Recent Searches
Clear

Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide

|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Miguel de Cozumel, Mexico
Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Explore the waters off the coast of Cozumel in just a couple of hours on this stress-free snorkeling excursion, a great choice for first-time visitors with limited time. Board a glass bottom boat and enjoy easy transportation to shallow underwater reefs, stopping to snorkel and see colorful tropical fish and maybe sea turtles or stingrays. Plus, snorkeling equipment and chilled beers, soft drinks, and water are provided.
  • Cruise along Cozumel’s coastline aboard a glass bottom boat
  • Ideal for a shore excursion or for first-time visitors with limited time
  • Snorkel at underwater reefs with a guide; snorkeling equipment included
  • Choose from multiple departure times to easily fit this tour into your schedule
Saved to wishlist!
Beer (available after the snorkeling activity)
Soft drinks and Bottled purified water (available during the entire trip)
Bilingual guide
Snorkel tube (free to take as souvenir)
Use of snorkel equipment (fins, mask and life vest)
Gratuities
Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Marine and Pier fees ($5.00 USD cash per passenger)
  • El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel , Km 4.5, Av. Rafael E. Melgar, 77600 San Miguel de Cozumel, Q.R., Mexico

    This is our main meeting point, but please remember that we have two alternative meeting points within walking distance for cruise ships and mainland passengers; please contact Safe Tours Cozumel to inform us where you will need to be welcome.

  • Hotel Barracuda , Av. Rafael E. Melgar 628, Centro, 77600 San Miguel de Cozumel, Q.R., Mexico

    The "Barracuda" hotel is located just across the street from "La Mega" grocery store, it's walking distance from the Ferry pier and the Punta Langosta pier at Cozumel downtown.

  • This activity will end right where it started.
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • A minimum of 2 adults per booking is required
    • Arrive 30 minutes before the departure time
    • Recommended items: shoes which can get wet, biodegradable sunscreen, bathing suit under clothes, extra t-shirt to protect yourself while swimming, towel and dry changing clothes
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
    • $5 USD per passenger need to be paid in cash for the Marine and Pier fees
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • We have two additional meeting points within walking distance for cruise ships and mainland passengers; please contact Safe Tours Cozumel if you'd like to be met at one of them.
    • Most travelers can participate
    • For mainland passengers: Remember this activity starts at Cozumel. We recommend you arrive at the ferry pier in Playa del Carmen an hour before your ferry departs so that you can make it on time. If you fail to show up on time and miss the ferry, we won't be able to help you and can't provide a refund.
    • For cruise ship passengers: This activity follows Cozumel Time which is not always the same as your cruise ship's time. Please be mindful of this.
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 28 travelers
    • OPERATED BY Safe Tours Cozumel
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
    See all safety measures taken by Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
    See all safety measures taken by Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide?
    A:The policies on social distancing are:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
    See all safety measures taken by Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
    See all safety measures taken by Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "Friendly and professional staff help beginners who need it, and let experienced swimmers explore on their own." See review
    • "For people who are experienced, with your own gears, you may want to look for another tour." See review

    Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

    Reviews

    5.0
    star-5
    224 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 224 reviews
    star-5
    Great excursion, awesome guides!
    Samuel_S
    , Aug 2022
    We booked this excursion same day as our cruise arrived at the Cozumel port and we didn’t have anything planned. I’m so glad that we booked this excursion! We had a wonderful time with a small group of people and a fabulous guided tour by the lead guide, Julian and his partner. Julian took care of us at the three different snorkel stops and went out of his way to point out different fish and sea creatures to us as we snorkeled. It was a great experience and memorable for our whole family! Great value for the money paid and about two hours long which was the perfect amount of time to see lots of little creatures and still have time to shop and eat while in Cozumel.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
    Hi Samuel_S, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review! Julian is great; he loves what he does and makes sure to show off the island any time he can. We do think the amount of time is perfect for cruise ship passengers! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    A great time had by all
    Layne_F
    , Aug 2022
    The snorkeling guides were friendly and helpful. Fluent in both Spanish and English. Free drinks were a plus.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
    Hello Layne_F, Thank you for choosing us and leaving a five-star review; we appreciate our clients' opinions and are happy to hear that you had a good time. Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Fun Adventure!
    Sheila_C
    , Jul 2022
    We had lots of fun! Me and my two children are not strong swimmers, so the instructor stayed with us in the water to make sure we were ok. They were really patient and cared about our safety. They gave really good instructions for first time snorkelers.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hello Sheila_C, Thank you for leaving such a positive review! It's great to hear you and your children managed to have a good time despite not being the best swimmers. Our crew loves what they do and care about our passengers' safety, so it's good to see that it's getting across. Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Not full glass bottom
    Viral_S
    , Jul 2022
    I was expecting full glass bottom but in fact it’s only partly (4x3). Otherwise it’s good. Help me snorkel and spend good time. No rush!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hi Viral_S, Thank you for leaving a five-star review. I'm glad to hear you found the tour to be good! I want to elaborate on the glass bottom; glass bottom boats (they have a glass window on the floor) and clear boats (fully transparent boats made out of acrylic) are not the same. The first clear boat arrived at the island 2 years ago approximately, which explains its high demand and popularity, and it's common for clients to mix them up. Also, our glass bottom is actually 6x3! Again, thank you for your review and allowing me to explain the difference. I hope this will help avoid future confusion! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    The perfect family friendly adventure for all ages!
    Kimberly_R
    , Jul 2022
    We booked this excursion because it had a glass bottom boat, and my mom who is in her 70's was not interested in snorkeling but didn't want to miss the fun! The meeting point at a hotel was easy to find and within walking distance of our Carnival cruise pier. The guides were waiting for us when we arrived and explained everything we needed to know. There were bathroom facilities available at the hotel before we got on the boat. The boat dock was easily accessible from the hotel and we boarded with ease. Julian and Santiago were our bilingual guides, and they were amazing! We were inexperienced snorkelers, but they explained everything clearly and provided all of the equipment. Julian guided our group in the water and knew exactly where to find fish, sea turtle, eel and other reef life. He informed us about conservation efforts as well. Santiago kept my mom company on the boat, and she enjoyed viewing the bottom from there, although she could only see a few fish. Captain Carlos did a great job driving the boat. I highly recommend this excursion with SafeTours!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hello Kimberly_, Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review; it will benefit people looking to book with us. It's great to hear the whole party had a good time, especially your mom, who remained on board. We love a crew, and it's great when they get the recognition they deserve because they truly are passionate about their jobs! Hopefully, you all had a safe trip back home and were able to do other fun stuff here at Cozumel! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Great tour!
    Maria_C
    , Jul 2022
    Great tour for the price! First timer and had lots of fun. Would go again. Great excursion for what it’s worth!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hi Maria_C, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It truly is appreciated. Also, great to hear your first snorkeling experience was fun! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    This! This is the memory to have here!
    Crystal_M
    , Jul 2022
    Our family of 7 (ranging from 6 to teens to 30-somethings) had such a great experience snorkeling in Cozumel! The team was wonderful, accommodated all levels of comfort and the scenery was just incredible!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hi Crystal_M, Thank you for leaving such a positive review! We appreciate it so much and are beyond happy to hear you had a good time with us! Hopefully, you had a safe trip back home! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Great Snorkeling Experience
    Noreen_B
    , Jul 2022
    We were a family of 10 ranging in age from 5-73. Julian and his team made sure all of us had an exceptional experience. They explained everything to make sure we were all comfortable snorkeling. They went above and beyond in helping our smallest snorkeler have a great experience. The reefs we visited were awesome. We would highly recommend Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hi Noreen_B, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed Julian's help and guidance. He's beloved in our agency, and we think he is a fantastic guide. Thank you for leaving such a kind message for others to read and for choosing us to help you during your trip. I hope you and your family had a safe trip back home. Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Best snorkel trip we have been on and there have been several.
    Charles_A
    , Jul 2022
    We had an amazing time. All of the crew made sure we had everything we needed and treated us like we were the only ones on the boat. The snorkel tour was unbelievable, the guide made sure we saw everything we could.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hi Charles_A, Thank you for your kind words, and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed the experience. If you ever decide to come back, we would be pleased to help you with everything we can. Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Going back!
    Brittany_S
    , Jul 2022
    The only downside would be I wish we spent longer in the water! It was absolutely fantastic. We will be going back for sure.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hello Brittany_S, Thank you so much for choosing us; we can't wait to meet you again. We think this activity is excellent for those with little time on the island, but if you're coming in the future and have time to spare, we can arrange another activity that lasts longer. Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Amazing Experience for an Amazing Price!
    Sara_A
    , Jul 2022
    All of the staff was super friendly and made us feel welcome and comfortable. We opted to meet at the Hotel Barracuda and Auturo was there to get us a cab to the dock. The journey was super easy and we felt safe and secure! We brought our own snorkel gear but it was provided to those that needed it. We did use the flippers provided! Afterwards, we could rinse off in the shower at the dock before heading back to the Hotel Barracuda. Across from the hotel is a huge supermarket so we picked up a few souvenirs before catching a taxi back to our resort!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hi Sara_A, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for choosing us during your trip. We are beyond happy to hear you had a good time, and we hope you have/had a safe trip back home! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Snorkeling was Great - The Guides were Better!
    Michael_P
    , Jul 2022
    Really enjoyed the snorkeling, such natural beauty! Our guides Julian and Barulio (unsure of spelling) were really friendly and lots of fun. Santi, who was on board was very friendly and had great conversations with my wife, who ended up not snorkeling but still had a great time because of Santi. Great time all around!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hello Michael_P, Thank you for your kind words. We love Julian and Braulio!!! We think they are fantastic guides to work with and truly love what they do. It's good to hear that your wife still managed to have a good time despite not going in the water! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Do it, you’ll be glad you did
    Joseph_R
    , Jul 2022
    Professional, welcoming and a very smooth process. I felt completely at ease and taken care of. Julian, Braulio, and Santi were great, funny and charismatic. I would go again and highly recommend this snorkeling tour!!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hello Joseph_R, Thank you for recommending us and for your kind words. We are happy to hear you had a good time with our crew! They are great, aren't they? If you plan on visiting in the future, don't hesitate to reach out! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    So worth it!
    Savannah_M
    , Jul 2022
    A must do excursion! Julian and his crew made the experience so worth while. I’d recommend this to anyone to have a blast in Cozumel!
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hi Savannah, Thank you for your review! Julian is one of the best guides here at Cozumel; we are delighted he is a part of our team. We hope the rest of your day on the island was just as fun! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Fantastic trip
    John_O
    , Jun 2022
    The crew was fantastic! They assured everyone had a good experience and were extremely hospitable! The two areas where we snorkeled provided lots to see. The fish swam right up to us.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hi John_O, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the tour and our crew! And yes, seeing all the fish is a crazy experience! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Amazing experience
    Antonio_S
    , Jun 2022
    The experience was amazing. The crew was great. Julian took great care of us. Yomal was especially great. My 6 year daughter was nervous to get in the water, but he was able to calm her down and she was able to snorkel for the 1st time.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Hi Antonio_S, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We sincerely appreciate it. We'll let both Julian and Yomal know that you are thankful for them. It's so good to hear your daughter was able to snorkel! We are always happy to help children have a fun and memorable time. Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Amazing experience!
    Heather_M
    , Jun 2022
    The crew were amazing and very helpful. Julian also showed us and explained the reef conservation program there. The snorkeling was beautiful and water crystal clear. They got us a taxi and hooked us up with great tequila tasting afterwards.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Hello Heather_M, Thank you for such kind words, we are so happy to hear you had a good time accompanied by our crew and that you were able to see things you liked. You can't leave Mexico without first having some Tequila! Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Great experience!
    Martha_B
    , Jun 2022
    We had a great time! We were very impressed with how Arturo communicated promptly after we reserved and made sure we knew where to meet up. On the day of our excursion Arturo met us exactly where he said. Once we got to the boat Julian and the other on-boat crew were fabulous. We loved our experience and would definitely do it again! (We're a family of six--parents plus four kids ranging from teens to children.)
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Hi Martha_B, Thank you for such kind words and for choosing us! Reading reviews like this remind us of why we do what we do, and being able to help beautiful families have a good time is really important for us. Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-2
    Arturo Diaz Should Stay in the Office
    Eric_W
    , Jun 2022
    I want to start off by saying that our tour guides were excellent. Braulio and Julián were very welcoming and did a great job bouncing between Spanish and English for our multilingual group. Also, before going on the tour I thought that 2 hours might be too short, but it was actually the perfect amount of time for this trip. Now onto my real issue which is with the booking agent, Arturo Diaz. We were met by Arturo at the launch point around 10 minutes before the tour. He informed my group that we would be leaving soon and that this would be our last opportunity to apply sunscreen before getting on the boat. I promptly began applying my sunscreen while he walked away to converse with the Spanish speaking members of the tour. When he returned five minutes later as I was still applying sunscreen he immediately began to berate me for applying sunscreen saying that he told me "specifically not to do that." What? He then went on a tirade about how millennials like us are supposed to be the ones that care about the environment and malented that even though he doesn't care about the environment that he has to be the one to tell us to care about. Totally ridiculous and unnecessary. Pretty sure me putting on my reef safe sun screen 19 minutes before snorkeling vs. 20 minutes before snorkeling is not the primary reason for their damaged reefs. Give me a break. Arturo should learn some customer service if he wants to continuing working in the service industry.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hi Eric_W, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. My apologies for the whole uncomfortable situation, we understand that the topic of the use of sunscreen can be confusing and I would like to clarify some things in regards to that. We ask people to arrive 30 minutes before the tour time so that they have enough time to apply sunscreen, we don't just do this as a company, this is enforced by the authorities and we simply follow their rules. They are currently trying to ban the use of sunscreen, but that hasn't been decided as of yet. I do want to remind you that he came back 10 minutes later and you were just applying your sunscreen, we know that because we always time everything we do so that the tour starts on time. The comments were definitely out of place, he felt that maybe joking would lessen the blow of not being able to put on sunscreen anymore but it ended up sounding mean and we apologize so much for the discomfort he caused you. Again, thank you for writing, and sorry the entire experience couldn't be enjoyable because of the issues at the beginning. Best wishes, Bee Díaz
    star-5
    Braulio and Julián are amazing crew members
    Mariana_A
    , Jun 2022
    Braulio and Julián made our experience the most memorable one yet! Awesome crew members and awesome experience thanks to them. Can’t wait to come back and snorkel with them again!!

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide
    Cozumel Coral Reef Snorkeling by Glass Bottom Boat with Guide

    star-5224

    2 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $30.00

    star-592

    1 hour 45 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $49.00

    star-00

    7 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $25.00

    star-4.5146

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $79.00

    star-4.54

    3 hours 15 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $89.00

    star-4.5351

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $59.00

    star-54

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $67.43

    star-4123

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $60.00
    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations