Recent Searches
Clear

Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city

star-4.5122 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Fes, Morocco
Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 travelers1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers15 travelers
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Explore stunning Chefchaouen—Morocco’s iconic blue-painted Berber city—with a guide during this small-group, full-day tour from Fes. Explore the winding alleys of the Medina, admiring the Moroccan-Andalusian fusion of its buildings. Join a guided tour or wander at your own pace. Cold drinks and air-conditioned transportation from Fes are included.
  • A full-day small-group tour of Chefchaouen from Fes
  • See the highlights of the city and be back in Fes by nightfall
  • Travel comfortably by air-conditioned minivan in a group capped at 15 people
  • VIP perks: cold drinks and hotel or riad pickup and drop-off are included
Saved to wishlist!
Soda/Pop
Guide
Lunch

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

The driver will pick UP you from your riad or hotel
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY MOROCCO TRIP DESERT
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The ride there took nearly four hours, so unless this is a must-see on your list, you may want to stay in Rabat." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
122 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 122 reviews
star-5
Nice one day tour
Marina_P
, Aug 2022
The trip was really long, but definitely worth it. The manager, Sami, picked us up at the Riad and drove to the meeting point where we got into the van. I have booked an english guide and the driver spoke spanish, italian, french and arabic so I asked Sami about this. He explained that the guide in Chefchaouen speaks english. We started our trip at 8.30 am and came back to Fes around 22 pm. The driver was good and you will feel safe with him even though he doesn't speak english. We spent around 3 hours in Chefchaouen. When we came back, Sami asked me if everything was fine and seems like he really cares about clients.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing experience
Marissa_S
, May 2022
Not the most comfortable drive, but very worth it to see this amazing place. It is so beautiful and bigger than I expected. This is a must-see when you are in Fes!
star-3
Driver is on time, bus air-conditioning not working
Yilin_Y
, May 2022
We are unfortunately to sit in a minivan with air-conditioning issue. This makes the journey back far from pleasant. Apart from that, driver is on time and overall a nice fellow.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We didnt know that the a/c dosent work
star-5
One day in Chefchaouen
Bruno_G
, May 2022
All went well. Smooth trip to chefchaouen, pickup on time, great communication, nothing more to add. Oh yeah, Chefchaouen is beautiful! :)
star-5
Great experience!
Ines_L
, Apr 2022
It was a really great experience ! We truly recommend Sami and Ali (the guide in Chefchaouen). They were really friendly and always answered any questions or concerns. Don't miss this tour, you won't regret it!
star-5
Blue city of Morroco, dream come true
Kristina_J
, Apr 2022
Me and my friend choose this tour based on my friends personal experience. We never thought it will be so good, starting from the beginning being picked up on time to the driver Ismael dropping us off close to the out road. We were worried that driver over 3 hours will be tiring, but we stopped enough tim to stretched the legs, one of the stops in the motel was amazing with coffee break and swimming pool. It was all blue and white to make you exited of the blue city We stopped to see panoramic view before entering the city and we had plenty of time to take as many pictures as we like. But before that it was a beautiful drive through the atlas mountains. Once we arrived we choose to walk around without the guy and we have agreed to meet at the drop off place in the certain time. (driver was on time again) and pointed us to Medina entrance. Blue city itself is a live experience, good choose of food with reasonable price ( in my surprise this being tourist city) l, Amazinh shops with people doing crafts and prices were so cheap. Thank you driver Ismael for looking after us and being very careful with its cargo :) and thank you Sammy for making this experience as smooth as possible. We will be recommending this tour guide and company to all of our friends. Shukran. :)
star-4
A day full of exploring and experiences
Zhiyang_Z
, Apr 2022
It’s a whole day activity with almost 6 hours driving both ways. But we knew it was worth it when we finally arrived at the Blue City. We understood we were going to have a local tour guide to help us navigate and get to the hotspots quickly. In return, we would be visiting some of the shops (no purchases necessary) as part of experiences. Overall, we still got a couple hours ourselves exploring. It’s exhausting at the end but yet exceeding our expectations—it’s more than just a transportation.
star-5
Fun day out, would recommend
Prateek_D
, Apr 2022
Sami liaised with us and our Riad owner the previous evening to ensure a smooth pick-up. The car was comfortable and it was very easy to communicate with Sami, he even taught us many Arabic words! He showed us interesting sights on the way and stopped at scenic points for pictures. When we reached Chefchaouen, he gave us a tour around the city and even took our photos at iconic spots. We went for food at a nice restaurant with reasonable prices and amazing views overlooking the city.
star-5
Good trip
Shaoyang_C
, Apr 2022
Very nice English-speaking driver. The tour guide from the Blue City is also very nice, knowledgeable and helpful.
star-2
This was not a tour. It...
Erin_L
, Feb 2022
This was not a tour. It was only transportation. There was no wifi. No soda. No Mosque. No entrance for the city. It was a van that drove to the city. That’s all. It’s falsely advertised otherwise
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
excuse me but it's not a true note because firstly i gave you water instead of soda but you don't want secondly i told you that if you want to join the group for take the guided tour of the city of Chefchaouen but you did not want to go with us you chose to do the tour alone to do some shopping Excuse me lady to tell you you are very demanding
star-5
Above and beyond.
Dominik_G
, Nov 2021
I came in the low season and booked in 12 hours before leaving so he didn’t know I had a booking the next day. I didn’t see a driver so I called him and he booked me a private driver for that day. He went above and beyond to accommodate me.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Charming Chefchaouen
Jan_R
, Nov 2021
Great experience touring the blue city; the town is just the right size for a walking tour. We were able to visit a wide variety of streets and pathways through the town. Each area held a large variety of shades of blue painted on the walls, homes , shops, steps and entryways. The town has a quaint look and we were guided along the path up the hill past bakeries, clothing shops, restaurants and cafes. We even walked along the waterfalls carrying fresh water from the mountains. There is an outdoor clothes washing area complete with washboards along the waterfall! Our guide gave us both historical data on the town and info re customs and culture of the area. The tour was very informative and enjoyable. We had time to stop for pictures along the way. I highly recommend this opportunity to see and experience this charming and beautiful city.
star-5
Fun and interesting tour of the blue city!
Trinity_O
, Nov 2021
Chefchaouen is a beatiful city! The tour was very interesting and we explored all around the old Medina. Lots of good information and great photo ops. At the end we were treated to traditional mint tea at the tour guides home. :) Highly recommend!
star-5
Blue city tour
Carrie_F
, Nov 2021
We loved the magical blue city and Sami made it wonderful for our group. His knowledge of the city and region helped us feel safe and comfortable. Sami is Morocci but also speaks excellent English. He helped bridge the cultural gap for us and was always at our side to translate when needed.
star-5
Great Chefchouen adventure
Michael_F
, Nov 2021
Our tour guide Sami set up a wonderful experience for our group. He knows Chefchouen and the area thoroughly and made sure we were all comfortable. We lodged at a riad in the Médina. Sami made sure we never were lost and always helped us when we needed Arabic translation with meals or vendors.
star-1
Ruined our entire holiday!
Ross_P
, Sep 2021
The man who organised the trip is totally immoral and took advantage of a local taxi man. He was half an hour late and drove us 50 metres down the road and let a local driver take us to Chefchaouen. We found out later that he had promised the taxi driver that we’d pay him in cash after the trip. Then as we were dropped off the taxi driver demanded payment. We ran into the local hotel because we were scared that we were going to get hurt. The tour operator told us to pay the taxi driver another 600 dirham which is roughly €60 euros. Had we given in to his demands, this tour operator would still be scamming people of twice the price Viator asks. We were then taken to the police station after curfew and we had to give our passport information and interrogated by Moroccan police in a foreign language. We ended up getting back to the Riad 2.5hrs later and we had to skip dinner because it was after curfew by this time. It was an overall unpleasant and dangerous experience and we were very lucky we didn’t get hurt. I find it astonishing that Viator would not properly check who they employ and let someone scam tourists like this. I expect a full refund and never let this man work for you again.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Scammer clients. All our trips and tour are made with Certificated Taxis or Cabs with the option that the passengers made before for a private or commun trip, we are not charged for any problem if the behavior of the client wasn’t able to be polite with our drivers and local guides, we don’t accept any kind of insults or swearing during the tour, our tour was on high standards as all our customers wrote on all our reviews, for this reason we don’t accept to refund the amount to your client because he had the trip as we describe on VIATOR, we can’t have this kind of accusation Best regards,
star-5
Very professional
Tiziana_A
, Mar 2020
Excellent service pick up & drop off to the hotel. Everything was perfectly on time, I highly recommend this tour. Note the tour guide is not included, you'll have 4 full hours to wonder into Chefchaouen. We were on our way back at 5pm and got to Fes by 9pm.
star-5
Comfortable ride to The Blue City
Trixie_T
, Mar 2020
We had a comfortable van ride to Chefchaouen from our hotel in Fez, you can pay a little additional for a 5 seater van instead of a bus, I assume it’s more comfy. Very nice stroll around the beautiful blue city! Our guide Sayid was helpful in taking us around and giving us bits of information now and then. We also enjoyed 2-hours free time to walk around on our own.
star-5
5*
Carlos_S
, Mar 2020
The tour was great! Abdul's 9-seater car was very comfortable. The guide was very polite and offered us to rest during the journey everything we would need. He also offered us all the necessary help on Chefchaouen. I see that other travelers think that the roads in Morocco are the same as in northern Europe, perhaps people still do not know the abuse that the world superpowers do on less fortunate countries and that means they do not have the same infrastructure ... therefore they do not understand that there are bumps in the roads ... if you are looking for an 8-lane highway this is not your place, but if you are looking for a complete and pleasant excursion do not hesitate to hire it. Abdul carries a modern and really comfortable vehicle. The overall experience was a 10/10.
star-5
Amazing day in Chefchaouen
Elizabeth_S
, Feb 2020
Highly recommend a day trip to Chefchaouen. Sami was a very friendly and reliable driver! He arrived on time, we got Moroccan tea, and we spent a lovely afternoon in Chefchaouen. We got to listen to Moroccan music and stop along the way to take photos and learn about the sights.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city
Day Trip to Chefchaouen the blue city

star-4.5122

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$33.82

star-53

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$101.49

star-516

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$35.87

star-52

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.24

star-532

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$37.17

star-52

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$93.26

star-527

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$35.87

star-535

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$58.42

star-4.511

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$35.87
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations