Recent Searches
Clear

Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour

star-4.573 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Bogotá, Colombia
Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Combine a trip out to Guatavita Lake with a visit to the Zipaquira Salt Cathedral with this full-day tour from Bogota. Round-trip transportation and admission to both attractions is included, and you'll have a little time left over to visit the town of Zipaquira before making your way back to Bogota.
  • Round-trip transportation from Bogota is included
  • Audio guides will be provided
  • All entry fees are included in the price of the tour
  • Group sizes are limited to 10 participants for a personal experience
Saved to wishlist!
Transportation Roundtrip (Spanish driver)
Audio guide (ES/EN) Salt Cathedral
Entrance Fees (Guatavita Lagoon - Salt Cathedral)
Fast track in Salt Cathedral (We recommend you to bring your own headphones with audio jack)
Insurance
Time for lunch
Biosecurity Kit
Guatativa just available in Spanish
Lunch
Snacks
English Guide
  • Cl. 16 #4-3 , Cl. 16 #4-3, Bogotá, Colombia

    Candelaria, Calle 16 # 4-3 in front of Juan Valdez Coffee . (7 am, first point). Find a driver with a red jacket and the City Bus Logo.

  • Cra. 11a #93a-10 , Cra. 11a #93a-10, Bogotá, Colombia

    Parque de la 93. Carrera 11a #93a-10 in front of Juan Valdez (8am, second point). Find a driver with a red jacket and the City Bus Logo.

  • This activity will end right where it started.
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Wear comfortable clothes, for cold and rain and walking shoes
    • Travelers should have a strong physical fitness level
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
    • OPERATED BY Bogota City Bus
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    • Face masks provided for travelers
    • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
    See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour?
    A:The policies on social distancing are:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
    See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
    See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "You will do a lot of walking and hiking so you might be exhausted after a long day." See review

    Reviews

    4.5
    star-4.5
    73 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    Showing 1-10 of 73 reviews
    star-4
    Very Good
    Dana_H
    , May 2022
    Was a very comprehensive and well executed tour. Only criticism is they did not advise of rain or provide umbrellas. We got SOAKED :)
    star-5
    Tours and the driver were excellent, I had a wonderful experience. That’s all I have to say….
    Fernando_P
    , May 2022
    Tours and the driver were excellent, I had a wonderful experience. That’s all I have to say…. Tours and the driver were excellent, I had a wonderful experience. That’s all I have to say…. Tours and the driver were excellent, I had a wonderful experience. That’s all I have to say….
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Holistic learning
    MARTHA_S
    , May 2022
    I really like this trip. It was a great experience. The Guatavita lake is an excellent park to go for a holistic walk.
    star-3
    Skip the park. Go to the cathedral.
    David_H
    , Apr 2022
    The salt Cathedral is wonderful. I would go back there again in a heartbeat. The Guatavita is beautiful. But they only had tours in Spanish which I knew before signing up. I wasn’t aware that the guy would be talking the entire time that we were walking. It was kind of disruptive to the peace of the place
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Great excursion. But non Spanish speaker beware
    JooTim_O
    , Apr 2022
    The salt cathedral was definitely a unique experience. Nothing like this and if you like modern interpretation then this one is for you Just abit about the tour. Our tour guide Carlos did his best to accommodate everyone. I went in knowing that no or little English is spoken. It will be hard for people that don’t speak Spanish on this tour. In the cathedral of salt y get an audio guide so that is not too bad but other places you are on your own We were lucky that the guide in Guatavita lagoon spoke English. And she did explain some to the rest of the English speaking group but officially she is not allowed to do so The views and the story of the lake is pretty interesting. And the flora is spectacular Definitely worth visiting
    star-4
    A visual spectacle
    Stanley_W
    , Apr 2022
    Excellent trip if you speak Spanish. We barely get by and the guide spoke no English. I was a visual spectacle and we still enjoyed it because we were lucky enough to have another traveler tell us the highlights of was was talked about.
    star-5
    Great guide and tour,...
    Arthur_G
    , Apr 2022
    Great guide and tour, defuntitely recomending it, good organisation. Prepare cash for the meal in a trodicional restaurant :)
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-2
    More of a transportation service than a guided tour
    Vanessa_R
    , Mar 2022
    We have done several tours I'm different countries and our experience has always been great! Unfortunately this has been the exception. We waited almost 40 minutes for people who didn't show up to the pick up stuff, so we were running behind schedule. Lunch ended up being at 3pm! The "tour guide" didn't really talk to the passengers. There was nothing in way of explanation about the places we were visiting or stories to share the Colombian culture, as it's the norm with these type of activities. The driver was pretty terrible and the van kept stalling on the hills. He clearly wasn't really used to driving this vehicle. We could have hired a taxi or an uber and just asked to be dropped off at the Cathedral and the lake, because that is basically all the service we received.
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
    Vanessa Thanks for your comment. however, our service has no service compared with a taxi/uber. we have many more added values. In Guatavita (attraction) they do not allow guides in English and that is the reason for less communication there, however we have designed the audio guides help english speakers. At description in this tour it is said. Regarding the logistics of the people, it was not 40 minutes that you waited, I know that waiting is complex in these group tours but that day was something special because there was a person who could not walk well and was slower than normal, so the group decided to have a little more patience with this person. Regarding the driver's way of driving, it is difficult to judge the handling, perhaps you felt a lot of jump on the road but the point is that the road is like that, what's more you can't even fast because it's a narrow road and you go to the speed you can go. However we apologize for this and we regret the non-compliance. In Bogotá this year there are some public works going out and this has greatly limited the times. Weekends also increase traffic, let's say that the issue of arriving so late that day was the union of several elements. But it is not that the logistics have gotten out of hand. It is a Tour that has been tested by hundreds of clients with excellent comments and in terms of quality/price rating. On another occasion, we recommend the private tours that we also have in the company: with a guide in your language, with the same benefit of the preference rows, insurance, exclusive transportation, and much more. Of course the value is higher. The advantage: just for you! These tours are also tested by hundreds of people and with excellent results, we manage government tours, special guests and many well-known and important people and we have not had any complaints.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-1
    Aside from the fact that...
    Fredric_D
    , Mar 2022
    Aside from the fact that no one spoke English the trip was constantly delayed. We were supposed to be back by 5 and got back at 9. The tour opertors were nice, but did not have things together
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
    Fredic, Thanks for your comment. This year it is complicated to manage the times due to the fact that many public works are carried out and this has made it difficult to comply with the promised times. However, we have increased this promise in order to avoid this kind of comments. Before 6-7 hour, today is 9-10. We apologize for the extra delay. Today we have preferential rows, can you imagine? at lunch also with many advantages in restaurants. Our big issue is the time people spend at attraction, on group tours is the key and we have emphasized but sometimes people take more time and we sincerely do not want to leave them. Believe us, as soon as the person does not arrive on time, we try to contact them by all different channels because we know the complexity for the rest of the group. There is a huge logistical work behind it, it is arduous but we also depend of the same clients. We are going to be more stricter. On some occasions when we have a guide inside the cathedral, it has also been difficult for him/her to keep the group together because of the number of people inside and because each persona wants to do different activities there. Thank you very much for your comment, a little unfair if you put yourself in our shoes, believe me we do our best to provide the best experience. 99% of the tours we don't have any problems, from what we say, tourists also collaborate with all.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-4
    wonderful experience
    Farida_G
    , Feb 2022
    our family very m much enjoyed this day trip. the walk to the laguna was a bit difficult for my mother but we were able to take our time and pace ourselves to the top.

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour
    Full-Day Guatavita and Salt Cathedral - Daily and group tour

    star-4.573

    10 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $80.00

    star-539

    7 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $60.00

    star-3.52

    10 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $78.00

    star-532

    4 hours 20 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $130.00

    star-4.5149

    6 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $60.00

    star-4.541

    8 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $199.00

    star-514

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $185.00

    Explore Similar Things to Do