

star-432

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$93.00

star-4201

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-478

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.00

star-412

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations