Recent Searches
Clear

Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
New Orleans, United States
Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Delve into the history of slavery and the plantations of Louisiana on this small-group tour from New Orleans. Drive past Lake Pontchartrain and the Mississippi River to the Whitney Plantation’s Louisiana Museum of Slavery. Learn about the lives of the enslaved people who worked there and on plantations throughout the South during a tour of the museum and restored buildings. Next, head to the Creole-style St Joseph Plantation for a tour of the working sugar plantation where the movie ’12 Years A Slave’ was filmed.
  • Self-guided tour to the Louisiana Museum of Slavery on the Whitney Plantation and St Joseph Plantation, from New Orleans
  • See authentically restored buildings and memorial artwork at the Louisiana Museum of Slavery
  • Listen to slave narratives that detail daily life for slaves on the plantation
  • Drive through the sugar cane fields of St Joseph Plantation, a working sugar plantation that dates to 1877
  • Take a guided tour of St Joseph Plantation, often led by a member of the family that owns the property
  • Learn about the making of the Oscar-winning film ’12 Years A Slave’ at St Joseph Plantation
  • Hear informative commentary from your guide about the region during the drive from New Orleans
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off, with exact pick up time provided
Live commentary on board
Gratuities
This tour does NOT include a meal, Snacks and drinks available for purchase
Professional Driver/guide

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

11:30 AM

Please arrive 30 minutes before your selected start time for pickup. Your operator can coordinate exact time and location.

Please specify hotel at time of purchase. We pick up in New Orleans at any hotel, Bed & Breakfast or select Airbnbs, uptown (close to St. Charles Ave.), in (or close to) the French Quarter, and on the Westbank. We do not pick up by the airport, in New Orleans East, in Slidell, or on the North Shore. Supplier will contact you the day before your tour to give you an exact pick up time.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • On Tuesdays, Whitney Plantation is closed and replaced by Laura Plantation
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 13 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Tours by Isabelle
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "I was hesitant to take the tour being a black women but it was worth it." See review
  • "This is great tour to do if you plan on going to New Orleans." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
42 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews
star-5
Spring Break
Carlan_M
, Sep 2021
Our tour guide was the so patient, kind and knowledgeable! I highly suggest using this company if you are considering touring. Whitney plantation was so REAL , so RAW! Covid 19 guidelines adhered to! Went with teenagers and they loved it and were engaged in excursion! Thank you
star-5
Awakening
Shantae_C
, Aug 2021
Love the stories and the ability to really showcase the history and challenges that the enslaved had to go through! History should never be forgotten or erased!
star-5
Humbling experience.
Jaelah_H
, Aug 2021
My group and I truly enjoyed ourselves with the tours of the plantation. The Whitney plantation was very humbling and sorrowful. It was well needed to see how my ancestors lived and so forth. The St. Joseph tour gave in-site of the lives of the master while the Whitney plantation gave in-site of the slaves and their lives. Very educational. John was an excellent guide and very friendly. Many laughs and good vibes. John was very informative and a true southern gentleman. He was punctual on arriving and departing. The van was clean, rode smooth, and was comfortable. I would recommend this tour to everyone.
star-3
Late bus but good tour
Menda_D
, Jun 2021
We went to the St. John plantation first. I was disappointed about how late it was when I got to the St. John Plantation. The guide had to rush to the tour and we were not able to go to the slave quarters on the plantation and things were just to rushed. The Whitney Plantation was amazing. I loved how every was able to move at their own pace and hear the plantation on their own devices (phones). Make sure you bring hearing wear (headphones, earbuds).
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you Ms Menda for your review. We are so glad you found Whitney Plantation to be amazing and not rushed! Indeed, we pride ourselves on being punctual, however safety is first and foremost...we were delayed that day by very heavy downpours which caused us to arrive 30 minutes behind schedule at the 1st Plantation! Since the last entry allowed at Whitney is 2:30 pm, we had to make sure to get you there in a timely manner or we could not have gotten in! We are very sorry you felt rushed during the 1st part of the tour! We love guiding visitors around our beautiful Louisiana and doing it in a SAFE way is always our priority! Thank you again for having come on our tour! Isabelle C.
star-5
Whitney Plantation Tour
Michelle_C
, Jun 2021
It was one of the best tours I have ever done . The tour guide,Giselle was wonderful ! She was very knowledgeable .The subject matter of the tour is sensitive and she was very empathetic and caring. I was hesitant to take the tour being a black women but it was worth it.
star-5
Whitney and St Joseph plantation tours
Erinn_G
, Jun 2021
Tours by Isabelle is tour company we used. Our tour guide Giselle was amazing. Both plantations that we visited gave us a real history lesson. This is great tour to do if you plan on going to New Orleans.
star-4
Emotional
qiana_l
, Nov 2020
I didn't like that your wi fi dont work u are left to visit alone so u are giving a website to down load audio . It didn't work so we was lost to take guess at what we saw
icon Response from Host , Nov 2020
Thank you for your review, and yes, you are 100% correct, the wi-do reception is not the best out in the country where Whitney Plantation is located and that’s why I always email as well as text every single guest, ahead of time, about the importance of downloading the Whitney app before arriving at that location. I am sorry if you didn’t receive the notice I had sent to your party on that! And I’m glad you enjoyed the rest of our plantation tour enough to give it five stars! Thank you.
star-5
St. Joseph and Whitney Plantation Tour!
Sharon_S
, Oct 2020
Great Experience! I highly recommend it. Not only did we get a tour of both plantations but Miss Isabelle was full of knowledge about the history of Louisiana and the unique terrain of the area. Loved it! Will definitely do another one when I am back next Spring!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Oh wow, this is a wonderful review. Thank you Miss Sharon, and it was truly my pleasure to share all of this information with you. We wIll be so happy to have you back in the spring.
star-4
Great day
HOPKHE_H
, Feb 2020
Loved the small group. Tour guides were amazing and knew so much Highly recommend. Especial note for Gene at Isabelle Tours he kept us informed and entertained all the way. Great knowledge and passion for his city
star-4
Important to Understand our History
pafemdr
, Feb 2020
Tour guide John Hall was great! Prompt, friendly and very well-informed about history and NOLA in general. Even told me where to find dancing where the locals go. (I did. 😁 Thanks, John). Whitney was impressive.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour

star-542

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$128.00

star-4.5420

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

star-4.5295

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$128.00

star-521

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$152.00

star-561

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$78.00

star-4.5513

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$109.00

star-518

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.00

star-4.5658

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

star-52

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$175.00

Explore Similar Things to Do