Recent Searches

Frozen Waterfalls of Korouoma

Rovaniemi, Finland
Frozen Waterfalls of Korouoma

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon6 to 7 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more
Instant Confirmation


Hike among the striking frozen waterfalls of Korouoma on this full-day trek from Rovaniemi. Embarking on an Arctic hike in unfamiliar territory on your own may be difficult, but with a guide in the lead you'll be completely safe. Let your guide take care of navigation and listen to informative commentary on the Arctic's flora, fauna, and geology as you travel through canyons and forests. Stop for a bonfire lunch and a hot drink.
  • Pickup and drop-off from Rovaniemi hotels
  • Use of thermal clothing and snowshoes to keep travelers warm and moving through the snow
  • Bonfire barbecue lunch and traditional blueberry tea
  • Engaging commentary from a guide, available in multiple languages
Saved to wishlist!
Guide in English (other languages available on request: Dutch, German, French, Italian, Spanish, Chinese)
Pick-up from and drop-off to your hotel/accommodation
Winter clothes (overall and boots)
Snow Campfire: Reindeer sandwich, pork sausage (or vegetarian/vegan alternative upon request)
Hike to the Frozen Waterfalls Tour
Transportation from outside Rovaniemi City Center

Departure Point

Maakuntakatu 29, 96200 Rovaniemi, Finland

Visit our Safari office in the city center (beside Subway)

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Nordic Unique Travels
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos


17 Reviews
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1 of 17 reviews
Highs and (mostly) lows
, Dec 2018
There were 4 of us on our tour. Our tour guide Malcom (aka ‘Malc’) was friendly and seemed very knowledgeable about Northern Lights. Unfortunately, Malc was clearly not very experienced in the Korouoma Waterfalls tour that we were doing. He entered the incorrect destination address into his GPS and drove for another 1.5 hours beyond where we were due to stop. With only 4 hours of daylight in Rovaniemi at this time of year, we had wasted precious daylight hours with that error. Malc was apologetic and promised to get us to the waterfalls and ‘make up for it’ albeit a little dark. Not 2km down the road, we then got a flat tyre. As it was snowing and quite cold, Malc was attentive to our comfort and worked hard to replace the tyre as quickly as possible (with the help of some locals passing by). Naturally, by the time this was done, daylight was pretty much gone. We assumed that the day was a write off and we would return to Rovaniemi town and perhaps try and join the tour again the following day. Malc insisted that we still go to the waterfalls, despite no daylight – as something is better than nothing, “If we were getting a full refund, least we have seen some of them”. We reluctantly agreed (though, didn’t see the point as it was almost dark). We finally arrived at the original destination. The forest looked beautiful but as you would expect, we couldn’t see much and darkness was setting in fast. Malc took us to 2 of the 13 waterfalls but assured us that this was due to the conditions, not the darkness. We did get some photos with low light that could be brightened (sacrificing the quality of the photo) and got very basic information about the waterfalls themselves. We started to turn back and then Malc once again insisted that we should stop at a campfire to have the tea and sausages ‘because we were already here,’ we reluctantly agreed and luckily some generous campers allowed us to use their fire. We eventually returned to Rovaniemi and spoke with Malc and the manager of Nordic Unique Travels. They naturally apologised for how the day panned out but refused a full refund as we had ‘still seen the waterfalls and got some photos’. We got just under 25% of our money back and some tea light candles. We can’t help but feel as though we had been taken advantage of; what felt like a ‘make the most of a bad situation’ turned into a checklist of rationale as to why we were not entitled to a refund. For a tour that cost approx. €150ea, we expected better.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Dear sir/madam, Thank you for taking time reviewing us. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Frozen Waterfalls experience, we are working to improve our tours and your review will help us achieve our goal! We understand your point of view but please understand that by no mean we tried to take advantage of you nor your family. Malcom is a really experience guide and unfortunately made bad call during your tour. Although it is important to note that he was trying to make the best out of it for the customer's sake. I would like to apologize on behalf of Nordic Unique Travels for your experience. We hope that you at least enjoyed the beautiful sight that is the Frozen Waterfalls of Korouoma. I hope you still enjoyed your stay in Lapland regardless of the misfortune! Best regards Nordic Unique Travels Team

Compare Similar Experiences

Frozen Waterfalls of Korouoma
Frozen Waterfalls of Korouoma


6 to 7 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do