Recent Searches

St John Island Sightseeing Tour from St Thomas

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St John Island Sightseeing Tour from St Thomas

From $90.99

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Get to know St John's culture, history and picturesque scenery on this tour from St Thomas. Make the scenic journey to the neighboring island by ferry, where you'll meet your local guide for a comprehensive tour of the island's sights. See Trunk Bay, the Annaberg Plantation and Caneel Bay, among others. Round-trip transportation from St Thomas accommodations or the cruise port is included.
  • Make the scenic inter-island journey by ferry
  • See the highlights of St John on a tour with a local guide
  • Learn about the history of St John and what makes it the most pristine of the Virgin Islands
  • Visit the Virgin Islands National Park, Caneel Bay and the Annabert Plantation
Saved to wishlist!
National Park fees
Pick-up at both cruise ports and most hotels/resorts in St. Thomas
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Food and drinks
Round trip ferry tickets to St. John

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.Selected Hotels/Resorts - Pick up will be at the front lobby. Crown bay dock - Pick up will be at the Windmill. West Indian Co. dock - Pick up will be at "Gate no. 3".
Following convenient pickup from the cruise port or your hotel in St Thomas, transfer to the ferry terminal. 

During the short journey to St John, take in the Caribbean scenery, including the expanse of aquamarine water and the neighboring British Virgin Islands. 

Disembark on St John, the most unspoiled of the Virgin Islands due to a generous donation from the Rockefeller family that made 3/4 of it the Virgin Islands National Park. You'll be picked up by a local guide, an island resident, who can give you the inside scoop on what life is like there. Travel around the island, visiting highlights such as the 1800s-era Annaberg Plantation, one of the 25 active sugar production facilities on the island. Stop at the picturesque Trunk Bay to see the pristine beach and get photo ops from the Caneel Bay overlook. 

At the conclusion of your tour, return to St Thomas via ferry, landing back at the Red Hook Ferry Dock.
Stop At:  
Caneel Bay Beach
This is just an overlooking stop.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Trunk Bay Beach
This is an overlooking stop.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Annaberg Sugar Plantation
The Annaberg Plantation is a partially restored sugarcane factory.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Virgin Islands National Park
The center has two passport stamps. The Virgin Island National Park and the Virgin Island Reef National Monument, which surrounds the island through various areas in the water. The center also offers souvenirs.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wear mask at all times during the tour.
  • Tour duration/time begins at the time of pick up.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please provide the following info at time of booking: hotel name or ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Follow the island time as US Virgin Island doesn't follow Daylight Saving Time.
  • Possible cancellation after confirmation, if there are not enough passengers to meet tour guests requirement. In the event of this occurring, an alternative or a full refund will be offered.
  • Tour start time is approximate and can be adjusted for traffic conditions and pick-up schedule
  • Please confirm cruise ship dock upon booking for those coming from a cruise.
  • Late Schedule is for LATE CRUISE SHIPS ONLY. Those staying in a hotel will be put in a regular schedule or late schedule depending on availability.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour operates with a minimum of four guest cancellation notice will be given 24 hours in advance
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Great Exploration Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos


16 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-9 of 16 reviews
Excellent excursion!
, Apr 2022
It was a wonderful experience seeing the many sites and especially some of the beautiful beaches. Our driver was was very knowledgeable and professional.
Bad experience.
, Nov 2021
Hate to rate a tour poorly but must in this case. We booked a island tour. Taxi arrived fine to our hotel, took us to ferry, we bought tickets and arrived in St John’s. Then it became a mess. Our driver-guide Kenneth arrived to tell us his truck was broken down, he was sick and he tried to cancel the tour. He went to get his wife’s van. Once in the van the sliding door broke off it’s track half way through the tour and was left hanging until we got back to the ferry. Our tour was shortened so to this issues. Kenneth tried his best with the circumstances but this tour should have been canceled due to the driver being sick and the use of unsafe motor vehicles. Kenneth also thought we were doing the tour including a beach drop off but ours was just the sight seeing tour. We should have been refunded for this experience.
Beautiful Island. Underwhelming and not worth it.
, Sep 2021
It was stated on the itinerary that the Trunk Bay beach was just an overlook (15mins as stated) and not a 2 hour beach day. If we had known, we would of brought our swimming apparel. We spent the two hours not knowing what to Do after they dropped everyone off at the beach. We just went shopping and got some local food FROM roti King after the annaberg plantation. We weren't given escorted up to the plantation site so we had to walk on our own and explore it without learning the history from the tour guide himself (Kenneth). It was nice there but would love to have learned the history with the guide present with us. Wouldn't recommend honestly.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Good Day Gary, Thank you for reviewing our St John Island Sightseeing Tour from St Thomas. Your insight to the beauty of St. John is correct. St. John is one of the most beautiful islands in the Caribbean. It's pristine beaches, lush National Park and Island charm is the envy of many other island nations. Access to the island is usually, reserved for the well off tourist, but our tour allows guest to take in its natural beauty, scenic views for the day. You didn't book the swimming option, you booked an island tour, only. This is the reason you were not told to bring your swim appeal and towel. Correct our guide doesn't escort guest into the Ruin, it is a self guided tour, owned by the National Park. Our guide does however do an informational overview of the island life , culture and makes several scenic stops. It is unfortune these small insignificant things you mentioned, ruined your once in a life time trip, for this we "we are extremely sorry for you."
Absolutely recommend!!
, Aug 2021
The most beautiful scenery! This tour is a must. We loved the national park. I wish I could attach a video to this. Words can’t express the beauty we experienced.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Suzanne_D! Thank you very much for your review of our tour. We are happy you enjoyed your time in St John Island Sightseeing Tour from St Thomas. As locals, we enjoy sharing history, culture, and beautiful scenic views of the Island. Thank you again for your review and we hope you visit us again soon.
Over priced taxi cab with nothing included
, Mar 2021
The trip was essentially paying hundreds of dollars for a taxi driver. We stopped at a few sightseeing locations and to pay for all drinks, food, and even $5 admission into the park. I was very disappointed and would never choose this option in the future.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Greetings Greg, Thank you for responding to our tour, sorry you didn't enjoy your time you spent with Hamblet. I believe you purchased your tour through a third-party company, unfortunately you payid an additional fees to the third party, but it is not hundreds of dollars. Our company should not receive a negative review because your not happy with the price you paid to TripAdvisor. We know learning about the Island's culture, history and it's people is not for everyone, but this is the tour Hamblet provided to you. It is a misconception for you to write otherwise.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great tour. They picked us up from...
Mary L
, May 2017
Great tour. They picked us up from our hotel on time and actually called a day ahead to confirm. The views were amazing. The guide was informative. I highly recommend this tour. Tip: no matter how pretty the skies look when you leave, bring the rain gear with you. It rained about 30 minutes and then it was clear again. However, once you are wet, the remainder of the day is uncomfortable.
Hotel pickup and return was...
, Feb 2017
Hotel pickup and return was outstanding. The tour vehicle on St. John was very worn out. We saw others that were newer and nicer we weren't lucky in that regard. The driver was willing to take us where we asked to go.
1 traveler found this review helpful
The tour was very nice and the tour...
Joseph E
, Jan 2017
The tour was very nice and the tour guide was knowledgeable and highly informative. I only wish we had actually been able to go onto the beautiful beaches and into the clear waters of Cinnamon Bay, Trump Bay and Caneel Bay. Instead, we only got to see and photograph them from the hillsides above. Next time we intend to spend more time on this incredible island. That being said, the trip was indeed worthwhile and interesting.
St. John's Island was beautiful...
christine i
, Dec 2016
St. John's Island was beautiful. The tour vehicle was comfortable for the 10 passengers on the trip. The places our guide took us were lovely, but at the end of tour, with almost 2 hours left before the next boat took us back to St. Thomas, our guide dropped us off at the shopping center near the boat dock. We had expected to have more time sightseeing than eating lunch and visiting the very pricy stores. We were somewhat disappointed.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

St John Island Sightseeing Tour from St Thomas
St John Island Sightseeing Tour from St Thomas


4 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do