Recent Searches
Clear
To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. The WHO is closely monitoring the coronavirus and more information can be found here.

Houston's Official Hop on-Hop off Tour

star-2.5
|
Houston, United States
To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. The WHO is closely monitoring the coronavirus and more information can be found here.

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon1 hour 20 minutes  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

See the historical highlights and cultural delights of Houston on this 75-minute loop, hop-on sightseeing tour.  Enjoy unobstructed views and listen to fascinating audio commentary as you cruise past important landmarks like the historic City Hall and Houston Zoo. See popular attractions like Market Square, Downtown Aquarium and the Museum of Fine Arts Houston, hopping off to explore further whenever an attraction captures your attention. Rejoin the tour at a time to suit your schedule at any conveniently located stops along the route.
  • Hop-on sightseeing tour of Houston
  • Enjoy great views of Houston from the open-top, double-decker bus
  • See the historic downtown, Market Square Park, Hermann Park, Chase Tower and more
  • Hop off the bus to visit the lively Museum District, Theater District or Houston Heritage Society
  • Take the family to see a variety of critters at the Houston Zoo or Downtown Aquarium
  • Learn about Houston’s history and sights from live commentary by an onboard guide
Saved to wishlist!
Second day FREE
Professional guide
Map and orientation
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
Climb aboard a distinctive double-decker bus at the cowboy-themed Houston City Tours Visitor Center.  Pop in your headphones and listen to informative onboard commentary as you cruise through the vibrant Texan city, passing iconic landmarks like the Chase Tower and the Convention Center. 

Disembark the bus whenever you wish to explore an attraction further. Hop off near Market Square Park to sample a cosmopolitan variety of food in the historical 19th-century square; or, ascend to the vertiginous observation deck of the JP Morgan Chase Tower to enjoy sweeping vistas from Texas’ highest building. 

Stop at City Hall to admire the tranquil park and historical structures that surround it, or absorb the electric atmosphere of the theater district as you explore the thriving 17-block area. Cross Hermann Park to visit Houston Zoo and the erudite Houston Museum of Natural Science and the Museum of Fine Arts. 

Buses depart from each of the six stops every 75 minutes and run between 10am and 4pm. Please see the Itinerary section below for a full list of stops serviced.
Itinerary
Duration: 
1 hour 20 minutes
Operating Schedule:
  Departure from Visitors Center at 10:00am - 11:30am - or 1:00pm 7 Days a week. The tour bus makes stops and passengers have the option to hop off for a few minutes explore and take pictures & hop back on. Because most of attractions are temporary closed, we recommend continuing with us for the complete loop.
1302 Dallas St
Visitor Center located behind Four Seasons Hotel at Convention Center area.
George R. Brown Convention Center
Corner of Walker and Avenida Houston in front of Convention Center.
Minute Maid Park
Outside Main building ( former Union station )
Market Street
Corner of Travis street and Congress Street at Market Square.
Downtown Aquarium
Main access at Aquarium Fountain
Theater District
1100 Bagby street ay Heritage Society building
Midtown
Bagby park at Midtown ( Grey street & Bagby street )
Points of interest passed by on this route
Sam Houston Park
 
Discovery Green
 
George R. Brown Convention Center
 
Minute Maid Park
 
Downtown Historic District Market Square
 
Downtown Aquarium
 
MATCH - Midtown Arts & Theater Center Houston
 
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • OPERATED BY Houston City Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Houston's Official Hop on-Hop off Tour?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Houston's Official Hop on-Hop off Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Houston's Official Hop on-Hop off Tour?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Houston's Official Hop on-Hop off Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Take the tour to find out why one of the largest cities has no traffic." See review

Reviews

2.5
star-2.5
68 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews
star-1
Disappointed!
Sharon_A
, Nov 2020
Really disappointed. Turned up for tour which I paid for and the Tour office was closed. I waited for almost an hour. There was someone inside but he ignored my knocking. When I called the phone was put down on me and my messages ignored (WhatsApp and they were read). The tour never happened. 7 other people also turned up but they left also. Customer service was non existent. To not have the courtesy to tell me it wasn’t happening when I was seen there is disgusting. Feel completely ripped off. No sign of a refund!! Would not recommend.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Disappointing, lack of customer service
Jessica_D
, Oct 2020
I flew from Los Ángeles to visit Houston which is a really beautiful city and I wanted to get a nice tour of the city so I booked an 11:30am tour on Sunday through the website which showed “available”. As I arrived 30 minutes early to my tour through an Uber (mind you my hotel was 30 minutes away) to the address listed in the instructions I received through my purchased ticket, upon my arrival the visitor center is CLOSED. Although, online the store is listed as open yet all the numbers listed online AND at the door where not answering. One of the numbers listed on google was for the hotel across the street which was highly disappointing as I was charged in full for my ticket and no type of notice that the tour was possibly not available or closed. I attempted numerous times to get in contact & even though the online messaging system and nothing. Please update your website if this facility and tour is closed as it’s disappointing to be given false information and your money taken.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Hop on off red bus tour
Lucy_G
, Sep 2020
It was such a good tour learnt a lot I didn’t know. We also did some visits to the art district saw huge statues of the Beatles up for sale for $250.thousand.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Nice tour
TSF
, Aug 2020
Great tour. Learned a lot of interesting things about Houston. Tour driver was really nice. I would recommend.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Frauds
Christina
, Aug 2020
They told me on the phone that my pickup point was the downtown aquarium I waited and waited to no avail then when I called them again they told me the location was at the conventional center and it was last minute. They didn’t refund my money instead they told me there’s nothing they could do and even Hung up on me because she said she had to attend to another customer.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Theater district was nice
John_L
, Feb 2020
The beginning of the tour was not very attractive. We were all disappointed for first half hour. Houston has much mire to show that you left out
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the tour. However, the city tour is just that, a tour of the City. We try our best to showcase everything in the area we service, which is Downtown Houston, if you feel we missed something or would like to see something we did not show, please let us know.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Instagramworthy
Amanda_D
, Feb 2020
Great tour. Weather was perfect and our guide was great information wise and most helpful in taking our pictures at stops.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Bad
deemryan22
, Feb 2020
I waited for a bus but it never arrived so unfortunately I did not experience this (just experienced wasting money) the 1302 Dallas St in Houston address (where I waited) was closed. There was nobody to ask for info and no number
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Sunday Jan 12th 2020 Failed Houston Hop on Hop off tour
rolson71
, Jan 2020
submitted online reservation a day before the requested tour. No one notified us that the tour was cancelled. We and others arrived at the tour site and the office was closed. We have received no status before the tour that it was cancelled nor any correspondence afterward to respond to our funds that were paid in advance for this cancelled tour.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thank you so much for your message, when you buy from a third party you just need to reconfirm your reservation and be 15 minutes before departure. Tour started at the programed schedule Sorry for the inconvenience. Your ticket is still valid for up to a year. Or you can request your refund through the company you booked with. Thanks again and we look forward to serve you!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Not worth the price
triotmom35
, Nov 2019
Over priced for a short drive around downtown Houston. I called ahead the day prior and was not told there were only 3 trips in a day so if you didn’t catch the first trip then you only had time for one stop off on the second trip and if you caught the 1:00 trip then you could not hop off at all as there were no buses coming to pick you up. The lady at the visitor centre was extremely unhelpful in providing info about where to hop off if you could only hop off once. She was dismissive and rude. The bus driver was more helpful and friendly though
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you so much for your comments, ye we do provide 3 full loops to the city ,every day 7 days a week ,and we start at 10:00am -11:30am and 1:00 pm plus we offer the second day FREE We will be pleased to provide a additional complimentary day ,fo the inconvinience at no cost to you.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 5920CITY

Explore Similar Things to Do