Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel

star-3.5
|
Vatican City, Italy

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (Approx.)

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Regular temperature checks for staff
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

The Vatican Museums are among the largest museums in the world and with over five million annual visitors they can get incredibly crowded. This self-guided tour is ideal for those who want to take their time and not be restricted by a guided tour. Save time with fast-track, skip-the-line entrance tickets, browse the galleries at your own pace, and visit the magnificent Sistine Chapel at a time that suits you.
  • Skip-the-line entrance: avoid the long queues and head straight inside
  • See magnificent artworks by Michelangelo, Raphael, Titian, and Bernini
  • Self-guided tour: spend the entire day exploring the museums
  • Choice of entrance times to suit your schedule
Entrance to the Vatican Museums
Entrance to the Sistine Chapel
Entrance to the dome
Hotel pickup and drop off
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Entrance to the St. Peter's Basilica
Guided Tour included only if selected

Departure Point

Vatican Museums, Viale Vaticano, 00120 Vatican City Italy

Ticket Redemption Point

Via Germanico, 8, 00192 Roma RM, Italy
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please be informed that the Vatican Museums provide wheelchair free of charge in the main lobby. You can easily pick one up upon entering, before starting your own independent visit.
  • If you are looking for a tour with wheelchair access you can choose our private wheelchair accessible tour so our guide can lead you through an alternate route.
  • Please note also that - the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basilica maintains a strict dress code year-round. All visitors must have their shoulders covered and pants/skirts must come to the knee. Please wear comfortable shoes.
  • Backpacks, tripods and big umbrellas must be left inside the cloakroom upon entering Vatican Museum. To reduce any disruption for your group, we recommend that backpacks are not taken on this tour.
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Tours About

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel.

Traveler Tips


  • "it started at close to 10, but the wait in line outside was incredibly long, over an hour, even for prebooked tours." See review
  • "Booking fast track was easy, voucher received by email straight away." See review
  • "Skip a line was great but tour guides were a bit disorganized." See review

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
117 Reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
15
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
27
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 117 reviews
star-4
Vatican
kathryn_r
, Sep 2020
Very good considering the difficult times. Felt very safe with temperature checks and insistence of face masks. The only downside was the £8 per headset very expensive and it is easy to share one if you are in a couple as they don’t come with headphones.
star-5
Wonderful... not to. Be missed
Inji_A
, Aug 2020
Fast meant just that! Clear directions inside museum to get to sections you choose to visit. Great inexpensive cafes and toilets. Be aware of stairs and more stairs. Pace yourself by resting in the lovely gardens.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Dear Customer, Thank you for this beautiful review! We are happy you enjoyed the visit to Vatican Museums and thanks for all the suggestions! We hope to see you again for your next holiday in Rome. Best regards
star-5
A positive overwhelming experience
Inji_A
, Aug 2020
Fast track was fast. Muezuem staff very helpful. Clear directions through the exploration. Lots of inexpensive cafes too.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Dear Customer, Thanks for the beautiful review. We are happy you enjoyed the Museums and our organization was really good. We hope to see you again for your next tours in Rome. Best regards
star-5
Review
Camilla_G
, Jul 2020
Very good personal service. Incredibly helpful when we made a mess of where to collect tickets. Someone came into the Vatican entrance hall to give them to us. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your beautiful review. We are happy you appreciated our organization. We hope to see you again for your next trip in Rome. Best regards
star-3
Sistine chapel skip the line
Ray
, Feb 2020
Skip a line was great but tour guides were a bit disorganized. It took forever for them to get us to the chapel , once there we went right in!
icon Response from Host , May 2020
Dear Ray, Thank you so much for your review. Your feedback helps us grow. The Vatican Museums are always crowded. There are very strict regulations regarding the Sistine Chapel entrance. One can enter the sistine chapel after only the Vatican guards allows them to. The stay inside is permitted only upto 20 minutes. Hope you enjoyed your trip overall.
star-5
Viator tour of Vatican
kevinparente
, Feb 2020
Tour was in time. Smerlda was an excellent tour guide. I will recommend to all my family and friends!!! Grazie.
icon Response from Host , May 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave this great feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had such a good experience. We take pride in providing professional experienced Guides who makes you tour interesting and unforgettable. Thank you again for this wonderful review.
star-5
Recommend!
stephenielunger
, Jan 2020
Our guide, Alfredo, was fantastic! Instead of just reciting names and dates he really made the whole experience comprehensive and very captivating. I learned so much!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear stephenielunger, Thank you for your five-star review. We are delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed an engaging tour with Alfredo. We hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Customer Services
star-1
Need Refund
celtkate
, Nov 2019
I am a travel agent, IATA #33640224. This was one of the worst experiences I have ever had in traveling and I want a refund. This was not a fast-track entry. It was at least 2.5 hours From the time of our appointment till we actually entered the Vatican Museum and as soon as we entered we never saw our representative again. Rather than being a portion of our day in Rome, it took up our entire day. Again, I want a refund and will pursue this on my return if you deny it.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear celtkate, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback – both good and bad. We are sorry to hear that you felt unsatisfied with your experience. Please send us more information about your booking so that we can look into this further (booking reference, date and time of ticket). We are one of the leading Vatican tour operators and we are always keen to improve our customers’ experience. There is always a small queue for Vatican skip-the-line tickets, due to their popularity and the Vatican’s security checks. However, we are surprised to hear that you said it took 2.5 hours. Please send your reservation details and we will proceed with a refund. Given that you purchased only a skip-the-line ticket without a tour, the tour representative does not accompany you during your visit. We hope that you enjoyed your trip overall. Best regards, Customer Services
star-1
Waste of time and money
VladM16
, Nov 2019
Worst service ever. We have waited for 1.5 hours in their office without any information on the delay. Then the guide was completely useless, zero info, delays all the time. Would be faster to simply queue for a regular ticket. Poor service, not recommended.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear VladM16, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our customers – both positive and negative. We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience. Sometimes there are delays due to circumstances beyond our control at the Vatican, such as museum closures or technical difficulties. Please send us your booking reference so that we can look into the cause of the delay on your tour. Your review is for our fast-track self-guided tour, which only includes an entrance ticket. The staff member who assisted your entrance is not expected to provide information or act as a guide. We hope that this clarifies your experience. We hope that you enjoyed your trip overall. Best regards, Customer Services
star-4
Good choice
Fearless49433753613
, Oct 2019
Skip the waiting time for the ticket purchase and got more time to enjoy. There are lots to see in the Vatican Museums and very exciting to see decoration of the Sistine Chapel.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Fearless49433753613, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic experience and felt the skip-the-line entry was worthwhile. We hope to see you another visit in the future! Best regards, Customer Services

Product code: 62422P7

Explore Similar Things to Do