Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio

|
San Antonio, United States

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 travelers1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers15 travelers
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Discover the confluence of cultures and historic events that shaped modern-day San Antonio on a 4-hour evening coach tour. Designed to complement the optional half-day morning tour for a complete overview of the city’s history, the tour makes three stops to points of interest including the Japanese Tea Garden, the UNESCO World Heritage–listed Mission Concepcion, San Jose and the Alamo(optional). Along the way, learn Texas trivia and enjoy live narration from a local guide.
  • 4-hour afternoon coach tour of San Antonio's historic sites and modern attractions
  • Learn about the city's 300-year-old history and rich confluence of cultures
  • Make three stops and pass by more than a dozen attractions and sights
  • See the UNESCO-listed Alamo and other missions
  • Designed to complete a grand city overview when combined with an optional half-day morning tour
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off included
Hotel pick-up and drop-off (downtown hotels only)
Professional guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Guide Gratuities (optional)
Lunch

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We pick up from downtown area hotels starting 15 - 30 mins prior to the start of the tour- you must confirm your reservation at least 48 hours prior to tour departure.

Departure Time

1:00 PM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please note the contact info you provide to Viator is what we will use to contact you, if needed. Should you wish to provide an alternative phone number or email to reach you at while traveling, please give us a call at 800-341-6000
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio ?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio .
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio ?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio ?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio ?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio .
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio ?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Afternoon City Tour of Historic San Antonio .

Traveler Tips


  • "Unfortunately, the museum stops were not open on Monday so we could not see inside." See review
  • "To cover the city, you need to take all day tour." See review
  • "This was a small group tour and we enjoyed the small group and the lack of crowd that you get with other tours." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
25 Reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews
star-5
Japanese tea garden
Lucy_G
, Sep 2020
The guide was very knowledgeable. He took us to see many interesting things. It was hard as most of the historical thing were closed because of the virus!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Thank you for taking your time to write a review; we are thrilled that you had a great tour and found the history of San Antonio and our many sites interesting. Please come back and visit with us soon!
star-5
Wonderful Half City Tour
Heidi
, Jul 2020
Anthony was very respectful, accommodating, and knowledgeable. He took time to explain everything and answer any questions we had. We did not feel rushed and were able to really enjoy what we saw.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
We are thrilled that you had a great time! We strive to have our tours informative, interesting, memorable but also fun! Your are so right about Anthony, he is a great tour guide, he is so knowledgeable and accommodating! Thanks for writing such a favorable review.
star-5
Worth it!
Trina_M
, Mar 2020
Domingo was great, gives lots of information. Had a good knowledge of the city and history. He stayed with us and did fill in the blanks.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Thanks for taking our tour and thank you for writing such a favorable review! Please come back and visit with us again soon and check out our ever changing tour options.
star-5
Great Experience!
SCBA
, Feb 2020
We got lucky on this tour that we ended up with a guide that was a previous HISTORY teacher! He was very knowledgeable about the sites and gave us a good amount of anecdotes about his own experiences growing up in San Antonio. Overall, we had a great time. This was a small group tour and we enjoyed the small group and the lack of crowd that you get with other tours. I forgot our tour guides' name, but it started with the letter D. He was great and was very courteous, even went out of his way for one of our passengers that didn't feel well and brought him back to their hotel. Great guy, great tour, great day! Thank you, San Antonio!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
SCBA: Thanks for taking your time to share your experience with us and the world. We guarantee reservations and departures on all of our Gray Line tours - NO MINIMUMS. Most of our tours are small groups. If you found this tour informative and fun, you will love our Texas Hill Country and LBJ Ranch Tour. Domingo and all our Guides are knowledgeable and fun - Best in Texas really and that's just the plain truth! Hope you can come back and visit with us soon!!
star-5
San Antonio afternoon
edandrose1
, Feb 2020
Alex was our guide and was very knowledgeable. A great experience would highly recommend it. My sister and I appreciated the fact that it was not a big bus but a smaller group.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Alex is great - we have the best guides in all of Texas - and we are not just bragging! Thanks for taking your time to write a review and please come back and see us soon and try our Texas Hill Country & LBJ Ranch Tour.
star-5
Great Tour
papachuck1935
, Jan 2020
Alex was a great tour guide and a lot of area in the 4 hours. To cover the city, you need to take all day tour.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thanks for taking your time to write a such a positive review. Please come back and try our Texas Hill Country & LBJ Ranch Tour or our San Antonio Missions UNESCO World Heritage Site Tour!
star-5
Interesting and Accommodating
trickrx
, Nov 2019
Great 1/2 day tour of SA. Alex was interesting, accommodating (our fault with a booking issue), and knowledgeable. He provided some fantastic places for us to visit in more depth on our next trip to SA. The Japanese / Chinese Tea Garden was beautiful. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
We are glad that you had a great experience. An incredible amount of research and training has gone into each of our tours. We strive to make all of our tours interesting, educational, fun and most of all meaningful. Alex is a great guide; please come back and see us soon! Try our Texas Hill Country & LBJ Ranch Tour, I know you will love it.
star-4
Interesting Tour
Cheryl B
, Apr 2019
Very good tour, our guide (Dora) was wonderful and very knowledgeable. Unfortunately, the museum stops were not open on Monday so we could not see inside. The Japanese Tea Garden was so beautiful and the highlight of the day. Overall it is a very interesting tour.
star-5
We enjoyed our short, half-day tour...
Robert L
, May 2017
We enjoyed our short, half-day tour as it had a couple of stops we wanted to see. The guide was nice and let us know the history of San Antonio's districts which were quite unique.
star-3
Apparently this tour must be new...
V W
, Dec 2016
Apparently this tour must be new because when I called to confirm my tour the local operator did not have my reservation initially with Viator. However she was able to accommodate me which is great since I had already paid for the tour! The day of the tour my driver contacted me to see if he could pick me up early so I wouldn't miss so much of the tour. I was completely confused since my tour was supposed to begin in the afternoon. After talking more with my driver about it, he wasn't even aware that the tour which is also offered as a full day tour, was split into two half day tours and I was only taking the second have. Once that miscommunication as out of the way, we were off for the afternoon. Most of the stops were good and it was a nice opportunity to see more of the city. However the Tea Garden was one of the most beautiful stops I have every seen. That experience made it worth while. The tour did not last as long as described. It actually ended about an hour short so I was a bit disappointed.

Product code: 17570P5

Explore Similar Things to Do