Recent Searches
Clear

Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow

star-4.5329 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Glasgow City, United Kingdom
Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon12 hours 15 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore Loch Ness, Glen Coe and the Highlands on this day trip from Glasgow. Visit Loch Lomond with a guide and enjoy spectacular views over the Scottish Highlands. Travel into Rannoch Moor and Glen Coe — widely considered to be Scotland’s most beautiful glen. Pass beneath Ben Nevis on route through the Great Glen. Take in Fort Augustus and Urquhart Castle on the shores of Loch Ness, and enjoy an optional cruise or castle visit. Journey onward to Inverness — the Highlands’ iconic capital — then return via the Grampian Mountains to Glasgow.
  • Discover Loch Ness, Glen Coe and the Scottish Highlands in just one day
  • Explore Rannoch Moor, Fort William, Fort Augustus, and Inverness
  • Upgrade your experience with an optional lake cruise or castle visit
  • Tour includes round-trip travel from Glasgow
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Local guide
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Attraction Tickets
19 Killermont St , 19 Killermont St, Glasgow G2 3NX, UK

This is located outside the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and opposite Buchanan Bus Station.

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 4 years old.
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • The cruise currently needs to be pre-booked, details will be provided on the ticket.
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund.
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Timberbush Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "If you like the beautiful scenic view of the highlands, you have to sign up for this day trip!" See review
  • "No doubt Loch Ness and the castle is beautiful and worth a visit if you are in Glasgow!" See review
  • "It was worth the money to see the castle ruins and cruise on Loch Ness." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
329 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 329 reviews
star-4
Seats should have been...
Sumeet_O
, Aug 2022
Seats should have been more comfortable. 12 hours tour is slightly uncomfortable with not so comfortable seats Overall the guide was too good
star-5
A day to remember even though we didn't, find Nessie!
Thomas_B
, Aug 2022
Charlie was a great guide whose remarks helped make for a great day. Well done, Charl ie! Will remember your anecdotes and mini history lessons.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! Nessie is very shy, I'm sorry to hear she didn't come out to say hello this time. I'm glad you had a great time out on tour with Charlie though and hopefully we will see you again soon. All the best, David
star-2
Disappointing
Karen_T
, Jul 2022
I have been to these areas before when I lived in Scotland and I didn’t feel the stops were at as scenic points as they might have been. The stop in Fort William is horrendous. There is little to see at a busy roundabout and the food at the canteen is terrible.
star-5
Great trip
Paul_R
, Jul 2022
Absolutely fantastic trip Charlie the driver was very knowledgeable and most helpful Throughly enjoyed the day
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's great to hear that Charlie was a brilliant driver and really knowledgeable and helpful throughout the day. Hopefully we will see you again soon. All the best, David
star-5
The trip was awesome...
Tasneem_P
, Jul 2022
The trip was awesome Gerry the driver was so knowledgeable and all along the trip filled us up with all the interesting information Loch ness was undoubtedly amazing
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! Loch Ness is a great place to visit on tour so I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed it and learned a lot. Hopefully we will see you again some day! All the best, David
star-3
Disappointed
Madara
, Jul 2022
Lots of time in the vehicle. Highlands- in a short stop for pictures and through the bus window. Loch Ness- nothing spectacular, especially if you don't take the boat tour. A couple stops in a touristy villages for a toilet break, really not worth it.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi there, Our Loch Ness tour has a great deal of miles to cover in just one day, this means that there is a good chunk of the day spent travelling. We do however, ensure there are plenty of stops to keep everyone comfortable. I'm sorry if you felt that this was not enough but do hope you were able to still enjoy the beautiful scenery. All the best, David
star-5
Vacation of a lifetime
Larry_M
, Jul 2022
Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and fun. Would definitely recommend. Most beautiful scenery we have seen.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you guide was super knowledgeable and fun. There is so much beautiful scenery on that tour so I'm happy you appreciated it and I hope you got some great pictures. All the best, David
star-3
Loch Ness is too far away from Glasgow, not recommended for a day trip
ChoChiu_T
, Jul 2022
This trip spent too much time to travel to Loch Ness, making insufficient time to explore other attrations. In fact, we could only take picture at Glencoe (10 mins at one spot only) and Loch Ness. Other pictures were taken inside the coach. The guide was hurry to take us to Loch Ness so that we could take a boat cruise at an extra cost of 18 pounds. Most of the participants were forced to join because there was not much to see at the gathering point.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for leaving your feedback. There is a lot of miles to cover on this tour, but, Loch Ness really is the highlight of this tour. The optional boat cruise really is recommended and we need to ensure that we reach this on time, meaning we need to be careful with the time we spend elsewhere. I'm sorry if you weren't pleased with this but I hope you enjoyed the beautiful scenery throughout your tour. All the best, David
star-5
Great trip!
Jana_A
, Jul 2022
I really enjoyed this tour, I think we made a good amount of stops and the scenery was breathtaking! Our tour guide Robert was so nice and had great info about Scotland and was very personable. I would have liked to stop a few more times for pictures though, the scenery was so beautiful
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm really pleased to hear that you had such a great time out on tour with Robert and that he was full of knowledge about Scotland and really friendly. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon so you can grab more pictures. All the best, David
star-5
Do it!
Megan_O
, Jul 2022
Our guide Steve was fantastic! This was a long day but the views were worth it. We would recommend..
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear you had a great time on the Loch Ness tour. It is a longer day, but the scenery up there makes it so worth while. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! All the best, David
star-3
Guide was great but tour name is misleading
Julia_K
, Jul 2022
This is basically a tour to Loch Ness. There is a 10 Minute stop at Glencoe to take some photos and that's pretty much it. I would re-name the tour: "Loch Ness tour with short stop in the Highlands" or something like that. This way people know what to expect. Most tourists have no idea that it is a bit of a drive to Loch Ness and the guide is always in a hurry as he/she has to make sure people are there in time to catch the ferry. Loch Ness is somewhat overrated in my opinion. I liked the Highland, Castle & Lochs tour a lot more. Kilchurn Castle, viewpoint Ballachulish, Bride of Orchy viewpoint, Balmaha Loch Lomond viewpoint are especially stunning. Loch Ness is pretty but not stunning like many, many other places.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It is a lot of miles to cover in one day on this tour, and with us having to meet the cruise at Loch Ness on time, we do need to keep this tour moving on time. I'm sorry if you were a wee bit disappointed with it. I'm glad that you enjoyed our West Highlands tour though, and hopefully we might see you on another that would be more your taste some day soon. All the best, David
star-2
Disappointed
Tricia_O
, Jul 2022
Tour guide was friendly. However , this was more of a bus service rather than a tour. There were no stops that weren’t rest stops. Not much to see at a rest stop. A tour should involve getting off the bus and actually seeing something touristy. This wasn’t a cheap tour either. The only stop that we had where we did anything touristy was at Loch Ness where we paid extra 18£ on top of the tour to go on the Loch Ness cruise. A good tour isn’t just sitting on a bus and driving by something. Get out walk a trail or explore a castle. We drove through Inverness, stopped at a cafe in Fort William, drove past the war memorial, Ben Nevis, only saw Urquhart castle from the boat when we chose to pay extra for the boat cruise. We were sitting near the back of the bus, it was cramped and hot. I’m a well seasoned traveler who has used fabulous tour companies like Haggis, Contiki, Kiwi/Oz Experience in the past, this is not a good tour unless you like sitting for 12 hours and visiting rest stops.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for leaving your feedback. I'm sorry that you felt this was more of a bus service than a tour. Departing from Glasgow and travelling all that distance in one day means that realistically, not all of the stops can be proper stops to go exploring, there simply isn't enough time in the day, combined with the fact that on the Loch Ness tour, the timeline is quite strict due to having to meet the optional extras. I think maybe one of our other tours would be a better choice for you as a lot of them have more stops, rather than the Loch Ness tour in which the Loch Ness stop really is the star of the show. I hope despite your disappointment, you were still able to enjoy some beautiful highland scenery. All the best, David
star-3
Too ambitious
PETER_L
, Jul 2022
This tour has false advertisement and was extremely rushed We got on the road and the first place we stopped Loch Lomond was decent stop then on the road again to Glencoe we passed 2 large beautiful vistas and then finally did stop but my opinion we stopped at an ok vista there were better ones we passed. We then moved on to what I thought was supposed to Fort Williams but ended up being a souvenir shop to get a quick bite (25 minutes ) and keep moving The whole thing is VERY rushed !!! On the road in the coach we had an unfortunate chance of the other passengers complaining about toilet stops temperature and comfort ( I understand that’s not something you can control just added to the annoyance of the tour) We had gotten behind on timing due to a minor accident and arrived just with 5 minutes to get to the Lochness boat it was blowing its horn and they were complaining that we were late but we had no control of when we arrived, there was also an elderly man who couldn’t walk quickly and they were harassing him to speed up. The Lochness boat trip was fantastic ( thankfully) Once off the boat we were then rushed back on to the bus to drive through Inverness to a small town of Pitlochly it would of been better to have a little bit of time in Inverness instead of Pitlochly Overall I think this tour should be called a Long drive to Lochness and then and even longer ride back You pass a lot of interesting places but stop at none of them except for Lochness. Thankfully that stop was worth the journey but nothing else was enjoyable about the trip. The only other good thing was our driver Stephen he was challenged most of the journey by select passengers and did a great job of keeping everyone as accommodated as he could He also gave interesting commentary as we drove.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear that on your tour, you felt rushed. Being a business that deals with being on the road, from time to time accidents happen that can lead to hold ups. On our tours like our Loch Ness tour in which we have to make sure we are at the optional extras on time - this can be especially tricky and we do need to get going quickly. We always advise for things like this, do all you can to ensure you have plenty of time at each stop like bringing a wee packed lunch. I'm glad that the Loch Ness stop made up for this slight disappointment and I'm glad you could tell that Stephen was really making an effort to make sure everyone was happy. All the best, David
star-5
It was an incredible day:...
Sandra_P
, Jul 2022
It was an incredible day: beautiful scenery and great places to visit. James, our tour guide, is hilarious and knowledgeable, we love our day. We highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had an incredible day on the Loch Ness tour with James as your guide. The views on that one are amazing and they're always made better by having a hilarious and knowledgeable driver-guide. Hopefully we will see you again soon. All the best, David
star-3
11.5 hour drive about
Pamela_A
, Jul 2022
Driving by but not getting to actually visit anything. Visuals only. Glad we did it but don’t need to do it again.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. On our Loch Ness tour, there are quite a few stops where you get to visit things, especially at Loch Ness where there is the option for a cruise, a castle visit, or both. I'm pleased to hear that you are glad you did it, and hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon. All the best, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A great experience!
Nicole_T
, Jun 2022
Great trip! Even a damp, overcast day did not lessen the impact of the Highlands. Would do it again in a heartbeat!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear that it was a bit damp and overcast out on your tour - but that always adds to the true Scottish experience! Hopefully we will see you again some day soon to do it all again, and hopefully with nicer weather! All the best, David
star-5
Great tour
Alyona_M
, Jun 2022
Great tour. Very well organized and timed. Our guide/driver Charlie was knowledgeable, interesting, funny and kind.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear you had a great time on tour with Charlie and found him to be knowledgeable and kind, and the tour to be well organised and timed. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon. All the best, David
star-2
First of all I want to...
Abyay_G
, Jun 2022
First of all I want to make it clear that the Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands are full of scenic beauties which just blow both my mind and heart. But the travel arrangements were not upto the mark and the travel agency didn't provide it all which they promised. I. We were told after starting the tour that the river trip in Loch Ness was canceled due to their inability to book one for us. II. Most of the site scene places where the mini bus stopped, they were far from the actual spot. III. They driver did not inform us about the restaurants around leaving us with no choice except the one he wanted us to get into. IV. The driver kept showing his dissapoinment to someone or the other for being just couple of minutes late before departure from any site scene place.
star-5
Loved it!
ghjrg7hvkm
, Jun 2022
Thank you Steven for such a wonderful day! We had a blast. The car ride didn’t seem as long because all the stops. Enjoyed all the history tidbits and the beautiful views!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's always good when the one of the longer tours doesn't seem as long because of the commentary, history and plenty of stops. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! All the best, David
star-5
Our driver, Andrew, told...
Alexandria_K
, Jun 2022
Our driver, Andrew, told us stories and history the whole tour. Was a Great tour guide. The scenery was beautiful. Highly recommend doing this tour
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm glad you had a great time on tour with Andrew as your driver-guide and that he told you plenty of stories and history. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon to show you even more beautiful scenery. All the best, David

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow
Likely to Sell Out
Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow

star-4.5326

12 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$67.89

star-5856

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.32

star-4.57

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$123.43

star-5333

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.54

star-4.565

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.18

star-4.58

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$203.66

star-4.5150

8 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$51.84

star-4.5148

9 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$59.25
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations