Recent Searches
Clear

Loch Lomond, the Trossachs and Stirling Castle from Glasgow

star-4.5149 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Glasgow City, United Kingdom
Loch Lomond, the Trossachs and Stirling Castle from Glasgow
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon8 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore the beautiful Trossachs National Park on this Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle tour from Glasgow. Head into the Scottish Highlands with a guide and enjoy an optional cruise on peaceful Loch Lomond. Alternatively, explore the village of Luss at your leisure. Then, travel through the Trossachs National Park to Aberfoyle — where Rob Roy MacGregor made his name. Visit Stirling Castle (own expense), widely considered among Scotland’s most important fortresses, and gain insight into Scotland’s rich history. Admire fine views from the castle walls, then return to Glasgow.
  • Head into the Scottish Highlands for a day and explore Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle
  • Travel through the Trossachs National Park to Aberfoyle
  • Learn little-know facts of Scotland's rich history from your informative guide
  • Tour includes round-trip travel from Glasgow
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Attraction Tickets
19 Killermont St , 19 Killermont St, Glasgow G2 3NX, UK

This is located outside the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and opposite Buchanan Bus Station. https://w3w.co/loaf.data.arch

9:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 4 years old.
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund.
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Timberbush Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
149 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 149 reviews
star-4
Nice day out
Caroline_W
, Aug 2022
The guide was very informative. My personal favourite place was the stop in The Trossachs. Loch Lomand is also very pretty. The tour gave a great introduction to the area.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. Loch Lomond is one of my favourite spots in Scotland so I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed visiting it and that you felt the tour gave a really great introduction to the area thanks to your informative guide. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! All the best, David
star-5
Good VFM
TIRU_K
, Jul 2022
Both the Loch and Stirling castle were equally good. Chuck, who was our driver and guide did a great job of multitasking with snippets of history and culture .
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond are both great stops, I'm really pleased that you enjoyed them and hopefully we will see you again soon. All the best, David
star-5
Fantastic day! Thank you Stevie!
Danielle_B
, Jul 2022
Fantastic experience! If I could give it more stars I would, it exceeded all expectations and Stevie our guide was fantastic. If you book this and get Stevie you are in for a treat! Highly recommend and thank you Stevie for such a great experience and day. Everything the trip said it would be a more!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time out on tour with Steve and that the tour really exceeded all of your expectations. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! All the best, David
star-3
An ok trip which leaves you wanting more and feels quite insubstantial.
Imtiyaz_B
, Jul 2022
Firstly my rating of 3 seems low but I couldn't give it any higher than that on the point scale. I'd previously been on the Loch Ness & Scottish Highlands tour through Viator & had enjoyed that trip tremendously & felt it was totally worth the money I'd paid for it. This tour on the other hand felt overpriced, short in duration & thin in content by comparison. Firstly on the pricing this tour which ended up being around 5 hours shorter than the Loch Ness trip I'd gone on earlier this year actually cost me quite a bit more than that one (I get it's summer time but still). The costs included £14 per person for the Loch Lomond cruise (which went up to £14.50 on the very day we went) & £18.00 per person for entry to Stirling Castle & having lunch at our own expense on top of the trip fee. This contrasts very unfavourably with our Loch Ness trip where a free lunch was provided to us & the only additional expense was the Loch Ness cruise. Yet this trip which was nearly half as short & didn't cover nearly as much ground as the aforementioned Loch Ness trip cost me about £60 more! Secondly this trip at the time I booked it & right up to the day before was showing as being 8 hours 30 mins in duration. Yet on the day we left at 9.30am & were back in Glasgow for 5.00pm. Hence the trip was just 7 hours 30 mins long - a full hour less than what was advertised! It was a beautiful sunny day too when we travelled so it's not like extreme or dangerous weather conditions forced the trip to be cut short. I just think you have to deliver on what you advertise & if you can't then you charge accordingly as I paid £100 for 8 1/2 not 7 1/2 hours! Lastly the trip was spread very thinly imo making it even more disappointing that the trip ended an hour earlier than we expected. Whilst the Loch Lomond cruise was great & the highlight of our trip, we literally got there & immediately got on board the cruise & then as soon as it was over we were back on the bus & set off straight after. I would have liked a bit more time to soak in the surroundings around the loch. When we'd been to Loch Ness previously we were given 1 1/2 hours to spend there during which there was a 45 min cruise & an additional 45 mins to roam around the loch whilst having your free lunch. Hence more time to take pics against backdrops of your choice - it's very hard to take personal photos on a packed & moving boat where people are either standing up around you or sat close besides you all the time. Imo it would have been much more preferable to have lunch in the loch which would have been a beautiful setting for it instead of in Aberfoyle where there was little to do in light of the time we were given there which exceeded the time we spent at the loch itself. One of the reasons I decided to go on this trip instead of catching a train to Balloch & spending the day around the loch there was because I wanted to see the wider Trossachs National Park. What we ended up getting was a relatively brief drive past it which ended way too soon. We had a couple of lochs where we pulled over for 5 mins to take pics which were admittedly nice beauty spots. But overall I felt a lot of the good views were impeded by tall trees & any which weren't were mostly on the other side of the bus to where I was sat. And then before you knew it we were on the way to Stirling. In comparison the Loch Ness trip (albeit a longer journey) was hours upon hours of unimpeded breathtaking scenery from the first minute to the last once we'd hit the Highlands route. Lastly too much time was spent at Stirling Castle which was the part of the trip which carried the least interest for us (I accept that for others it may well have been the highlight of their trip) but for us it was more that it came as part of the Loch Lomond & Trossachs package. Whilst we opted not to enter the castle due to the considerable entry fee it entailed the city of Stirling around the castle whilst picturesque to look at was not really interesting enough to spend almost a couple of hours at if you opt not to do the castle tour other than taking pics. So in summary too little time was spent in & around the places I was most interested in (Loch Lomond & The Trossachs) & too much time was spent at places which carried the least interest for us(Stirling Castle - great to look at from a distance but not to explore for us personally) & places which weren't interesting or had little to do (Aberfoyle - where we were given 1 hr 15 mins). So even on a shorter duration to what was advertised there was still so much padding (the aforementioned extended lunch in Aberfoyle) at the expense of spending a little more time especially at the Loch & around the Trossachs. Failing that a few more stops could have been made along the way to round out the trip to the advertised duration. I had read prior to our trip that this particular tour had a stop at Hamish to feed the cows there. That could have eaten up some time & helped achieve the stated trip duration but was completely bypassed on our trip. There were many good things about the trip - the cruise & the weather especially were great & our driver & guide Callum was quirky, engaging & informative. But unfortunately there were too many shortcomings which were too hard to ignore which left me feeling shortchanged & underwhelmed this time around. I would still travel with Viator in the future however. I guess my expectations were high from the last trip I had with them this year.
star-5
Great Day trip
Suzanne_T
, Jul 2022
Stuart was an awesome guide. He is very knowledgeable. We stopped to feed to the Highland Cows. Very fun! Lunch in Calendar was really nice.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you so much for your review. I'm glad that you had a great time out on tour with Stuart and that you found him really knowledgeable. It's always a bonus getting to meet and feed the cute wee cows as well. Hopefully we will see you again soon. All the best, David
star-5
Great Tour, lots of stops
Cindy_F
, Jul 2022
We had a great tour from start to finish. The meeting point in Glasgow was easy to find, we left on time, had adequate time at each stop to take pictures, take the boat tour, have lunch, see the beauty of the Trossachs, see Molly and Hamish and view all there was at Stirling Castle. Shug had lots of great stories and was a very friendly guide. Would recommend seeing parts of Scotland this way!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had a great tour from start to finish and that Shug was a really great guide who was full of stories. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon to show you even more of Scotland. All the best, David
star-5
Very nice tour. Our tour...
Leslie_B
, Jul 2022
Very nice tour. Our tour guide, Stevie, was exceptional. He gave us lots of history and information throughout the tour. Stevie was very kick back and made the tour very enjoyable. The areas we visited were so beautiful. The tour bus was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear you had such a great time out on tour with Stevie and that he was full of history and information. There are a lot of great stops on that tour so I hope you got some great pictures of them. It's really good to hear that you found our coach really clean and comfortable as well and hopefully we will see you on tour again soon. All the best, David
star-2
Not enough time at Stirling Castle
Jolanda_V
, Jul 2022
Spent almost 2 hours for a lunch break, this is way too long and we had barely 1 1/2 hours at Stirling Castle. When you do the guided tour of 50 minutes (mostly of the grounds), it hardly gives you time to look inside the castle. Very disappointed. Also no one on the bus wanted to do the cruise as it was pouring rain, we could have therefore cut this stop shorter as well, and spent more time at the castle or plan for bad weather and have instead of the cruise a stop at a museum or something.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear that you feel the time could've been managed better on your tour. We will definitely take this feedback on board and improve for next time. All the best, David
star-5
Great tour through the Loch and Stirling Castle with a few surprise additions to the tour
Charlene_O
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide (Stephen I think it was) was great! He was full of information and he had a great sense of humor. He took us to see the lovely highland cows (Honey and Hamish) which was on my bucket list for a trip to Scotland. When he found out that several people on the tour were Outlander fans he detoured to Doune castle, we weren't able to get out but got to see it from the outside and really appreciated his efforts. He gave us ample time at each of the attractions we stopped at. This was a great tour and I'm glad we did it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Castle and cruise were...
Dale_L
, Jul 2022
Castle and cruise were great and Charlie was a great guide. Great scenery and lunch was amazing. You return in time for an evening out in Glasgow.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you found the castle and cruise to be great and that Charlie was a great guide. I'm always exhausted after a day out on tour so I'm impressed you managed to go for an evening out in Glasgow afterwards. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon. All the best, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour/tour guide.
Robert_H
, Jul 2022
Our guide/driver Steven was friendly, funny, knowledgeable and genuinely wanted us to enjoy ourselves and share his love of Glasgow and Scotland.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fabulous tour with Robert
Paul_R
, Jul 2022
Everything went perfectly. Robert was a wonderful guide, knowledgeable, funny, didn't talk too much or too little. Loved especially the Stirling Castle, hairy cows, Loch Lomond and boat tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm glad you had a great time on tour with Robert and that he talked just the right amount. It's always a bonus getting to see the hairy cows as well. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! All the best, David
star-4
Fun
Jackie_M
, Jun 2022
The tour was great and had a lot of information. Enjoyed seeing Loch Lomond and taking the boat cruise. Having lunch in Callander was great. Loved how there is a stop on the way to see the hairy cows, kids loved being able to feed them.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! A tour is always better when you get to meet the highland cows on the way! I'm glad you had such a great time on tour and hopefully we will see you on another some day soon. All the best, David
star-5
Great way to experience the Loch’s
Sarah_S
, Jun 2022
An excellent tour, it was not rushed and we had plenty of time in the places we visited. Our driver Charlie was superb, we would definitely recommend this tour to all ages.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm really pleased to hear that you had such a great time on the tour with Charlie and that you found it to be well paced. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon. All the best, David
star-5
Lovely and perfect pace for us.
Jacqueline_S
, Jun 2022
I did this day trip with my 15 and 19 yo kids who were a little weary after a week of sightseeing and a late night before, and We all had a great time! The 16 passenger coach was very comfortable. We had the right amount of time in each location to not feel rushed. Our driver/guide Stuart was friendly and knowledgeable, and shared interesting history and music along the route. the the scenery was lovely. Perfect day trip for us.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's great to hear that our Loch Lomond, the Trossachs and Stirling Castle tour was the perfect pace for you and your children. We try and make sure that we time the tours right so that we hit all the stops and keep everyone comfortable, so I'm glad this was the case. I'm really pleased you enjoyed having Stuart along with you as well and hopefully we will see you again some day. All the best, David
star-5
Loch Lomond, the Trossachs and Stirling
Mary_F
, May 2022
Our guide, Eric, did a fabulous job of balancing information about the sights, sharing stories related to the sights and playing music corresponding to our travels. The lush scenery on the route was beautiful and we appreciated Eric's geologic explanations. We chose to cruise on Loch Lomand - the cruise's guide was very informative. The extra stops on the tour were interesting and fun. Instead of touring Sterling Castle with the group, we enjoyed our own tour of the town of Sterling. We appreciated the flexibility of choosing how to participate in the major destinations. We thoroughly enjoyed the day!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, Mary. Thank you for your review! The Loch Lomond tour is a brilliant one, and it's always nice booking the boat tour as well and getting to go on that. I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed the tour with Eric as your driver-guide. I hope you enjoyed exploring Stirling as well, it's always good that you have that choice if the castle isn't for you. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon. Best wishes, David
star-1
Trip canceled last minute
Becky_A
, May 2022
The trip was canceled at the last minute and I wasn't able to get onto another trip as I was only in town for one day. Very disappointing.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, Becky. Unfortunately, from time to time, our tours do have to be cancelled as a last resort. In this instance, we will always endeavour to get you onto a different tour the same day at no extra charge, or your tour on a different day. If neither of these options is suitable, we will offer a full refund, which I hope you received. All the best, David
star-3
Ok but not interesting when very wet
Dianna_S
, May 2022
The castle does not have enough interesting things to do for a two hour visit in The rain. A walk into town should be added
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Dianna. Thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear that you felt the castle didn't have enough things to do when it rains. During the time allocated to visit the castle, you are more than welcome to actually use that time to visit Stirling town as well as Stirling Castle is an optional extra! I hope despite this, you were still able to enjoy the rest of your tour! Best wishes, David
star-5
Charlie was excellent!...
Miriam_B
, May 2022
Charlie was excellent! Tour was interactive, with great story telling and what we saw matched and exceeded my expectations
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Miriam. Thank you for your review! It's fab to hear that Charlie was an excellent driver-guide on your Loch Lomond, the Trossachs and Stirling Castle tour. It's brilliant that it managed to exceed your expectations, and hopefully we will see you on another tour some day! Best wishes, David
star-5
Amazing Day Trip
Mary_C
, May 2022
The Driver Stewart was very knowledgeable and kept everyone interested during the driving portions of the tour. We kept on pace and never once felt rushed. Stewart made sure that everyone took advantage of the great photo opportunities. We would go agai 100%
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Mary. Thank you for your review! Our Loch Lomond, the Trossachs and Stirling Castle tour is a great one, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed it with Stuart is your driver-guide. It's great that you found him to be super knowledgeable and that he kept everyone engaged. I hope you got some brilliant photos and hopefully we will see you on another tour soon! Best wishes, David

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Loch Lomond, the Trossachs and Stirling Castle from Glasgow
Likely to Sell Out
Loch Lomond, the Trossachs and Stirling Castle from Glasgow

star-4.5149

8 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$52.17

star-5333

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.88

star-4.5114

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.59

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$109.12

star-4.5148

9 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$59.62

star-4.5326

12 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$68.31

star-4.510

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.88

star-48

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$108.37

star-5855

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.77
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations