Recent Searches
Clear

Are you interested in?

Wahiba Sands (Sharqiyah Sands) Tours
29 Tours & Activities
Wadi Bani Khalid Tours
33 Tours & Activities
4WD Tours
272 Tours & Activities

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid

|
Muscat, Oman
6

From $270.04

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers
Loading available options...


icon9 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Swap Muscat for the delights of inland Oman and a thrilling dune drive in the Wahiba Sands on this private full-day trip with a private guide. Drive south by air-conditioned 4x4 through the craggy Hajar Mountains to one of Oman’s most stunning ‘wadis’ (dry river beds) — Wadi Bani Khalid. Ogle the shady canyons, tiny villages and rock pools, and after a picnic lunch, head for the vast dunes of the Wahiba Sands. Take an exciting dune bash and if you wish, a camel ride, before heading back to Muscat.
  • Drive through the Hajar mountains on your own private 4x4
  • Visit one of Oman's most beautiful Wadis
  • Stop for a scenic picnic lunch
  • See some traditional watchtowers
Saved to wishlist!
Picnic lunch
Private 4x4 vehicle transport
English speaking guide
Hotel pick up and drop off
Gratuities
Food and drink, unless specified

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered

Departure Time

8:00 AM
Depart your central Muscat hotel with a private guide in a private, air-conditioned 4x4. Let your guide know if there’s something you wish to see or do more of: your tour is private, so the itinerary can be adjusted to suit your preferences.

Relax and enjoy the views as you travel south through the rugged Hajar Mountains to Ibra, one of Oman’s oldest towns. Hear about its history from your guide and then continue on to Wadi Bani Khalid, one of the country’s most beautiful wadis.

Drive along the rocky wadi and stop to snap photos of the lush palm groves, shimmering rock pools, tiny villages and steep gorges.

Then, stop at a local beauty spot for a picnic lunch on route to the awe-inspiring Wahiba Sands. Head into this dune filled desert region, and enjoy a thrilling dune bash with your guide at the wheel.

After skidding down the sandy slopes, take the opportunity for a camel ride, and then relax on your drive back to Muscat.

Along the way, stop at the old village of Mudairib to see its traditional watchtowers: pretty, rounded turrets perched on the nearby hilltops.

Your day trip then finishes at your Muscat hotel.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Wahiba Sands
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Orient Tours - Day Tours
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A current valid copy of your passport is required on the day of travel
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Buses used for excursions are of the highest standard available. All buses are air-conditioned and equipped with a microphone.
  • 4x4 vehicles used for the off-road safaris are air-conditioned with a maximum capacity of 6 passengers plus driver. All drivers are qualified off-road professionals, first-aid trained and carry cell phones. All vehicles are equipped with seat-belts and passengers are required to wear them at all times.
  • Lightweight summer clothing is suitable for most of the year, but sweaters or jackets may be needed for the winter months, especially in the evenings. Good quality sunglasses are advised, and photo-chromatic lenses for those who wear spectacles. Hats or some protection for the head are advisable when in direct sunlight. Oman has conservative dress traditions. Swimwear should be confined to the beach and hotel pools. Men and women should ensure shoulders and knees are covered when in public, especially in souks, shops and villages.
  • Normal tourist photography is acceptable, but it is considered offensive to photograph Arab women. It is also courteous to ask permission before photographing men. Photographs of government buildings or military installations are not allowed.
  • The tour operator reserves the right to cancel any part of this tour for reasons of government decisions, public holidays, weather conditions, or similar.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Orient Tours

If you cancel at least 4 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.

If you cancel within 3 day(s) of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "The trip is long and very exhausting given that you have to drive for 3 hours to reach the desert from Muscat." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
12 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-9 of 12 reviews
star-4
Surely a must do trip in Oman to...
Nicolo M
, Mar 2018
Surely a must do trip in Oman to experience a very adrenaline dune bashing and the sensational and unexpected oasis in the middle of Oman highest mountain range. The trip is long and very exhausting given that you have to drive for 3 hours to reach the desert from Muscat. I would certainly recommend this trip to anyone visiting Oman but prepare yourself to be exhausted at the end of it.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Driver was on time actually early to...
Mariam M
, Jan 2018
Driver was on time actually early to pick us up at our hotel. He was very nice and respectful. His driving was extremely good considering that my mom has a back issue and can't handle rough driving like in other Middle Eastern countries. The dune bashing was more like light dune driving. It was still very exhilarating and exciting, we went down some very tall dunes. The Bedouin experience was a bit short as was the camel ride which is extra, not included in the price. But everything went as scheduled due to the long drives to the desert and then to the Wadi. The Wadi is so beautiful and pristine. While we did not swim in the wadi, we dipped our feet and small fishes cleaned our feet. The boxed lunch was good, a bit heavy on the bread but it was filling and nice. Our driver was a bit young and shy so he was quiet. It would have been better to have someone who was more talkative and outgoing. On the other hand, we all fell asleep on the drive back, so maybe a quiet driver was better!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Picked up on time in a very clean...
John B
, Mar 2017
Picked up on time in a very clean Land Cruiser, by polite and friendly tour guide. Asked in transit by our guide if we would like to go to a Perfume factor, we said no, but still ended up at the Perfume factory...45min wasted. Thought that we would then head to Wadi Bani Khalid for swim and lunch, but headed to the desert! We thought at this point we would complete our 4 x 4 Sand Dune/of road experience, but had Dates and Coffee this was lovely in a tent and then proceeded to head to the Wadi and swum and had our Picnic lunch, much later than we thought! At this stage we were getting concerned we would run out of time. After some gentle persuasion more then once, as our guide didn't seem to want to go off road we headed back to the desert why 2 trips, drove 50m up one sand dune, stopped and was encourage to take photos how exciting is that! I noticed at least 6 other vehicles doing amazing things across and up and down the dunes while we drove at pedestrian pace along a road! We were left disappointed that we didn't experience the 4 x 4 Sand Dune/of Road adrenalin rush we expected and paid for! We head pack to Muscat quite confused and disappointed, arriving home after 7pm. Summarising. Tour Guide was clearly on different agenda! He provided minimal local knowledge. He wasn't experienced in off road driving, or I would not be writing this. The trip to the Wadi and then back to the Sand Dunes added at least an hour to our trip total perplexed by that. Not sure why the Perfume factory was part of the deal. We felt that we spent our money on being driven to Wadi via the North pole, when we could have walked there quicker. It was suggested to us that we could do the 4 x 4 experience next time.... Signed. Disappointed traveller.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Dear John B, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback about our Wahiba Sands & Wadi Bani Khaled Tour that you have recently joined with us. Please note that you were unfortunately not able to experience the multi-awarded services Orient Tours is famous far. We haven taken internal steps to avoid our future clients having similar issues. However, we took note that you rated our tour guide as "friendly and polite" and our LandCruiser as clean. We look forward to having you join one of our safaris/excursions soon again. Thank you for choosing ORIENT TOURS and taking the time to review us! Best Regards, Sarah P. Dubke Manager Guest Services ORIENT TOURS LLC
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Very Good excursion. Perhaps the...
Julián J
, Mar 2016
Very Good excursion. Perhaps the guided was very quick and we do not have enaugh time to enjoy the places.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
It was a very interesting experience...
Fred B
, Jan 2016
It was a very interesting experience with lots of relevant information supplied by a very capable tour guide. Basim did an excellent job to make a long trip most interesting. His driving skills are excellent as well - the sand was loots of fun! The visit to the wadi was also very interesting. The best part of these trips is that everybody can relax and observe and there is no driver who misses out on most of the good stuff.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent tour of the wadi and...
Michael D
, May 2014
Excellent tour of the wadi and dunes, our driver was very polite, drove safely and full of knowledge. Would recommend highly it is worth the price, not much to do in Muscat so great idea to book this
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent guide who was very good with...
Pauline G
, Sep 2006
Excellent guide who was very good with our 6 year old. Country is amazing and the desert safari was very exciting.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
mi aspettavo di più
Pioneer41161830477
, Jan 2019
di deserto ne vedi veramente poco. La parte iniziale, non ci si avventura su cime alte ma in realtà intorno a te ci sono molte persone e molte auto. Ti fanno poi fermare in una pseudo tenda beduina dove, ovviamente, c'è qualcuno che vende qualcosa. Ti offrono caffè e datteri in pessime condizioni igieniche. Hai la possibilità di fare un piccolissimo giro su dromedario per 3 ryal ........ridicolo.Wadi Bani Khalid è il guado meno bello da vedere. Pieno di persone che praticamente si lavano......Anche se il posto è bello perde tutta la poesia.L'escursione non vale i soldi spesi. E' una giornata lunga e stancante in cui non sei libero di gestire orari e tempistiche. Consiglio solo la visita nel deserto magari con autista privato (si può chiedere al concierge dell'hotel). Ovviamente molto è dato dalla guida. La nostra era molto invadente con una confidenza che nessuno gli ha dato. Gli italiani non sono tutti "tarallucci e vino". No comment sul cibo e il luogo del pranzo. Sconsiglio questa escursione.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Dear Pioneer41161830477, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our company values put customer satisfaction as top priority and we are committed to our customers. We have forwarded your feedback to the concerned department for corrective action. Best Regards, Sarah P. Dubke Manager Guest Services ORIENT TOURS LLC
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Surtout ne réservez pas cette...
eric h
, Jan 2017
Surtout ne réservez pas cette excursion si vous voulez voir les dunes de sable comme promis dans le descriptif vous serez très déçu car le guide ne vous emmène pas dans les dunes mais se contente de s'arrêter aux abords du désert dans un village bédouin où il est fortement conseillé d'acheter l'artisanat local. Grosse frustration! Nous qui sommes des habitués de Viator, nous sommes pour la première fois extrêmement déçus et ne recommanderons plus ce site à nos amis!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Dear eric h, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback about our Wahiba Sands & Wadi Bani Khaled Tour you have recently joined with us. We apologize for not having fully met your expectation. We regret that our guide has not taken you for a short dune drive in the Wahiba Sands after the Bedouin visit. Rest assured, we have taken internal steps for such an issue not to happen again in future. We understand your disappointment with our services. Please let us know when you are planning another trip into our destination so that we can showcase you our multi-awarded services. We would love to see you soon on one of our tours/safaris. Thank you for choosing ORIENT TOURS and taking the time to review us! Best Regards, Sarah P. Dubke Manager Guest Services ORIENT TOURS LLC
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 2168PMCT06

Explore Similar Things to Do