Recent Searches
Clear

Are you interested in?

Whale Watching
5 Tours & Activities
Cruises & Sailing
47 Tours & Activities
Point Loma Tours
15 Tours & Activities

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

San Diego Whale Watching Cruise

|
San Diego, United States

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon4 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Go whale watching from San Diego aboard a replica of a historic sailing schooner that won the world’s first America’s Cup sailing competition in 1851. Throughout your cruise, your expert guide shares informative commentary about gray whales, dolphins, and other marine animals, along with details about the US Navy sites you pass as you head out on the Pacific Ocean.
  • Cruise on the sailing ship America from San Diego
  • Spot migrating whales and dolphins frolicking in the Pacific Ocean
  • Choose the only whale-watching cruise by sailing yacht in San Diego
  • Includes whale sighting and 'no seasickness' guarantee
Saved to wishlist!
4.5-hr sailing cruise
Sodas and snacks
Whale sighting guarantee
No seasickness' guarantee
9 AM trip: Check in between 8:00 AM - 8:30 AM
11 AM trip: Check-in starts at 10:00 AM and ends at 10:30 AM
1:15 PM trip: Check in between 12:30 - 12:45
Free Parking. Check-in located next to parking lot.
Bring layers, blankets, and jackets. It can be cold on the water!
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop off

Departure Point

2050 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106, USA

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Travel back in time when sailing on the America, a replica of the sailing ship that won the first America's Cup sailing competition in 1851. Your classic sailing vessel provides a smooth ride and spacious decks, perfect for sailing on the Pacific Ocean in search of gray whales and other marine life. Since your boat principally moves under wind power without using the engine, your captain can get closer to the marine animals without scaring them. The boat's deep keel provides excellent stability and large decks offer unobstructed views, making the America a prime vessel for whale-watching.

Snacks and drinks (non-alcoholic) are offered during the cruise. You are welcome to bring along a picnic lunch or your favorite bottle of wine to enjoy onboard.

Whale sightings are guaranteed on your cruise. If no whales are sighted, you can return for a complimentary whale watching cruise on another day in the same season. The America also provides a 'No Seasickness' guarantee.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Old Point Loma Lighthouse
We sail past North Island Naval Air Station, US Navy Base Point Loma, Cabrillo National Monument, Point Loma Lighthouse
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 77 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Next Level Sailing

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during San Diego Whale Watching Cruise?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by San Diego Whale Watching Cruise.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during San Diego Whale Watching Cruise?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by San Diego Whale Watching Cruise.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during San Diego Whale Watching Cruise?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by San Diego Whale Watching Cruise.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during San Diego Whale Watching Cruise?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by San Diego Whale Watching Cruise.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during San Diego Whale Watching Cruise?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 77 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by San Diego Whale Watching Cruise.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "I would recommend that you bring your own beverages and snacks." See review
  • "For the experience of being on a fair dinkum sailing ship, plus the experience of seeing whales the trip is exceptional value for money." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
378 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 378 reviews
star-5
Highly recommend - COVID friendly activity
Tracy_S
, Jan 2021
The crew and captain were so friendly and accommodating! The bot was HUGE and absolutely gorgeous, ample space for social distancing guidelines and the crew did a great job enforcing everyone have a safe and fun experience! We saw a wale take several breaths as well as about 100 dolphins!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Thank you so much! We really appreciate your review and I am so glad to hear you had a great time and felt safe during your entire voyage. Thanks again for sharing your experience!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Sea lions and bay tour!!
Audrey_P
, Jan 2021
The crew was so kind and amazing. From the boat to the sweet resident dogs aboard, everything was wonderful. We went on the afternoon cruise and the morning cruise had encountered unexpected high swells outside of the bay. The owner was very transparent for what that meant for our cruise as they wanted to put our safety first. They let us know we wouldn’t be able to go far outside the bay to find whales because of the dangerous conditions. While this was a bummer, they let us know we could come back any other time for free to go find whales if we so choose. Even though we were unable go out of the bay on today’s journey it was still very informative as the staff knew everything there was to know about everything surrounding the bay. We saw sea lions, which was a treat. The resident puppy “Charlie” was one of the highlights. She was so very social, but well mannered for a puppy. I could say many more good things about the experience, but you should go check it out for yourself! Tip: Bring a jacket and blanket you can take on and off!!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are so glad that you had a wonderful time despite the unexpected change of events. We really appreciate your flexibility and understanding. It just wasn't safe to go out to sea in the afternoon. We can't wait to have you back to go whale watching. Please email us at info@nextlevelsailing.com or give us a call 619-922-6215. Thank you so much! I am so glad you had a good time with us in the bay. Thanks again for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Magical
Carol_G
, Dec 2020
We had a wonderful time on our whale watching tour. The boat was beautiful, the staff was amazing and being out on the ocean was magical.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your review! We are so glad you had a wonderful time sailing out on the ocean. Thank you again for your review, we really appreciate it :)
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Experience!
Nicole_R
, Dec 2020
Although we did not see any whales (this is rare) we did see many dolphins, seals and even sharks feeding on a dead seal! It does sound a bit morbid but was actually something amazing and was a first for much of the staff as well. Fun sailing and super friendly staff! Loved it and would do again for sure!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. That was such a crazy day, I have never seen anything like that before either! Please do come back and join us for a free trip whenever you are in town. Just email us at info@nextlevelsailing.com or give us a call to rebook 619-922-6215. Thank you so much for sailing with us, we can't wait to have you again in the future. Thank you!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fab trip
Mandy_G
, Dec 2020
Awesome trip! We watched a juvenile whale play with dolphins. We were able to get some awesome pictures and video! Crew was great. Covid precautions good. Highly recommend whale watching on their beautiful schooner!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your review, we really appreciate it! I am so glad to hear you had a fantastic time. Thank you!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Bravo Zulu
DIANNE_W
, Dec 2020
Great Crew Made for an excellent cruise. Social Distance was maintain. Nice to get out of the house.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your review, we are so glad you had a fabulous time!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Happy Sailor!
Taylor_S
, Dec 2020
1000% recommended!! This experience was more than I could have expected! The whale watching was phenomenal with lots of exposure to whales, pelicans, and sea lions. They gave even time on both sides of the ship to be front row to whales breaching. Whale watching aside, the whole tour aboard the unique ship was entertaining and totally safe during Covid times. The staff was not only knowledgeable about wildlife, the ship, and the area but they were sensitive to the pandemic with proper safety and sanitation protocols. Thanks again Captain!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it! I am so glad you had a great time. Thanks again for sailing with us!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A big slice of happiness pie
Robert_G
, Dec 2020
Finding an activity for a day off during quarantine, has become an increasingly difficult task. Covid-19 Protocols, social distancing, wash your hands and wear your mask. Well, my wife and I hit a grand slam with the America Schooner Sailing ship, whale watching tour. The stunning ship, friendly, knowledgeable crew and in-place Covid-19 Protocols closely followed, resulted in a badly needed day off together, which we thoroughly enjoyed and will highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you were able to find some peace from this pandemic out in the ocean! We really appreciate your review. Thank you so much for sailing with us!
HelpfulHelpful2 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
HELLISH EXPERIENCE
HELLISHEXPERIENCE
, Dec 2020
THIS WAS A HELLISH EXPERIENCE, and a complete let down. you sit on hard surfaces with no back support, no cushions, and no wind screens, you cannot move around. if you sit on the shade side of this boat, you suffer even more. It was 4 hours of cold lashing wind with no where to escape to, while sitting on horribly uncomfortable surfaces, or the wood deck. The captain never once checked on his passengers after the first hour to see how we were doing, and one of the helpers even laughed at me while I was huddled in a ball on the deck because it was a freezing, wind lashing, shade, uncomfortable 4 hours of hell. I would never suggest such a horrible experience unless you love stress and torture. a complete waste of money and time, causing fear and anxiety. It was the worst experience of my vacation, an entire waste of money and time.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Let me first say that I believe this guest when she says that it was a bad experience for her. We, that is to say the crew and I, made several attempts to make her more comfortable. We could tell that she was cold and we offered her blankets, she refused. She also had a option to move to the sunny side of the yacht but she remained in her location. It was a sunny, but cold day, which can happen in December. The winds were up which made for good sailing, but from her point of view just made it feel colder. I also noticed that she remained seated even when we were with a nice pod of dolphins. As the captain, I spend most of my time at the helm so it is common that I only have a brief amount of time to visit with the guests. But my crew, which are awesome, did report to me frequently and we discussed if there was something we could do to get her engaged in the voyage. But I am also the owner, and I want all of our guests to have a great experience. I can tell she did not. We are so committed to this principal I made the choice to only charge for two guests for her reservation of three. Her two travel companions had a good time and were nice enough to talk with me after the trip. I wish she would have added that we didn't charge her.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing
Janet_M
, Nov 2020
It was incredible to see a humpack whale actually breaching. A miracle of nature 8 had never expected to see in real life. Staff were amazing. Lots od knowledge about whales, dolphins, nature, the environment. Everything was punctual and they really.made it COVID safe. Fantastic. Janet
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are so glad to hear you felt safe during your entire voyage and that you had a fantastic experience. We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you!
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 5170WHALE

Explore Similar Things to Do