Recent Searches
Clear

Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Puerto Varas, Chile
Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Known for its dramatic landscape at the foothills of the Andes, Puerto Montt is best explored outside the city limits. Visit three of the area's top attractions on this shore excursion from the port, including a stop at Petrohue Waterfall, the German city of Frutillar, and the City of Roses, all while taking in incredible views of the surrounding lakes, mountains, and volcano. This tour includes all entrance fees and transportation.
  • See three of the area's top attractions on a single tour
  • Learn about the area's history and natural attractions as you go
  • Option of small-group or private tour
  • Free hotel pickup and drop-off included
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Hearty baked beef Chilean empanada (vegetarian option must be informed at time of booking)
Glass of Chilean wine (red and white)
Cruise Port pickup and drop-off
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

We email everyone at least 30 days before their excursion to confirm pick-up details. We will specify meeting time, send pictures of where to meet us at the cruise port if you are on a cruise. If your hotel is not listed, we will still pick you up (even if it's airbnb).
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved, comfortable shoes are recommended
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY GV Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The far end the walk was uneven concrete with steps and would probably not been suitable for anyone with walking difficulties." See review
  • "Maybe eat on the bus instead of standing on the side of the road for 20 minutes" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
193 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 193 reviews
star-1
Under no circumstances...
Maris_L
, Jan 2022
Under no circumstances should you use these services. You will only buy a damaged holiday for your own money.The offered travel company does not exist because the phone is unlocked. The service is not provided. I am currently waiting for the money to be returned or scammed.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
You booked during a time that our country didn't allow us to operate due to COVID. Your money was refunded. We have been around for 20 plus years as you will have noticed by past reviews before the pandemic. It's unfortunate that Viator had this product active during a time that the government wasn't allowing us to operate. We are fully operating now and taking bookings for this upcoming cruise season.
star-5
A Great Trip with Excellent Guide
Gordon_W
, Apr 2020
The guide was at the port gates in Purto Montt as informed by email. The communication between the tour operator and ourselves on the cruise ship was excellent and very precise. The trip was a great experience and having lunch on the go with a glass of good quality wine was something different. This was essential in order to see everything and be back in plenty of time for the ships departure. The guide was very good and the weather could not have been better, glorious sunshine. All the stops were up to expectations and it was a great day out.
star-1
GV Tours
Diane_C
, Mar 2020
I was dissappointed with this excursion. I booked this tour with GV Tours and after I paid and received a printed confrimation time to meet at 10am. We came off the ship at 9:15, made our way to the street for pickup at 9:30 only to find our from the other tours that GV Tours had left without us. I tried calling and no one answered. I have been trying to get a refund from them and viator, they will not give me one saying I should have gotten there sooner like the others
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hello again, Diane, We are happy to refund our customers when we see that they deserve to be refunded, especially now during the COVID-19 pandemic. But you have to remind yourself that you booked a tour and didn't show up for it. Unfortunately, you were the only party that didn't show up for the tour out of all of our reservations.The 10:00 AM pick up is what YOU chose at time of booking, not what we told you. Let me just copy what you responded when we sent you the meeting instructions 30 days before your tour, this is what you responded: "GV Tours,Thank you for all the information and the picture. I'm very happy that I chose this excursion because you are very organized and helpful. We will be the first off and are looking forward to an exciting day with you." So clearly, you read our instructions which did not say anywhere to meet us at 10:00 am. And let me copy what I sent you the day of the tour after you did not show: " Hello! Unfortunately, even though you responded that you would be the first ones off, you never showed up! Our last vehicle left at 9:30 AM. Are you okay? You were the only party that didn't make it. Kind regards, Victoria Stein +56933956055" PS: 136 people took our tour that day from your cruise. Kind regards, Victoria Stein
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Disappointing all around
Jayne_B
, Mar 2020
We were disappointed with this tour. The day we arrived, Puerto Montt received a deluge of rain and we all got drenched at the waterfall. It was surprising we could make it there at all...by the time we returned, the road was being washed away by a mudslide. Not blaming our tour guide at all for pouring rain! By the time we arrived in Puerto Varas, and then Frutillar, the sun was shining. We had an empanada (ok) and wine standing next to the lake in Puerto Varas (I think). We had 1/2 hour in Frutillar for a quick restroom stop but there were GORGEOUS shops and restaurants which we could have explored if given time. I think the decision should’ve been made to skip the waterfall and do the cute towns instead. Our guide told us very little about the German culture of the area, no history, just nothing. We were thrilled to return to the ship after a long day in the 14-passenger van (which was nice).
star-4
Breathtaking
Michael_C
, Mar 2020
The hostess Nelly was very informative and knew her job. She was extremely friendly and made the trip very enjoyable. It was a beautiful place.
star-4
Loved the galls
Libby_G
, Mar 2020
We loved Nellie- and the driver!! The empanadas and wine were great too!! Disappointed in the rain but cannot be helped! The bus windows leaked! We had to wait one hour 10 minutes for all passengers to get there!!!!
star-5
Highly recommend
Nancy_F
, Mar 2020
Amazing tour and tour guide NELLIE. Although it rained incredibly hard our spirits were not dampened!!
star-1
Price gouging
Barbara_A
, Mar 2020
We paid extra for a small group tour. We ended up in a regular group van where everyone else paid much less than we did. No response from the GV Tours on refunding the price difference. The guide provided min to no information.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi there! You booked through Viator, not our website so you can check that there is a price difference of $15 dollars more. Our website is cheaper. Kind regards, Victoria Stein
star-5
Lakes,Llamas and Volcanoes with a dash of waterfall.
keith_C
, Mar 2020
Tuesday March 3rd, our final port on our cruise with Coral Princess.Myself and 5 friends had booked this tour independently with Viator. We needed a water shuttle to travel from ship to shore, using the water shuttle required all our group to be present before we could collect tickets for the shuttle. I advise anyone making this trip to ensure they have all their party in the lounge as early as possible as our delayed departure from the ship resulted in a late departure for our tour. All that said the tour guide Nelly and her driver (sorry forgotten his name) gave us a most enjoyable and full day. We headed for Puerto Varas first , The City of the Roses. The morning mist started to clear and we had 30 minutes to visit the lakeside and the local handicraft centre. Nelly explained about the Chilean Lake District and how the locals live with the constant presence of earthquakes. She also gave us a wonderful background into the history of the area and the original German settlers as we travelled through the countryside to our second stop, the llamas. We stopped for 10 minutes or so at a roadside shop and cafe which keeps llamas and alpacas for meat and wool and as a tourist attraction. Leaving the llamas we headed to the Petrohue Waterfalls and along the way had our first sighting of Mt Fuji's rival in Chile. Inside the park itself we took the boardwalk for a smart 5 minute walk to the waterfall and the best views of the volcano. The far end the walk was uneven concrete with steps and would probably not been suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. The views were magnificent with plenty of spots from which to photograph the waterfall and the volcanoes. Nelly had explained the different types of volcano we would see and when they last errupted on our drive up to the park. The day was warm and the sky clear blue my only (slight) complaint was that we could have done with slightly longer at the park we got 30 minutes whereas I overheard another group complain that their 45 minutes went too quickly. The shorter time meant, for me, that my wife did not have time to look at the local handicrafts. (On second thoughts perhaps this was not a bad idea!) Back into the coach again and the promise of a roadside stop, lunch of empanadas and wine and more views of the volcanoes. Unfortunately the mist had not fully cleared as we stopped and so no view of the mountains but lunch was delicious washed down with a substantial cup of red or white wine. Next stop Frutillar once more Nellie gave us a good commentary on what to expect of this lakeside resort. Apfel Strudel and real coffee con leche and plenty of time to wander along the lakeside to look at the large houses now operating as B&B's . The sun shone and the views across the lake to the three volcanoes were marvellous. Frutillar is an ideal holiday spot but a long way from England. After about an hour in Frutillar we made our way back to the ship to arrive at the port in plenty of time before the last water shuttle. We crammed a lot into the day and Nelly was a mine of information, the trip was excellent and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a snapshot tour of the area.
star-4
Great excursion
Robert_B
, Mar 2020
Weather cooperated for a great look at the snow capped volcano-Osorno-if cloudy could have been a bust but we had a great day. Petrohue falls was beautiful-would have been more impressive with higher water flow. All in all had a guide who didn’t talk too much just right same excursion ship offered but a smaller group-we had 8,they had a big bus full and they paid twice as much. Keep up the good work
star-5
Volcanos Waterfall & Huge Lake
EDWARD_J
, Mar 2020
Great tour small group and we seen a lot lamas ,volcanos,waterfalls huge lake,German town& lots more. We were the mouse around elephants the large tour buses from the ship we were a 15 passenger van with a great guide who spoke perfect english. If you want to see a lot in one day this is the tour!
star-5
Beautiful Countryside!
Bryan_H
, Mar 2020
They were great from pick up to the ending. Loved the tour. The country side was beautiful and waterfalls were incredible. Learning about the Germany population was really interesting. The only thing I wish we had had just a little more time at a few of the stops. A little rushed.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hello Dayna! Happy to hear you enjoyed our tour! We also wished the cruise line gave you more time at the port, come back and visit with a little more time! We'd love to show you our beautiful country again.
star-4
Cascades and volcanoes
Joanne_H
, Mar 2020
Lovely excursion - lots of interesting stops. Especially loved the cafe stop with magnificent view of Osorno volcano and llamas. The cascades were fabulous and we got there early just before the big coaches arrived. The lunch stop was very scenic but no toilets. Frutillar was an unexpected joy with lovely cafes and a beautiful beach.
star-1
VIATOR is NOT a reputable company!
Anthony_P
, Mar 2020
If you are on a cruise DO NOT book with Viator!!! Our port of call (Puerto Montt) was cancelled - the captain announced it was too dangerous to launch the tenders (all the ship's excursions were automatically refunded (as it should be). I sent the following email to VIATOR - they didn't even reply!! Which is a common curtesy . . . . . Booking Reference: 767067212 Dear Operator, As you will no doubt be aware the port of call here in Puerto Montt has been cancelled due to weather conditions - the captain has just announced that it is unsafe to operate the tenders & the ship will be leaving the port. All the ship's excursions have been automatically refunded & as this is out of our control we would appreciate that In these circumstances we are also automatically refunded too. Thanking you in advance for your understanding. Anthony VIATOR re-think your refund policy when matters are out of the client's control!!!! Will NEVER BOOK WITH YOU AGAIN having lost £116.00 for NOTHING in return.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Dear Anthony, This site is about GV Tours, so please note, you did not book through GV Tours. GV Tours policy is to refund all funds in full if you paid and your cruise doesn't stop for whatever reason. You booked through Viator, however, a third party company, which states their refund policy is 24-hour free cancellation. So you can cancel 24 hours before the tour for whatever reason. I am sorry your cruise did not stop at the port as only 3 cruises did not stop all season. We also missed out on that day. Also, we do not require pre-payment for any of the tour listed on our website.
star-1
Long day in the bus with very little time in Frutillar...
Peter_G
, Mar 2020
Not an enjoyable tour at all, 6+ hours driving around in a bus with no time to enjoy Frutillar. While the tour guide was nice, this tour was basically a full day sitting in a bus. The tour details said the tour was to start at 8:30 but started at 9. First stop was 30 minutes in a Puerto Varas where nothing was open as it was too early and all shops open later in the day. Then, 30 minutes at the waterfalls, which was sufficient, and then very disappointingly 45 on the side of the road for lunch next to a llamas and alpaca farm. This could have been skipped or done in 15 minutes to allow for more time at the other stops. Lastly, given the time crunch, we were allowed a very rushed 15 minutes in Frutillar which should have been the highlight of the tour. If the llama stop was skipped, it would have allowed for a much more enjoyable trip and visit to this very nice town.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hello Peter, Thank you for your review. It is always important to note, where you were coming from (cruise ship), what tour you booked (BUS TOUR, NOT SMALL GROUP TOUR) and what time you got back to the port (50 minutes before the last tender). That day your cruise ship was very late on getting tenders organized, so half of the group was off by 8:30 am and then the rest was off by 9:00 AM. Since you were on a cruise ship, you have to be back at a certain time and times must be divided evenly between locations. You, unfortunately, you needed to be back at the port by 3:10 pm that day which is very little time. Usually, cruises have their last tender at 5:00 pm which allows us to be back by 4:10 pm at the port. So it definitely depends on how long your cruise ship is in town. It definitely does not take 45 minutes to eat an empanada on the side of the road, it can take a maximum of 25 minutes to eat an empanada with a glass of wine, so that part is a little exaggerated. It takes me 5 minutes to eat an empanada, but I know it can take maybe 20 more minutes maximum, but not 45 minutes for anyone to eat an empanada. The way our tours work is that you get off as soon as you get tt he location, you are never in the vehicl, but only to get to the places. You forgot to note, that there is mandatory driving involved. From the port to Petrohue Falls it is 1 hour and 20 minutes, from Petrohue back to Puerto Varas it is 45 minutes, so there is driving involved, but nothing anyone can do about it. You can put it in Google Maps and see how much driving is involved. Have a great rest of your trip and we hope you come back with more time.
star-5
Perfect day in Chile
ERIN_P
, Feb 2020
Nellie, our guide and Bernardo, our driver provided us with a fantastic day. They were easy to find at the port and handled everything very smoothly. Mellow and Bernardo modified the day's events according to our group's wishes so we could spend more time at the waterfalls and in Frutillar. It was a perfect day in Chile.
star-4
Good experience
Lorne_P
, Feb 2020
The tour gave us a good overall look at the area surrounding Puerto Montt. Our guide had limited English so did not share aspects of the history and culture of the towns we visited but Generally a good experience
star-4
Enjoyable Excursion
Andrew_L
, Feb 2020
Nice scenery, good guide, roadside wine and empenada stop (but with giant flies). The falls were not that impressive. Suggest more time in Frutillar.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi there! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our tour! We have, for the past 20 years, strived to make our customers experience memorable. Those are actually called Tábanos” (the giant flies) and only present themselves during two weeks of February, they don’t have any poison so they are just annoying and unfortunately no repellent scares them. The falls are emerald colored waters tumbling through volcanic rocks with Volcano Osorno in the background and is actually one of the most visited sights in the country, but beauty is subjective so it’s understandable if you didn’t find them as impressive. Frutillar is beautiful as well and we are one of the few companies that visits this beautiful city. Thank you for riding with us!
star-4
South American cruise
Belma_B
, Feb 2020
The scenery was beautiful. Guide spoke English and can be understood. Was waiting when the ship arrived. Very pleasant experience. W
star-5
Gracias Maria for a first class look at your beautiful region.
Qiulin_S
, Feb 2020
Our guide's name was Maria and our driver, Raymando? Very safe driver, which is much appreciated. Maria was exceptional, very articulate and managed our time well in spite of the fact that we were delayed by latecomers. The trip to the National Park, waterfalls, volcanoes, lake, stroll around Puerto Varas, German museum, and Music Theatre in Frutilla are all memorable stops.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt
Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt

star-4193

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.16

star-4.552

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$40.00

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.53

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.92

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.00

star-00

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$170.00

star-4.58

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$65.42

star-53

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.47

Explore Similar Things to Do