Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford,the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London

|
Greater London, United Kingdom

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon11 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Delight in the quintessential charm of England on a full-day tour of Oxford, the Cotswolds, and Stratford-upon-Avon from London. With a knowledgeable guide, visit some of the country’s most popular attractions and delve into the rich history of the British Empire. Catch a glimpse of the grand buildings in the prestigious Oxford University; capture photographs during stops in two gorgeous Cotswolds villages; and visit the birthplace of iconic playwright William Shakespeare in Stratford-upon-Avon. Enjoy an intimate atmosphere on this small-group tour, limited to 16 people.
  • Full-day tour to Stratford-upon-Avon, the Cotswolds, and Oxford from London
  • Learn about the history of each site from your guide
  • See key locations in Shakespeare’s life including his birthplace
  • Stop in several Cotswolds villages for photo ops and lunch at a local restaurant (own expense)
  • Take a walking tour around Oxford University, whose alumni includes Albert Einstein and Andrew Lloyd Webber
  • Walk by locations in Oxford that were sets in Harry Potter films
  • Small-group tour with a maximum of 16 people provides a more customized experience

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

A small group size makes it easier to get up close and personal with the sights and pause for photo stops.
Saved to wishlist!
Travel by executive mini-coach
Guided walk in Oxford
Guided tour of Shakespeare sites in Stratford-upon-Avon
Small group tour, with a maximum of 16 passengers per tour
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

Hard Rock Cafe, Great Cumberland Pl, Marble Arch, Marylebone, London W1H 7DL, UK

Departure Time

7:30 AM

Return Details

London Victoria Rail Station, Victoria, London SW1W 0AH, UK
Depart from a central London location in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan and relax during the scenic journey to Oxford, the day’s first destination. Receive an enriching introduction to the historical city from your guide and embark on an explorative walking tour on arrival in Oxford. Explore the grand grounds of the prestigious Oxford University; see places used as sets in the Harry Potter films; and admire beautiful colleges like All Souls. 

Travel onward to the Cotswolds, a stunning region famed for its thatched cottages and rolling green hills. Admire scenic vistas as you visit the idyllic villages of Burford and Upper and Lower Slaughter; capture photographs and revitalize with lunch (own expense) during brief interludes in the pretty villages. 

Sated, head to Stratford-upon-Avon to experience the hometown of globally renowned playwright, William Shakespeare. Listen to illuminating commentary as you enjoy a coach tour of prominent monuments like Shakespeare’s birthplace, and the Holy Trinity Church in which he was baptized. 

After some relaxed free time, return to London via the quaint village of Shottery, famed for the thatched cottage of Anne Hathaway, Shakespeare’s wife. 

Please note: the order of the itinerary is subject to change.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Shakespeare's Birthplace
We journey up to Stratford-upon-Avon to the birthplace of William Shakespeare, and enjoy a guided tour of the town by minibus viewing the remarkable array of timber framed Tudor buildings that survive from Shakespeare's own lifetime including his church, school and family homes. We then enter the house he was born in.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
Holy Trinity Church
Enjoy a guided tour of the town by minibus viewing the remarkable array of timber framed Tudor buildings that survive from Shakespeare's own lifetime including his church, school and family homes.
Pass By:  
Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens
We will take a photo stop outside Shakespeare's wife childhood home, Anne Hathaway's cottage in Shottery.
Pass By:  
Burford Library
We then drive out to the beautiful Cotswolds, a range of limestone hills with green valleys and villages made up of honey coloured cottages. We use the narrow country lanes to visit off the beaten track places, including Burford, Bourton on the Water and the Rissingtons, our journey featuring plenty of meandering streams and sleepy hamlets. We will make a lunch stop in the delightful town of Stow-on-the-Wold with its village green and historic market square.
Stop At:  
Stow-on-the-Wold Market Square
We will make a lunch stop in the delightful town of Stow-on-the-Wold with its village green and historic market square. Please note food and drink is not included.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
All Souls College
Ending the day in Oxford, we will take an informative and in-depth walking tour of the University, colleges and town. Here we see how this ancient University founded in 1167, operates within its traditional collegiate system. Stroll around some of the older city and college buildings
Pass By:  
Christ Church
Ending the day in Oxford, we will take an informative and in-depth walking tour of the University, colleges and town. Here we see how this ancient University founded in 1167, operates within its traditional collegiate system. Stroll around some of the older city and college buildings
Stop At:  
The Divinity School
Enjoy a visit to the University's oldest classroom, the 15th century Divinity School.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Confirmation for this tour will be received at time of booking
  • A maximum of 16 people per booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Wheelchair accessible but must advise the supplier at time of booking
  • Infant seats must be requested in advance
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY International Friends

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford,the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford,the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford,the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford,the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford,the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford,the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford,the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Day Trip to Oxford,the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon from London.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Not enough time everywhere but it's hard to cram 3 places for one day." See review
  • "Learn about Oxford University while traversing historic paths with lots of shopping near by." See review
  • "Private Group is the way to go-only 7 people in our group." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
94 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 94 reviews
star-5
Awesome Day
beyerd90
, Feb 2020
Awesome tour. Our guide Tony and driver Paul were great. When we were searching for a tour we (3) wanted a small group, imagine our delight when it was only the three of us on this tour! One person had a disability and because it was only the three of us they were able to tweak the tour to make it easier for her. We had such lively discussions with Tony and finished our tour with so much information about the Cotswolds, Stratford, Oxford and England. It was absolutely one of the best tours ever. Because of the smaller vehicle we traveled on many local and smaller roads and were able to enjoy so much of the countryside! I would strongly recommend this tour, but request Tony as your guide for the best experience.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Disaster
136johann
, Dec 2019
There was no driver at the pickup point. We walked up and down the street confirming that we were at the correct location. Not even the staff at the Hard Rock Hotel, where we were supposed to meet, were aware of the tour. After we arived back at our own hotel the tour operator contacted and informed us that the driver was at the pickup point and would not admit that the driver was late. They then refused to collect us from our hotel and insisted that we travel to Kensington if we wanted to continue the tour. We insisted that we wanted a refund. The tour operator said she would send us correspondence to address same via email. When we recieved the correspondence they basicly shifted the blame and informed us they will not be refunding us as everything was our fault and we were being untruthful. The tour operator was international friends. Disgusting customer serivice.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
I am troubled by the many inaccuracies in your review. As per the attachment we sent to you, you can see that the driver arrived at 17 Great Cumberland Place, which is next door (a 1 minute walk) to the Hard Rock Hotel at 06.59. The attachment is from the vehicles tachograph which must be recorded by law, and as such must adhere to certain guidelines - meaning that the timings are unarguably accurate. The driver was there and waiting for you from perhaps 07.02, by the time he had parked and walked to the meeting point. The reason we will 'not admit', as you put, that our driver was late, is because he was not - as you have now seen from the tachograph that was sent to you on the 24 December. Our driver proceeded to wait outside the hotel for you for the next 30 minutes. When he could not find you, he made contact with our office shortly after 07.30. Our office then made contact with you, which our records indicate was 07.35. As a reminder, as per your e-ticket, your meeting point was 07.30, and at 07.35 you were not at the meeting point. When we got through to you at 07.35, you stated you were almost back at your hotel, the Park Plaza Riverbank. This is, on a good day with no traffic, is at least 10 minutes from the Hard Rock Hotel in a taxi. We also have from you, in writing, that you left the meeting point at 07.26 - as a reminder, as per your e-ticket, your departure time was 07.30. You also admitted to leaving the meeting point early whilst on the phone to our staff, in between your abhorrent and abusive rant, and I am bemused as to why you would make the decision to leave without making contact with us first, instead choosing to check this with hotel staff. I am confused as to why you would expect a hotel concierge to know the exact location of your driver for a tour they have no affiliation with and would take their advice and leave the meeting point before checking with the tour operator? Our staff suggested that you take a taxi from your hotel to our final pick up, where the driver and other customers on board (that had already waited 10 minutes for you), could wait another 10 minutes, to give you a chance to catch up. You could have accepted the help and solution that our staff were trying to offer you which would have resulted in you catching up with the tour - you did not do this. Instead, you chose to swear, shout and try to intimidate our staff into sending the vehicle directly to your hotel. After being continually shouted at, our staff stated that if you continued to shout, the call would be terminated - as a company we do not tolerate behaviour of this kind, before or during our tours and we will not accept our staff being spoken to this way. You continued to swear and shout, and as such the call was indeed terminated. I am not sure why you would be so arrogant as to think that not only could you hold the tour up by 20 minutes due to your own mistake, scream and verbally abuse our staff, and still deserve to inconvenience our group further and be collected at your hotel after doing so. When you were informed that there will be no refund, a stream of unpleasant messages followed, and we stand by the fact that there will be no refund. Your thoroughly unpleasant manner and verbal abuse aside, the fundamental issue here is that you left the meeting point before your departure time. I fail to see why you could think that this would be anybody else's fault but your own. If you were concerned about our driver not being at the meeting point, you could have called our emergency number who would have helped you in connecting with your driver. You chose not to do this. We then offered you a way to catch up with the tour, attempting to help you, which was met with a shocking outburst and stream of swearing and abuse. You chose NOT to catch up with the tour. I reiterate, the factors that resulted in missing your tour, were all down to choices you made. At all times, our staff were attempting to help you and all instructions were given in a calm and polite manner - the only party that has been 'disgusting' as you have so delicately put it, is yours.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fall tour of Stratford upon Avon
Janes S
, Dec 2019
Great tour and knowledgeable guide. The small tour bus made the English countryside more accessible and enjoyable. The day flew by because of the many sites and activities. The actors at Shakespeare' home were marvelous. I highly recommend this tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Cotswolds and Stratford upon Avon tour - September 2019
Butch92120
, Oct 2019
Jose, our tour guide, was arguably one of the best guides I’ve ever had the opportunity to travel with! He was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the areas and was excited to share his knowledge with the group. He went out of his way to ensure that all had a wonderful day!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
I wanted to give it a zero rating but I couldn't
Daryl A
, Sep 2019
Reader beware: I arrived at 7.34am for my 7.30am tour and the bus was nowhere in sight. For the record the tour stated they left at 7.36am so I'm going to say this was due to our differences in our watches (how convenient for them). As I was frantically trying to contact them to ask the tour where they were all I got was an automated voice message that said the tour office was closed. No attempt was made to contact me which I felt was basic courtesy. Anyway, there will be people who will say I'm late and I'm fine by it. But I think what's more important is do you want this to happen to you? If you book this tour and something similar happens to you all I can say is "I told you so." I never got the benefit of reading something similar like this when I was booking this tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Exceeded Expectations
Relax606957
, Aug 2019
We would like to share our travel experience to Oxford, the Cotswolds and Stratford Upon Avon. We were promptly picked up by our guide, Jose. He was very accommodating to everyone in the group and individualized the tour based on participants needs. We spent the entire day learning about the history, and detailed facts about each site. Jose made the whole experience memorable and entertaining. His energy and enthusiasm was contagious. A week later we were still talking about our day with Jose.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Very nice
Freedom66042835689
, May 2019
The company was Rabbi's company. The minibus was modern and spacious with excellent air conditioning. The driver and the guide were very sympathetic. The guide Dan was very nice and knowledgeable. Not enough time everywhere but it's hard to cram 3 places for one day. The trip is recommended. We will continue to travel with Rabbi's company
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
The tour is highly recommended to...
DARIEL P
, Jun 2018
The tour is highly recommended to all travelers. The guide and the driver are both professional. Excellent service from the tour company.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
This is an excellent tour to see...
Grant W
, May 2018
This is an excellent tour to see three distinct areas outside of London in the English countryside. Learn about Oxford University while traversing historic paths with lots of shopping near by. We had a great walking tour conducted by a local of Oxford who gave us the Readers Digest version of how Oxford works as a university, the history of the area, buildings, and famous people who attended Oxford. We didn't get to go into any of the buildings, unfortunately. The Cotswolds are a series of villages frozen in time and you get to see a lot of beautiful architecture, picturesque views, shops and pubs to eat at. Stratford-upon-Avon was very pretty, but very touristy. This might be my least favorite of the three when I thought it would top the list. The main street consists of mostly tourists stops however, the church and grounds where Shakespeare is buried are very beautiful. If I had my way again, I'd drop Stratford and pick up Bath as a stop. And lastly, our tour guide, Oz, was extremely knowledgeable about English history and handled all questions well, had great driving skills as he traversed us all day through London and then all our stops.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Buildings are beautiful in Oxford...
kuki
, Mar 2018
Buildings are beautiful in Oxford. If you love Shakespeare and history this is the place to visit.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 5528SPIRES

Explore Similar Things to Do