Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off

|
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon3 to 4 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 5 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Explore the bucolic neighborhood of Santa Teresa and downtown Ancient Rio during this 4-hour private tour. In Ancient Rio, visit sites like the France Brazil House, Arcos da Lapa, Teles Arches and Praça XV. In Santa Teresa, admire the stately mansions from the early 1900s and view the neighborhood's original tram, built in 1897. Learn about the importance of both of these neighborhoods in Rio's past through commentary from your guide. Round-trip transportation from Rio hotels is included.
  • Explore the bohemian neighborhood of Santa Teresa and downtown Ancient Rio
  • Visit sites like the France Brazil House, Arcos da Lapa, Teles Arches and Praça XV
  • Admire Santa Teresa's stately mansions from the early 1900s and view the neighborhood's original tram
  • Learn about the importance of both of these neighborhoods in Rio's past
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Lunch
Entrance to museums

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Pickup is available from most hotels in the areas of Leblon, Ipanema, Copacabana, Flamengo and Downtown (Centro). Contact us back to adjust the pickup time.
For Barra da Tijuca/ Recreio we provide pick-up for an additional 10 USD per person that must be paid directly to the tour guide on the day of the tour.

Ports

  • Pier Mauá


  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • We contact you back in order to provide proper pickup time. Check your emails and/or cell phone.
  • If requested, you must present a copy of your ID.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Comfortable clothing and walking shoes are recommended for this tour.
  • For pickup in Barra/ Recreio, additional of USD 10 per person to be paid directly at the tour guide.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers per Minivan.
  • Minimum of 2 people are required for this activity to take place.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 99 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Rio Carioca Tour Ltda

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 99 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Ancient Rio and Santa Teresa Tour with Hotel pick-up and drop-off.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "The guide was very knowledgeable and it was well worth the money ."

Reviews

4.0
star-4
21 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews
star-5
Fantastic Trip
Susan_M
, Mar 2020
We have recently undertaken this tour with two amazing persons. Alejandro the tour guide and Greg our driver. We didn't know what to expect on a very very busy day in Rio. It was carnival week so you can imagine what it was like. Rio was rammed with people. Alejandro met us at the cruise terminal. We must say we were very apprehensive at first when Greg started to drive through some of the roughest parts of Rio. We were told not to film which didn't put our anxiety to ease. But after this we thoroughly enjoyed our four hours tour of Rio. These two Gentlemen are amazing. They took us to place that you could never find on your own. Alejandro English was excellent even though he didn't think it was. He explained things in details and told us of his experience of living in such a busy city. He took us to a park that he said not many people knew about. It was below Christ the Redeemer. The view was sensational. You could seen all the major sites of Rio. We also had a pleasant surprise of a helicopter flying around CtR and landing feet from where we standing. Even Greg the driver was amazed. He said he had lived in Rio all of his life and didn't know this park existed. Greg …...he is the best driver we have ever had anywhere in the world. How he didn't hit other cars or the drunken masses roaming the streets, we will never know. All the time we felt safe with this man at the wheel. He even took us down a narrow street that was nearly vertical. His driving skills are amazing. This trip was one to remember and we would like to thank you both for such a great four hours in your company. You are a credit to what you do. We would highly recommend this trip and if possible use these two gentleman. Thanks Greg for the bottle of drink you gave us......we haven't tried it yet but we soon will
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hello Thank you very much for your comment! We are immensely happy to know that your experience was pleasant. We always look for the best to be in our team and that is why it is gratifying to receive reports like yours, this way we know that we are on the right path! Hope to see you again for more moments like these and experiences that will stay in memory!
star-4
Block Carnival party in Santa Teresa
Ania
, Mar 2020
We were there at the Carnival time so many places that we wanted to see were closed. Our guide Jonathan was on time and he was good.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hello! thanks for your comment! During the carnival the city streets are full and difficult to transit. Even so, we are sorry that it was not 100% perfect. We appreciate the compliment to our guide and are happy that you enjoyed it.
star-2
Wasted time in Rio
Robin
, Feb 2020
Our guide Teresa(?) was 15 mins late. Her English is wanting and heavily accented. She sat at drivers side and spoke without mic mostly to the front so we did not hear /understand much of what she said. Then she did not narrate much on the places/scenes of interest. Very often we had to ask her what it all was. She started saying it would be a 4-hour tour. The drive was slowed by traffic and blockos due to the carnival and we only made 2 stops, once near the peak for pictures and the other for restrooms, only because we asked. The entire cruise felt like a drive through. We did not even see the famous staircase. Finally at the end of 3 hours we were dropped back at our hotel. It was not a disappointing experience and we all felt like we had wasted our time having travelled thousands of miles to Rio.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hello sir During the carnival season the city is really complicated in terms of circulation, which was the reason for the delay on the part of our guide. About her english and accent, we had never received any complaints about it. However, we are sorry that the experience was not as you wished. All feedbacks are important and for that reason, regarding your other considerations, we will take into account for future improvements in our services.
star-1
Not seeing anything during carnaval
Keith_C
, Feb 2020
Definitely advise everyone not to do this tour during the carnaval week. Downtown is all jammed with people so we can not see anything on our tour. The tour cuts down from 4 to 3 hours. I wasted of time. I advise the tour operator not to offer this tour during this week.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hello sir As you said, the streets are very busy at this time of year and this is notified to the customer. Unfortunately, the entire city is full of tourists and locals on the streets. It is impossible for us to stop offering certain tours because many people only have one chance to visit these places. Anyway, we are sorry that your expectations were not met. We hope to see you again in another opportunity
star-5
Educational Tour
104russelln
, Jan 2020
Our guide was very pleasant and knowledable, a very good tour, slave steps were something else. it was nice to see the old Rio cathedral archetectually much nicer.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
hello Thank you very much for your comment! We are happy to know that the tour pleased you. We hope to see you again!
star-5
Fantastic guide.
Road50096215883
, Mar 2019
Bianca was a wonderful guide on a fairly interesting tour. I so wish she could have taken us on the Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer tour as well.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2019
Hi Thank you for you lovely comment, we are glad that you like it, and we hope see you soon. Team Rio Carioca Tour.
star-1
Didn't get what I booked
nowandthen
, Mar 2019
I booked this tour because it included a ride on the subway and the tram, with a walk around Santa Teresa. We were put in a tour with 4 other people who did not want to walk and wanted a city tour in a van. I complained to the operator and guide, but they refused to do the tour I booked. I finally appealed to Viator who returned my money. This operator should not be used by anyone.
star-5
Every once in a while you get lucky
Curtis S
, Nov 2018
We booked this tour a day or two before we arrived in Rio. As such, we ended up being the only two people on the tour, which makes for an exceptional experience. We were picked up at our hotel (Windsor Leme) in an air-conditioned van. The tour guide (my memory is terrible but I believe it was Monica) had a very good command of English and we had no issues understanding her. We visited several unique neighborhoods in Rio, as well as the Selaron Steps and the Sao Bento Monastery. It was a hot day and our guide made sure we didn't walk too much, having the van meet us in strategic locations. Her knowledge of the area was extensive and she was a delight to talk with. We really enjoyed our tour and would highly recommend it.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Hello Thank you very much for your comment! We work to provide an incredible experience and we are happy when it happens perfectly. We hope to see you again soon!
star-5
A Great Rio Tour
travelingtrudy
, Sep 2018
Our guide was a little late in arriving but he made up by showing us unique places and a stop for a beer at a lovely place in Santa Teresa. Just loved it. Great time !!!
icon Response from Host , May 2019
Hi Thank you for you comment! Oops! it happens sometimes, guides are human. In any case we are glad that you like it, and we hope see you soon. Team Rio Carioca Tour.
star-5
Excellent city tour with a great...
Brian L
, Feb 2018
Excellent city tour with a great guide. On time, spoke perfect English, knowlegable. Knew about the history of Rio as well as the culture. Eduardo drove us around the city with numerous stops to explain the sites as well as to take photos. 5 star tour with a 6 star guide. Brian
icon Response from Host , May 2019
Hi Thank you for you comment, we are glad that you like it, and we hope see you soon. Team Rio Carioca Tour.

Product code: 8753P9

Explore Similar Things to Do