Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive

star-4.5
|
Cancún, Mexico

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon12 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Combine two top tours at one discounted price over two days with a Cancun Super Saver. This Viator Exclusive provides early access to Chichen Itza and Holbox Island before most of the crowds arrive. An archaeologist guide leads you around each site in the morning, providing fascinating facts about ancient civilizations as you check out ruins like Chichen Itza’s El Castillo, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and the paradisical Holbox Island set on the turquoise waters of the Caribbean.
  • Enjoy two bestselling tours at one discounted price with this Cancun Super Saver
  • Avoid the crowds with early access to Chichen Itza and Holbox Island
  • Hear about ancient Maya civilization from a certified archaeologist guide
  • See ruins like El Castillo and the Temple of the Jaguars at UNESCO-listed Chichen Itza
  • Be wowed by Holbox Island's stunning Caribbean location
  • This Viator Exclusive can't be booked anywhere else

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Both of these insider tours allow you to explore two of Mexico's important historical sites in the quiet hours of the morning. Not only do you beat the crowds, but you are back at your hotel in the afternoon, providing some time to still enjoy the rest of your day how you wish.
Round transportation from the meeting points
Bilingual guide
Chiquilá boat to Holbox
Access to Cenote Hoyo negro Yalahau (if option selected)
Photos
Optional gratuities
All visitors to Chichen Itza will to pay a local tax of $417 mxn. Only credit card payment.
Food or drinks
Transportation within the island

Departure Point

1: Crown Paradise Club All Inclusive Resort, Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 18.5, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico
2: Beach Palace® All Inclusive Resort, Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5, El Rey, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico
3: InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort, Blvd. Kukulcan Km 7.5, Punta Cancun, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico
4: Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas, Blvd. Kukulcan Km 2.5, Kukulcan Boulevard, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico
5: Crazy Hot Coyote, Av Tulum, 4, 477500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico
6: MP6 Amigo Tours, Carr. Cancún - Tulum, Chacalal, Q.R., Mexico
7: MP7 Amigo Tours, Almendro 507, Smz 18, Joaquín Zetina Gasca, Q.R., Mexico
8: MP8 Amigo Tours, Carr. Cancún - Tulum 302, Chacalal, Q.R., Mexico
9: MP9 Amigo Tours, Av. Constituyentes LB, Gonzalo Guerrero, 77720 Playa del Carmen, Q.R., Mexico
10: MP10 Amigo Tours, 10 Avenida Sur 10, Playacar, 77717 Playa del Carmen, Q.R., Mexico
11: MP11 Amigo Tours, México 307 10, 77600 Puerto Aventuras, Q.R., Mexico
12: MP12 Amigo Tours, Carr. Cancún - Tulum, Xelhá, Q.R., Mexico

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Day 1 or Day 2 — Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

In the very early hours of the day, your tour begins with hotel pickup in Cancun for the drive to Chichen Itza, where you’ll arrive before most visitors, allowing you to enjoy a peaceful and in-depth experience with your archaeologist guide.

Listen to historical details about the well-preserved ruins of Chichen Itza, a pre-Columbian city that played an important part in Maya civilization from approximately 600 to 1200 AD. Still believed to be sacred by the modern-day Maya community, the site was a pilgrimage and worship destination until the arrival of Spanish conquerors. Hear about the discovery of the site by archaeologists and its UNESCO status, and learn about the mythology and philosophy of some of the ancient ruins. You’ll see sites like the Temple of the Warriors, Temple of the Jaguars, the Observatory and the Temple of Kukulkan, aka El Castillo.

Your tour ends back in Cancun.

Day 1 or Day 2 — Viator Exclusive: Holbox Island Excursion

Your tour starts with pickup for the excursion to Holbox Island. Venture to the stunning turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea and take a boat to the natural reserve. Enjoy free time to explore the area and learn more about its colorful houses, delicious food (own expense), and marine life.

Enjoy the drive back to Cancun, where your tour ends.

Viator Exclusives combine unique experiences and great deals — from traditional tours to once-in-a-lifetime experiences — and are not available from other 3rd-party online sellers.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Chichen Itza
It's one of the seven wonders of the modern world. With the knowledge in archaeology and Mayan culture it will be easy for you to imagine how the Mayas once inhabited this city. As we walk through the sunrise in the well preserved ruins we will tell you about Mayan mythology, philosophy and cosmology, to reach a deep understanding of the meaning behind the stone sculptures and platforms. And so you will see the famous ruins in a new light. You will experience up close the mysteries of the acoustics in its architecture, which to date are not fully understood. You will clearly hear a whisper from 159 feet away on one of the platforms on the colossal ball court where the Mayans practiced this sport.
Duration: 3 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Holbox Island
It is one of the islands known for its paradisiacal landscapes of flora and fauna in the Yucatan Peninsula, Holbox has a very crystalline sea, different shades of blue, as well as a unique sand bank that allows you to walk inside the sea along the island. We will cross by boat which will take us to the island Pasion and Pájaros where we will cross and get off at the dock. We will give you free time to explore and get to know much more about this tropical paradise such as its gastronomy, marine species and colorful boats and houses. In the centre of the island you can find the famous lobster pizza which is one of the great attractions, as well as the local dessert called "Marquesita"
Duration: 4 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Due to the Covid19 restrictions is not possible to access to Chichen Itza. We offer you an alternative tour where you will visit a Mayan village
  • All visitors to Chichen Itza need to pay a local tax of $417 mxn or 24 USD. Only credit card payment the day of the tour or before by paypal.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • It is recommended that you wear comfortable clothing and shoes
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Amigo Tours Mexico

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive ?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive .
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive ?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive ?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive ?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive .
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive ?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Chichen Itzá & Holbox Exclusive .

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "From Cancun to Tulum, your looking at about a 2 hour drive, and from Cancun to Chichen Itza, about 3.5, so bring a travel pillow since they are kind of long rides" See review
  • "Early access is great especially during December vacation when there is a big influx of travellers." See review
  • "This is given to you around midday, by which time you've probably been up for eight hours leaving too early for hotel breakfast so, remember to bring your own food!!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
114 Reviews
5 stars
72
4 stars
21
3 stars
12
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 114 reviews
star-3
Not bad, but not early access
Colleen F
, Nov 2019
The guides were good, informative, they kept us in the shade as much as possible, and the transportation was on time and stress free. The only reason why we didn't give it 5 stars was because it really wasn't early access, you just arrive when the sites open after about 4 hours in the bus picking everyone up. Unfortunately, both times the tour guides started the tour, they moved us away from the popular areas, so when we finally had free time for pictures, the site was quite full with tourists. It would have been very nice to have had some free time to take photos first when it was quiet, then start the tour. We booked this early tour (leaving our condo at 4:30am) so that we could see the sites as empty as possible, but that just wasn't the case.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hello, Thank you very much for your comments; we are sorry you didn't have the best experience with us. We offer an apology. We would like to follow up on your case. Regards Amigo Group
star-5
Early Access to Chichén itza
siddiqui59
, Jul 2019
We booked this tour with viator and the communication good with the local tour operator (Amigo tour) via email picked up right time and drop off at our location. The guide Carlos with through knowledge and he doing this for a long time excellent explanation for the site and entire route. The only advice had some coffee if you drink and carry some snack because they serve while returning which is kind of late maybe because of schedule meet
star-1
A Horible Experience
Odyssey17614148187
, Jun 2019
Amigo Tours is unreliable and certainly not worthy of Viator. Unfortunately Viator did not respond to our complaint and simply said they checked with Amigo Tours. Of course they said they provided the service as advertised but that was not true. The guide barely spoke English and was not interested in helping the four English speaking participants. We got no tour and there was no archaeological guide. We were dropped off and left to fend for ourselves. We did not even go the second day since we could not find out what time we were going or where we would be picked up. It was a huge rip off and Viator refused to make good on it.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Hello, Thank you very much for your comments; we are sorry you didn't have the best experience with us. We offer an apology and assure you we're working to provide the best service for all our friends. Best regards, Amigo Group
star-3
Decent introduction; wish I booked different tours
sethsaith
, Apr 2019
Logistically everything worked out, but not without worry. They initially canceled my Tulum trip, then switched days. For Tulum, the van was 15 minutes late, so I was concerned. The tour guides, Cat for Tulum, Frank for Chichen Itza, we're knowledgeable and informative but not particularly friendly or warm. Both sites were incredible, but far too much time was spent talking while standing in place. SHOW THE RUINS. I appreciate the history lesson, genuinely, but was mainly there for the photography and not given enough time or insight. In Chichen, we weren't shown either the Caracol or Monjas, two of the prime sites. My vacation to Playa del Carmen is now over and I'm already looking at how to go again, just to go on better tours.
star-5
Well worth the early start
KennyDies
, Aug 2018
After a bit of confusion (my fault) we missed the pick up from the hotel as I mis read the time. The tour company were able to re-organise the following day for a small fee. Always responded to my emails (thanks for bearing with me).Both tours were amazing. Mary (Tulam) was knowledgeable and well organised. Marco (Chichen) was great, passionate, knowledgeable and was so fascinating we didn't even realise we had overrun on our time. The only oddity is that Marco said there were no sacrifices at Tulam and Mary said there were,I highly recommend the early tour. It is an early start but you sleep on the coach and looking at our photos it looks like we were the only people there. When we left Chitchen the temperature was creeping to a very uncomfortable level and the crowds were ramping upHigh recommend.
star-5
Excellent Early Access Tour with Fabulous Guide
allyson11156
, Aug 2018
We had the early access tour with Marco. I highly recommend it. He was incredibly knowledgeable, personable and very passionate about the ruins. He provided amazing information and insight that we just would not have gotten without an experienced archaeologist. It was also well worth the early trip to beat the crowds.
star-4
Chichen Itza was great and styling was ok
kburger2015
, Jul 2018
Chinchen Itza was fantastic. Our driver Raphael was great and our guide Marco was fantastic. Marco was terrific and kept the group interested and the tour went so quick. Wish we could have stayed longer. The next day we went Ron Tulum and the guide Abraham was horrible. He spoke for about 15 minutes and then left us to wander around by ourselves for over 2 hours. To me this was not a “guided” tour.
star-3
The first day was absolutely...
Ian G
, Jun 2018
The first day was absolutely fantastic. I got picked up promptly and transferred to a larger coach for the tour. About halfway through the journey Marco, our tour guide, gave us a fantastic intro to the Mayan civilisation, informing us of a lot of things that would then come up during his tour later on, so that he didn't have to explain everything while we were at the site. The tour was maybe a little too long, and we didn't get a lot of free time. We then went through a local marketplace-style area selling souvenirs to pick up the lunch and drove back to the hotel. A note about food: BRING YOUR OWN. The food bag consisted of a ham and cheese sandwich, small bag of chips containing milk, chocolate and a banana. No options for anything else. If you're veggie, vegan, lactose intolerant or don't eat pigs, you don't get to eat. If they're only going to have one option, it's probably a good idea to make it an option everyone can eat! This is given to you around midday, by which time you've probably been up for eight hours leaving too early for hotel breakfast so, remember to bring your own food!! The second day was a slightly later start. Same basic idea. About halfway through the tour Sara, our guide, started priming us, but unlike Marco this was nothing about the site - it was all rules and timings. Sara was enthusiastic but her accent is very difficult to understand through the intercom. The actual tour was zoomed through quite fast with much less detail than the day before, but you do get more free time to walk around. Again, the food was poor - delivery as you got on the bus at 6.30am, you got a chocolate bar and a small cereal bar. Thankfully, the day wasn't as long, and you're back by lunchtime, so it wasn't quite as bad! So, great first day, not as great second day, Tulum is lovely but TBH I'd probably recommend booking the Chicken Itza day on it's own and bringing your own food.
star-5
I really enjoyed the early access...
nram220
, May 2018
I really enjoyed the early access tours because there were less people at the sites and it was not as hot. It was a little difficult getting up in the morning. However, it is well worth it. For Chichen Itza we were done around 3:00pm and Tulum we were done around 1:30-2:00pm so we had plenty of time to hit the beach afterwards. The tour guide for Chichen Itza was Marcos and the driver was Carlos. Both were excellent. Marcos was very engaging and informative. I enjoyed listening to him and he did an amazing job interacting with us all and involving us during the tour. I recommend this tour especially if Marcos is the tour guide. The bagged lunch consisted of a sandwich chips fruit and a juice. Overall, the tour was great and I would highly recommend it. The tour guide for Tulum was Navarro and the driver was Carlos. Navarra was a good tour guide and very informative, not as engaging as I had hoped he would be but still a good tour guide. Carlos was a great driver. The views were amazing and if you are interested you have a little bit of time to walk down the coast. However, it would have been nice if we had some extra time to explore the coast more or get into the water as well. The bagged lunch consisted of juice carton, a bag of chips, and a sugar wafer. I was disappointed in the bagged lunch as I was very hungry getting picked up at 6:00am with no way to eat since the resort restaurant was not open at that time. Overall, the tour was great and I highly recommend it. Improvement would be needed in bagged lunch and if possible extra free time.
star-5
this is an amazing tour... i highly...
Juan G
, Mar 2018
this is an amazing tour... i highly recommend it.. very informative comfy transport beautiful scenary... it is absolutely worth it... and not crowds.... amazing

Product code: 5885CHITUMSUP

Explore Similar Things to Do