Recent Searches

Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1

Makawao, United States
Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Watching the sunrise at Haleakala Crater is a note-to-be-missed experience, which is only made better by hopping on a bike and riding back down to the beach. Begin early with a pre-dawn pickup before making the winding journey in the dark to the 10,023 ft. summit. As the horizon begins to slowly turn red, then gradually to orange and yellow, the lunar beauty of Haleakala Crater begins to come into view. After the sun has crested the eastern horizon and bathed the crater in light, ride back down to the national park boundray.
  • Watch the sunrise from Haleakala Crater
  • Ride a bike down a dormant volcano
  • Explore the towns of Makawao and Kula
  • Receive instruction from a professional guide
  • All transport, safety, and bike gear provided

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

From summit sunrise to sand, this is one of few Haleakala bike trips to finish all the way at the beach.
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Local guide
Use of helmet and chrome cruiser bike

Departure Point

886 Haliimaile Rd, Makawao, HI 96768, USA

Departure Time

3:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Maximum 13 per booking allowed
  • Weight restrictions apply; maximum weight is 280 lbs
  • Minimum height required is 5 feet
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Mountain Riders LLC

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1.
What is the policy on sanitization during Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1.
What is the social distancing policy during Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1.
What is the maximum group size during Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
This activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips

  • "Bring warm clothing (actual winter stuff) because this tour gets you up there early enough so you can get a good spot to view the sunrise." See review
  • "It was freezing and uncomfortable at times so bring many layers, warm scarf and a warm hat." See review
  • "They give you a jacket, but if you're otherwise dressed for Hawaii, it is not enough." See review


123 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 123 reviews
Viator bungled and mountain riders helped us out.
, Jul 2021
This is a 2 part review. Viator who booked the biking adventure screwed up big time. I paid for 5 family members to do a once in a lifetime trip to see the sunrise atop Haleakala in Maui. I received my tickets but they mistakenly only confirmed 2 people to get in to experience it. There was no way to fix the problem in time and 3 of us had to miss out. It was heartbreaking, as this trip had been many years in the planning and of course is very expensive. They did issue a refund for the 3 of us, but that was no consolation as our family didn’t get to experience it together and can’t reschedule. So zero stars for them. Don’t use viator if you want to be sure that things go as planned. Mountain riders on the other hand tried to accommodate us to make the situation better. They helped us to at least do the bike ride together, and they did it free of charge for the 3 of us that missed out. It helped salvage a very painful moment for our family. 5 stars for them!!
Fabulous Adventure
, Jun 2021
Quite an experience. Very safety oriented pleasure trip. The guides are friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you so much for the positive review safety is definitely our number one priority of course with a whole lot of fun added in there
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
, Jun 2021
ONE OF OUR FAVORITE ACTIVITES IN MAUI! Our driver got us up to Haleakala quickly and quietly. We were one of the first busses to arrive which means we had first pick on our spots in the viewing area. It's cold and the elevation is high. Drink lots of water the day before and during the tour. Bring lots of layers and then some! We were lucky enough to have an incredible sunrise and incredible weather for our ride. I had no idea what to expect from this bike ride and both me and my boyfriend were pleasantly surprised at how much fun we had. Nani and Bobby took GREAT care of us, making the bike ride fun and safe. Bobby had lots of funny jokes and cool moves to ease an tension or anxiety during the ride. This tour is pricey but more than worth it. Nani and Bobby were amazing, the sunrise was amazing, the bike ride was amazing! I wish I could give more than 5 stars!!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you😁
, Apr 2021
Tour guides Emmit, Bobby and Nani were awesome. Great experience for the whole family. Well planned. Guided through beautiful sites and immersed to the smells of of local foliage. Stopped for memorable photos with beautiful backdrops. Given history behind flowers and landscapes seen. Beautiful sunrise on Haleakula with education of the stars in the sky prior to the sun rising. Also educated on the chant heard when the sun was rising.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi Laurie we are so glad you enjoyed your trip thank you for the positive response hope to see you in the future
Dress warm, gloves and sunglasses a must!
, Apr 2021
The views were stunning and the downhill bike tour was extremely enjoyable. I would have preferred more details on the tour. The tour is split into two tours, the sunrise tour is a bus tour up the mountain, and then after the sun rises, the driver brings you down the mountain a little bit to where we meet the bike tour guide. The description says to dress in layers. I wore three layers but that is not enough, if the description gave more details, like bring what you need to stay warm in 20-40 degree conditions and to not worry about carrying your warm clothes because you’ll be able to leave your belongings and stuff on the bus, then I would have been able to prepare better and not freeze while waiting for the sun to come up. I recommend gloves too, they’ll be useful for the sunrise tour and the bike tour. You’re biking from the mountain so it’s still very chilly in the beginning of the bike ride. I recommend sunglasses too because they’ll act like goggles for your eyes while the wind blows in your face. The bike tour guides were the best, since they work as a team, they are able to coordinate the local traffic around us. I felt very safe and they made sure we had a great time!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Thank you for the wonderful positive review. With covin we had to change things a little bit is far is cleaning. Not Handing out gloves. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
, Apr 2021
1. I booked this with a live agent at Viaroe. 2. After the fact, I attempted to call back & schedule a hotel pick up, & agent tile me to call your operator directly. 3. I did that & left messages with no call back. 4. Without pick up, unsure of whom to speak with AND still No call from the operator. 5. Missed entire excursion ... called left another message with operator to call me to reschedule with pick up. 6. 24 hours later, still no call. *I’d leave a 0 if I could,
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Hi Elaine unfortunately your complaint is with viator not with us here at the bike Tour. Viator forgot to remove the pickups due to covid. We also have records of calling you 3 times with no return call. All of the other viator participants for that day showed. We are so sorry for experience will be contacting via tor to have this review removed.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Riding to the beach after a great breakfast.
, Feb 2020
It was a great event but too cold for me and too long before we saw any real activity in the sky. The bike ride was amazing! Also, the little town we stopped in for breakfast was lovely!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
We always recommend bringing a couple layers as the temperature can be quite chilly at the top of Haleakala, especially during winter months. But we are so glad to hear you enjoyed the ride despite the cold! Aloha
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Haleakala bike tour
, Jan 2020
Everything was terrific except for the cloudy sunrise which you can’t control. The staff was awesome from the early morning pickup til the noontime drop off it couldn’t have been more proficient and friendly. They did everything possible to allow you to have a great experience. Memorable start to our Hawaii vacation
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Hi Bruce! We appreciate you taking the time to write a thoughtful review, thank you! Unfortunately, the clouds aren't something we can predict but we are so glad that you had a great ride regardless! We hope to have you ride with us again! Aloha
Beautiful scenery; very cold wait for sunrise and bike ride challenging
, Nov 2019
There is a great tour but you need to know what you're getting yourself into and I did not feel adequately prepared. You have to check into the office by 3am so do this trip early before you're acclimated to the time zone change. Granola bars and coffee are provided at the office. There is no true breakfast or lunch included in this trip. The bus was comfortable and Michael was a very safe and smooth driver and an excellent tour guide telling us information about Haleakala as we ascended the crater. Even though we took warm clothes and they provided jackets for the sunrise, we were still frozen solid after standing in the wind and temps of 20's with the wind chill factor for 1.5 hours. The STARS and meteors were spectacular and helped to pass the time, but it is way colder than you'd expect. The bus didn't have enough blankets to block the wind for all the passengers, even though we shared one per 3-4 people to just block our backsides. I think for the price, they could supply one blanket per person because blocking the wind did help. The sunrise was beautiful and be prepared that as soon as it's up, they want everyone back on the bus in about 8 minutes. Then you drive out of the park and get right onto the bikes outside of the park. For me, THIS IS THE BIGGEST WARNING: If you are not an experienced cyclist or at least accustomed to biking at 20-35 mph speeds, steep grades and hairpin turns, you may want to ride in the van for the first of the 3 legs of the bike ride. You get right on the bikes and take off without any chance to pedal around and get used to the bikes. The bikes are hard to steer (they wobble when you steer so you have to lean rather than turn the handlebars) and we were pressured to maintain speed and not brake. I was incredibly uncomfortable and truly scared! Between still being cold from the crater and being scared to death on the bike, I was shaking when we reached the first stop so I rode in the van for the middle leg to take a break and let the more experienced riders go faster. However, the second leg looked way less windy and steep and that part goes through the eucalyptus and lavender so would have been better to ride the second 2 legs. After the second leg, you stop in a great little ranch town Makawao and we had a delicious breakfast there. The last leg of the bike ride was easy and through town and down to the beach at the town of Paia. Overall, you get a lot from this amazing experience, esp if you're comfortable on a bike.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
memorable experience
, Nov 2019
despite winter gear and a blanket -it was a frigid 1.5 hr wait up at the crater. we didn't get to see a sunrise due to the clouds BUT the bike ride and rest of morning made up for the lack of the sun at the top. Fun guides, great tips for other things to do on Maui and the bike ride was way more fun than expected- even for someone in only decent athletic shape. thanks, Nani, Mark and Bobby
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Explore Similar Things to Do