Recent Searches

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Civil Rights / Sacred Ground Tour of Montgomery

Montgomery, United States

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

See Similar Products
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon2 to 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 6 more


Without a guided tour of Montgomery, you might miss out on some of the places and stories that give this historic Southern city its charm. Follow your guide through central Montgomery to sixteen top historic sites such as the Civil Rights Memorial Center, Freedom Riders Museum, and Equal Justice Initiative. As you walk, your guide shares Montgomery trivia and tales.
  • Montgomery city sightseeing tour
  • Great overview of Montgomery for first-time visitors
  • See 16 historic sites, including the Civil Rights Memorial Center
  • Full walking tour of the city at a great value
Professional interactive Drive & Guide
Live commentary on board
Live Art and Music storytelling
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Old Alabama Town (drive by only, no entrance)

Departure Point

300 Water St, Montgomery, AL 36104, USA

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Old Alabama Town (drive by only, no entrance)

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the maximum group size during Civil Rights / Sacred Ground Tour of Montgomery?
This activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Civil Rights / Sacred Ground Tour of Montgomery.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips

  • "Nevertheless, I would recommend this tour for couples, families with teens, friends, business, solo, educators, and families with all adults." See review
  • "If you want local knowledge and a social justice perspective, and you are ready to see, sing, learn and laugh, More Than Tours is the way to go!!" See review


36 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews
No show
, Aug 2020
My guide never showed. But I was charged nonetheless. Hopefully I will be refunded. It’s likely due to COVID.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Sir, we spoke to you 3 hours before your tour and specified there were no tours. Via tour is a third-party ticketing agent and they were notified that there was no tour. I offered to refund your money through their system and you told us that you will contact them directly. So please if you’re going to leave a review tell the whole story when you don’t it’s a lie. Thank you for considering More Than Tours and for understanding there is a national international pandemic called Covid19.
My guide didn’t show up and didn’t return calls
, Mar 2020
I waited for a half an hour. I called and texted the guide, the people at the welcome center did the same. She didn’t have the decency to answer or respond . A waste of my time
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Thanks for your response however, your tour was cancelled the day before your arrival due to corona virus which led to minimum number of travels and bookings. We return your call three times as you refused to answer. We also notified you 24 hours before your tour via Viator and trip advisor. We apologize for the miscommunication.
Her informative story telling
, Mar 2020
Best tour guide ever and I have been all over world! Michele is a treasure of Montgomery. I would love to spend even more time with her.
, Feb 2020
We loved it! We have been living in Montgomery for almost 3 years and it was so cool to see the city in a new light and realize how much important history happened right here!
Walking through the tunnel from the waterfront with profound respect for the enslaved people and presenting the terror.
, Feb 2020
Excellent tour with Michelle. I loved her truth telling which led to deeper conversation in the group.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Wasn’t it deep! Loved spending time with y’all!❤️🌺
A must in Montgomery
, Feb 2020
We had a wonderful tour that was filled with truth, perspective and lightness. It is not an easy conversation, but a necessary one and we felt that this tour provided us time for reflection and a plethora of new information.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for touring with us! Speak truth to POWER. ❤️🌺
Wonderful experience
, Oct 2019
We had so much fun and learned so much on this tour. Michelle is awesome, you won’t be disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
❤️thanks so much!!!
, Aug 2019
Tour guide Michele was amazing. She showed us the historic and new modern sites of Montgomery. Her drive cart was hipster and she was super fun. Michele knew every story and everyone in the city. We've learned in 2 hours-tour much more than expected. I loved the birth place of Nat "King" Cole and Dr. Luther King house. She brought us to cool coffee place and we even sang some songs on the road. In brief, Michele is an angel and we had 10+ experience.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thanks so much for sharing your tour experience with us! Until we meet again❤️
First you meet Michelle
, Jul 2019
I’m so glad we started our visit to Montgomery with Michelle’s tour. We got a overall view of the places we were going to visit...all with Michelle’s spin! It was the highlight of our trip.
No Show
, Jun 2019
The tour director called shortly before the tour was to start at 1:30. We counted on this tour to point us to places that we would visit in depth in the next days. She cancelled. She agreed to do the tour the next day (Sunday) at 1:00 p.m. We showed up at the appointed spot. She did not. We waited. Still she did not show up. She never called or explained. A refund is certainly in order. I am in touch with my credit card company to be SURE that this $90.00 charge is NOT paid. e. Lauer
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thanks for your response. We called you 2 hours before the tour departed at 1:30 and offered another tour that cost more than what you purchased and you declined. You called us back after the tour departed 3:30 pm wanting to take that tour. We agreed to meet at 1:30 pm on Sunday and you were not there. Our tours start at 1:30 not 1:00 pm apparently we missed you as we waited at the entrance we agreed upon. Happy to refund your purchase for 2 people as I spoke with your daughter earlier. Thank you for choosing More Than Tours.

Product code: 41627P1

Explore Similar Things to Do