Recent Searches
Clear

Highlights of Montevideo - for cruise passengers

|
Montevideo, Uruguay
Highlights of Montevideo - for cruise passengers
6

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 4 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Overview

Make the most of your time at shore and discover the highlights of the Uruguayan capital on 3-hour guided tour. Visit key landmarks in the Old City such as the Port Market, Independence Square, the Legislative Palace, and the El Prado neighborhood. Learn about the history of Montevideo from your tour guide and enjoy many stops for photos before heading back to your cruise ship.
  • Explore the city of Montevideo on a 3-hour shore excursion
  • Visit the Old City, the Centenario Stadium, and Batlle Park
  • Learn about the history of Montevideo from your guide
  • Enjoy complimentary round-trip transport from the port
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Port pickup and drop-off
Air-conditioned vehicle
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Departure Point: Rambla 25 de agosto, at the main entrance of the Ministry of Tourism - Port of Montevideo
Address: Rambla 25 de Agosto de 1825 corner Yacaré S/N (without door number)
Directions: INSTRUCTIONS TO LEAVE THE PORT AND FIND OUR GUIDE AND VEHICLE  

• You will descend from the cruise at one of the indicated docks.   
• Follow the green line that you will find painted on the dock to exit the port.  
• This line will take you to the Avenue called “Rambla 25 de agosto”.   
• You will arrive at the building of the Ministry of Tourism; at the main door our guide will be waiting for you holding a sign with our logo (saying Transhotel).
Dates: See Availability
Return point: Port of Montevideo

Ports

  • Puerto De Montevideo, 11100 Montevideo, Montevideo Department, Uruguay


Departure Time

9:30 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Transhotel SRL

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Highlights of Montevideo - for cruise passengers?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Highlights of Montevideo - for cruise passengers.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Highlights of Montevideo - for cruise passengers?
A:
The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Highlights of Montevideo - for cruise passengers.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Highlights of Montevideo - for cruise passengers?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Highlights of Montevideo - for cruise passengers.

Traveler Tips


  • "If you get a bad guide, please just ask for another." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
21 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews
star-4
Well worth the price.
Gloria_W
, Mar 2020
Rosie, our tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. The van was very comfortable and our driver was excellent. The tour was only supposed to be highlights so it was mostly driving around with a few photo stops.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for your review, we appreciate your positive comment.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Bravo Rose
Susan_B
, Mar 2020
We were met on time at the port terminal by our delightful guide, Rose! We had a perfect combination of driving and walking. She was knowledgeable about the history, the architecture, and the culture. She was enthusiastic and engaging each of the group.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for your positive review of the tour and the tour guide Rose, we will let her know! Thanks for visiting Uruguay.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour great guide
Anat_F
, Mar 2020
Places were great the bus driver amazing and the tour girl amazing perfect balance of the day. Highly recommend
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for your positive comment, we appreciate it!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Well Conducted Tour of Montevideo
Joseph_G
, Mar 2020
Excellent well conducted tour of best sights to see in Montevideo. The independence Square is very nice even though it was partially closed due to the President's inauguration next day but the armed forces were practising their parade so that wasa bonus.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for your positive review! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour!
Susan_L
, Mar 2020
Outstanding comprehensive tour is every corner of the city. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. She did skip pointy out a few important sights we had seen on a previous trip. I wondered why!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for your positive comment. Which sights you have visited before were not included in our tour?
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Nice overview with photo stops
Therese
, Feb 2020
Monica was a great guide w lots of history for us. She and driver were flexible when faced with road closures and let us stop places where she obviously hadn’t planned for us to stop
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your positive review!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent Choice
TKC
, Feb 2020
Lovely tour with Monica who spoke excellent English and shared her passion for her Country. On time, accommodating and easy to find at the pier. Very good choice to do this tour rather than the expensive cruise ship options.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your nice comments!
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
It was ok
guapa1
, Feb 2020
Our tour guide was not knowledgeable. When we asked her questions she did not know most of the time such as what kinds of trees are we seeing. Our driver was good and I love the bus cause it has its own toilet to use.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for your review! In order to improve our service would be useful to know the exact date you took the tour. Could you please inform this? I look forward to hearing more from you.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Nice dai in Montevideo
Fdbldemir
, Feb 2020
Docked in old city. Half day Viator tour - Transhotel Tours. Highlights of Montevideo . Our tour guide Ivanna and driver Martin were very nice. Went all over — Ramblas by seaside, major sites, stopped few places for pictures and at nice food market for brief visit. After tour, walked around old town area.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Montevideo highlights
teritussey
, Feb 2020
The tour is very good but it depends on your guide. Although the description says “English speaking guide”, our guide had such poor English is was barely understandable. We drove for approximately 1/2 hour. She would point to a building and say “that’s the theater”, point to a statue and say “that’s a statue. I don’t like him”. “That’s a government building”. Everyone on our bus was talking amongst themselves and complaining. Then she tells us that we left behind 6 people at the pier and had to go back. Luckily, one of our busmates spoke Spanish and told the driver how unhappy we were and we threatened to get off the bus once we got back to the port. The bus driver called the company and they sent another guide out. Lucky for us or there would h e been a revolt. The second guide was so pleasant, knowledgeable and sweet. It made a complete difference in our tour. Everyone on the bus enjoyed the rest of the tour. We saw sights all over Montevideo. If you get a bad guide, please just ask for another.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for your review, passengers feedback always help us to improve. In this particular case we appreciate it that you contacted us a few minutes after leaving the port, so we could change the tour guide quickly.
HelpfulHelpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Highlights of Montevideo - for cruise passengers
Current
Highlights of Montevideo - for cruise passengers

star-421

3 to 4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00

star-00

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00

star-3.517

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.00

star-00

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.00

star-53

1 hour 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$47.31

star-53

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$100.00

star-00

3 days

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00

star-00

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$63.08

star-516

2 hours 35 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$500.00

Explore Similar Things to Do