Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Small-Group Early-Access Statue of Liberty Tour and Ellis Island

|
New York, United States

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Avoid the big crowds at the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with help from this small-group, early-access tour in New York City. Climb aboard an early ferry to Liberty Island, and see the iconic Statue of Liberty up close. Walk the Stairs of Separation that divided some families, visit the joyful Kissing Post where many immigrants met their relatives, and more.
  • Guarantee your visit to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island while in NYC
  • Get priority ferry boarding from Battery Park to the Statue of Liberty
  • A guide tells you the history behind these iconic American landmarks
  • Choose between two times to best suit your schedule
Local English- speaking guide
Priority ferry boarding from Battery Park to Statue of Liberty
Early Access to Statue of Liberty (8:30 AM or 9:00 AM Departures)
Access to Immigration Museum at Ellis Island
Gratuities

Departure Point

Pier A Harbor House, 22 Battery Pl, New York, NY 10004, USA

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Return Details

Ellis Island, United States
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please note, early access to Statue of Liberty and arrival before the crowds is only applicable if 8:30 AM / 9:00 AM Departure is selected!
  • Tour runs in English only
  • Please note: This tour does not include a visit to the Statue of Liberty crown, due to security measures in place by the National Park Service, which manages the Statue of Liberty
  • Tour participants must be able to climb and descend 215 stairs from the Statue of Liberty lobby to the top of the pedestal if the pedestal option is chosen.
  • All guests will need to pass through airport-style security to enter the Statue of Liberty if the Pedestal Option is chosen. Certain items are not permitted and such items will be confiscated and not be returned. Please refer to the Statue of Liberty’s guidelines on specific prohibited items at nps.gov/stli/planyourvisit/yoursafety
  • Please be aware that upon arrival at Liberty Island, if you are carrying a backpack or large bag, you will be required to put your bag(s) into a locker which cost only 0.25 cents, clients must have a quarter and cannot use a dime and a nickle for example.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Group Size is 10 people per guide
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Take Walks New York by Walks

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Small-Group Early-Access Statue of Liberty Tour and Ellis Island?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Early-Access Statue of Liberty Tour and Ellis Island.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small-Group Early-Access Statue of Liberty Tour and Ellis Island?
A:
The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Early-Access Statue of Liberty Tour and Ellis Island.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Small-Group Early-Access Statue of Liberty Tour and Ellis Island?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Early-Access Statue of Liberty Tour and Ellis Island.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Small-Group Early-Access Statue of Liberty Tour and Ellis Island?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Early-Access Statue of Liberty Tour and Ellis Island.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Early Access - You will avoid hours of standing in queues2." See review
  • "Do respect the fact, it's up to the guide to make it good." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
510 Reviews
5 stars
438
4 stars
43
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
9
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 510 reviews
star-5
Great day at with Lady Liberty and John!
Katherine_L
, Mar 2020
My friend and I had a phenomenal experience. If there is any way you are able to request John as your guide, do so!! He was informative, had wonderful personal stories and we felt that our little group was the most important one of the day!!! Well worth the money!!!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind and shining review! We absolutely love hearing that our guests felt special during their time spent with us. We hope that the rest of your trip was equally enjoyable and that you will take the time to visit us again when you next return!
star-5
Info-loaded tour
Elinor_T
, Mar 2020
Tour guide Rachel was, very high energy and very knowledgeable about Liberty Island and Ellis Island. Nice to have a guide who loves their job. She even laid down on the ground and used each of our cell phones to be able to capture a picture of us and the entire Statue of Liberty. Biggest regret is that we had very little time to spend in the new museum on Liberty Island. The good thing is that you can actually go back there at no additional cost (if you work it into your plans) to see more after you do the Ellis Island tour portion. Another thing to take into consideration is that they close at 5:00 pm (which I was unaware of) during the time I went and I missed out entirely on the Ellis Island gift shop.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
It's good to hear that you so enjoyed your tour with Rachel! We pride ourselves on getting to partner with exceptional, expert guides. Thank you, as well, for the detailed account of your itinerary! May many future travellers read this review and plan their day such that they can enjoy the museums and gift shops, as desired.
star-5
Exceptional, informative, memorable!
Elle_R
, Mar 2020
Alice was exceptional. I went to NYC as a solo traveller. I was anxious that I might not find the pick-up point on time but it is relatively easy, just by Castor Clinton to the right hand side where the ferry docks. The highlight was definitely Alice. She was so energetic, kind, intelligent, informative and friendly. This tour was perfected because of her. The ferry felt safe and was enjoyable. The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island were incredible and I learned so much from Alice. I honestly cannot begin to emphasise how AMAZING she is. The trip itself was just the cherry on top for my first NYC experience. I have sent this link to a couple of my friends who are due to visit NYC and would highly recommend you visit and book this particular trip. I'm so thankful for such an amazing experience. Elle x
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Elle, Thank you for writing such a brilliant review! We are so honored to get to work with such passionate, intelligent guides and are delighted to learn that Alice made such an impression on you during your first trip to NYC. Thank you for your recommendation!
star-3
Statue of Liberty Ellis Island
Cinthia_A
, Mar 2020
Cheri tour guide was excellent Disappointed didn’t get to see crown of Statue of Liberty felt a bit deceiving thought fast pass lane past crowds who bought tickets day of or we could have just done this no real difference
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Cinthia_A, Thank you for sharing your Statue of Liberty tour experience with us. While we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with Cheri, we are sorry that you were disappointed not to visit the crown! Our tours, unfortunately, do not include crown-access, as those tickets are sold exclusively by the National Park Service and get sold out months in advance. The real value of our service is found in our quality guides, who take care of the ticketing, directions, and explanations for you! Whereas when you simply reserve a Statue ticket, you only get an audio guide. We hope that this has cleared up any confusion, and hope that the rest of your visit to New York City was memorable and enjoyable!
star-2
Leave out opinions please.
Facts-only
, Feb 2020
I wanted to hear about the history of the statue of liberty, not political opinions about immigration today, trying to convince us to think his way. If I can tell which political party my tour guide belongs to, then he’s not very good at being a tour guide.
star-5
Early view of Statue of Liberty
Joanne_M
, Feb 2020
Rob was a fantastic guide, very informative and funny, we would highly recommend the trip which was amazing. We learnt so much
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hello Joanne_M, We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with Rob. He is a true asset to the team, and we are so lucky to have him as part of the walks family. We hope to share many more walks with you soon! The Walks Team
star-2
Nice, personal Tour Guide - Not much information. Save your money.
Linas_V
, Feb 2020
Our Guide, John was very friendly and helped us move through the lines quickly, however he was not very knowledgable and forthcoming with information about the history around the Statue of Liberty. He didn't give us very factual information about the Statue of Liberty, even when he was using the binder, he was not organized with the presentation. He gave us personal anecdotes, sweet, but not worth the extra money we spent. Based on our experience, I would not recommend this tour to some one else.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hello Linas_V, We are genuinely sorry to hear that you didn’t feel that your guide lived up to your expectations on this tour. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority when we match our guides with our tours, and we’re disappointed to hear that on this occasion, we didn’t meet your standards. We try to choose guides with extensive knowledge of the subject at hand, but we also take demeanour, performance and approachability into account to ensure maximum customer satisfaction. Again we are disappointed to learn that your experience felt unorganized and lacked information, that is far from what we would want from our tours. We will take your feedback into account. We hope that if you return to New York or any other city we serve, you will give us another try - we’re certain you won’t be disappointed! The Walks Team
star-5
Informative and enjoyable
MaryluH_Watkins
, Feb 2020
Very well organized Would like more detailed information as to WHERE EXACTLY We are to meet our guide. Pier 16 isn’t enough.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi MaryluH_Watkins, Thank you for your review of our Statue of Liberty tour! We are thrilled that you had a great time on our tour, as we know how special a visit to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island is. "Pier 16" is not the correct location for the meeting point, however. If you could kindly send us your booking details we would love to look into this for you, as you should have received the correct information after you booked with either ourselves directly or any distributor. Thank you for walking with us in New York, we hope the rest of your stay was just as enjoyable. The Walks Team
star-5
Small group tour with an excellent guide!
Ann_W
, Feb 2020
We enjoyed our tour with our guide, Cherie, very much. The group was small enough that we were able gather round and clearly hear all the interesting details about the statue and Ellis Island. She provided useful hints about where the best views and picture opportunities were.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi Ann_W, We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with Cherie on our Statue of Liberty tour. It is a wonderful experience for visitors to the Big Apple, and we are grateful that you chose to tour with us. We hope to have another chance to walk with you soon! The Walks Team
star-5
Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.
Dennis
, Feb 2020
Rachel was outstanding. Her knowledge and passion of the history and the immigrants was amazing. Highly recommend this tour and Rachel.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for reviewing your Statue of Liberty tour with Rachel! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time and hope that this experience is one that you will remember for a lifetime.

Product code: 7167P6

Explore Similar Things to Do