Recent Searches

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Shark Cage Diving In Oahu

Haleiwa, United States

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

See Similar Products
Loading available options...

icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
Good for avoiding crowds


Experience the thrill of meeting sharks face-to-face in the pristine waters of Oahu on this educational, 2-hour, cage-diving adventure. See Hawaii's majestic hunters — Galapagos and Sandbar sharks in their natural environment — surrounded by the deep blue of the Big Island’s popular North Shore. Observe from the safety of a floating cage. Stay on the surface, then using a mask and snorkel, look through large polyglass windows to watch the sharks as they gracefully glide by. No scuba experience is necessary. Hotel pickup and drop-off available.
  • Get up close with sharks from a cage
  • Explore the North Shore’s beautiful blue waters
  • Learn fascinating facts about shark biology and behavior
  • No previous scuba-diving experience is necessary
Expert crew
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Local taxes
Food and drinks
Towels, swimwear, suntan lotion
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

Hale‘iwa Boat Harbor, Haleiwa, HI 96712, USA

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age 5yr old
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 9 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Hawaii Shark Encounters Inc

If you cancel within 2 day(s) of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.

If you cancel at least 3 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the maximum group size during Shark Cage Diving In Oahu?
This activity will have a maximum of 9 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Shark Cage Diving In Oahu.


337 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 337 reviews
, Feb 2020
The staff was very knowledgeable and safe. It was the highlight of our honeymoon trip and most fun we have ever had on a tour. Our view of the species has completely changed. We have zero complaints!
something everyone should do at least
, Feb 2020
had a great time, very knowledgeable, saw plenty of sharks and loved every second of it will be back again
Wonderful Experience!
, Feb 2020
It was super fun and an overall great experience. Berry surreal and surprisingly peaceful to be under water with the sharks.
Not great
, Jan 2020
Tries 3 times over 2 years to take the trip. It was cancelled each time. Might be a great time but I never got to go
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
we're sorry the weather was not in your favor, that not quite fair is it?? Neither is the 2 star review you gave us for a tour you did not take. To make it right we'd like to offer you a 15% discount next time you're out here to come take our tour and receive the amazing experience that thousands of our 5 star guest have received. See you soon. Aloha!
Worst company i have dealt with in Hawaii
, Aug 2019
Here is the our honest review. The captain waited for 3 minutes as we got stuck in traffic which was appreciated. As we got to the cage, we were divided in two groups. The first group was able to see few sharks and as the tiger shark showed up, they all disappeared. Now it’s our turn. We saw the tiger shark from a far distance for 2-3 sec. THAT’s ALL. At the beginning they were feeding the sharks to come over then when it was our turn, they stopped. So, there is no reason for the sharks to come back. Now we are calling the customer services to complain. I was surprised by how rude their customer services. The guy was telling me yes you didn’t see the sharks because you were three minutes late???? I didn’t know we have an appointment with the sharks!!!! And if they really can do nothing about it, how is it possible that they have trip with another group after they dropped us?? Then as I asked him why this was not written in the description? The guy sarcastically saying that this is an ocean not a tank!! Anyway, I still feel this is a very interesting activity to do but DEFINITELY DO NOT recommend this company. BTW, they have an attitude toward non native speakers.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Hawazin Khattab, yes we all remember you well, you were the party that was 35 (not 3 as you stated) minutes late to check in, holding up everyone else on the tour, graciously it was collectively decided by crew and other guests to wait for your late arrival. As you know this is a tour where sharks are in their natural habitat and as such are not under our control, given the natural hierarchy of shark species the tiger shark is higher than our common Galapagos species. Luckily for you and a lot of our satisfied guests over the past 2 weeks tiger sharks have been very prevalent, this a rare and lucky occurrence, that you are now complaining about. These sharks are dominant and when come around the others make themselves scarce, they a sight to behold though. Just to be clear the sharks are not fed, a slick of fish meal / blood is there to feed the small bait fish. The site where tours are conducted has its own little eco system. there are mollusks growing on the line, small crustaceans that live of those and then small fish that live off those and small bait fish that live of those and local pelagic fish that live off those. Our customer service is 5 star and has been for many years, please read 99% of our reviews. Please don't confuse customer service with not getting what you want, your party was the only party that had anything negative to say about that tour, everyone else was overly satisfied, as that anomaly it can only be taken as an individual experience. To prove this to you we'd like to offer you a discount next time you come out with us, just present this review response when booking, show up on time, and we'll show you the amazing world that thousands of others have experienced. We are looking forward to changing your attitude. Much Aloha! - Hawaii Shark Encounters Team
What an amazing time
, Apr 2019
I took my kids (11,8, & 4). The guys were soooo patient with them. The kids had an amazing time! We saw so many sharks (not me. I chickened out). They were so sad when time was up. I highly recommend this tour!!!
1st time Shark cage dive
Stephanie A
, Jan 2019
Perfect calm day out on the water! Sharks were very curious and active. I’d say we saw around 12 or more and they just hung around the cage so we got lots of facetime.
Sharks galore!
Rita D
, Sep 2018
When I booked this adventure, I was afraid we wouldn't see any sharks. Boy was I wrong! We were surrounded the entire time by Galapagos and sand bar sharks! The tour guarantees shark sighting. It was amazing!
, Jul 2018
We had a great time on this tour! We went out first thing in the morning and seen about 7 sharks a tuna and some mackerel. The sharks swam all around the cage and below so they were never out of site. My 13 year old and 22 year old thought this was the highlight of our trip!
Amazing tour, I defintely recommend...
Kim D
, Sep 2017
Amazing tour, I defintely recommend and seing one of the guides on the tip of the boat with sharks just passing him by really reassured the rest of the little fear I had. Was so comfortable that I even put my hand out with the GoPro so I could get a more beautiful video. Was just perfect!!! An absolute must-do in Oahu! A

Product code: 7272P1

Explore Similar Things to Do