Recent Searches

Boutique Winery Experience in the Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country

Badge of Excellence
Fredericksburg, United States
Boutique Winery Experience in the Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon5 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Discover Texas Hill Country and its vineyards on a private winery tour from Fredericksburg. Join a wine-loving guide and head to a few boutique wineries for guided tours of the facilities and wine tastings. For lunch, enjoy a delicious chef-prepared meal at a pre-arranged location so that you can fuel up for your next tastings.
  • Upgrade to include pickup from your accommodation
  • Lunch and tastings are included for a seamless experience
  • Avoid the hassle of driving between wine tastings
  • A private guide means a personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Alcoholic Beverages
Pickup from local hotels/Airbnbs (select option at checkout)
Gratuity - if you enjoy your service, feel free to tip your servers and guide!
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Fredericksburg Convention and Visitor Bureau , 302 E Austin St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624, USA

Coach will be parked in rear parking lot of the Visitor Center. Parking in the lot is free.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.Regular boarding begins 15 minutes prior to departure at the Fredericksburg Visitor Center, 302 E Austin Street, Fredericksburg, TX, 78624. We can pick up from local Fredericksburg hotels or BnB's with 24-hour advance arrangements for an additional fee. Choose the option with pickup when booking your reservation for pickups at your location within 5 miles of town. Call for additional options. Tours start on time and we cannot wait for late arrivals. No refunds or reschedules are allowed for cancellations within 24 hours.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Minimum number of 4 passengers required for a tour to operate
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Fredericksburg Tours, LLC
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Boutique Winery Experience in the Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Boutique Winery Experience in the Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country.
What is the policy on sanitization during Boutique Winery Experience in the Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Boutique Winery Experience in the Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country.
What is the social distancing policy during Boutique Winery Experience in the Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Boutique Winery Experience in the Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Boutique Winery Experience in the Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Boutique Winery Experience in the Fredericksburg Texas Hill Country.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


100 Reviews
1 star

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 100 reviews
Not Worth The Cost; Save Your Money
, May 2022
Let me start with what was good... Rebecca, our tour guide, was knowledgeable and conversational. She picked us up on time and it was nice to not have to drive. The actual tour itself was an absolute bust and if I could get a refund of even 50% I would be really happy. We spent almost $500 on a tour that took us to 3 wineries.... Kuhlman Cellars, Untamed and Lost Draw.... and 2 of the 3 "wineries" weren't even kind of a winery. I asked specifically before our tour if this would be a tour of wineries that had actual vineyards (1 did) and if it would be actual TEXAS grapes/wines versus a wine making room with California imported grapes. I was told that it would indeed be Texas wines and that was not the case with 2 of the 3 stops. I also asked if we would be taking tours of the barrel rooms. We went in to two rooms that we were told were barrel rooms. They weren't. So disappointed. Kuhlman Cellars was amazing. They have a small vineyard. The gentleman that spoke to us that day was really entertaining and knew his wine! They did a food bite and wine pairing and made the entire experience very special. The stories that went with the wine and thought that went into the food bite paired with the wine was much appreciated. we had 5 tastings there (1 white and 4 reds). Untamed was awful. I wish I could say a few nice things but all I can come up with is that the pizza that was provided for lunch wasn't awful. There was nothing at all at this "winery" that gave the impression it was a winery. There was nothing that made our group feel special and nothing/ no one that explained the wine, the wine making process or the thought behind their vision. It was a large, loud cafeteria style room, over-crowded with people, a lack-luster lunch that was late arriving at our table forcing us to eat quickly. They only gave us 3 tastings (white, rose, red) all of which were pretty lackluster and never once came back to the table to check on our party. It was one of the worst "winery" tour experiences I have had in the very many years I've been attending wine tours. I'm not even sure what Lost Draw was. It most certainly was not a winery. We had 5 tastings and each one was worst than the last. We didn't have a sommelier or a wine maker but just a very nice kid pouring our wine for us. The fact that this venue was on a $500 boutique wine tour was actually pretty insulting because it was definitely just a bar with an extended wine list. If I have to find something something nice to say I can say that I enjoyed the live music. All in all, this was a pretty bad experience. We had 10 people on the tour; each celebrating a birthday or anniversary and there was nothing to make any of us feel celebrated by the company or the wineries. There are other wine tours and wine shuttles that you can take for WAAAAAAAY less money. Please do one of those. There is nothing special about this tour, the experience or the wineries. I'm all for paying up to have a quality experience but this was just a waste of money and a waste of a day. I'm really disappointed by the whole thing.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Kelly, we never wish for any of our guests to be disappointed. We regret that this tour did not meet your expectations and we think it may have been because of the type of winery tour that you ultimately chose. Your opinion is important to us, and I appreciate the opportunity to explain the differences for those who are on the fence about choosing the right tour. This tour visited Boutique Wineries. Wineries are defined as “a location are where wine is made.” And Boutique wineries make less than 10,000 cases of wine per year - small, intimate and interesting places that are not large production facilities. Your visit included 3 award-winning Boutique Wineries. Every Boutique Winery tour is custom scheduled at different wineries that best represent the tastes of the group attending. The first stop was a Food and Wine Pairing at a winery/vineyard of all Texas wines and grapes, and into the vineyard for a short lecture on the grapes growing. Texas grows grapes in 8 different AVAs, and some winemakers also purchase grapes from other regions to make particular types of wine from grapes that do not grow well here due to our Texas heat. Our visit at Untamed Winery included a production tour where all of the wine is made for their winery and they also make wine for other local facilities who do not have a production facility. Your tour included an opportunity to view their laboratory where they test wines for over 100 different wineries around the United States. The winemaker included a visit into their Barrel room where you received your fourth serving into the glasses given to you upon entering the production facility. Our Host at Untamed was the actual Wine Maker and he did explain his wines during the time that you were visiting with other guests at the table. As you mentioned, it was very crowded on that Saturday as it is a very popular winery and the busiest time is on weekends. The food service was slow as you described, as they were overwhelmed at the time with a very large earlier reservation. I took that opportunity to share information about wine and answered questions about the wines, tasting, and storing. The winery owner came to our table to apologize for the delay and the servers did check on our group during our wait for lunch. Our last stop for the day was Lost Draw Cellars. Their facility is another Boutique Winery that makes less than 10,000 cases of wine. The property owner at Lost Draw Cellars came to our table to visit with all of our guests. This facility is also all Texas Grapes and all Texas Wines. Lost Draw Cellars has several of the most critically acclaimed vineyards and winemakers in the Texas High Plains and in our Hill Country AVA. We cannot guarantee that at every winery the winemaker or sommelier will be your personal server and we do not advertise such but we do our best to take our tours to another level of service, and your server here was very knowlegable about their wines and the production. While our Vineyards and Wine tasting areas are not as expansive as California (where you previously visited) Texas wineries are known for award winning wines - and this specific tour focuses on Boutique Wineries rather than the larger wineries in our AVA. While you referred to others as not enjoying their day, two other parties on your same tour have left 5 star reviews on two websites. Had we realized that you would be unhappy with a Boutique winery tour, we would have directed you to other wine tours that attend different types of facilities that may more closely have resembled your conceptions. Our Wine Trolley visits larger wineries, as well as our Wine Tasting tour. We always want to provide a quality experience to our guests. Your last two winery stops included extra tastings not on the menus and even a "take with you" version of the latest wine release as a gesture towards our celebrating guests. I'm uncertain why you claimed they did not. We know that we cannot please everyone and truly regret that for you we did not. We wish you all the best!
Rebecca was wonderful....
, Apr 2022
Rebecca was wonderful. She was very knowledgeable and very passionate about Texas wines. Highly recommend this tour!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience. We hope you will tour with us again.
Meeting others on the...
, Apr 2022
Meeting others on the tour who had same interest in wine. Learned about wine pairing, and how to make wine!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review and for letting others know about your positive experience.
Brilliant Day Out
, Apr 2022
We thoroughly enjoyed our wine tasting tour with Rebecca. Everything about the tour was excellent and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. It was slightly more expensive than some of the other tours, but it was worth every penny. Rebecca is extremely knowledgeable about wine and the vineyards in the area, so we actually learned a great deal as well as having a really good time. The vineyards, wine tastings and food were all great. Overall it was a really good day. Thank you Rebecca!!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for this wonderful recommendation! We strive to provide the top tier experience for our wine tasting guests - and truly appreciate that you enjoyed your day. Please visit us again and we will tour new places in our beautiful Texas wine country.
Amazing day
, Apr 2022
Rebecca was absolutely great. The tour was fun, unique, and actually quite educational. My wife and I greatly enjoyed the wineries that were chose and would even do this exact tour again!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks so much for your great review! We’d love for you to tour with us again.
Great tour
, Mar 2022
Our wine tour was extremely enjoyable! Michelle, our guide, was friendly, fun, and helpful. It was a wonderful day filled with wine, pairings, and new friends.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Great news! Thank you for taking time to share your experience, and we hope you will tour with us again.
Great wine tour
, Mar 2022
Our guide Michelle was very nice and helpful we went to 3 amazing tasting rooms which were all good and unique. It was a wonderful day
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
We are so happy that you enjoyed your day, and thank you for posting a review to share with others.
Great way to learn wine and meet new people
, Sep 2021
Rebecca is an amazing tour guide. Very knowledgeable about wine and the area. If you are coming in from out of town this is a fantastic way to meet new people. Highly recommended!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for the kudos! And you are affirming what happens so often - spending a day with others who share a common interest is a great way to meet new people. Best wishes!
Knowing your wine and how to enjoy.
, Jul 2021
Just the information alone concerning wines (i.e. soil makeup, area, etc.) was meaningful. The tips on how to experience wine to the fullest helped also.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for your review. We wish for our guests to enjoy their wine experience and an introduction to Texas Wines and their unique character and tastes is an integral part of our tour. We appreciate your mentioning that you enjoyed the information.
, Jun 2021
The unique and small wineries that we visited were amazing. Rebecca was an amazing tour guide for my first-time experience.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you! Very happy that you enjoyed your day. We have some wonderful wineries in Texas!
Amazing experience
, Apr 2021
Our tour guide was amazing. She was so knowledgeable about wine and did a fantastic job giving us an outstanding experience.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Wonderful to hear! Thank you so much for choosing to tour with us. It is our goal to create outstanding experiences and we are so happy to hear that we created one for you!
, Mar 2021
The best part was Savannah, she was informative and very charming and helpful. We were not particularly impressed with the wineries we visited. The first one as "grandiose" as the operation is, not much to see other than steel vats and oak barrels, the gal who toured us was not too well prepared, and we ended up getting more information from Savannah than her. Lunch (gumbo) was good, but had we not seen the French fries (which we ordered and added on), was fairly meager. During all of the wine tasting, each winery could each have offered a little something for your palate, crackers? nuts? We ended up buying some popcorn at the last one..Overall having done this, almost all over the world (Napa, Argentina, Chile, France, Spain, etc...) we thought it was overpriced, and not much substance. I would think with over 100+ wineries in the region, we could have seen something better. Live and learn!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Hello Markie, thank you for the compliments to our tour guide, Savannah. Your visit was planned to tour three of our top award winning wineries producing Texas wines and while on tour you had opportunity to meet one of the vineyard owners, one of the winemakers, tour a production facility and end your tour with a tasting guided by a Level 2 Sommelier. We recognize that we all have different perspectives and expectations for our experiences. It is never our intention to disappoint anyone. All of our winery hosts are committed to providing you with an attentive experience. I am so glad that Savannah was able to do that for you. With every Boutique Winery Tour, our guides provide a summary of the day in order for us to assess and determine how to best provide the experiences that our guests deserve. We would like to offer you the opportunity to tour with us at another time, and we will do our best to provide a personalized experience for you. Serving crackers/biscuits to cleanse the palate was customary at a winery but Covid and the pandemic have affected all of this with changes. Food can no longer be out and available to everyone. Guests can purchase these items from the wineries. We all wish you the best and happy travels. Thank you for your review.
Wonderful Winery Experience
, Mar 2021
Had a really great time. All three wineries were unique and memorable. Our tour guide Savannah was awesome and very knowledgeable. Highly recommend to others.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Thank you for touring with us! Our Guest referrals are our most appreciated! We will share your review with Savannah.
Warmed up with Hospitality
, Feb 2021
After the historic freeze in Feb 21, i was concerned about our wine tour plans. It was a great day and a great tour guide! Savannah was a local that showed us around Fredericksburg like we were her guests. Would bring a group and rebook with Savannah again.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Wonderful! We appreciate your taking time to leave a review and so glad you enjoyed your tour. Thank you for mentioning Savannah - we think she is awesome, too!
Awesome tour
, Feb 2021
This tour was fantastic. The tour director was very knowledgeable and they took me and my wife to three wineries that we loved. They called the day before and made sure we were taken care of for what we wanted. Thanks again will definitely be back.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
So good to hear that we were on target with your tastes! Thank you for taking time to review. We look forward to hosting your next tour!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations