Recent Searches
Clear

Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide

star-3.5112 Reviews
|
Reykjavík, Iceland
Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 9 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Admire the Northern Lights, brighter in the middle of the Arctic winter than any other time, during this 3-hour nighttime tour from Reykjavik. With the direction of an expert guide well-versed in the best times and places to catch the lights, head out into Iceland's open spaces for spectacular views. Get guidance on how to take the best photos of the phenomenon and listen to your guides explain what causes the lights to appear. Hear an onboard audio tour in 10 languages during your round-trip transportation from Reykjavik hotels. Wear very warm clothing; special 'Aurora Jackets' are available for rent.
  • Comprehensive tour by bus/coach
  • Excellent value for money
  • Get inside tips from a local
  • Free hotel pickup and drop-off included
  • Recorded commentary by audio headphones
  • Once-in-a-Lifetime Experience
Saved to wishlist!
Professional northern lights guide
Touch screen audio guide with a choice of 10 languages
Use of astronomy binocular and camera tripods
Wi-fi and USB charger for each seat
Complimentary star map
10% discount to the Aurora Reykjavík museum.
Food and drinks
Headphones / earbuds for the on-board audio guide (please bring your own; or, they are available for purchase on site)
Hotel pickup is not included with your purchase. SmartBus™ hotel pickup is available at extra cost.

Departure Point

Skógarhlíð 10, Reykjavík, Iceland

The tour will start from Reykjavik Terminal. Please be there at least 15 minutes before your chosen departure time. Hotel pickups are operated by SmartBus™ - for hotel pick ups we kindly ask you to be ready outside your accommodation or at the nearest bus stop 30 minutes before departure time.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Following pickup at your Reykjavik hotel in the evening, board a bus to head out into the Arctic winter night. On the way to your destination, listen to an onboard audio guide in a choice of 10 languages. Learn about what causes this astral phenomenon and fee free to ask questions of your guides. Be sure to wear very warm clothing; heavy 'Aurora Jackets' are available for rental as well. 

When you reach your destination, disembark and get a look at your surroundings. This landscape of pure white snow and ice is the best place to see the Aurora Borealis, or the Northern Lights. Your guides have years of experience studying weather patterns and are excellent at predicting where and when the Northern Lights will appear. Get guidance on how to take the best photographs of this otherworldly phenomenon to ensure you walk away with great images. 

At the end of your viewing session, head back to Reykjavik for drop-off back at your hotel.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Reykjavik Sightseeing
We will start the tour from the Reykjavík Terminal in Skógarhlíð 10, 105 Reykjavík. If you have chosen pick up you will be picked up 30 min prior departure time and brought to the terminal where we will start the tour. We will head out approx 40 min ride from Reykjavík to the countryside to one of our great spots to see the northern lights. The location depends on the forecast that particular day.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Audio guide available in: English, French, German, Dutch, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Finnish
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 300 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Reykjavik Sightseeing
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
112 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 112 reviews
star-5
Magical North Lights
Marisa_R
, Jan 2022
Love it the tour and the north lights. They take profissional photos during the tour. Really nice. Recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you very much Marisa for writing us this review. We know what seeing the Northern Lights for the first time means and we could not be more happy that we could be part of this lovely memory you now have. I would not say professional photos as we do not have nothing more but photograph enthusiastic guides. Ok, we do have some professional photographers that are also Northern Lights guides, but shh, this will remain between us 🤫
star-1
Let us know what is going on. . . or not
Joan_L
, Dec 2021
The Northern Lights tour was cancelled. That part is understood as it was snowing. But no one called or texted or emailed to say so. I had to have the hotel track down something on the web to find out. Still don't know how to get my money refunded oper the terms of the offer. Stood in the lobby and waited. . . at last hotel hellped me find it was cancelled. Tour may be great, but lack of information is not
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you Joan for taking time in writing us about his experience. We are sorry that your tour was canceled due to unfavorable weather conditions. I can see an email was sent to you at 13:50 about the cancelation, to your Viator messaging contact. The refund must be requested to the vendor as you booked this tour through them and not directly online with us, Reykjavik Sightseeing. We always make it very clear to our customer about the cancelations and forms of contact they can reach us in case needed (email or phone). If you call our customer service line we even have a robot informing you if a decision about the tour was made or not. We hope you had a nice stay in Iceland and we are actually sad to see this 1 star review :(
star-5
Good trip, tour guide was...
Daniel_L
, Oct 2021
Good trip, tour guide was very informative You need a bit of luck to get a good night for it but always worth a try!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you Daniel for taking time in writing us review. We are happy to see the chances to see the Northern Lights were on your side that night. It is a natural phenomenon which is very much weather dependent and we do our best to predict the time and location where they will appear.
star-4
It's a lot of work to...
Renee_D
, Oct 2021
It's a lot of work to hope to see the northern lights. The guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining though
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you very much for taking time in writing us this review. Predicting a natural phenomenon like Northern Lights and anticipating where is the best place to see them it involves a lot of work and last minute decisions. We are very grateful you appreciated our effort and we hope you had a great time on our tour. It will be our pleasure to have you back on board!
star-4
Didn't get to see the lights because it was the end of the season
Erica_A
, May 2019
Our tour was the second to last one of the season. There were no touch screen audio guides. We didn't get to see the lights with our eyes but our tour guide's camera was able to pick up some activity which she posted to the Facebook group. Despite not being able to see any lights, the tour was organized and enjoyable. We were able to get on the next day's tour but it was later cancelled because of weather. Our vouchers are good for 2 years though since we didn't get to see the aurora.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Lights Out
Margaret_K
, Dec 2018
Unfortunately our trip got cancelled owing to weather conditions. We were unable to reschedule owing to poor weather. A refund was in my bank within 3 days. Excellent customer service
star-5
Remember to take warm clothes! But...
BRIAN M
, Oct 2017
Remember to take warm clothes! But worth it. Make sure you take a good camera as you see the lights through that great, much better than with the naked eye
star-3
It was very nice sightseeing and our...
PariR_G
, Feb 2017
It was very nice sightseeing and our tour guide tried very hard to make sure we see the Northern Light so wee stayed till 1 am to see the North Light which we saw, great tour.
star-1
This tour was such a let down...
Michael D
, Dec 2016
This tour was such a let down. Picked up at 8:30pm and finished at nearly 2am. It was too cloudy to see the lights, which I appreciate is not guaranteed, so I have no issues with that at all, but the actual organisation of the tour itself was terrible. We had two stops, 20 minutes at a cafe, and a bit of time near a pitch black waterfall covered in cloud. We were told we were chasing the lights, but in reality it just felt like we were never going to see them so why drag it out more? Also the live guide was not a guide at all, she described herself as more of a host, was pretty much just there to make sure everyone was accounted for. The worst part was at the end, as I was not even dropped back at my hotel, so had to walk back at 2am through drunken crowds. Overall I felt like this was a total waste of money and time.
star-4
Bella esperienza
Gerardo_T
, Sep 2021
Bella esperienza, guida preparata. Siamo stati fortunati a vedere una lieve Aurora. Visto che era lieve solo la guida poteva farcela individuare.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Grazie mille per la recensione! We appreciate you taking time in writing us. We are happy you could see the Northern Lights and we hope you now have very nice memories to take back home with you. Now that you got a taste of how Northern Lights look, we hope you will come back to visit us again and experience even more.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide
Likely to Sell Out
Classic Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik with Live Guide and Touch-Screen Audio Guide

star-3.5112

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$44.86

star-4.5139

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$56.36

star-517

2 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$81.95

star-4256

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$82.82

star-412

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$84.00

star-3.5448

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

Explore Similar Things to Do