Recent Searches
Clear

Early-Access Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour

star-4.5519 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
New York, United States
58

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Avoid the big crowds at the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with help from this small-group, early-access tour in New York City. Climb aboard an early ferry to Liberty Island, and see the iconic Statue of Liberty up close. Walk the Stairs of Separation that divided some families, visit the joyful Kissing Post where many immigrants met their relatives, and more.
  • Guarantee your visit to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island while in NYC
  • Get priority ferry boarding from Battery Park to the Statue of Liberty
  • A guide tells you the history behind these iconic American landmarks
  • Choose between two times to best suit your schedule
Saved to wishlist!
Access to Immigration Museum at Ellis Island
Pre-reserved ticket to Statue of Liberty Island (exterior access))
Pre-reserved ticket to Ellis Island (includes Ellis Island museum)
Official audio guide on Ellis Island
Expertly guided walking tour
Gratuities

Departure Point

22 Battery Pl, New York, NY 10004, USA

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Return Details

Ellis Island, United States
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please note, early access to Statue of Liberty and arrival before the crowds is only applicable if 8:30 AM / 9:00 AM Departure is selected!
  • Tour runs in English only
  • Please note: This tour does not include a visit to the Statue of Liberty crown, due to security measures in place by the National Park Service, which manages the Statue of Liberty
  • If choosing the upgraded Pedestal Option, which enters the Statue of Liberty, there is a steep climb of over 200 steps. The guide will accompany guests walking and therefore cannot take the elevator
  • All guests will need to pass through airport-style security to enter the Statue of Liberty if the Pedestal Option is chosen. Certain items are not permitted and such items will be confiscated and not be returned. Please refer to the Statue of Liberty’s guidelines on specific prohibited items at nps.gov/stli/planyourvisit/yoursafety
  • Please be aware that upon arrival at Liberty Island, if you are carrying a backpack or large bag, you will be required to put your bag(s) into a locker which cost only 0.25 cents, clients must have a quarter and cannot use a dime and a nickle for example.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Group Size is 20 people per guide
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Take Walks New York by Walks

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Early-Access Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Early-Access Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Early-Access Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour?
A:
The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Early-Access Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Early-Access Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Early-Access Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Early-Access Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Early-Access Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Early Access - You will avoid hours of standing in queues2." See review
  • "Do respect the fact, it's up to the guide to make it good." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
519 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 519 reviews
star-5
Amazing
Guadalupe_V
, Jun 2021
Our tour guy was amazing! Super friendly and made the experience so much better. I would recommend to friends and family!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Great
Lene_F
, Jun 2021
Great guide . He really knew how to present the history of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island - we got a lot more out of the visit than we thought we would. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Hi Lene, Thank you so much! We pride ourselves on working only with the best guides in the business and working hard to provide content that enhances our guests' experience. Delighted you loved it - hope to see you again soon in one of our destinations.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
No doubt a fabulous experience!
Julia_B
, Jun 2021
Cherie was an excellent tour guide. She was very knowledgeable and kept those on the tour very interested! She was available to take photos of families with the beautiful attractions. Great experience all around:)
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Hi Julia, Delighted you love your experience with Walks in New York. Our guides and content are carefully crafted to make sure you have the best info and the best fun possible during your time with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and look forward to seeing you again on another Walks tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Rip off do it yourself!
Tracy_Hudson
, Jun 2021
Cost to do this tour on your own is under $20. We paid almost $60! I booked this because I expected what is stated in the tour description which is to be given early access with priority boarding with a max group of 20 people! What we got was a group that exceeded 20 people and we were at the end of the regular vey long line of the first regular tour to the statue of Liberty! Being last almost caused the ferry to leave with a few of our group members being left to wait for the next ferry! once at the Statue you stand and listen to the guide instead of spending that time seeing the same pictures and information you can get for free from the (many) park rangers on the island. Because we had to stand and listen to the guide we did not have time to watch the movie the park rangers recommend watching in the museum. Learn more about the original torch by asking the park ranger standing at this torch in the museum. Once at Ellis island the same thing happened again so we decided to leave the tour guide once she had talked for 15+ minutes outside the museum. Save your money and get a better experience by doing this yourself!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Not doing this again ...
Anne_m
, May 2021
We emailed to get credit for another day due to inclímate weather and still no one Has contacted us . Money down the drain ! We were so excited to go and then this happens 🥴 in lieu of not even being able to see the statue from fog, I believe we should get a second chance. Customer service dropping the ball.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Hi Anne, . My apologies - your email did not appear in our customer care inbox and we did not see your request to change the date. While all of our tours run rain or shine, we do allow clients to amend, free of charge, or any reason outside of 24 hours of tour departure time. As your request was made within 24 hours we would normally charge an amendment fee but due to the delay in our response, we will, of course, offer you full credit for use on any of our Walks tours in any of our destinations. Please reach out to us on this.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Scam
James_C
, May 2021
The tor guide never showed up and we were not the only ones looking for him/here had to buy more tickets to go and see the statue of liberty I have sent email requesting money back but no one will respond what a deep off
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi James, sincere apologies for the issue you had with our Statue tour. Due to a technical issue at our side, that tour appeared to be available for sale when it was in fact not running. I understand that you have already received a full refund. I appreciate it is about more than just the money spent, but also about your time and the inconvenience. I can assure you this is very much a one-off mistake that has now been corrected and sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to host you on one of our tours in the future to make amends.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful family day trip
Rachel_G
, May 2021
Rob from take walks was a wonderful guide- knowledgeable, prompt and friendly. We enjoyed the day immensely, esp all the interesting details.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with Rob!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great day at with Lady Liberty and John!
Katherine_L
, Mar 2020
My friend and I had a phenomenal experience. If there is any way you are able to request John as your guide, do so!! He was informative, had wonderful personal stories and we felt that our little group was the most important one of the day!!! Well worth the money!!!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind and shining review! We absolutely love hearing that our guests felt special during their time spent with us. We hope that the rest of your trip was equally enjoyable and that you will take the time to visit us again when you next return!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Info-loaded tour
Elinor_T
, Mar 2020
Tour guide Rachel was, very high energy and very knowledgeable about Liberty Island and Ellis Island. Nice to have a guide who loves their job. She even laid down on the ground and used each of our cell phones to be able to capture a picture of us and the entire Statue of Liberty. Biggest regret is that we had very little time to spend in the new museum on Liberty Island. The good thing is that you can actually go back there at no additional cost (if you work it into your plans) to see more after you do the Ellis Island tour portion. Another thing to take into consideration is that they close at 5:00 pm (which I was unaware of) during the time I went and I missed out entirely on the Ellis Island gift shop.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
It's good to hear that you so enjoyed your tour with Rachel! We pride ourselves on getting to partner with exceptional, expert guides. Thank you, as well, for the detailed account of your itinerary! May many future travellers read this review and plan their day such that they can enjoy the museums and gift shops, as desired.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Exceptional, informative, memorable!
Elle_R
, Mar 2020
Alice was exceptional. I went to NYC as a solo traveller. I was anxious that I might not find the pick-up point on time but it is relatively easy, just by Castor Clinton to the right hand side where the ferry docks. The highlight was definitely Alice. She was so energetic, kind, intelligent, informative and friendly. This tour was perfected because of her. The ferry felt safe and was enjoyable. The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island were incredible and I learned so much from Alice. I honestly cannot begin to emphasise how AMAZING she is. The trip itself was just the cherry on top for my first NYC experience. I have sent this link to a couple of my friends who are due to visit NYC and would highly recommend you visit and book this particular trip. I'm so thankful for such an amazing experience. Elle x
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Elle, Thank you for writing such a brilliant review! We are so honored to get to work with such passionate, intelligent guides and are delighted to learn that Alice made such an impression on you during your first trip to NYC. Thank you for your recommendation!
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do