Recent Searches
Clear

Salzburg City Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

|
Salzburg, Austria
Salzburg City Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 12 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Get a comprehensive overview of Salzburg's attractions during this hop-on hop-off bus tour. Listen to the onboard commentary in 13 languages, then hop off at any one of the 12 stops to explore further on your own. Two-day and day ticket options available to suit your budget and schedule.
  • Hop-on hop-off city bus tour of Salzburg
  • Twelve stops around the city
  • Audio commentary available on board in 13 languages
  • Special 'Sound of Music' channel with commentary in English and Spanish
  • Day Ticket or 2-Day pass available
Saved to wishlist!
Audio guide in several languages
Extra Sound of Music commentary in English and Spanish
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.
See itinerary

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
With your voucher in hand, make your way to Mirabellplatz 2, and climb on board your hop-on hop-off bus tour of Salzburg. During the main season (March 15 to January 14), buses depart every 30 minutes from each stop (first bus is at 9:20am), and during low season (January 15  to March 14), buses leave every 45 minutes (first bus is at 10:05am). Air-conditioned and open deck buses both available. 

Onboard commentary is available in 13 languages as you pass historical landmarks such as the Trick Fountains, the Hellbrunn Palace, Mozart's House, and the Fortress Hohensalzburg. On your audio headset, click over to the Sound of Music Channel to hear tour commentary featuring the movie locations of the classic film, made in and around Salzburg. Commentary available in Spanish and English only. 

Hop off at any one of the stops to explore further on your own; catch the next bus that comes along to continue your tour. Day Ticket and 2-Day passes are both available.
Itinerary
Duration: 
1 hour 
Operating Schedule:
  Start: Mirabellplatz 2, 5020 Salzburg, Austria. Please check our exact operating hours by our colleagues, in our kiosk or at the stations.
Mirabellplatz
Mozartsteg
Ferdinand-Hanusch-Platz
Herbert-von-Karajan-Platz
Schloss Leopoldskron
Schloss Hellbrunn
Mirabell Palace
Salzburg Justizgebäude (Hellbrunner Straße)
Salzburg
Points of interest passed by on this route
Mirabell Palace and Gardens
 
Schloss Leopoldskron
 
Schloss Hellbrunn
 
Salzburger Altstadt
 
Mozarteum
 
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No personal food or drink allowed inside the bus
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please note, that wearing an FFP2 mask in the Hop On Hop Off and tour buses is required by law, therefore bringing your own mask is requested.
  • OPERATED BY Salzburg Sightseeing Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Salzburg City Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Salzburg City Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Salzburg City Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Salzburg City Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Salzburg City Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Salzburg City Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "If you have 2 city days this is a good option but if you have one day, just go to the Old Town and walk around." See review
  • "Good schedule, some old town stops were not available due to Christmas Markets" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
69 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews
star-5
Very nice bus tour
Alan_T
, May 2022
Very nice bus tour. The driver even added additional comintary about the area. We would do it again the next time we come to this area.
star-1
Wasted money
Shelley_V
, Jul 2021
A bus with a double decker will give a clearer view, bus was just driving through and fast one can’t really see or capture anything
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Salzburg
Richard_D
, Jan 2020
Brilliant well worth the money can see the sights atyour ownpace and leisure Cheaper thanmost of the tours
star-5
Xmas Market
Kevin_L
, Dec 2019
Good tour with some great stops. Nice scenery and helpful drivers. Good schedule, some old town stops were not available due to Christmas Markets
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Dear customer, thank you for your positive review! Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-3
Hop on Hop off City Bus
Charles P
, Jul 2019
We always enjoy this package as a way to get to know the city. Salzburg is relatively small but has many sites of interest. If you have 2 city days this is a good option but if you have one day, just go to the Old Town and walk around.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Charles, thank you very much for your review! We would be very glad if you have a Feedback for us why you couldn´t give us a 5-Star review so we can improve our service! Thank you and best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-5
Hop an and Off where you like
DiStatham
, Jul 2019
We took the 2 day ticket option. On day 1 we did the full circular tour to see all the stop off points. We then chose which places we wanted to get back to and actually spend time. It worked really well. There was plenty of room on the coaches and they were air conditioned which was very welcome NOTE - the City Tour takes you round the City and the outlaying places. There is also an "Old Town Tour" which is just within the central area and is done on a small mini bus.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi DiStath, thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy that you had a great time with us. Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-3
The auditory information of the bus...
Yolanda
, Mar 2018
The auditory information of the bus could improve.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Yolanda, thank you very much for your review! We would be very glad if you have a Feedback for us why you couldn´t give us a 5-Star review so we can improve our service! Thank you and best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-5
We always take the hop on hop off...
Izak_S
, Feb 2018
We always take the hop on hop off bus tour in a newe city. As always we had a pleasant experience and an amazing day! We can really recommend this Hop on Hop off City Tour!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Mareth, thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy that you had a great time with us. Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-2
Salzburg is small city. Less than...
Darmadi_D
, Jan 2018
Salzburg is small city. Less than one hour the bus tour already completed. Not many hop on hop off stop.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Darmadi! Thank you very much for your review. Salzburg is a very small city but that's what makes it so charming we think. We have 24 Stopps in Salzburg City at the moment and usually our customers are very satisfied with this range of stops. But if you have another idea for us we would be very happy! Thank you and best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-1
Ear phones were difficult to hear...
Daniel M
, Oct 2017
Ear phones were difficult to hear and hard to follow the audio. Bus driver was not helpful with his limited English. Most people, especially in the service industry in Germany, Austria and Paris, spoke English well enough to be helpful. This was not the case.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Daniel! First of all we are very sorry that you had a bad experience with our Hop On Hop Off Tour. Usually our bus drivers are tested for their English skills and because we have no exact time of this case we can´t talk to the mentioned bus driver but we will do our best to train our employees. We also tested our earphones and couldn´t find any failure. Thank you for driving with us and best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing - Team
star-5
A very good way to see both sides of...
Kaye C
, Oct 2017
A very good way to see both sides of the river as well as the countryside. Any weaknesses came from unpreparedness on my part.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Kaye, thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy that you had a great time with us. Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-5
This tour was particularly memorable...
Emily_L
, Sep 2017
This tour was particularly memorable for the hop-off advice gave us by our driver. Because of her recommendation, we hopped off at the Schloss Helbrun and toured the house and grounds. The trick fountains were wonderful, and the guide there was terrific. Generally speaking, the Hop-On Hop-Off tour was informative and efficient.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Emily, thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy that you had a great time with us. Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-5
The absolutely BEST way to see where...
C D
, Aug 2017
The absolutely BEST way to see where you want to spend more time, and includes Hellbrunn, too. Also stops at the Hauptbanhof, which is very handy. Several trips to choose from, just wish I'd more time to do them all.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi CD, thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy that you had a great time with us. Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-3
Take the hop on and off of the old...
Mark V
, Aug 2017
Take the hop on and off of the old quarter. Skip the big bus of Salzburg. Also,way too much of The Sound of Music. It's like this is all that ever happened here.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Mark, we have one Sound of Music Channel and one City Channel. I guess you selected the Sound of Music Channel and that´s why you didn´t hear anything about the City. Hope you have a better experience next time! We send you greetings from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Team
star-4
If you want a quick run of the city...
Lisa G
, Jul 2017
If you want a quick run of the city, do the hop on bus. I never hopped off so I could get my barrings. It seemed like we flashed by some of the sites, but guess that is why you should hop off to see more. Overall a good tour. I think the directions for finding the bus could provide more landmarks.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Lisa, thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy that you had a great time with us. We will try to hang out more signs in the future! Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-4
This tour only has 12 stops, so be...
Patricia D G
, Jul 2017
This tour only has 12 stops, so be aware that you'll be doing some walking in between...many historical buildings, churches, palaces and embassies to see around each stop. Also...Viator does not have both routes for sale, just one or two day. If you want to see all of the stops then you will have to pay an extra 5 Euro and pay again for the tram to take you up to Salzburg castle. The scenery was beautiful! Just know that some of the drivers expect you to push the stop button on the bus if you want off...although they are supposed to stop at every designation.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Patricia! Thank you very much for your review! Unfortunately we can´t sale the red line online because the roads in the Old Town of the City are blocked very often and we don´t want to promise and sale something to our customers we can´t offer at the end. But if there are no roads blocked, we sale the red line tickets at the Ticket Office at Mirabellplatz. Thank you for driving with us! Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours - Team
star-4
Good way to see the city and...
Linda S
, Jun 2017
Good way to see the city and surrounding area including the Hellbrunn palace, gardens and trick fountains.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Linda, thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy that you had a great time with us. Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-4
Terrific way to orientate to the city...
Fionablossom
, Jan 2017
Terrific way to orientate to the city and sights. Friendly staff and reliable schedule.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Fionabl, thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy that you had a great time with us. Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-4
I always love the hop on hop off bus...
Helena J
, Jan 2017
I always love the hop on hop off bus tours and we always take them as it gives you a chance to tour the whole city, place etc and then you decide where you want to focus your visits on etc. The bus was clean and there was plenty to see with guided information via headphones. Salzburg is not that big but it is beautiful. Maybe the bus drivers could be a little bit more sociable and welcoming. I understand there could be a language barrier but still, you felt ignored but that could just be me. Still always recommend that you use these buses in unfamiliar places. Good value for money too.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Helena, thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy that you had a great time with us. We are always trying to find open-minded and friendly bus drivers and we are sure it will be a better experience in the future! Sorry you had a bad experience! Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team
star-5
As always we like to take the bus to...
Sue B
, Dec 2016
As always we like to take the bus to get our bearings and decide want we want to see .Good value . Even took us to a Christmas market that we didn't know about . Would definitely recommend.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi Sue, thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy that you had a great time with us. Best regards from Salzburg, Your Salzburg Sightseeing Tours – Team

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Salzburg City Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
Salzburg City Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

star-469

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$26.83

star-422

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$26.83

star-428

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$21.53

star-3.541

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$30.05

star-449

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$35.42

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$20.28

star-431

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$48.30
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations