Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Lapland Reindeer and Husky Safari from Rovaniemi

star-4.5
|
Rovaniemi, Finland

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Short on time in Lapland? This 2.5-hour reindeer sleigh and husky sled experience from Rovaniemi is just the ticket. Meet and learn about friendly reindeer at a reindeer farm, and settle on a reindeer sleigh for a wonderful ride through the snowy woods. Receive a souvenir reindeer driving licence, enjoy a hot drink, and visit a husky farm. See the beautiful sled dogs, and take an exciting husky-sled ride through the wintry forests. Finish with a coffee or sweet hot berry juice before returning to Rovaniemi.
  • 2.5-hour reindeer and husky sled experience from Rovaniemi
  • Visit a reindeer farm, and learn all about these gentle animals
  • Ride a reindeer-drawn sleigh, and receive a souvenir license
  • Meet beautiful huskies at a woodland husky farm
  • Go on a husky-pulled sled ride
  • Savor a hot drink at the reindeer and husky farms
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off are included
Guide service
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Reindeer-drawn sleigh ride, 500m
International Reindeer driver’s license souvenir
Husky-drawn sleigh ride, 2km
Hot drink
Additional food and drinks, unless specified
Thermal outerwear
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Please notice that pick up time is different for different hotels.

The average pick up time is 08:45-09:15. For more details look for our customer

service message

Departure Time

9:30 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 5 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Please dress warmly in winter layers for this activity
  • All animals used for these services are trained as much as possible for the activity, however, the behavior of animals can be unpredictable and therefore it is essential that all participants follow all given instructions for their safety, and the safety of others
  • Other languages upon request

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Lapland Reindeer and Husky Safari from Rovaniemi?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Lapland Reindeer and Husky Safari from Rovaniemi.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Lapland Reindeer and Husky Safari from Rovaniemi?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Lapland Reindeer and Husky Safari from Rovaniemi.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Lapland Reindeer and Husky Safari from Rovaniemi?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Lapland Reindeer and Husky Safari from Rovaniemi.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Lapland Reindeer and Husky Safari from Rovaniemi?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Lapland Reindeer and Husky Safari from Rovaniemi.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Reindeer farm visit was best with local farmers happy to answer questions and help." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
16 Reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews
star-5
Reindeer husky safari best to do.
Susan D
, Dec 2019
We had a fantastic time,in our your. Picked up on time and well looked after. Reindeer farm visit was best with local farmers happy to answer questions and help. Husky tour great too. Rides through forest so quiet and beautiful. Thanks happy to recommend to anyone.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you Susan for taking your time and the great feedback. Enjoy the rest of your stay in Rovaniemi. Kind regards, Alex
star-4
Fantastic Reindeer Safari
Connector63186622253
, Mar 2019
The Lapland Reindeer Safari was just fantastic. The lady who showed us around was so knowledgeable and patient with answering our questions. We were able to feed the reindeers and were not rushed. Then we went in a sleigh ride which was also a wonderful experience. My only negative here would be I was travelling with my 85 year old mother who is very agile for her age but a cushion for her to sit on in the sleigh would have been nice. Reindeer safari 100% excellent. The Husky safari was awful. It was very commercialised. We were made to stand around for ages. The sleigh ride was so disappointing - we were cramped in with a man and his two children, because he had children - I sat at the back, then my mother, then this father (who was quite tall and solid) then his children. So due to that sitting arrangement I could not see anything, and my mother did not have a good view either. After the sleigh ride we then stood around for over half an hour to listen to a lady explain the life of the Huskies at the safari, which to both myself and my mother was quite boring. Please find another Husky place to take your clients - this place was terrible, awful, horrible. Your tour guide who took us around was fantastic. He was so apologetic for the Husky place but we do not hold him responsible for the service there.
star-5
Amazing and personal
Quest10195491075
, Dec 2018
We was off to a bumpy start with lack of communication, and had to call a few times, we got collected from our hotel by a lovely tour guide and taken to the reindeer farm where we was warmly greeted and had an amazing time feeding and petting the reindeers followed by a reindeer pulled sleigh ride, then we headed up to the cabins and had hot drinks and biscuits whilst our talk was going on the guide there was amazing and took his time with the kids, we was then taken to the husky farm which was amazing straight on to a husky pulled sleigh ride followed by time to go and pet all the other husky's again we was able to have hot berry juice whilst having our talk, all in all it was a fantastic day.
star-5
Great experience ....guide was very...
Joao B
, Feb 2018
Great experience ....guide was very good and knowledgeable. Comfortable car and great reception/activities during the visit to the farms .....must do safari. Thanks!
star-5
Our tour guide Alex was great! He...
Christina T
, Mar 2017
Our tour guide Alex was great! He was very accommodating and friendly. I also really enjoyed meeting the reindeer and huskies. Although the actual sled rides were a little short they were worth it for the experience. Afterwards, Alex asked all the members of our group where they needed to go and dropped them to their various locations. He even accompanied me to the train station, helped with my luggage and took me to my Air BnB apartment. Thank you so much!
star-5
The reindeer and husky trip was...
John P S
, Jan 2017
The reindeer and husky trip was selected because it combined two of the activities that were on our wish list and ensured that our granddaughter of 4 years was not subjected to the cold for too long a period. Our three generation party of five were picked up promptly at our hotel in the centre of Rovaniemi. Our friendly tour guide outlined the program of the visit and was a fount of knowledge and engaging during the travelling to and at the respective reindeer and husky farms. At the reindeer farm the Sami guide took us to a typical reindeer herders tent where he performed an Arctic Circle initiation ceremony followed by storytelling whilst sitting around a blazing log fire. Following this we were taken for a sleigh ride which we drove ourselves through an enchanting landscape which was just like being in your very own Christmas card. Afterwards we met more reindeer and were able to pet them and feed them with lichen. My granddaughter had been told that if she winked at a reindeer and it winked back it was Rudolf there was much winking with a successful outcome. Finally we were invited back for refreshments in a Sami log cabin. At the husky farm we had a very exhilarating and thrilling 2.5km ride as you whip around the track with the cold wind in your face in a sledge driven by 12 dogs. After the ride we retired to a cabin and whilst we warmed ourselves by the fire were given lots of information about the dogs by a husky loving enthusiastic Ukranian girl and we were plied with the local hot berry juice. There was also the opportunity to visit the dog kennels This tour is highly recommendable especially for young families and experiencing reindeer and huskies shouldnt be missed. The only downside to the trip was its cost which I thought very expensive for just over 2.5 hours but seemed to be the going rate.
star-2
The 2 stars that I am giving is...
Alvy
, Dec 2016
The 2 stars that I am giving is actually kind enough as to consider my tour guide effort on that day. She was the only reason for me not to downgrade this rate to 1 star. Other than that, I would just say everything went wrong with this tour. 1. From the tour timing that was supposed to be at 10am the reason I chose it from others due to consideration of sun availability to take good photos in the winter, Easy Travel informed me that it had to be changed to 2.30pm during the dark. I hate tour that simply change its timing not following whatever that is written in viator. 2. I was picked late by the van because of miscommunication problem, that resulted to shorten my tour duration period. Not good. 3. It is written there in viator that you will be picked at your hotel if it is located in the city. My accommodation was in the city. And from the beginning when I booked I have put in my hotel address. End up at 2.30pm nobody arrived, then when I called I found out that they had sent a last minute email that my pick up will meet me at another hotel in the city this place is not very close to mine. Firstly, if your package says that I will be picked at my hotel, then why would I walk to another hotel in the cold just to make your life easier instead of mine? Secondly, I was the only one who joined this tour on that time, so why would you want to pick me at a place where you don't even have any other customer there? 4. When they informed me the time will be changed to 2.30pm, first question that I asked was would there be any light provided during the tour as I wanted to take photos and videos I write a travel blog with a lot of readers, therefore this is very important for me as I need to capture/record my experience and share them. Easy Travel responded my email by saying 'Yes, portable light will be provided during the tour'. This was the reason I straight away gave my confirmation for the tour. No portable light was provided none whatsoever, completely in the dark. They lie. I didn't like it. I felt cheated. 5. The rides were ok and I enjoyed them but just too short. Some people might have consider these are not worth their money. The reindeer farm was slightly better than the husky because it is located far from the city. That is why we pay for a tour isn't it? The husky place was very near to Santa Village, very touristy looking place and I could have done it lot cheaper by taking bus no 8 which costed 7.20 Euro return and entry cost which was only 7 Euro and 20 Euro for ride.
star-5
I enjoyed this very very much! I got...
roslynrosejos0512
, Dec 2016
I enjoyed this very very much! I got to feed and ride a Reindeer. Furthermore, there was a storytelling part before the Reindeer ride. The husky ride was also enjoyable. Igor our tour guide is very friendly and even offered to take pictures for me since, I am a solo traveler. This tour is highly recommendable!
star-5
Great fun. The Sami guide at...
silvercharm1977
, Nov 2016
Great fun. The Sami guide at reindeer portion was great, as we getting to pet and feed the reindeer! It was great getting to pet the dogs at the dog park too. The only cons were that the rides were very short. Probably 3 minutes for the reindeer maybe a bit longer if the reindeer don't run, but ours did that day and a 1 km ride on the dogs, which takes about 5 minutes. The dog sled ride was just right as your face gets very cold from the wind. It is a great snack if you don't have the time or money for a full meal of an expedition. Our guide, Nick, was very nice and personable. He went out of his way to make our experience enjoyable.
star-4
Overall, the tour was fun even...
jennyr.1219
, Nov 2016
Overall, the tour was fun even though we didn't get to go on the reindeer sleigh ride. Our tour guide was very informative and engaging. The guide at the reindeer farm was very interactive and we fed the reindeers. At the husky farm we learned a bit about the dogs and went on the husky ride.

Product code: 13975P9

Explore Similar Things to Do