Recent Searches

Hawaiian Outrigger Canoe Cultural and Turtle Tour

star-4.531 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Kihei, United States
Hawaiian Outrigger Canoe Cultural and Turtle Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon1 hour  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
Good for avoiding crowds


Journey back in time with an expert local guide during this traditional Hawaiian outrigger canoe tour. Learn about Polynesian culture as you cruise through top attractions and scenic tropical landscapes. Get up close to local marine life as you make your way through the waters between Wailea Beach and Maui.
  • Experience a traditional Hawaiian Outrigger Canoe Tour as you learn the culture, art and sport of canoe paddling.
  • Paddle through stunning tropical landscapes
  • Learn about Polynesian culture from your expert guide
  • Enjoy the pristine waters off Wailea point as you take in the magnificent coral-sea garden with an abundance of sea life.
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Outrigger canoe excursion
Canoeing equipment
Local taxes
Food and drinks
Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

Kihei, HI 96753, USA

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Children 5 and younger are not recommended
  • You must be able to paddle a minimum of a half mile
  • Check-in is 20 minutes prior to the booked tour start time
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Hawaiian Ocean Sports

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos


31 Reviews
1 star

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews
Turtle time
, Jul 2021
We had such an amazing time on the ocean. We were able to see 9 turtles and several up close. Our tour guide just graduated from high school and was very professorial and knowledgeable about sea life. Thanks for a great time!
Fun way to start our vacation !
, Jul 2021
What an amazing time! Jonah was so personable and the turtles were so fun to watch! It was a great way to start our Maui vacation!
Outstanding Experience
, Jul 2021
Great crew. We saw lots of turtles. A guide offered pics for free. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Fun outing. Highly recommend.
Not an excursion I would recommend
, Jul 2021
Our guide didn’t seem very knowledgeable, and didn’t make a real attempt to see turtles, while the canoe in front of us had a much more experienced guide, learned history about the island, saw turtles etccc. It was disappoint overall for us and not necessarily something I would recommend.
The canoe ride was super fun and great to bring kids as well
, Jul 2021
Kruz was great in getting back to me via text the night before to ensure me that can accommodate my 2 children. He also informed me to maybe do a earlier slot to avoid the high wind later in the day. Certainly made the experiment a whole lot smoother and enjoyable. When I got lost getting there, Kruz was also very helpful in helping me find his location. The lady who is the tour guide/steermen was also wonderful. I would definitely recommend it.
A fantastic experience!
, Jul 2021
This was a wonderful experience with friendly, knowledgeable staff and a super service! The trip out on the outrigger was a lot of fun and we saw some huge turtles up close when out on the ocean, and also a barracuda. As well as being an excellent guide, Kevin taught us some traditional Hawaiian chants and lots about Hawaiian history. This was a fantastic experience, and I highly recommend Hawaiian Ocean Sports! 🌺
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Aloha Marcus, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time. Mahalo to you and your ohana for choosing Hawaiian Ocean Sports as well as mahalo Ke Aku for blessing us will all of the wonderful things you seen on your trip!
Fun time! Read if you are plus size.
, Jun 2021
The tour guides were great. :) They had wonderful energy and taught us about the Hawaiian culture. Our group had the 10 AM tour and we were so lucky we had a turtle approach our canoe. Paddling was also pretty easy going. The reason I did not put 5 stars is because I feel their Viator description should disclose the width of the seats of the canoe. For reference I am a size 8 and I had little room to move. I brought my friend with me and she did not fit comfortably in the canoe. She had to sit sideways to fit.
Great experience!
, Jun 2021
Great time out on the water to learn a little bit of history of the Hawaiian people and also see some turtles. Also nice to do an active excursion and paddle on an outrigger. The team was professional and great communication with directions to the start point.
Fun experience.
, Jun 2021
It was an amazing experience, so fun and the guide was so nice. We saw turtles, my kids were really happy and we loved it.
No turtles
, Apr 2021
Because of traffic we were 10 minutes late, but they still took us out for a canoe experience., got very windy and disappointed we didn’t see any turtles.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Aloha Aniluz, If you're going to submit a review positive or negative, please present accurate information. You were 45 minutes late for 10am scheduled departure. Tradewinds typically increase as the day progresses on Maui. That is why we recommend 8am, 9am and 10am departures for all tours. As Tradewinds increase, the turtles are more difficult to see. For safety reasons, we discontinued the tour and issued you a refund as request. As always, our primary commitment is safety and positive experience. Mahalo, Kevin Piilani Hoke

Explore Similar Things to Do