Recent Searches
Clear

From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo

|
Wailuku, United States
From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Go snorkeling off the coast of Maui on this boat tour on board 'the Malolo,' a 55-foot (17-meter) power catamaran. Cruise to one of two snorkeling sites—either Molokini Crater or Coral Gardens—where you can swim along the reef system to watch for colorful fish and other marine life. The location is selected by the captain depending on the daily conditions. If you're lucky, you may spot turtles or whales, too. Equipment and instructions are provided by the crew. Lunch (hot dog and soda) by selecting the upgrade option when booking.
  • Maui snorkeling tour
  • Travel by catamaran to either Molokini Crater or Coral Gardens
  • Look for fish and other Hawaiian marine life along the reef
  • Optional lunch available for purchase when booking
Saved to wishlist!
Professional, safety-oriented captain and crew
Transport on a 55-foot power catamaran
Top-of-the-line snorkel equipment
Flotation devices
Lunch
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Gratuities
DVD (available to purchase)
Wetsuit and underwater camera (available for rent)
Hotel pickup and drop-off NOT INCLUDED OR OFFERED
300 Maalaea Rd , 300 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA

Check-In: 12:30 PM Departure: 1:00 PM Directions: Meet at Boss Frog's Dive and Surf (Ma'alaea Location) next door to Beach Bums. Meeting Address: 300 Ma'alaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793 Departure Point: Ma'alaea Harbor, Slip 87

1:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Vegetarian & Gluten-Free option is available; please advise at time of booking if required.
  • A 24-hour notice is required for cancellation or reschedule.
  • Mandatory Check-in 30 minutes prior to departure.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Minimum drinking age: 21 years old.
  • Bring cash if you'd like to tip the crew!
  • All Snorkel Spots Are Determined Daily Weather Permitting. Please Understand and Respect Captain’s Decision on Snorkel Locations – In Your Best Interest.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 66 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Malolo Charters
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
Is there public parking near the departure point for the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:Yes, you can park near the boat. There is also paid parking in front of Maui Ocean Center the cost is $2.00/hour and $5.00/8 hours . You will want to pay for 3 hours to make sure you have plenty of time. (Rates subject to change at any time.)
Apr 2022
Q:
How long is the boat ride to Molokini on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:The boat ride is approximately 45 mins to 1 hour in each direction.
Mar 2021
Q:
How much time do we spend snorkeling during the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:On average, we spend approximately 1-1.5 hours snorkeling.
Mar 2021
Q:
Are there restrooms on board for the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:Yes - there are two restrooms on board for your convenience.
Mar 2021
Q:
What should I bring with me on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:We recommend bringing sunscreen, swimwear, sunglasses, a towel, a camera, and cash/credit card for any additional purchases.
Mar 2021
Q:
Is there a Vegetarian/Vegan option for lunch on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:Yes, but we must know in advance. Feel free to let us know of any dietary restrictions in the "Special Requirements" box at checkout.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I bring my own food/drink on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:Yes, you may bring your own food and drink, however outside alcohol is not permitted.
Mar 2021
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "If you are not comfortable snorkeling on your own, this is the trip for you." See review
  • "To go to Hawaii and waste a day with subpar snorkeling is not ideal." See review
  • "If you're ok with just taking a boat ride out for 45 minutes, seeing a little bit of coral and a few fish, and then hopping back on the boat you'll love it." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
293 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 293 reviews
star-5
Great snorkeling experience
Nicole_W
, Jun 2022
This was a really fun experience! The ride out was a but choppy, but it was worth it. The snorkeling was so much fun and we saw so many fish. Getting off the boat takes a bit because of the one staircase and people push to get their way to the front, but if you aren’t desperate to be the first off the boat, you’ll be fine.
star-5
Snorkel review
Brandon_S
, Jun 2022
Spinner dolphins jumping in & out of the waves. We were not able to snorkel Molokini Crater because of wind conditions so that was a let down but understandable.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
COOL! We appreciate your review and are so happy to hear that you saw dolphins and that you still had a great time aboard Malolo!
star-2
underwhelming
Donald_L
, Jun 2022
Underwhelming and not impressy. Did not expect molikini on this boat you will end up off the Maui coast with a BS story about how great it is AND ITS NOT
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that your experience was not as you expected. Please contact us on your next trip to Maui. We would love the chance to win you over.
star-3
Okay
Nicole_M
, Jun 2022
It was ok. It’s a risk spending the money and then not being able to go out to molokini crater depending on the weather. We weren’t able to go to the crater due to high winds. We snorkeled off Papawai Pt. and didn’t see much. Beautiful coral but not many fish. We saw more cool fish and turtles off our resort beach. You may have a better chance if you go on the morning snorkel trip…or save yourself the $ and buy some cheap snorkel gear and snorkel off your beach. We basically paid over $300 for a short boat trip and some hot dogs.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your trip was anything less than wonderful. Please give us a call or visit us again on your next visit to Maui. We’d love to get a chance to win you over.
star-3
Such a letdown we never...
Edlira_G
, Jun 2022
Such a letdown we never went to the destination. There was barely anything to see where they Stopped us. And we only went couple miles away from where we started departing.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Oh no! We are sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. Our experienced captains and crew try their best to choose locations that are safe and ideal for viewing marine life.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Best excursion on the island.
Mark_D
, Jun 2022
Crew was so professional. We were told what to expect how to properly snorkel and all safety protocols. Our family decided that this excursion was our favorite activity in our eleven days on Maui. An added bonus was the hotdogs, chips and cookies served on the way back from swimming along the reef.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
AWESOME! The snorkel tour from Ma'alaea is the best! We are so glad to hear that you and your family had a spectacular time aboard Malolo.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fun in the ocean
Jamie_K
, Jun 2022
Taking my adult kids snorkeling and creating memories for a lifetime . The crew was fun and played great mucus and served yummy cocktails
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to hear that you had a spectacular time with your family aboard Malolo.
star-5
Afternoon snorkeling adventure
Tamari_L
, Jun 2022
The crew was great. Snorkeling was in beautiful clear waters at the Coral Gardens. It was a little windy and the water was cooler, but still nice. Soda and water included, alcohol was $3 ( a great deal). Hot dog lunch could have been better, but that is was they said they were serving so no surprises. Had lots of fun!!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Our crew aboard Malolo are the best! We are glad that you had a great time snorkeling!
star-5
Friendly and helpful
Gina_B
, Jun 2022
The captain and crew were genuinely friendly and knowledgeable. I felt safe with their expertise. They were particularly helpful with my adult autistic son who had never snorkeled before. What an amazing experience.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Safety is our number one priority aboard Malolo! We love taking guests out to make new memories and experience new things. Sounds like you had a spectacular time snorkeling!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great time
jennifer_m
, Jun 2022
Very fun The kids had a great time Staff was very informative and attentive. Very knowledgeable would do it again
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Our crew aboard Malolo are the best! Thank you for joining us for an awesome snorkeling adventure.
star-5
We had a great time!...
Brianna_B
, Jun 2022
We had a great time! Staff was amazing, funny, helpful, informative. All around great experience!!!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Malolo crew! Thank you for joining us.
star-4
Fun at Ses
Bill_M
, Jun 2022
Snorkeling and service was excellent! We will definitely come back and recommend to others. Captain and crew or careful with all details of safety and Covid.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Safety is our top priority aboard Malolo! We are pleased that you had a wonderful time snorkeling from Ma'alaea.
star-2
Don’t
Hayden_S
, Jun 2022
Small boat not stable also we didn’t stay that long for snorkeling. They mentioned lunch it was a horrible hot dogs with chips so I recommend to bring your own food
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We are sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. While over 90% of our reviewers rate us as excellent or very good, we appreciate and value all feedback our customers choose to provide.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Supperb place and Crew
Badri_K
, May 2022
Crew Crew Crew, very charming and considerative. They took time to explain, made it memorable, awesome folks and awesome place and experience
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Our crew is the best! We are pleased to hear that you had a spectacular evening snorkeling aboard Malolo.
star-2
Not recommend for inexperienced persons
Ira_T
, May 2022
Snorkeling is not the lighthearted activity it is sold as. Also not something you should be doing alone for the first time. I did notify one of the crew members that it was my first time , she told me she got me but she didn't in the water. I had a panic attack as soon as I entered and did my best, the current itself was supposedly strong and carried me under the boat at 1 point. The fish were pretty though and the captain threw me a noodle to float. I understand the crew did their best , there were maybe 25 others snorkeling and 1 person was in the water kayaking. My experience was a bit traumatic , I suggest doing your research and going with a buddy if it's your first time. I do know how to swim but all in all won't say it was a good experience. Do your research and take care.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Oh no! We are sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. Safety is our top priority aboard Malolo and Life jackets are provided for all passengers regardless of experience.
star-2
Really taking your...
Jennifer_M
, May 2022
Really taking your chances n this excursion. They canceled on us, twice. Cannot possibly recommend………………………./
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We are sorry to hear this! On rare occasions we have to cancel trips due to weather or sea conditions. Swell and wind direction are important safety considerations, and these elements can also affect snorkeling visibility. Our captains and crew are trained to make the best decision for the safety of all passengers and crew. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
star-5
Nice afternoon excursion.
Heather_G
, May 2022
What a great time. Crew was awesome and flexible. Made sure everyone was taken care of. Can’t beat the 3$ cocktails also. We were the only snorkeling boat at molokini! That may be a first. Thanks again.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Our Malolo crew is the best! We are happy to hear that you had a blast on your Molokini snorkeling tour.
star-5
Great family fun.
Richard_L
, May 2022
Great time on the boat and snorkeling. The crew was great. The boat ride was smooth. The water was clear and saw many fish and large eels.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
COOL! We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing time snorkeling aboard Malolo.
star-3
Not what I expected!
Ben_l
, May 2022
We did the afternoon snorkeling, it was not what we expected. It’s 3 hours total only 1 hr is actually snorkeling time, which went really fast. The water is beautiful dark blue. What I didn’t realize is that we would be in 25+ feet of water so it was a bit overwhelming trying to snorkel with a bunch of people and there where not many different fish to see. The crew was awesome on the boat. We ate hot dogs, chips, and cookies and the way back.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We appreciate your response and are sorry to hear that your tour was anything less than expected.Our crew is the best and we are glad that you still had a great evening aboard Malolo.
star-4
Jane's graduation celebration snorkel trip
Geri_V
, May 2022
The crew were friendly and made my family members feel at ease. It was a little disappointing that there was not more fish in the area, but I would imagine this may be due to time of day or because people keep going out to the same area. The crew did manage the trip and people onboard well and were polite and helpful.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for your review! Passenger safety and comfort are the top priorities aboard Malolo. We are glad that you had a great time!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo
From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo

star-4286

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.95

star-4.5920

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.95

star-4.5175

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$89.95

star-4.5948

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$74.25

star-4.5668

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.95

star-4.592

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.30

star-4.5222

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$174.69

star-5186

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$90.02
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations