Recent Searches
Clear

Ghent Like a Local: Customized Private Tour

star-45 Reviews
|
Gent, Belgium
Ghent Like a Local: Customized Private Tour

From $48.18

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 to 6 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Ghent is known for its striking medieval landmarks and picturesque canals, but many travelers only get to see the highlights. On this Lokafy walking tour, connect with a Ghent local who will show you around their city like a friend and take you to the neighborhoods, museums, shops, and restaurants that they know and love. Chat with your guide before you arrive and devise an itinerary that suits your preferences and style of travel.
  • Connect with a Ghent local who will show you around their city
  • Custom-made itinerary with personalized recommendations from a local
  • Flexible departure times and choice of tour durations
  • Hassle-free pickup from your central Ghent hotel
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide ("Lokafyer"
Customized private walking tour
Personal expenses
Tips and gratuities (optional)
Optional activity costs
Food and drinks
Transportation to/from attractions (It’s a walking tour, car transportation isn’t included)
Design Museum Gent , Jan Breydelstraat 5, 9000 Gent, Belgium

Travelers can request the tour to start from any centrally located hotel. In case your hotel is outside the city center we will select a convenient meeting point in the city center.Tour may end at a different location from the departure point unless requested in advance of the tour.

Ghent , Ghent, Belgium

Tour may end at a different location from the departure point, unless requested in advance of the tour.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Lokafy tours provide a general overview of the city with practical information from a local’s perspective, not detailed historical facts
  • In case travellers would like to include a visit to an attraction, they would need to cover the cost of entrance for themselves and also the Lokafyer (local guide)
  • Tours are entirely personalized, please provide the start time, meeting place and information about you so that we can organize the tour
  • This is a walking tour. We recommend wearing comfortable shoes
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Children below 3 years old are free of charge
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Lokafy Inc.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Ghent Like a Local: Customized Private Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Ghent Like a Local: Customized Private Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Ghent Like a Local: Customized Private Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Ghent Like a Local: Customized Private Tour.

Reviews

4.0
star-4
5 Reviews
3 stars
0
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-4 of 5 reviews
star-5
Nice time
Paulauske
, Jan 2022
Interesting stories, beautiful city, nice places. Very memorable evening, recommend it for everyone looking for getting to know Gent better.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hi Lina, We’re delighted to hear about your recent experience with us in Ghent and we’re so pleased that you recommend our walking tour. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to connecting you with Lokafyers from around the world on your next trip. Safe Travel! Regards, Vinita Lokafy Team
star-5
Tour of Ghent with Philippe
Bryan_R
, Sep 2019
Philippe has an outstanding knowledge of Ghent. His detailed historical knowledge enhanced our walking tour. In the end, we spent more than 4 hours with Philippe. Thanks for a great tour.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Hello Bryan, Hope you are well. We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We do not get automatic notifications for reviews on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing this wonderful review with us. As we customize each tour, we consider each travelers' preferences while matching them with our Lokafyers, and I'm glad you had a great time exploring the city together with your Lokafyer Philippe. The aim behind Lokafy is to connect travelers with locals for an authentic experience where they can not only know the city from their perspective but can also connect on a personal level. Just like having a friend showing you around the city. Although our Lokafyers are not professional tour guides, some of them are passionate about history. The uniqueness of our tours is that you can customize the itinerary according to your preference and schedule. It's great that our Lokafyer was able to show you different places in the city and it also made your stay in the city memorable. We appreciate you recommending our tours highly. In the years since your last tour, we have expanded a lot, and now offer Lokafy tours in almost 300+ cities around the world. Our global community of Lokafyers speaks many languages, so please get in touch with us next time you travel - we look forward to organizing your next adventure! Safe travels, Regards, Vinita Lokafy.com
star-1
Guide not a local :-(
KELLY_D
, May 2019
Bummer. Guide had no plan, was not local, WE toured him around the town. We showed him a few cool stops we'd researched on yelp and walking around the day prior. Felt we wasted our precious time and hard earned money. Shame on the Tour operator!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Hello Kelly, We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We do not get automatic notifications for reviews on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that your tour did not go as you expected. From your review, it seems as if perhaps you would have preferred a professionally guided tour rather than a Lokafy tour. In all of our information we outline that we provide unscripted walking tours through a city with a local - just as you would see a city if you had a friend showing you around. Lokafy allows travellers to connect with locals, and learn about the city from their perspective; things like: what it's like to live there, advice on their favourite restaurants and also connecting on a personal level. As they are not professional tour guides, we do not require Lokafyers to have a detailed knowledge of the city’s history. We hope that the conversations you had with your Lokafyers helped you connect with them on a personal level. Regards, LokafyTeam
star-4
Excelente Guide!!!!
Jose_B
, Mar 2019
We were lucky. Mabel our guide was well studied in the city history; normally she works for the city and this tour was an “extra” for her. We had a great visit. However, I don’t recommend this type of tours, because normally you don’t get guides who know about the place you visit. Once again we were lucky.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Hello Jose, Hope you are well. We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We do not get automatic notifications for reviews on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing this wonderful review with us. As we customize each tour, we consider each travelers' preferences while matching them with our Lokafyers, and I'm glad you had a great time exploring the city together with Mabel. In the years since your last tour, we have expanded a lot, and now offer Lokafy tours in almost 300+ cities around the world. Our global community of Lokafyers speaks many languages, so please get in touch with us next time you travel - we look forward to organizing your next adventure! Safe travels, Regards, Vinita Lokafy.com

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Ghent Like a Local: Customized Private Tour
Ghent Like a Local: Customized Private Tour

star-45

2 to 6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$48.18

star-544

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$80.30

star-518

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$107.06

star-57

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$133.83

star-52

6 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$158.45

star-51

3 hours 55 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$306.37

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$214.12

star-51

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$417.54

Explore Similar Things to Do