Recent Searches
Clear

Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

|
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon11 to 12 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Head south to diminutive coastal Montenegro on this day trip from Dubrovnik. Take a scenic drive on the southern Dalmatian Coast and experience small Adriatic villages and towns, including the UNESCO-listed Kotor, situated in Europe’s southernmost fjord. Finish with an optional ferry ride across the Bay of Kotor and then enjoy a final scenic drive on your way back to Dubrovnik.
  • Montenegro full-day trip from Dubrovnik
  • Explore the charming town of Kotor
  • Admire views of the Adriatic Sea, the Bay of Kotor and the lush valleys of Župa Dubrovacka and Konavle
  • Take an optional boat trip to Our Lady of the Rocks island
Saved to wishlist!
Transport by air-conditioned vehicle
Tour escort
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Ferry
Boat ride to Our Lady of the Rocks (approximately €10)
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified
EUR 1 tax per person to be paid to enter Kotor

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.The pick-up times are different for each location. Our reservations team will contact you with the exact pick-up time.
Get picked up at your hotel in Dubrovnik and then hop inside the air-conditioned vehicle to make the drive south to Montenegro. Drink in the views of the Adriatic Sea and the Dubrovnik Riviera and learn about the history and culture of the area from your local guide. 

After crossing the border to Montenegro, twist and turn with the road, going around the large Bay of Kotor, and passing through charming villages along the way. Then stop in Perast, a lovely town at the base of St Elijah Hill. Consider taking the optional boat ride to Our Lady of the Rocks island to check out the baroque-era church (at own expense).

The next stop is Kotor, situated in a fjord and one of the most eye-pleasing Montenegrin towns. Once there, begin a walking tour that goes throughout the squares and narrow cobbled streets, taking you to historic churches such as the Cathedral of St Tryphon. Then take some free time to do some wandering—consider marching up the 1,350 steep steps to the San Giovanni Castle for an incredible view and photo opportunity—or sit down for a drink or a snack (at own expense).

After Kotor, head to Budva, a gorgeous walled city on the sea boasts attractive beaches and narrow cobbled streets. Take some free time to explore or sit down for a meal (at own expense).

Take a ferry ride across the Bay of Kotor and then enjoy a final scenic drive along the coastal roads of Montenegro to end your day. You are returned to your Dubrovnik hotel.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Old Town
The tour starts in Dubrovnik
Pass By:  
Bay of Kotor
Admire the views of the Bay of Kotor on your way to Perast and Kotor.
Stop At:  
Our Lady of the Rocks
According to legend, the local seamen made an oath to the icon of Madonna and Child which was found on a rock in the sea. They laid a rock in the Bay upon return from each successful voyage, and over time the small island emerged. Today, you can find the Church of Our Lady of the Rocks on the island. The church contains over 70 works of art, among them the ten-meters long, The Death of the Virgin. The island is accesible by a short boat ride. Alternatively, feel free to explore the town of Perast during your free time here.
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Kotor Old City
Enjoy free time to explore the Kotor Old Town on your own. Explore the narrow streets and attractions such as St. Tryphon Cathedral and the Square of Arms. After, relax on a short drive to your final destination, Budva.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Altstadt (Old Town) Budva
Feel free to spend your time in one of Montenegro's most popular destinations however you wish. Enjoy free time for lunch, tour the Old Town or take a swim on one of Budva's famous beaches to escape the summer heat.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • You MUST check and obtain any visa requirements prior to border crossing. All visa requirements are the sole responsibility of the traveler
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund. The minimum number of passengers to run the tour is 4
  • Your pick-up time may differ from the advertised start time. This is because pick-up times are regulated around the core of the Old Town.
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Super Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the pick up location?
A:We only offer pickup from central districts. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
Q:
Where is the meeting point?
A:The meeting point for this tour will be at Pile gate by the Gift Shop Dubravka.
Jul 2019
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Do not miss the opportunity to go, unless the boats are not working." See review
  • "If there are a lot of tour buses, which there are, you will wait." See review
  • "If you are planning to go to Croatia and have a day to spare, this day trip to Montenegro is worth every cent you spend." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
1,321 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 1,321 reviews
star-4
Overall a good trip
George_M
, Aug 2022
Perast, Montenegro was beautiful and not so crowded. Budva was a disappointment. Too crowded party city, dirty and loud.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful
Anna_B
, Aug 2022
I nice day to go out and to learn about other peoples life. And you meet others from all around the world.
star-3
15 hours on a coach for 5...
Paula_N
, Aug 2022
15 hours on a coach for 5 hours at montenegro , and at 3 different places, so even less time to look at anything and had to rush around to make it back to coach on time.Not as the iternary we were given. I think.the local tour companies just adapt it. Traffic and getting through customs horrendous. Would I fo it again? Probably not
star-4
Montenegro in a day.
Michelle_D
, Aug 2022
The trip itself was excellent. The bay of Kotor is gorgeous and Kotor itself is a charming old town worth the visit. Our guide was a little new but did his best despite his nerves and gave us lots of history about the area. We did go during a heatwave and it was unbearably hot so I would recommend checking the weather before you book this trip. The only bad thing was the trip back across the border. It took over two hours sitting on the bus with an a/c that just couldn't compensate for the heat outside. Other than that though it was a great trip.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Montenegro lovely but not the boarder times!
Joanne_L
, Aug 2022
The tour itself is good. Three stops and the time to do what you want. Lovely guide who albeit script read a little it was informative. The problem is the boarder queues in high season. Over an hour getting through going and two and a half getting back! The boarder is closed for ages due to a police change over. Kind of spoilt the day as it took 5 hours to get back to our hotel from Budvar. The last stop. Toilet on coach locked all trip.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
The trip is too long
Martha_S
, Aug 2022
The daytrip was way too long. It was supposed to last for 12 hours max, but ended up being 15,5 hour long day because of long wait at the border in to Montenegro. We talked to locals after the tour and they said that it was normal. They should have informed us about this in the description of the tour. Also the tour was badly organized. When we were in the bus after being picked up from the hotel in the morning I got a call from the tour operator telling me they were waiting for us outside the hotel. We had already given the tour guide our names and passports before entering the bus ...
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi Martha, Thank you for your review, While 30-minute to an hour border waits are not unheard of during the peak season, the long wait at the border your tour experienced was out of the ordinary. We can not predict the traffic nor influence the border control. Up until this point in 2022 we did not have any major issues with border crossings. Thank you for booking with us, SuperTours
star-1
Not worth it at all!!!
Andres_L
, Aug 2022
Not recommended at all. I don't usually write reviews unless is really good or really bad. This time is the bad side and I know there are some things you can't control but being on a bus for 4-5 hours from beginning to end and not having bathroom or A/C working is just not acceptable. The bus was quite old and it becomes too long. Also, it took more than 2 hours to cross the border back to Croatia. It's really a chaos and the trip is not worth it for the time you have in each stop. Find a different tour!
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Go to Montenegro, avoid this tour
Silvia_S
, Aug 2022
The places we visited were worth it especially Kotor - a real gem. Budva is also nice if you visit the old town and don’t just hang around the beach for a late lunch at a restaurant where the guide probably gets paid off how many customers spend money there. However this tour was just a very poor experience throughout. They came 20m late because they had to wait for other customers who were late. We got to the boarder and waited 2HOURS on a standstill - maybe if we arrived on time it would have been quicker. We had a restaurant reservation for dinner that night because the guide confirmed we’d get back by 7pm. We got back after 10.30pm and the guide has been blaming the boarder. This is very unprofessional because if you expect the time to vary due to delays at the boarder you need to mention it beforehand. The guide was awful - always reading a script sounded like a monotone recording, very hard to understand and follow, zero enthusiasm or engagement with guests already stressed by a never ending bus ride. I spent most of my journey back listening to podcasts about the history and culture of Montenegro and the Balkan countries to make up for the information I didn’t receive on the tour. If we could go back in time we’d hire our own car and make sure we got to the boarder earlier. If you are still considering a tour just avoid this company and find one whose guide actually cares.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi Silvia, Thank you for your review. We do not have any sort of deal made with any restaurants in Budva. Our guides and drivers often suggest it because many of our guests have enjoyed lunch at that restaurant in the past. Unfortunately, the time it takes to cross the border is completely out of our control. We do everything we can to make sure the tour runs smoothly but we can not control the traffic on the roads. Thank you for booking with us, SuperTours
star-3
The trip itself was great...
Corinne_P
, Jul 2022
The trip itself was great and I would easily recommend. However, there needs to be more information and guidance on the length of the day trip and consideration for border control crossing. On thé return we were stuck at the Croatia crossing for about 3 hrs. We weren’t prepared (food, water, etc) and the day trip lasted about 17 hrs which was not advertised. If you go, be prepared to wait very long hours.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great day trip to Montenegro
Julien_L
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide was very informative. I wish we spent more time in Kotor than Budva. The scenery was absolutely beautiful. The Cat Museum in Kotor is a must see for any cat lover!
star-4
Montenegro is a beautiful country
Denis_C
, Jul 2022
Montenegro is a beautiful country. Recommend a visit. However I felt the tour was a rushed by the company, feel like we didn't get enough time to enjoy some stops. Also we had to wait 2.5 hours at the Montenegro Croatia border due to traffic.
star-5
Highly recommend
Sophia_K
, Jul 2022
Great day trip! Very organized and had a great time exploring the various cities of Montenegro. Very cute mountain towns on the water.
star-5
amazinggg city
homayra_j
, Jul 2022
montenegro is a must see. we visited such beautiful locations, we had a great tour guide who was super informative
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Not the best experience
Jan_J
, Jul 2022
I had to get to pick up point which was 2km from where I was staying so not a good start the bus wasn't the best and as everyone else on the bus had been picked up in Dubrovnik the only seat available was right at the back which wasn't really easy for me to access. The first stop for coffee and a comfort break was a disaster as the place wasn't even open so we were walked across the road to a petrol station to use their toilets which were disgusting!! It was a very long day as expected made even longer & more tiring being dropped off 2km from my accommodation. On a positive note The guide was very informative.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Jan_J, Thank you for your review. This is a tour from Dubrovnik. We provide pick-up locations that are as close as possible for our guests, while taking into consideration the regulations and laws of the city of Dubrovnik. However, your accommodation was in Cavtat, which is an almost 30 minute drive south from Dubrovnik. We have already went out of our way to provide pick-up for you considering your accommodation was not in Dubrovnik itself. That is why we could not provide a closer pick-up point for you without it becoming a burden on the other tour participants. Thank you for booking with us, SuperTours
star-5
Great day trip
Colm_T
, Jul 2022
Great scenery and a contrast to Croatia. Luka was an outstanding guide who gave us great insight into the country and towns we visited, it was a terrific day for the family. Very well organised with collection from our hotel and we some flexibility with the itinerary.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful trip to Montenegro
Lucas_W
, Jul 2022
The entire process and logistics of the trip was great and seamless. The guide was very knowledgeable
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great tour with Dario!
AndreaD_M
, Jul 2022
Dario was a great tour guide! He was very friendly, patient and knowledgeable about the history of Montenegro (he’s actually a history teacher as well). The only negative about the tour was the long wait at the border both ways.
star-5
Do it!
Kiki_K
, Jul 2022
We had a great time going on the day tour. Pick-up went very smoothly. It was our guide's first time doing the tour and he was very friendly and helpful. It was fun that he told us background information on the places during the time spent in the bus so that we were able to enjoy the (short; 1/2h in Perast, 2h in Kotor, 2h in Budca) time in every place as we wanted. To be fair, it was enough time to explore every place. Unfortunately we had a delay because someone of our group was 20(!!) minutes late, which resulted in us waiting around 3h at the border to return to Dubrovnik (so please be on time at the bus if you're going!). It was especially awful because our guide had requested everyone to be on time multiple times as well as repeating where and at what time we'd meet. In the end we were at our pick-up point around 9.30pm (21.30h).
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Meh
Marion_N
, Jul 2022
Like it's fine - you do get to see nice stuff, although I wasn't exactly blown away. The last spot is pretty bad. Just a casino town with no charm. Good enough for a late lunch. But between the guide reading from a book in a monotonous voice, the lack of overall enthusiasm of the team, and the slight radio buzzing in your ear for the entire day (not loud enough to listen to it, just background whispers that give you a headache), and them insisting we are on time despite themselves arriving late, I certainly wouldn't recommend. Also not really hotel pick up as advertised, just close-ish to where you are (given the stairs, I had to pay for a taxi on top on the way back).
star-2
Places are nice the tour guide wasn't. 😐
Khimberly_C
, Jul 2022
The places we visited was amazing but I'm giving this a 2 star because of the lady tour guide. I think she's not happy with what she does. She's not very friendly and she just wanted everyobe to rush so we can all go home as she's tired and the weather was too hot. She's also not very patient in explaining stuff to the tourists. Saw her glaring at one of the tourist when he asked about the drop off point. Really not kind. Also, our trip was delayed because four of the tourist doesn't have a seat on the bus. Obviously they overbooked. We have to wait at least 30 mins. I asked her if I can use the toilet because I need a bladder break and she answered with "you have to wait", wish my bladder could do that. Luckily there was this public toolet by the street. Oh and one more thing, she was reading the history of the places we've been from the internet. Haha. I've been to a lot pf tours in the past but she's the first I've seen. 🤣

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik
Likely to Sell Out
Montenegro Full-Day Trip from Dubrovnik

star-41321

11 to 12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.39

star-4469

2 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$58.97

star-4.511

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$81.99

star-4.563

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.27

star-510

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$81.99

star-3.548

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$63.18

star-420

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$90.19

star-5162

4 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$192.16
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations