Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans

|
New Orleans, United States

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon5 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Tour the Oak Alley Plantation, named for the alley of centuries-old oaks leading up to the antebellum Big House. Follow the oak-shaded paths to the blacksmith shop and a souvenir shop during your free time. Alcoholic drinks and lunch are available to purchase at the restaurant on-site, with round-trip hotel transport provided from New Orleans.
  • Half-day trip to Oak Alley Plantation
  • Tour the mansion with a costumed guide
  • Entrance fee included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off from New Orleans
Professional driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks (available for purchase)
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We pickup from most New Orleans Hotels. If you hotel is not a point of pickup for our company you will receive a phone call or email letting you know.

Departure Time

8:15 AM
After hotel pickup in New Orleans, drive to the Oak Alley Plantation, located among the Great River Road sugar plantations alongside the Mississippi River. 

On arrival, stroll under majestic, 300-year-old oak trees and take a 40-minute tour of the opulent mansion with a guide dressed in period costume. The Greek Revival architecture of the Big House was built in 1837 and later restored in 1925.

Wander the 25-acre (10-hectare) grounds at your own pace during your free time. Visit the blacksmith shop, snap photos of antique farm equipment, or peruse exhibits on slavery and the Civil War at your leisure. Grab lunch and beverages at the restaurant or cafe (own expense) before the return drive to New Orleans.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Great River Road
You'll be driven to the Oak Alley Plantation House, located about an hour and a half outside the city of New Orleans.
Stop At:  
Oak Alley Plantation
The tour of the Oak Alley house is conducted by guides in authentic plantation style apparel. Walking is required for this tour. The distance from the plantation house to the restaurant and souvenir shop is about 1 block. There are benches along the path, shaded by the Oaks. The guided house tour will be about 35 minutes in length. The remainder of your time will be spent self-exploring the grounds. If you use your time wisely, you can grab a sandwich at the gift shop for lunch and still have time to walk the grounds.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 28 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Louisiana Tour company

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 28 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Oak Alley Plantation Tour from New Orleans.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "It would be better if the pick up was at one place, it took very long time to pick up everybody and we had to wait for people who did not show up in time." See review
  • "I would be more likely to rent a car and drive myself." See review
  • "Local tour bus company a little clunky in scheduling the return trip as we had to go far out of the way to drop off another tour" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
32 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews
star-3
Needed more time
Cab
, Jul 2020
I felt the tour was too short. Our house tour was rushed compared to other ones. I feel a couple more hours we’re needed to experience the restaurant and visit the store.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
We are sorry for your short experience at Oak Alley. Unfortunately, we only do the transportation portion of the plantation tours and we do not own the plantation, so we do not have control over the time limit at the plantation. However, we do appreciate the feedback and we will forward it to Oak Alley.
star-4
A interesting tour and exhibition.
MDL
, Feb 2020
It was very interesting. It wish we had one more hour there. It was to short time there to see it all. It would be better if the pick up was at one place, it took very long time to pick up everybody and we had to wait for people who did not show up in time.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
We are glad that you enjoyed the plantation and we are sorry about transportation. It is carnival season in New Orleans, so there are a lot of traffic, so we do apologize for the delay. We do our best to accommodate the door to door service and sometimes it causes a delay.
star-5
Horrible Bus Ride
GrandTour396502
, Oct 2019
Worse bus I have ever ridden. Arrived at hotel half hour late, Drove maybe 5 blocks then we had to get off and wait for another bus. Seats were cramped, had to ask for a/c, couldn't hear driver talk. Every time bus hit pothole or bump we were thrown up and out of our seats. GET BETTER BUSES!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
I do apologize for any inconvenience with the delay of pickup. There are a lot of construction in the city and road closures due to a collapsed building. However, we can't control the conditions of the road on the way to the plantation.
star-2
Offended
Tina L
, Aug 2019
The main attraction which was seeing the main house was disappointing. You only saw 3 rooms (not counting the previous owner room) They glossed over the cruelty of slavery and planation life. The outdoor conversation were much better and more respectable in regards to telling the real story of the life of slaves on a plantation. Also dissapointed that no funds go to support any American charities considering this plantation was built on the backs of slaves, and money is still being made by glamorising the history of plantation life.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Our company offers round trip ground transportation, entrance fee and assistance to begin the plantation tour. The negative review should be focused at Oak Alley Plantation itself. We do not provide the guides or the attraction but a inexpensive method for you to do their house and grounds tours. We have no control over Oak Alley, it's guides or the scope of their tours. We are sorry that you did not get a tour that was more focused on slavery.
star-5
Stately Oak trees
GoPlaces678863
, Aug 2019
Excellent most knowable tour guide. Friendly staff that assist your needs. Most beautiful alley of majestic 300 to 600 hundred year old oak trees!! What more can one say.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate the time it took to send it in.
star-5
Oak Alley was beautiful, transportation was a joke
Road05879540937
, Jun 2019
Oak Alley Plantation was beautiful and worth the visit. Surprisingly the food in the gift shop was yummy. However the transportation from New Orleans to the site was a joke. First a large party was picked up that had reserved tickets but had not paid. We spent 20 minutes parked as payment was sorted out which directly cut into our visit time at the plantation. Once on our way the tour driver would not point out points of interest along the way since some passengers in the back were loud. On the return trip rather than driving directly back to the city we drove to meet another bus near a swamp tour drop off since some of the passengers were going on a different tour. Finally once back in the city the bus driver drove directly past our hotel since for some reason she was scheduled to drop off another passenger first. When stopped at a light a few blocks past the hotel we asked if she could just let us out and we would walk. Overall transportation was a disaster. I would be more likely to rent a car and drive myself.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thank you for the positive review. We do combine the combo swamp & plantation to make the trip, which is 70 miles one way, more affordable. We would love to have all passenger paid, but it is something outside our control.
star-5
WHAT A WAY TO SPEND THE DAY!
emptynester20181026
, Oct 2018
This tour was perfect for getting a view of plantation life from both perspectives. Our tour bus picked us up at our hotel (you have to designate this option) and the drive was full of information along the way. the plantation is beautiful and the tour guides informative. Nice way to spend the day and to get a small glimpse of life in the 1800's.
star-5
What a beautiful plantation
WhittierWasabi
, Oct 2018
Our guide's name is Rhett! He was great and knowledgeable! The plantation is just so beautiful and peaceful.
star-4
Pretty Good
johnopp35
, Jul 2018
Wonderful tour of the house. Local tour bus company a little clunky in scheduling the return trip as we had to go far out of the way to drop off another tour
star-5
This tour was one of the highlights...
David H
, Aug 2017
This tour was one of the highlights of our holiday. We booked this tour with a hotel pickup which was on time. Our driver was extremely friendly and gave us some useful information, facts and jokes on our ride. The plantation is as beautiful as the pictures describe. Coming from the Caribbean where we have plantations and sugar cane it was interesting to see the similar processes and tools used during the making of sugar. A very rewarding experience.

Product code: 15200P12

Explore Similar Things to Do