Recent Searches
Clear

Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive

|
Napoli, Italy
Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Discover the wonder of one of Europe’s active volcanoes on this Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii day trip from Naples. Follow your local guide through the ancient ruins of this UNESCO World Heritage-listed city. Enjoy a traditional Italian pizza lunch with your small group and then hike to the top of the notorious volcano, where you’ll find stunning views of the Bay of Naples and the surrounding landscapes.
  • Explore the fascinating ancient ruins of Pompeii with a guide
  • See the destruction of Mt Vesuvius' massive eruption thousands of years ago
  • Enjoy a pizza lunch with your fellow travelers
  • Hike to the summit of Mt Vesuvius and peer into the crater

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour explores Pompeii and Vesuvius and gives visitors to Naples what they crave—pizza for lunch.
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transport by shared air-conditioned minibus
Professional guide in Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius
Pizza with drink
Entrance Ticket to Pompeii Archaeological Site (16 euros)
Access to Mt. Vesuvius National Park (11 euros per person)
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.Please insert your accommodation address in Naples (hotel, b&b, airbnb) in the "Special Requirements" section when booking, then call the local supplier the evening before your tour after 7PM to know your pick up time and if your pick up will be at your accommodation, nearby, or at our starting point.
Your guide will collect you from your hotel or train station to kick off this Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii day trip from Naples. Venture into the ancient Roman city of Pompeii on a half-hour coach ride and learn the history behind the area that was infamously covered by ash nearly 2000 years ago. 

Follow your guide on a walking tour of this UNESCO World Heritage-listed site and learn about Europe’s largest archeological grounds. Stop at the Forum, Thermal Baths, Vetti’s House and the Lupanare brothel. Your guide will offer historical context and insight into local life here back in 79 AD. Once you’ve explored the grounds, savor an Italian pizza lunch with your group before enjoying time to wander the shops.

Afterward, travel by air-conditioned coach to Mt Vesuvius and journey on a moderate hike to the top of the active volcano with your guide. At the summit, some 3,900 feet (1,200 meters) above sea level, take in panoramic views of the Bay of Naples. Roam around the volcano's mammoth crater and keep an eye out for plumes of escaping steam. If you prefer to skip the hike, you'll enjoy free time while waiting for the group, but the trip to the top is definitely worth the effort.

After successfully climbing the top of Mt Vesuvius, relax with a ride back to your Naples hotel or back to the port in your comfortable coach.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Pompeii Archaeological Park
After pickup from your hotel or the Naples train station, take a 30-minute drive to Pompeii, an ancient Roman city that was entirely destroyed by the sudden eruption of Mt Vesuvius in 79 AD. The largest archaeological site in Europe, today Pompeii is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. When you arrive, your guide will pick up your group’s pre-ordered tickets and lead you on a 2-hour walking tour of the fascinating grounds. Witness the destruction first-hand as you visit Pompeii’s most famous sites, including the Forum, the Thermal Baths, Vetti's House and the Lupanare brothel, giving you a glimpse into daily life during the Pax Romana. Today you can see shapes of objects — even bodies — that were buried beneath the volcanic ash and pumice.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Vesuvius National Park
After your tour, enjoy a pizza lunch with your group followed by some free time to browse the shops. Then board the coach and drive 40 minutes to legendary Mt Vesuvius. Embark on a moderate hike up the volcano with your guide. When you reach the summit at 3,900 feet (1,200 meters), you’ll be rewarded with panoramic views of the picturesque Bay of Naples from east to west. Peer down into the crater and see plumes of steam issuing from the sleeping, but still active, volcano! There is a rest point where you can choose to wait for your group if you do not wish to climb all the way to the top, but the hike is worth the effort. After your Mt Vesuvius hike, relax on the drive back to Naples in the early evening.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended for climbing Mt. Vesuvius
  • We require a minimum of 2 participants in total every day to operate this tour. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not at least 2 participants for this tour. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Transport is by coach: group sizes of up to 50 people
  • Please note that for the Mt Vesuvius part of the tour, among the 4 languages available, only the English language is always guaranteed
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • In case Mt. Vesuvius National Park is closed due to bad weather conditions and/or other circumstances beyond our control, you will be refunded the entrance tickets to the National Park
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 21 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Project Napoli Service
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "There is hardly any shade so wear a hat and plenty of suncream." See review
  • "Vesuvius is sgeep and takes 30 mins to reach the top and 20 to get back down, do not wear sandals or good shoes they will get wrecked." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
2,250 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 2,250 reviews
star-3
Ok worth $ for transportation
Kelleen_M
, Jun 2022
This was a large group experience NOT minibus. Very punctual operation however the hike was way more than 20 minutes. Wear closed shoes because grit gets into sandals. No alcohol was served with lunch or lemonchello at the end. I wanted more info about Mt Vesuvius. It would have been nice to hear info while in the bus.
star-5
The tour was very...
Sonia_S
, Jun 2022
The tour was very organized and informative. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave us time to see everything.
star-5
organised and well planned out
Thomas_B
, Jun 2022
We did discover it would be quite easy to do this ourselves but it was great being picked up and dropped off. Lunch was lovely and it was relaxing and helpful being driven to the different places. Also met some great people from all over the world on the day too!
star-2
Glorified bus service. But, Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvis were worth seeing
Allison_W
, Jun 2022
This tour was more of a glorified shuttle service, which was disappointing given the price of this tour. I appreciated that the bus picked us up at the hotel, but the bus tour guide did not give any commentary on the ride to Pompeii or Mt. Vesuvius. We had to change buses multiple times, which was confusing. There were a lot of people and constant changing between groups, which made it harder to follow logistically. We were told that we would have a guide for Mt. Vesuvius, but we did not receive one. We also were told that we would be dropped off back at our hotel afterwards, but we were dropped off 15 minutes from our hotel and needed to walk back. The tour itself of Pompeii was great, and the guide spoke English and was very good. The lunch was fine: you could choose between lasagna, pizza, or salad. However, Pompeii and Mt. Vesuivus were both were visiting, and I’d recommend visiting them.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Good but wanted more
James_R
, Jun 2022
The tour guide was excellent and climbing Vesuvius was challenging but worth it for the views at the top, I just wish we had spent more time in Pompeii, it felt like we only saw 5% of it.
star-3
Expensive day out but enjoyable
Sophie_H
, Jun 2022
The team and transport of the day was very efficient albeit a few delays. The 2 hour Pompeii tour was very informative however quite busy. Lunch was average with a 30 minute delay for those ordering pizza due to how busy it was and the server was quite rude. The trip to Mt Vesuvius was good. Our driver was very skilled on the curvy roads up the mountain! The hike to the top was completely self guided. Overall good day out
star-5
Long day, be prepared
Nicole_L
, Jun 2022
Some of these reviews make me question if people listen. The tour was amazing. We were told 3 times in 4 different languages how the day would progress. Each step you were told a meeting time and place and they were ON TIME. If you missed a meet up it's because you weren't paying attention to the time. The only thing I would say is the hike up Vesuvius is very steep and on uneven rock so where appropriate shoes for hiking. And there is no AC. It is HOT! Prepare yourself and don't blame the company for your bad planning.
star-1
Dire experience on Viatour excursion.
John_K
, Jun 2022
Terrible experience. Incompetent staff left us unable to complete tour having to abandon trip to Vesuvius and having to find our own way back to Naples from Vesuvius. Bus was so late that if we had not abandoned the trip we would have missed our connection in Naples despite assurances in advance from the tour company that we could have both Pompeii and Vesuvius experiences in full and within a time scale that would have us back in Naples to our connection in time.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Good tour on a hot day
Tawny_S
, Jun 2022
My husband and I did this tour while we were in Naples for our honeymoon and it was good! We learned a lot about Pompeii. It was a really hot and busy day so I recommend bringing waters and snacks. They did feed us pizza and one drink at lunch after about 2 hours of walking around. We were supposed to go hike Mt. Vesuvius but it was brutally hot and we had enough sun for the day. They were willing to arrange us to go back home which was really nice. You do share a bus with another tour so the bus was hot and cramped unfortunately. We ended up going to sorrento with another group and they were happy to accommodate. Overall, a really great tour and we recommend!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Incredible trip if your up to the walk.
Gerald_w
, Jun 2022
Francesca and driver were fantastic. Hotel pickup was perfect. How they can drive around Naples so easily is incredible. Mt. Vesuvius is incredible. The hike, like anything similar is a lot. Path is dirt and gravel but was large enough to accommodate all the people. There are no bathrooms on the mountain, the shop at the base did have some but they are little more than an outhouse. Pompeii is huge. Again a lot of walking and a lot of history. Lucy was good, obviously very busy but they handled it well.
star-3
Hot and tiring
Elle_R
, Jun 2022
Too hot for many of us to climb Vesuvius to the top although some did. Nice pizza lunch bit it didn't have basil (margerita) Pompei also hot and guide didn't wait for people to catch up in the beginning.
star-4
A Day to remember
Madeleine_W
, May 2022
Very intresting walk trough Pompej that took 2 hours. Good and interesting guide. Lovely but heavy walk up Vesuvius.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Highly recommend
Michelle_C
, May 2022
The pick up and drop off was wonderful! The lunch location was amazing and delicious. Giorgio, our guide in Pompei, was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. Mt Vesuvius had wonderful views but know the hike up the mountain is steep!
star-5
Wonderful day of adventure in italy
Maria_F
, May 2022
Mt Vesuvius climb and town was incredible…..the history there and the stonework was marvelous to see and experience. Was very tired by end of day but so worth it….Lunch was yummy too
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Needs Improvement
Nancy_E
, May 2022
Good, but not great. Wasted too much time at the tacky shops outside the gates before and after the tour. Did not have time to visit the two nice museum shops. Pizza lunch was good, but chaotic in a hot restaurant. Vesuvius was challenging even though we are fit get aerobic exercise every day. Wear tennis shoes with excellent treads for traction. Trial has thick. loose soil with rocks. Get walking stick at the entrance to help keep you stable. Many people without sticks came close to slipping. In the summer (May) dress for hot, humid Pompei. Also, many people stopped at the second or third snack shack and did not finish the climb You do not need any kind of jacket or long pants at Vesuvius. Pick up and drop off very near our hotel.
star-4
worth the price
Eithne_O
, May 2022
A little more info on times would help explain waiting periods eg. entry time into Pompeii. the rest was great The guide knew her stuff.
star-2
Disappointing
Robert_M
, May 2022
Though our hotel pick-up was on time, the bus – NOT a minibus - was on the far side of 6 lanes of busy traffic, which wasn’t ideal. We then collected others at the station. From there it was supposed to be a 20-minute trip to Pompei. However, we spent the next 30 minutes sat at the side of a Naples road with no intelligible explanation from the guide, Helga. Eventually, another guide, who we were told was to be our English guide at Pompei, arrived and we set off. The organisation at Pompei was OK, though it became apparent that the woman who had joined the bus was NOT our guide. The tour of Pompei was pleasant. Lunch was horrible. We waited 40+ minutes to be served with an undercooked and tasteless pizza. For the trip to Vesuvius we had to wait for long time and then were put on buses (again NOT mini buses as advertised). We were separated from the other English speakers and put on a bus with Italian and French speakers, conducted by Helga. It was soon apparent – since we speak French – that the English descriptions of sights were quite insufficient and often too late to view the item in question. We felt quite isolated. At the Vesuvius car park we were effectively abandoned by our guide – despite the description of the excursion which stated that we would be accompanied by the guide on our hike. Disappointing. The journey home was ok, though some passengers were decanted to minibuses without explanation to us. Helga, at one point, said that our hotel was the next drop-off. Instead, the bis went through the port. Again, we were on the wrong side of 6 lanes of traffic to get back to our hotel. All in all, I would advise you to simply take a bus to Pompei and join a tour there. It would have been a happier occasion for us. It was clear that Helga’s English is not good enough for her to guide in that language.
star-4
Tour of Pompei and hike of Mount Vesuvius
Isaac_Y
, May 2022
Instructions were a little bit confusing and the hotel pick up didn’t happen for us because we were in a narrow street. That being said, the communication from the company was quite bad as even the night before, we weren’t told if we were having a different pick up location or if we were supposed to go to the main one listed. The tour itself was amazing, we got a very informative tour of the ruins and hiking up mount vesuvius was an amazing experience. The view was amazing and I would definitely do it again.
star-5
Five star
Sergey_M
, May 2022
Can't really ask for more. Long day but worth every penny you pay. Everything was perfectly planned and well organized with good lunch in between.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful experience
Vincent_H
, May 2022
The guide was knowledgeable and humorous. Pompeii was incredibly well preserved. Mt. Vesuvius was awesome. The climbing needed some strength, though.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive
Likely to Sell Out
Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples all inclusive

star-42249

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$107.05

star-3.576

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.44

star-4.5126

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$116.68

star-54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$133.81

star-497

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$98.38

star-435

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$83.50

star-418

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$101.70

star-4.5785

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.44
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations