Recent Searches

Experience your destination with peace of mind. Learn what steps operators are taking to keep you safe and search for activities with increased health and safety measures. Before you go, check local regulations for the latest information.

Read More

Fast- track- entry ticket to the Vatican Museums & the Sistine Chapel

Vatican City, Italy

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon3 hours  (Approx.)

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Regular temperature checks for staff
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
More questions?
(888) 651-9785


The Vatican Museums are among the largest museums in the world and with over five million annual visitors they can get incredibly crowded. This self-guided tour is ideal for those who want to take their time and not be restricted by a guided tour. Save time with fast-track, skip-the-line entrance tickets, browse the galleries at your own pace, and visit the magnificent Sistine Chapel at a time that suits you.
  • Skip-the-line entrance: avoid the long queues and head straight inside
  • See magnificent artworks by Michelangelo, Raphael, Titian, and Bernini
  • Self-guided tour: spend the entire day exploring the museums
  • Choice of entrance times to suit your schedule


104 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
Sistine chapel skip the line
, Feb 2020
Skip a line was great but tour guides were a bit disorganized. It took forever for them to get us to the chapel , once there we went right in!
icon Response from Host , May 2020
Dear Ray, Thank you so much for your review. Your feedback helps us grow. The Vatican Museums are always crowded. There are very strict regulations regarding the Sistine Chapel entrance. One can enter the sistine chapel after only the Vatican guards allows them to. The stay inside is permitted only upto 20 minutes. Hope you enjoyed your trip overall.
Viator tour of Vatican
, Feb 2020
Tour was in time. Smerlda was an excellent tour guide. I will recommend to all my family and friends!!! Grazie.
icon Response from Host , May 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave this great feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had such a good experience. We take pride in providing professional experienced Guides who makes you tour interesting and unforgettable. Thank you again for this wonderful review.
, Jan 2020
Our guide, Alfredo, was fantastic! Instead of just reciting names and dates he really made the whole experience comprehensive and very captivating. I learned so much!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear stephenielunger, Thank you for your five-star review. We are delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed an engaging tour with Alfredo. We hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Customer Services
Need Refund
, Nov 2019
I am a travel agent, IATA #33640224. This was one of the worst experiences I have ever had in traveling and I want a refund. This was not a fast-track entry. It was at least 2.5 hours From the time of our appointment till we actually entered the Vatican Museum and as soon as we entered we never saw our representative again. Rather than being a portion of our day in Rome, it took up our entire day. Again, I want a refund and will pursue this on my return if you deny it.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear celtkate, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback – both good and bad. We are sorry to hear that you felt unsatisfied with your experience. Please send us more information about your booking so that we can look into this further (booking reference, date and time of ticket). We are one of the leading Vatican tour operators and we are always keen to improve our customers’ experience. There is always a small queue for Vatican skip-the-line tickets, due to their popularity and the Vatican’s security checks. However, we are surprised to hear that you said it took 2.5 hours. Please send your reservation details and we will proceed with a refund. Given that you purchased only a skip-the-line ticket without a tour, the tour representative does not accompany you during your visit. We hope that you enjoyed your trip overall. Best regards, Customer Services
Waste of time and money
, Nov 2019
Worst service ever. We have waited for 1.5 hours in their office without any information on the delay. Then the guide was completely useless, zero info, delays all the time. Would be faster to simply queue for a regular ticket. Poor service, not recommended.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear VladM16, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our customers – both positive and negative. We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience. Sometimes there are delays due to circumstances beyond our control at the Vatican, such as museum closures or technical difficulties. Please send us your booking reference so that we can look into the cause of the delay on your tour. Your review is for our fast-track self-guided tour, which only includes an entrance ticket. The staff member who assisted your entrance is not expected to provide information or act as a guide. We hope that this clarifies your experience. We hope that you enjoyed your trip overall. Best regards, Customer Services
Good choice
, Oct 2019
Skip the waiting time for the ticket purchase and got more time to enjoy. There are lots to see in the Vatican Museums and very exciting to see decoration of the Sistine Chapel.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Fearless49433753613, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic experience and felt the skip-the-line entry was worthwhile. We hope to see you another visit in the future! Best regards, Customer Services
Best thing skip the queue
, Oct 2019
It really is an amazing, beautiful and breath taking place. I will definitely use this company again, thank you
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
LindaCr64, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had an amazing time at the Vatican. We hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Customer Services
Bait and Switch
, Oct 2019
Everyone I met using the Viator platform (Viator does not conduct these tours but provides this marketing for numerous vendors) described the experience as a treasure hunt. Meeting locations are not at the venue, hard to find, your guide may or may not be there, AND you can expect additional fees. Notice there is no phone point of contact. Use a reputable travel agency.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear franktmcmahon, Thank you for your review. We are always keen to improve our customers’ experience and appreciate all customer feedback. We are sorry to hear that you felt dissatisfied with the organization of your tour. Our meeting point is conveniently located in our office, a three minute walk from the Vatican. The address is clearly stated on the voucher, and it is much easier to meet in a place where we can accommodate all of our clients’ needs and escape the crowds of tourists congregating outside the Museums’ entrance. We have a reliable and efficient system to ensure that our guides are in position to begin their tours at the right time. We are transparent about our fees and our website explains what is and isn’t included in the ticket cost. Additional fees are optional, such as upgrading to a guided tour. We hope that you enjoyed your trip overall. Best regards, Customer Services
Sistine Chapel
Pam C
, Oct 2019
Booking fast track was easy, voucher received by email straight away. The day of our tour it was extremely busy. There were several other people booked on the same trip as us, and we were led to the entrance to the Museum and Sistine Chapel by a nice young man. Once through the main gate he asked us to wait while he got tickets for us - and once we had those we were on our own to explore. We were a bit surprised we weren't issued with a map of some sort - had expected the guide to be with us at least for part of the time. The walk to the Sistine Chapel was very slow - packed and jammed with tourists. Didn't have time to stop and look at anything really as we would be holding up others coming behind us. Once we reached the Sistine Chapel itself we were "underwhelmed" to say the least - we were told constantly to keep walking, no chance to look at anything. We found the exit route was much easier and quieter without the crowds, and also very interesting with many museum items. We stopped at the cafe for a quick lunch and then went to exit the Vatican building - only to find there was a thunderstorm with torrential rain outside, so we waited until the worst was over. Needless to say the exit was packed with other people doing the same.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear Pam C, Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased that you had a great experience. Our skip-the-line tickets do not include time with a guide inside, and the description explains that it is a self-guided visit. The Vatican is always a very popular site and therefore can often get a bit congested. We are happy that you found some interesting sites in the museum. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Customer Services
Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums
Kathy S
, Sep 2019
This was a very disappointing experience for the Sistine Chapel. It was extremely hot and so crowded you could not even see the floor as you were shoulder to shoulder with about 500 people packed into the chapel. And I went at 9am. I could hardly look up to see the ceiling. Our tour guide, Alfredo, had a red umbrella that he held up to keep us together. Well there was another guide in the chapel with a red umbrella and I lost my group but I was able to catch up later. The tour of St. Peter's was very good and I enjoyed that very much.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear Kathy S, Thank you for your review, we appreciate all customer feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your tour of St. Peter’s Basilica so much. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Sistine Chapel. The Vatican control the number of people inside and keep the crowd moving to prevent congestion, so we cannot guarantee that our customers will be able to experience the site in a leisurely manner. Best regards, Customer Services

Product code: 62422P7

Explore Similar Things to Do