Recent Searches
Clear

Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

star-4.5786 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon12 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 8 more

Overview

See the best of Scotland in one action-packed day on this Glencoe, Loch Ness and the Highlands tour from Edinburgh. Pass Stirling Castle on route to Kilmahog with a guide, then continue through Rannoch Moor to the soaring Highland peaks of Glen Coe. Head along the banks of Loch Linnhe to Fort William and gaze over Ben Nevis — Scotland’s highest mountain. Enjoy free time to explore Loch Ness and learn the famous legend of Nessie! Visit Inverness, then travel through the mighty Grampian Mountains to Edinburgh.
  • Discover Glencoe, Loch Ness and the Highlands in a day—ideal for travellers short on time
  • Admire the iconic Stirling Castle and impressive Grampian Mountains as you journey through the wild landscape
  • Learn some of Scotland's rich history from your guide—ideal for history buffs
  • Enjoy free time to explore Loch Ness at your leisure
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food and drinks
Gratuities

Departure Point

521-523 Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2PE, UK

Outside the Ensign Ewart pub

Departure Time

8:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 4 years
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark the bus
  • The cruise currently needs to be pre-booked, details will be provided on the ticket.
  • Urquhart Castle is currently unavailable.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 53 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Timberbush Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 53 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "You can pack snacks - which I encourage - just no ‘hot food’ on the coach." See review
  • "the castle and boat ride are boring and there is extra charge for both." See review
  • "This is an interesting tour, but it makes for a VERY long day." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
786 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 786 reviews
star-5
Loch Ness
Nicola_H
, Sep 2021
The guide Kenny was excellent he was very informative throughout the day. We had a brilliant time. 👏
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for your kind words, Nicola!
star-5
A day on the lakes
Gian_Nag
, Aug 2021
Lovely place to see had a wonderful guide very informative tour guide lots of things to do and see lovely cruise on the loch
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thanks for your review, Gian!
star-3
Travel Travel Travel
Sumanth_D
, Aug 2021
The trip covers good part of Scotland an travels through the heart of highlands. Allan our guide had very good knowledge and gave very good description of throughout the journey. However it was mostly travel and sitting in the bus. We had only 1 stop at Loch ness which was for an hour. The rest were all photo stops only. The lunch stop again was a let down. We were given an hour only but at that stop the cafe we went to did not get our order even after 45 mins! This was the case with others who travelled with us as well! All of us had to get a refund for same. Oh yes one other point for the coffee stop in morning at Killmorgh (I guess), watch out for the rude lady at the cash register!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Sumanth_D. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the Loch Ness tour has much as you had hoped. We do stress that this tour is a long day, with the highlight of the day at Loch Ness. I'm sorry it wasn't ideal for you; I feel some of the organisation at meal stops may have detracted from your enjoyment of the tour, so I will be in touch with the eateries mentioned to discuss your complaint with them. I do hope that despite your complaint, you enjoyed seeing more of Scotland! Best wishes, Amy
star-5
Searching for heritage
Iona
, Aug 2021
Driver Paul immediately recognised that passenger Catriona (Iona) is deaf and he removed his mask to enable lipreading. He went above and beyond our expectations as a guide. This was Ionas first visit to Scotland and the day trip gave her an insight into her heritage and the beauty of the Highlands (despite the rain)
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you for your review, Iona! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time exploring Scotland with Paul; he's such a thoughtful guide who loves what he does - I'll pass on your kind words to him; it'll make his day! All the best, Amy
star-5
Highlands
Gillian_D
, Aug 2021
Loved meeting the highland cows on our first stop (would have liked a bit longer on this stop), bit annoying that half of the facilities were shut ( chippy and bar). The commentary throughout was very good, Adrian definitely knows his stuff😃 The tour in total was well organised and stops were promptly timed…all in all a great day!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you for your review, Gillian! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time exploring Loch Ness with Adrian, your Driver-Guide. I'll pass on your kind words to him. All the best, Amy
star-1
Disappointed
DKB
, Jul 2021
Disappointing, 13 hours drive and 2 beief comfort breaks. Didn't see Stirling castle, Urquhart Castle or anything else from the iternary other than Loch Ness. All iternary points can only be seen from the couch window. The stop cafes could not cope with food demand and runned out of food, the places that stopped didn't serve proper food and there was no time to get anything other than cup of tea and quick toilet break. We expected longer breaks and more time to explore but what you get is 12hrs drive and guide commentary (which was the only positive of this journey). The coach broke down delaying our return time so no time to get dinner other than take away. Wouldn't recommend, especially with kids.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi DKB, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your trip to Loch Ness as much as you had hoped. At the time of your tour, Urquhart Castle were not allowing group entry, however the castle is seen when you take the cruise across Loch Ness, so it is still a lovely experience. I will pass on your comments with regards to food stops on tour to our Operations Team. I'm concerned that you state there wasn't food available? We do stop along the way; Kilmahog for breakfast, Glencoe, Fort William Area for lunch, Loch Ness for two hours and Pitlochry for dinner. I'm incredibly sorry about the breakdown. This was due to a windscreen wiper malfunctioning; we had a maintenance team to the site within the hour and it was fixed and ready for return to Edinburgh quite quickly; I can only apologise that this delay affected the rest of your evening. We do advise that this tour is a very long day, and as such, may not be for everyone; including smaller children. I do hope despite the disappointment, you enjoyed seeing all of the sites as mentioned above. All the best, Amy
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
2 thumbs up!:)
Krizzia_D
, Jul 2021
It was a very good experience. Andrew was very knowledgable and accomodating. He was an excellent driver, a tour guide and a DJ. Our pregnant friend didn’t feel nauseaus even with the roads of the highlands.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Krizzia, thanks for taking the time to leave a review! I'll pass on your kind words to Andrew, your Driver-Guide. He'll be thrilled to hear you enjoyed his driving - especially your pregnant friend! Hopefully see you again soon! Amy
star-5
Wonderful trip and a great experience
Annah_M
, Jul 2021
The trip was lovely. I enjoyed every bit of it. Gary is knowledgeable, he’s like a walking and talking encyclopaedia. I learnt a lot from his explanations on the local geology, geography, the islands, lochs and general knowledge on this particular trip. He made the tour very exciting and enjoyable. Thanks - Annah
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Annah, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your tour to Loch Ness. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with Gary, your Driver-Guide. He'll be delighted to hear you appreciated his knowledge of the area. All the best, Amy
star-5
Scenic Scotland
Ann_H
, Jul 2021
Fabulous from start to finish plenty bus stops driver/guide very friendly and helpful highly recommended
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thanks for the review, Ann!
star-5
Amazing
Tracy_D
, Jul 2021
Amazing scenery really comfortable coach .felt safe to travel everything was clean every one wore masks . Our tour guide Stuart was amazing such a lovely guy .Full of knowledge always asking if we was comfortable. Wish o could have him on every tour
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Tracy! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your trip with Stuart, your Driver-Guide. I'll pass on your kind comments to him! Hopefully see you on another tour in the future! Best wishes, Amy

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh
Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

star-4.5786

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.53

star-5359

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$72.31 $65.80

star-4.556

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$118.20

star-4.5649

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$70.92

star-4.53436

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$73.30

star-5102

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$83.44

star-5504

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$66.75

star-4.51101

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.53

Explore Similar Things to Do