Recent Searches
Clear

Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermals at Whakarewarewa Maori Village

star-4.56 Reviews
|
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermals at Whakarewarewa Maori Village

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Free cancellation before December 30Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Explore the geothermal landscapes of Rotorua on this 6-hour shore excursion. Visit the city’s top attractions such as Government Gardens, Rachel’s Pool, and the Ohinemutu Maori Village. Then head to the Whakarewarewa geothermal valley and discover the bubbling mud pools and the largest geyser in the southern hemisphere before heading back to your cruise ship.
  • Explore the popular city of Rotorua on this 6-hour shore excursion
  • See attractions like Rachel’s Pool and the Ohinemutu Maori Village
  • Discover the natural phenomena at Whakarewarewa geothermal valley
  • All transportation is included on this small-group tour from Port Tauranga
Saved to wishlist!
Port pickup and drop-off
Driver/guide with full commentary
Entry to Whakarewarewa Living Maori Village
Visit to a kiwifruit orchard
Visit to Okere Falls
Lunch

Departure Point

4 Salisbury Avenue, Mount Maunganui 3116, New Zealand

Please meet the Shore Trips and Tours representative at the Shore Trips and Tours sign board situated just outside the port gates. Walk through the information marquee and out through the gates - a short walk from your ship.

Departure Time

9:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour requires some walking on well-made paths, gentle inclines and some steps.
  • This tour is not suitable for user of mobility scooters or wheelchairs (unless very small collapsible ones) . Folding walkers/frames can usually be accommodated but passengers must be able to enter a minibus using the standard steps. You must advise us at the time of booking if you are bringing any mobility device - failure to do so may result in you not being able to take the tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • This tour runs with a minimum of 4 fare paying passengers. We will advise on the day if the minimum hasn't been met, and offer alternative options if necessary
  • Please purchase a ticket for all travelers in your group - including 'purchasing' a ticket for all infants. NZ transport law requires us to count all heads on board. One child or infant max per adult ticket.
  • This tour is for passengers arriving on a cruise ship into the Port of Tauranga
  • This is a Pre Booked Tour Only!
  • No sales on the day of the Tour!
  • Most travelers can participate
  • 9.30am is the regular tour start time. This may be adjusted for early/late arriving cruise ships. We will advise any time change at the time of booking
  • Please ensure you provide a contact phone number and/or email address that you will have with you and/or checking whilst on holiday so any last minute tour time changes can be notified
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Shore Trips and Tours
You can cancel up to 3 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 3 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermals at Whakarewarewa Maori Village?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermals at Whakarewarewa Maori Village.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermals at Whakarewarewa Maori Village?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermals at Whakarewarewa Maori Village.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermals at Whakarewarewa Maori Village?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermals at Whakarewarewa Maori Village.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Unfortunately the trip was not available on arrival due to lack of bookings." See review
  • "Originally, it was supposed to be a 7.5hr tour, but due to timing of ship arrival and departure, the start time was made earlier and it was reduced to 6 hours, but the price remained the same!!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
6 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-4 of 6 reviews
star-4
Hot Springs and Geysers
Sandave60
, Oct 2019
Unfortunately the trip was not available on arrival due to lack of bookings. We were asked to join a similar trip which did not include the Maori Village experience. However the trip overall was very well commentated and we saw a fantastic display of geo thermal activity beyond our expectations.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you for the review, though we do need to correct one thing you mentioned. We do want to confirm that your family name is Harrower, as this was the couple that was indeed moved to another tour. If so then you are correct that as we only had 2 persons booked on the Shore Trips and Tours code TRG-7 tour that we moved you to our other company, Cruise Tours Tauranga code CTT-7 tour, as there was 10 persons booked on that tour, making a total of 12 pax and you traveled in a 24 seater mini coach with our guide Graham. The tours are almost exactly the same, both visit the Te Whakarewarewa Living Maori village where you see the geothermal activity, watch the maori cultural performance and also have the included Hangi lunch. We also stop at other locations during the day during the 6.5 hours tour. If you would like to contact us directly we are happy to discuss this further if you wish.
star-3
Tour Fell Short
GabbyC202
, Nov 2018
We booked a small group shore excursion,the Rotorua Highlights Including Whakarewarewa Visit, for the 9th November. Originally, it was supposed to be a 7.5hr tour, but due to timing of ship arrival and departure, the start time was made earlier and it was reduced to 6 hours, but the price remained the same!! Our tour was provided by Shore Trips Tours and there was a bit of confusion when we arrived at the port, but once we found one our bus, we settled in for our tour. Our driver, Paul Marston was very knowledgeable and funny. The tour was going along well, until he mentioned something about sharing passengers with another driver for whatever reason. It was then we realized that half of the passengers on our bus were from another ship, The Noordam, that was docked in Tauranga also. We couldn't understand why they split the passengers, but it all went South from there. To cut a long story short, their ship was due to depart at 4.00pm, where our ship was departing at 5.00pm. Our tour of the Village was very rushed and we missed a great deal of it. We did not get to see the mud pools, one of the attractions we were led to believe we would be taken to, and the poor guide of the village was being constantly pushed to be quick. We were rushed onto the bus and headed off back to port. Paul did take the scenic route back, which was beautiful, but when he mentioned he would take us for a quick look around the CBD, he was pretty much told by a passenger that there was no time as they had to be back on the Noordam, so we missed out on that too!!! For the most part, the tour was good and the welcome we received by the Living Village people was fantastic. Our guide, Michael, did the best he could with the time he was given, but even he was feeling frustrated that he was being rushed.I do not hold Viator responsible for this debacle as they would have allocated the tour to Shore Trips Tours, but I feel they need to know for future reference. No explanation was given as to why passengers from two different ships were put on the same tour when there were two different ship departure times!!!I must add a kudos to Viator for quickly refunding a tour booked to Dunedin that we had to cancel due to ship diverting as a result of rough seas.
star-4
This trip was outstanding. Our guide...
Mary Jo B
, May 2017
This trip was outstanding. Our guide was very knowledgeable and took all the time needed so that everyone in our small group experienced everything on the tour. The only downer was another large group of tourists at the Whakarewarewa show who disregarded all instructions to stay out of the middle aisle and to take any pictures from the side aisles so that views would not be impeded. Our guide even offered to take us to see the beekeepers, when we finished the tour with some time to spare, but all of us were tired so we declined his offer.
star-5
I would like to thank our tour...
evansmaxine
, Jan 2017
I would like to thank our tour guide. He was brilliant. I did a ships tour a few years ago and there is no comparison. Well done Viator for engaging these thoroughly generous with their time and knowledgeable tour guides.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermals at Whakarewarewa Maori Village
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermals at Whakarewarewa Maori Village

star-4.56

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$111.91

star-4.535

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$187.00

star-4.538

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$108.90

star-4.544

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$66.84

star-4.5195

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$109.10

star-520

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.45

Explore Similar Things to Do