Recent Searches
Clear

*Popular Cruise Ship Tour* Bay of Islands and Glow Worm Caves Small-Group Tour

star-4.580 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
North Island, New Zealand
*Popular Cruise Ship Tour* Bay of Islands and Glow Worm Caves Small-Group Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

When your ship docks in Waitangi Wharf, explore the beautiful Bay of Islands and see the best of New Zealand’s spectacular North Island. Travel through the Bay of Islands with your guide and take in top attractions including Kawakawa and the Kawiti glowworm caves. Explore the Puketi Forest’s rich ecological diversity, sample New Zealand sweet treats at the Makana Chocolate Factory, and gaze out over the Haruru Falls and the Waitangi River.
  • Tour of the Bay of Islands in New Zealand’s North Island
  • Delve into the subterranean Kawiti glowworm caves with your guide
  • Hike into the Puketi Forest, and learn of native New Zealand animal and plant species
  • Take New Zealand chocolate at the Makana Chocolate Factory
  • Spectacular views over the Haruru Falls and the Waitangi River
  • Includes round-trip travel from Waitangi Wharf
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Port pickup and drop-off
Chocolate-tasting
Local taxes
Bottled water
Live commentary on board
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food and Drinks
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Bay of Islands , Bay of Islands, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

We will be waiting at the end of the Waitangi Wharf - where your tender boats drop you with a sign saying "Bay of Islands Tours" If you are staying at a hotel - please list your hotel name when booking so we can pick you up from reception.

Waitangi Wharf
9:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.Please advise what hotel you are staying at if you require pick up from your accommodation. For Cruise ship passengers: We will pick you up from the Waitangi Wharf - this is where your tender boats drop you. If you walk to the end of the wharf we will be there with a sign and your name on the manifest. Please try to arrive 15 minutes before scheduled departure time for check in.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • 100% refund will be issued if your ship can't make it into port due to weather conditions.
  • If your ship is scheduled to arrive after 9.30am - the tour departure time will automatically adjust to depart 1 hour after your arrival time - you can email to confirm this after booking.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bay Of Islands Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during *Popular Cruise Ship Tour* Bay of Islands and Glow Worm Caves Small-Group Tour ?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by *Popular Cruise Ship Tour* Bay of Islands and Glow Worm Caves Small-Group Tour .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during *Popular Cruise Ship Tour* Bay of Islands and Glow Worm Caves Small-Group Tour ?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by *Popular Cruise Ship Tour* Bay of Islands and Glow Worm Caves Small-Group Tour .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Even with a full tour, the bus was very comfortable." See review
  • "I would definitely recommend this company for a small group tour in this beautiful region." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
80 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 80 reviews
star-1
the tour that never happened
Bryan_C
, Apr 2021
Our tour was cancelled at 6pm the night before the tour, I think we should have been given more notice. The tour operators must have known well before then that they didn't have enough people booked to make the tour go ahead. I am hoping that we get a full refund so we can use the money for something else.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Hi Bryan, It was a shame and we are sorry that we had to cancel the tour, we know how disappointing this can be especially when you were really looking forward to it. As it was Easter weekend we were hopeful there would be more interest but unfortunately our tour is more appealing to international travellers (as you can see from our previous reviews, this tour was our most popular when the borders were open) As per our phone conversation, you will absolutely get a full refund for this. This is processed though Viator as they don’t release the funds to us until a month after the date of the tour so they will be in the process of this now. We really apologise, we know a cancelled tour can be disappointing, however please trust that after an extremely challenging 12 months with business (or lack there of) we wish we had more business and the tour could have gone ahead just as much as you hoped. A 1 star review can be really damaging for our ratings and we hoped that travellers would be more understanding in such uncertain times for tour operators.
star-4
Great Small Group Tour in Bay of Islands NZ
Rosemary_B
, Mar 2020
We enjoyed our day with Matt who is very friendly and informative. On leaving our cruise ship and arriving at the appointed meeting place we were a little confused to find no sign of Matt or the tour bus. One of the many friendly locals made a phone call to Matt's wife Chloe who arrived within minutes and explained that Matt was collecting passengers from a different cruise ship and would be along shortly, so this put our minds at ease. Our trip with Matt was great although the Glow Worm caves were a little disappointing. We loved seeing the amazing giant and ancient Kauri trees in the Waipoua Forest and the drive through the fruit orchards as well as the lunch stop at a great Bakery. I would definitely recommend this company for a small group tour in this beautiful region. Thanks again Matt.
star-3
Glow Please
Galen_U
, Mar 2020
Disappointed in the glow worms. Weren't anything like the pictures. Few and far between. I was more impressed with the caves themselves. Rest of the tour was great. Tour guide was very good.
star-5
A great end to our Viator tours of New Zealand.
Michael_C
, Mar 2020
"Nick from Liverpool" was an excellent tour guide. He had a wonderful sense of humor and was extremely informative. My wife and I thought the glow worm cave was fascinating and was a highlight to the tour. I also had a great chowder for lunch. The visit to the chocolate factory was also wonderful. All the Viator tours were great, but we were disappointed that the Dunedin tour was cancelled due to the Ovation cancelling this stop on our cruise. We are hoping this tour will be refunded as the ship was responsible for the cancellation.
star-5
Bay of Islands tour was excellent
Thomas_B
, Feb 2020
Our guide, Nick, was fantastic! Made the day feel like he was enjoying it as much as we were. His enthusiasm was contagious. Took us to some unique and local experiences.
star-5
Excellent excursion
Lawrence_W
, Feb 2020
Our driver was very informative and made it a very relaxing ride. The tour was awesome and we were given adequate time at each stop.
star-3
Glow worm caves
GERALD_K
, Feb 2020
Matt - our driver was 5 star- cave of worms was nothing special for the 1 plus hour to get there - "buy the postcard" - no pictures allowed also- Van was comfortable - I sat up front - best roomy seat- stop other sights - water falls- chocolate factory ( no tour but some free samples expensive candy but very good - also authentic Maroi shop of hand made items next door also expensive-15-30 minute walk thru forest- got back to ship in time for about 1 hour of shopping near town- only annoying issue was fellows passenger were continually late back to bus
star-5
Great Bay of Islands tour with Dyson
Michael_S
, Feb 2020
I booked this excursion not knowing what it might include that I hadn't seen in the previous seven shore stops but I was so glad to find each stop different. From the Glow worm caves; Kuari Forest; waterfalls; chocolate factory and wood working shop. Dyson made it fun and very informative and kept us ahead of the larger buses of people so our small group could enjoy the day instead of waiting in long lines on a busy Cruise ship day.
star-5
Best tour
Steven_B
, Feb 2020
Nick was a great tour guide was very informative totally recommend this tour. This was a small group tour so it was not rushed. Got back in plenty of time to embark our ship.
star-3
Glow worms and food
Cheryl_M
, Feb 2020
Our guide was nice friendly fellow. We have been to different caves seeing the stalagmites before so the glow worms were the star of the excursion for us. While we did see there glow it was disappointing that we didn’t get a closer view. They are up on the ceiling of the cave which is quite high above you. The bakery stop for lunch was good and who can say anything bad about a chocolate factory!!! It was interesting to see the forest and we were grateful we weren’t participating in the big tour getting the long stories about the trees and such. The waterfall is a waterfall but not what we were expecting. All and all it was a good day.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
*Popular Cruise Ship Tour* Bay of Islands and Glow Worm Caves Small-Group Tour
*Popular Cruise Ship Tour* Bay of Islands and Glow Worm Caves Small-Group Tour

star-4.580

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$137.75

star-52

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$137.75

star-55

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$255.82

star-5157

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$91.83

star-42

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$161.47

star-3.53

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$104.28

star-41

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$194.16

star-00

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$255.82

star-00

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$275.50

Explore Similar Things to Do