Recent Searches
Clear

Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise

star-4.5194 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Charleston, United States
28
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Watch the sun set above Charleston, South Carolina with a 2-hour sunset harbor cruise aboard a 45-foot motorized catamaran. Find a comfortable seat on deck, spot the landmarks of downtown Charleston and the waterfront, and watch for the dolphins and sea birds that thrive along the South Carolina shoreline. Enjoy a relaxing break from the city while spending a romantic evening on the water.
  • 2-hour Charleston Harbor cruise
  • Watch sunset from a catamaran
  • See the sights from the water
  • Encounter native wildlife in a natural environment
  • Romantic experience, perfect for couples
Saved to wishlist!
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Food and drinks

Departure Point

10 Wharfside St, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Meet your guide at the Charleston Maritime Center in downtown Charleston 30 minutes prior to departure, and check in at the blue and white ticket booth onsite. Learn the basics of onboard safety before heading out into the Charleston Harbor. This is not a narrated tour, but the captain and first mate will be available throughout the sail to answer questions and point out local landmarks.

Cruise under the iconic span of the Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge as navigate along the scenic harbor, and enjoy an mellow playlist of music. See the Battery, Fort Sumter, Fort Moultrie and Charleston’s scenic lighthouses from the water—with unobstructed views, this is the perfect time to snap photographs of the iconic landmarks.

Relax on deck for nature’s sunset show: the sun sets directly over the land, lighting up the clouds and waterfront. Soft drinks, beer and wine are available for purchase, and you’ll finish your harbor cruise back at the Maritime Center, close to some of downtowns best bars, restaurants and cafes.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Fort Sumter National Monument
Pass by without stopping.
Pass By:  
South Carolina Aquarium
Pass by without stopping.
Pass By:  
Fort Moultrie
Pass by without stopping.
Pass By:  
Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge
Pass under bridge.
Pass By:  
Battery & White Point Gardens
Pass by without stopping.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • If there is any in-climate weather approaching. Please contact Supplier prior to arrival. Phone is in the Voucher.
  • Dress code is smart casual
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Sandlapper Water Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Please remember to bring cash for drinks, and, also, a tip for the crew, if you want to tip." See review
  • "My niece and nephew are 10 and 6 and they were bored, so take that into consideration if you have young children and are wanting to take this cruise, Bring something for them to do." See review
  • "There were some toddlers on board but this is really not a cruise for them; they will become bored quickly." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
194 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 194 reviews
star-5
Sunset tour
Glynette_F
, Jun 2021
It was very enjoyable tour. The guides give you information about high points during the tour. The calming music, water and sunset were perfect for us.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Harboring the Charleston Harbor
Joyceann
, Jun 2021
The seagulls diving beak first, the dolphins, the crew members were very knowledgeable and kind. I actually thought the boat on the advertisement was the boat we would tour on. Overall, it was a great experience.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Enjoyable Evening
Jim_B
, Jun 2021
The cruise was really enjoyable. It was a beautiful night and our guide/captain did a very nice job describing the area we went by and telling stories about it's past. The boat was full so if you want to get a good seat get there a little early and be one of the first ones down the ramp when they say it is time to board. It was a pleasant two hour ride.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Sweet Surprise
Russ_W
, Jun 2021
Great overview of the area. Our trip was highlighted w dolphins,wildlife and historic landmarks. The captain & mate were knowledgeable & entertaining.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
This cruise was a disaster
SteveRothman
, Jun 2021
This cruise never should have happened. The captain knew there was a storm in the area and left anyway. After a very nice 45 minutes all hell broke loose, hail, wind, downpour. He docked somewhere until things let up and then headed back to our dock but the rain was coming down in buckets. We were absolutely soaked from head to toe. No refund of any sort was offered. The captain make a very poor decision to let this cruise go on
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fun night, great crew, great views
ALLY_T
, Jun 2021
Fun night seeing pelicans, turtles, dolphins as well as several landmarks. The skies were beautiful before and as the storm rolled in. The crew can’t control the weather but were great keeping us entertained as the storm passed. Definitely recommend!!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Terrible customer service
Karenx2
, Jun 2021
We were scheduled to go on a sunset cruise but it had been raining the entire day and night before the scheduled trip. There is also a 50% chance of rain the evening of our sunset cruise. So I called the company asking if I could reschedule or get a refund and they simply said no, because they will go out in the rain. That is not what I paid for nor did they set the correct expectations based on inclement weather. The associate, chase, told me they wouldn’t go out in lightning storms. I feel like that does nothing to accommodate your customers, especially those coming from out of town. Would loved to reschedule but now I will just cancel with my bank and leave them a bad review.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
When you booked your tickets through Viator the cancellation policy is clearly defined - a full refund is available when you book through them should you cancel 24 hours prior to the tour departure time. Unfortunately, some folks don’t read. A full refund is also provided should the Captain determine the weather is unsafe to sail. We are a small business and only accommodate 49 passengers. So when tickets are purchased seating is reserved. Many of our trips sell out. When customers wish to cancel at the last minute because there is a chance it may rain, ☔️ it prevents others that wanted to book from doing so! We are always happy to reschedule our guests to another date and time provided that we have availability. We would love for every day to be a beautiful sunny day with no cloud cover. However, that just isn’t reality. Sadly, we have not figured out how to control the weather. However, since stellar weather is clearly important to you, I suggest that you check the weather forecast at your intended destination prior to traveling from your home to prevent disappointment. We hope that you feel better by contacting your bank. That is completely between you and Viator (the site you booked and paid through.) However, again their policy is clearly stated on their site. Perhaps your bank will understand your disappointment that the weather did not meet your expectations! We do hope that you were able to enjoy Charleston even though it’s weather didn’t meet your expectations.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great time
Scott_R
, Jun 2021
Wonderful time the guide was so nice . We enjoyed everything about it the weather was a little rainy but didn’t ruin the ride . Learned a lot about the Charleston area we saw probably 30 dolphins and many pelicans . The guide saw a manatee but I didn’t see that . The boat was a nice size and was not overly crowded. Would recommend !!
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
June 8, 2021
Donna_F
, Jun 2021
We enjoyed the tour and our guide was very informative and helpful. We, however, felt very uncomfortable on our tour due to the fact that seating was overcrowded. With the weather quite humid, we felt there were too many people.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Donna, thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your tour and guide. However, we are sorry that you felt uncomfortable in humid weather. It is the summer in the south! The Palmetto only holds 49 passengers and is a completely open boat. Many states including SC have dropped their respective states of emergency as it relates to COVID as the numbers remain on the decline. We would have been happy to answer your questions pertaining to our COVID policies had you bothered to reach out to us prior to booking the tour. We realize people have their own levels of comfort as it pertains to COVID and that is ok. However, it is your responsibility to ask questions if you have specific concerns as they relate to COVID. We do hope that you stay cool during the rest of your stay in Charleston!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Book this cruise!
Mike_S
, Jun 2021
I brought my girlfriend to Charleston for her birthday and booked the sunset cruise. It was amazing! Captain Bob and, please forgive me, I didn't catch the guides name were awesome. We did see a lot of Dolphin and learned some awesome history along the way. I would highly recommend booking this tour.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Explore Similar Things to Do