Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

star-3.5
|
Reykjavík, Iceland

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

The Northern Lights are one of the world’s most spectacular natural phenomenon, and Iceland is one of few places in the world where it’s possible to view the elusive Aurora borealis. Maximize your chances of witnessing nature’s lightshow on this tour from Reykjavík, and seek out the best viewing spots around the city.
  • Northern Lights viewing tour from Reykjavík
  • A chance to see the spectacular Aurora Borealis
  • Seasonal tour available from September to mid-April
  • Choice of evening departure times available
Bus Fare
Professional Local Guidance
Free Wi-Fi
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Pickup from hotels

Departure Point

Umferðarmiðstöðin BSÍ, Iceland, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Begin your evening adventure with pick-up from central Reykjavík and admire the capital’s illuminated landmarks as you head out of the city. As the glittering skyline fades from view, listen as your guide explains the natural phenomenon of the Northern Lights, caused by the interaction of particles from the sun with the upper atmosphere near the North Pole. Learn how the lights are the result of collisions between gaseous particles in the Earth's atmosphere and charged particles released from the sun's atmosphere, and discover the science behind the variations in color and brightness.

Depending on the weather and ‘Aurora forecast’, your guide takes you to the viewing locations where you are most likely to spot the Northern Lights, so make sure you have your camera ready. If you’re lucky, get a chance to admire the mesmerizing light show, before journeying back to Reykjavík, where your tour ends.

Please note: the Northern Lights in Iceland are visible only during the winter months, from September to April, and sightings are not guaranteed. However, if you don‘t see any Northern Lights during the tour, you are welcome to join the tour again, free of charge, on another night. For this reason, we recommend booking your Northern Lights tour for early-on in your trip, in case it needs to be rescheduled.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Reykjavik Excursions
Meeting point for the tour.
Pass By:  
Iceland
Locations on this tour vary from day to day depending on weather conditions.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Travelers with young children are advised to take the 20:00 departure which is available from 15 October through 14 March 2020.
  • This tour depends on weather and sightings are not guaranteed. The tour may be cancelled on the day if the weather is poor
  • Remember to dress warmly
  • No pickups from hotels
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Indicated return times can vary.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 99 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Reykjavik Excursions

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik?
A:
The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 99 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "BOOK THIS EARLY in your trip - the night we went we saw absolutely nothing." See review
  • "Do not go expecting to drive to lots of locations in one night, the tour takes you away from the city to a single location where you will stay the night." See review
  • "The northern lights are a must to anyone travelling to Iceland!" See review

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
407 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 407 reviews
star-5
Great driver and operator
Mark_F
, Feb 2020
Unfortunately we didn't get to see the lights however driver was great and the tour operator was too couldn't fault either and would recommend but hopefully see the lights.
star-3
No lights for us.
Couponqueen1956
, Feb 2020
Sadly, we did not see any activity, the night of our tour. Tour was rescheduled two previous nights, due to rain. The 3rd night, although cloudy, we were taken out. Not much the tour operator can do about nature.
star-1
Not worth your money
kamacich
, Feb 2020
Not a professional way to treat people. It's very commercial and you don't feel good in hunderds of people squeezed into 6 buses. Lady in our bus sounds bored talking about northen lights. We have our trip in rainy day and there was no way for aurora but they didn't return busses and people were getting cold in the rain. Don't waste your money fot this company, they don't care about you but about money.
star-5
Northern lights seen
Passenger786170
, Jan 2020
A week planned trip to see the northern lights, less by a knowledgeable guide. We were told how to look, where to look and how to photograph the lights. We managed to do this and saw the lights. Would recommend this trip.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Traveler Thank you for the kind words both about our guide and the tour :) we could not be more thrilled that you enjoyed the tour. Best wishes Team Reykjavik Excursions
star-2
Not the best tour
LVRA01
, Dec 2019
The guides were great at building excitement on the night driving out to the spot however, we did not see activity on the night. I think to see the lights it would be better to do a smaller more specialised tour perhaps. There were too many people (3 bus loads at the one spot) and when you are there it is pitch black and people were walking all over the moss and damaging the surrounding area. After the tour we were told by locals that you generally have about a 25% chance of seeing the lights on a tour like this.
star-4
Northern Lights Tour
Discover528882
, Nov 2019
Overall is good, well organize but it would be a plus if all the bus have a toilets since it's about 3 hours trip.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear traveler, Thank you very much for your feedback, it means a lot to us. Kind regards and welcome back! Team Reykjavik Excursions
star-4
Unlucky
BarryA1720
, Nov 2019
We were very unlucky when it came to seeing the Northern Lights but I will still rate Reykjavik excursions 4 stars regardless as they can't help the weather. We were booked the first night but unfortunately it got cancelled due to extremely bad weather. Reykjavik excursions sorted this and transferred us on to the following nights tour. This night we got out and they tried their best to hunt down a break in the clouds, taking us to various locations for us to try and see the lights unfortunately it just wasn't meant to be and the weather and clouds wouldn't give us a break we were hoping for. The guide was very knowledgeable and helpful and I would still recommend this tour. Unfortunately you can't plan for bad weather so you know it's a 50/50 chance of seeing the lights when you book the tour. My only gripe was I would like to see reykjavik excursions maybe offer a hotel pick up for the tour as you have to make your own way to the BSI Bus Station which in the cold and rain isn't the most pleasant 20-30 minute walk (when you are on a budget with reykjavik prices paying a taxi wasn't really an option haha) but that is only a minor issue.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
We are glad to hear that you were happy with our services. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and hopefully we will see you on board again in the future! -Team Reykjavik Excursions
star-4
No lights seen for us
MichelleK3373
, Nov 2019
Tour guide was very friendly & knowledgeable. Bus journey was comfortable. Unfortunately we never seen anything but then it's not a guarantee. It does get very cold out so wrap up warm. Would definitely go again to see if lucky enough next time.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us! All the best, Team Reykjavik Excursions
star-1
Cancelled
christianhewitt
, Nov 2019
I had a message a few hours before to say the tour was cancelled - no response at all and no refund!
star-4
Northern lights trip
Storyteller448826
, Nov 2019
Managed to see lights which was good but there’s a lot of waiting around in the cold - you must dress warmly. The tour guide was very very chatty and talked the entire way there. We weren’t so lucky as the lights only lasted about 10 minutes but there was a hot drinks and snacks van.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear traveler, Thank you very much for your feedback, it means a lot to us. Kind regards and welcome back! Team Reykjavik Excursions

Product code: 24308P13

Explore Similar Things to Do