Recent Searches
Clear

Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena

|
Cartagena, Colombia
Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Totumo Mud Volcano is a one-of-a-kind attraction home to mineral-infused mud that’s reputed to have healing properties. Avoid the hassle of public transport and the expense of taxis on a stress-free trip to the the volcano, which include snacks and convenient hotel pickup and drop-off. You’ll have ample time to soak in the mud bath and, unlike conventional tours from Cartagena, this excursion includes a stop at Manzanillo Beach.
  • Save time and travel to Totumo Mud Volcano with ease
  • Avoid finding a meeting point with convenient hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Spend ample time soaking in the mineral-infused mud
  • Make a bonus stop at Manzanillo Beach
Saved to wishlist!
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
Snacks
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Centro Historico (Amurallado) , Centro Historico, Cartagena 130001 Colombia
We pick up all travelers at the hotel, so we need mandatory the location of your hotel for the pick up, please give detail information.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Swimsuit required inside the volcano
  • Each traveler is allowed a maximum of 1 suitcase and 1 carry-on bag. Oversized or excessive luggage (e.g. surfboards, golf clubs or bikes) may have certain restrictions, please inquire with the operator prior to travel to confirm if your excess luggage is acceptable
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY BackpackersCtg
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Its a great half day experience but try to get there early." See review
  • "Short and sweet The volcano mud is remarkably rich and feels great The wash down afterwards is definitely a part of the experience as they literally bathe you Food is more of a snack but it is tasty" See review
  • "Once you get to the volcano you’ll be a little weary with how tall it is but after the climb you see the mud and be a little hesitant but just jump in and you won’t regret it." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
131 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 131 reviews
star-5
Our tour guide Jose and...
Charmaine_D
, May 2022
Our tour guide Jose and driver Jesus were amazing. The experience was once in a lifetime. The massage was relaxing and the lake wash was fun. Highly recommend to anyone.
star-4
It’s a weird and...
Barbara_C
, May 2022
It’s a weird and different feeling once the massager let’s you go, you will know what I mean. Must do
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Waste of a time and money grab
Juan_S
, May 2022
Swimming in mud, laying in mud, in a desolate village that’s run down. No working toilets or any of that. Def not something I’d do again. And you pay for the tour then pay everyone there from the kid who talks to you to the person who just pours water on you. It’s a money grab. Save ya money and go to a spa.
star-5
Awesome experience!
Marlana
, Apr 2022
Tour guide Alex was awesome. There were a lot of people there and a lot of people in the mud volcano at the same time. Not great for pictures as you'll have a bunch of other people in with you. Amazing experience none the less.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks Marlana for us is very important to know we are doing a good job.
star-3
Buyer beware
candi
, Apr 2022
It was memorable. We tan late because some people didn’t show. Then we had to rush back because someone had scheduled a Covid test. So, I don’t feel as though I had much time to experience anything. It was poorly organized. Also, the tips for all the photographers, washer women, etc was very confusing and poorly executed. Come with small bills!! It was interesting.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Candi Thanks for letting us know in which things we need to work in and get better, always we are looking for the best so we hope we can have a second chance if you come back.
star-5
Highly recommend
Matthew_L
, Mar 2022
Great time - Jesus the guide speaks amazingly good English, very helpful, very clear, very nice once in a lifetime experience.
star-5
Excellent experience.
Olivia_K
, Mar 2022
Excellent experience! Thoughtful guide, really well planned, highly recommended. And the mud volcano was so incredibly cool! Such a unique experience.
star-5
DO IT!
Rontreisha_J
, Mar 2022
This experience was unforgettable. From the guide (Alex) to the men who helped you up the stairs (Miguel), the guys massaging you in the mud and the ladies who THOROUGHLY clean you in the water afterwards. I’d never done something like this before but I’d definitely do it again. I felt so refreshed afterwards and the designated picture person took GREAT shots
star-5
Great half day trip
Steven_M
, Mar 2022
Our guides Jesus and Luis were the best. Very helpful. They explained our trip at the start and made sure we were never alone. Jesus shared many interesting facts and the massages in the volcano, ladies try at helped us wash off the mud and the great restaurant made for an amazing day. Highly recommend.
star-3
Muddy crew
Fatima_C
, Mar 2022
The mud had warm spots once you entered. My family and I enjoyed ourselves. This was our first time experiencing this mud adventure. I highly recommend it.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi Fatima thanks for your comment we really appreciate it.
star-5
MUST DO ACTIVITY!!!!!
Kody_V
, Mar 2022
The experience was amazing! Jesus was patient, informative, and kind! The Mud was AMAZING! I felt so rejuvenated after I got out and rinsed off in the water. I immediately saw my dead skin shedding and my skin felt clean and clear. I would 10/10 recommend this tour!
star-5
A Must Do Experience
Aaron_G
, Feb 2022
Such a wonderful half day driving down to the active mud volcano. We read others reviews to help prep, but with Jesus as our guide (ha!) everything was well explained. Come in comfortable clothes and just change into your swimsuit there. They guard all your belongings and you give tips to the people who help you with photos from your phone (don’t worry it avoids all mud), mud massage (fun but interesting experience), and the lady who will help clean all the mud out in the lake. Be prepared that lady does not mess around, but get the mud out. Also bring flip flops or something other than your shoes to wear for hiking up to the volcano. Such a fun trip, so glad we did it.
star-5
Unique Experience | Totally Worth It!
SMZ
, Feb 2022
Great tour! Picked up in air-conditioned van, transportation to Volcano, guides watched out things, we changed and got to enjoy the mud bath which was awesome! We received massages and were washed clean in the water below by locals. We enjoyed a snack from one of the local vendors before returning back. Be sure to bring money for lots of tips.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great experience but have n open mind
Ronna_D
, Jan 2022
I had a good time on this tour and Jesus was a experienced guide. Once in a lifetime thing to do. Just a couple of things people u should be aware of. Make sure you have plenty(and I mean plenty ) of small tip monies because you will be tipping no less than 4 people but probably several more. The guy who takes photos for you (and you want those photos ) the person who takes n keeps your shoes safe, the person who gives you a massage whether you want it or not, the person who bathes you (and by this I mean BATHES you). Try to get the earliest departure to this experience as possible As we did with Jesus which was great because we beat a large bus getting there and they had to stand around waiting for the rest of us while we were enjoying our mud experience and they stood standing in the searing heat. If you have any mobility issues know that you will be climbing several stairs going up when you are dry but it becomes trickier when you are coming down and you are full of mud that is dripping off of you so you are slippery and it is slick to come back down those stairs and by stairs I mean that loosely. Bring an old bathing suit as you will be getting mud out of it for days even though you were rinsed off in the lake nearby. If you don’t like to be touched make sure you let the massage guys in the mud know that otherwise you will be touched all over the place. On a more serious note if you do have any open wounds I would not suggest this experience as it’s not the most sanitary. This brings me to where you are washed off in the nearby lake. When we arrived there were no less than four cows grazing in the water where we would eventually be rinsed off so you can imagine the things the cows do in addition to eating and drinking from that water. When you do go down to be rinsed they are very careful to help you into the water so you don’t slip and when you get in they are very assertive in getting all the mud off of you and from every crack and crevice. By this I mean that there were several men and women that had their bathing suits taken off of them by the ladies to “get the mud out of the bathing suit“. This didn’t bother me or my friend however I feel the need to mention it because you will get to know the people in your tour group rather quickly if you hadn’t already introduced yourself ha ha. After that you are headed back to where you left your personal belongings for a free non-alcoholic drink or a beer which was a very nominal fee plus some delicious empanadas. This is where all the money for the tips Is handed out because each of the people that assisted you along the way will show up and ask for tips. It’s very humbling and unique experience and one I recommend.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing!! Highly recommended
Nealraj_B
, Nov 2021
What a great day trip! Our guide Melany was incredible! We got to the volcano early before the crowd and had plenty of time to enjoy the mud with our two young children. We then had a great snack where our guide knew everyone and even got us more food. Overall awesome trip. Absolutely recommend!
star-5
Awesome
Tanisha_P
, Nov 2021
This experience was one of a lifetime. The tour guide was very nice I can’t remember his name I think it was Alex. I was nervous about leaving our stuff with the owner of the restaurant but he was super honest and watched our stuff so we could enjoy the mud. The massage, pictures and bath afterwards is work the extra 5,000 pesos each. That is not even 10 USD. Just do it. I would definitely do this again.
star-5
Got it out da MUD
Tiffany_J
, Nov 2021
We had a great experience at the mud volcano. Our tour guide Mel was excellent had a great playlist for us to listen to and very knowledgeable. Would definitely go back on this tour.
star-1
Tour was 2 hours late,...
Corey_K
, Nov 2021
Tour was 2 hours late, hadn’t even picked everyone up by 2:30. We Had to cancel. Expecting a refund.
star-5
A worthwhile experience
Yaasmin_M
, Nov 2021
Our tour guides were amazing. We were picked up from our airbnb. We were able to stop at a gas station to get water and change (definitely bring small bills for tipping). The mud volcano was a different experience in a good way. It felt very refreshing and relaxing. We did the morning tour and there was barely anybody else there so we spent ample amount of time there. Afterwards we washed off on a lake. If there's enough of you, you can wash each other off instead of young the women there to help. We even had empanadas and drinks afterwards which was an unexpected but great surprise. I highly recommend it!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Jesus is the best tour guide
kfaulk573
, Oct 2021
This was an awesome experience. Our tour guide Jesus created a safe space with casual conversation. He was knowledgeable and helpful. The people of the city are pleasant and excited to host tourists.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thanks a lot we make everything possible to give you the best Experience.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena
Likely to Sell Out
Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena

star-4131

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$49.00

star-42

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$51.00

star-4.5291

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.00

star-4.555

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$40.00

star-517

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

star-57

15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00

star-4107

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$36.00 $32.40

star-4.512

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$115.00

star-56

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

Explore Similar Things to Do