Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana

star-4.5
|
Punta Cana, Caribbean

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon8 to 10 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Explore the oldest city in the Americas on this walking tour of Santo Domingo. During this full-day excursion from Punta Cana, follow your local guide to view some 5th century colonial monuments, Las Damas Street and Diego Columbus Alcazar, the first cathedral built in the new world. Stop by the National Presidential Palace, get fantastic views of downtown and watch a 4D movie about the history of the city. Lunch at a traditional Dominican restaurant and round-trip transportation from Punta Cana hotels are included.
  • Explore Santo Domingo with a local guide
  • Step back in time on a history tour
  • All entrance fees included
  • Eat a tasty lunch at a typical Dominican restaurant
  • Free hotel pickup and drop-off included
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Air-conditioned vehicle
Professional guide
Bottled water
Lunch
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Exact pick up time will be sent by email

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Women must have shoulders and knees covered to enter the cathedral
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Runners Adventures

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Santo Domingo City Tour from Punta Cana.

Traveler Tips


  • "It is about a 2 1/2 hour ride from Punta Cana but it is well worth the time if you enjoy historical places." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
120 Reviews
5 stars
78
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 120 reviews
star-4
Santo Domingo Tour
rkiran2017
, Jan 2020
we thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Tour guide communicated well in both languages and we felt engaged in all activities. Unfortunately, we missed some of the fine points over looking the ocean which was mostly due to time strained.
star-4
Nice day trip with good service
SSK134
, Nov 2019
Very good trip. English speaking guide. Only down side is the bus seat leg space was too cramped up and the bus transfer was late in the morning with too many stops. Rest of the trip was great.
star-2
Half the itinerary was "skipped"
Nate M
, Oct 2019
I'll start by saying it's not neecssarily the fault of the tour guide nor the driver themselves; they were simply doing their job. Our biggest peeve from this tour was communication, that there was no transparency in the communication. The day of our tour, on the bus already on the way to Santo Domingo, we were told that because of the "election" that 4 of the attractions are "closed" and cannot be visited. This could have been communicated clearly, on Viator or on any of their listing to be the case for this day, but none of it was there. So, we couldn't head back if we wanted to or get a refund on the spot, as the bus is already in motion on the highway. We didn't get to see: The Columbus Lighthouse, Royal Palace, Military Forstress, and Columbus Palace. Pretty much more than half of the promised itinerary. They also took us to the Memorial Museum of Dominican Resistance, where all the texts on the walls were in Spanish, so we relied heavily on our tour guide. Instead of explaining to us what each room is representing, he pretty much speed-walked through the entire museum "hmmm this is all very interesting" *keeps walking non-stop*. That was a waste of time. Because after that, we walked a long time in the hot sun to the bus to go back to Punta Cana. Another con was that they took us to a souvenir shop which was obviously a commission based shop, as everything in the store was absurdly overprices (USD7 for a shotglass lol). We asked to roam around ourselves, and the souvenir shop next door had more reasonable pricing. Some pros: good lunch, funny-ish tour guide, Nacho. All in all, would not take the tour again, but others may have different experience than we did. Luckily, because we booked via Viator, we got to request partial refund, as the price we paid definitely did not match the value we got out of the tour itself.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Nate, We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you have experienced during your tour. The government closed all museums last minute call without previous notice, thats the reason why the tour guide did not even know previously, this is something that never happened to us, and that was the reason why we immediately granted you the refund you requested, this was not Viator, it was us who did. This was something out of our hands completely and we hope we can make it up to you on a future occasion. Kind Regards, Runners Adventures team
star-4
It has been 40 years since my last...
payala1
, Mar 2018
It has been 40 years since my last visit and I was amazed and disappointed at the immense change the Capitol city had taken, traffic, garbage, dilapidated housing, slums, over-populated. However once we entered the old city and toured the various venues it was great!!.
star-5
Santo Domingo is the oldest city in...
Richard S
, Mar 2018
Santo Domingo is the oldest city in the western hemisphere and was founded in 1502. You will be able to visit all the old city and the house that Columbus built. It is about a 2 1/2 hour ride from Punta Cana but it is well worth the time if you enjoy historical places. The old churches are amazing and the local tour guides are very sharp. You will be provided headphones for all the walking tour and the trip will be about 2 miles of walking. Definite trip for your itinerary.
star-4
The biggest problem with educational...
Warren T
, Feb 2018
The biggest problem with educational type tours is understanding the speaker. Even speaking English it was hard to understand the guide. We enjoyed all the locations and the meal. I felt too much time was spent at the church and the shopping area we were taken to was just a very over-priced souvenir shop.
star-3
Most of the itinerary listed on the...
Sarina H
, Dec 2017
Most of the itinerary listed on the tour such as sightseeing was simply just riding on the bus, also alot of the time was taken up by picking up other tourists transferring from one bus/shuttle to another.
star-5
If you are staying in Punta Cana for...
David D
, Sep 2017
If you are staying in Punta Cana for all your stay in DR its a great trip to see something different and a historic capital. It also gives you an opportunity to see the countryside along the 3 hour trip there.
star-4
We left Punta Cana at 7am and...
Mary S
, Sep 2017
We left Punta Cana at 7am and arrived back at 7pm. the guide had arranged for two rest stops in the am and one in the pm, which was great! the tour involved the inner city and historical area where Columbus would have landed and the house where family lived later. That was educational. This is a walking tour. We had a fabulous buffet lunch in a restaurant. one stop at a cathredral a play about pirates which could have been skipped, and a shopping hour at the end. It was enjoyable. We had one downpour of rain and they hurried and got umbrellas for us! The 2nd guide in the museum was very repetitive in his speech and I would have preferred the first one to keep going. It was a successful day and we enjoyed it, and learned a lot!
star-4
Pick-up was on time. Guide Nacho was...
rmcu
, Jul 2017
Pick-up was on time. Guide Nacho was entertaining and very knowledgeable. Driver Melbin was a safe driver. Sites were amazing! Lunch was just ok. Unfortunately, whole trip back was in the heat - air conditioning in bus not working.

Product code: 7096P9

Explore Similar Things to Do