Recent Searches
Clear

Montserrat Half-Day Tour with Tapas and Gourmet Wines

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Barcelona, Spain
Montserrat Half-Day Tour with Tapas and Gourmet Wines

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore one of the cornerstones of Catalan culture and history on this small-group tour to Montserrat. See the Montserrat Monastery, home to the famous "Black Madonna," and then follow a guide through the vineyards of Oller del Mas, a winery housed in a 10th-century castle. Descend into the cellars to learn about the production methods, and sample signature wines alongside a cold tapas lunch with dessert.
  • Montserrat wine-tasting tour from Barcelona with a guide
  • Taste exquisite wines and learn about the winemaking process
  • Cold tapas lunch with dessert included
  • Small-group tour limited to 16 people ensures a more personalized experience

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Sip organic wines, not just Cava, on this small-group Montserrat and boutique winery tour.
Saved to wishlist!
Shared transportation in a comfortable air-conditioned bus
Local English-speaking guide
Guided visit to Montserrat Monastery (1 hour)
Around one hour free time at Montserrat
Guided visit to a boutique winery
Three wine tasting
Cold tapas lunch with dessert
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Estación del Norte , Carrer d'Alí Bei, 78, 08013 Barcelona, Spain

Castlexperience Office (1st Floor - Section B - Ticket office A, B or C) Estación de autobuses Barcelona Nord (North Bus Station) (5 min walk from Arc de Triomf) YOU MUST CHECK-IN IN THE FIRST FLOOR BEFORE GOING TO THE BUSES AREA (GROUND FLOOR)

8:45 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Meet your guide in central Barcelona and relax during the scenic journey to Montserrat.

Travel first to the Montserrat Monastery, located just outside central Barcelona. Montserrat is considered to be the cornerstone of Catalan culture, history, nature, and spirituality. Learn more about the area from your guide as you tour the atrium and the Basilica, inside of which sits the "Black Madonna." You also see the 15th-century cloister and Santa Maria square.

Continue to Oller de Mas, a 10th-century castle now home to a successful winery. Walk through the vineyards alongside your guide, and then tour the barrel room and production area to discover more about manufacturing methods. 

At the end of the tour, sample fine Spanish wines, complemented by a selection of tapas with dessert. As you taste, your tour guide reveals the secrets behind the wine.

After a relaxing day of wine and sightseeing, return to Barcelona in the afternoon.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Estacio del Nord
Castlexperience Office (1st Floor - Section B - Ticket office A, B or C) Estación de autobuses Barcelona Nord (North Bus Station) Carrer d'Alí Bei, 80 (5 min from Arc de Triomf) * YOU MUST CHECK-IN IN THE FIRST FLOOR BEFORE GOING TO THE BUSES AREA (GROUND FLOOR)
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Abadia de Montserrat
Enjoy a guided tour in Montserrat and visit all the highlights of the monastery by the hand of your local tour guide. You will then enjoy some free time to a palate some traditional foods made by Montserrat monks or farmers, as well as soaking in this special place where nature, culture and spirituality meet. Meet your tour guide again to get on board for the second part of the tour. Oller del Mas cellar awaits!
Duration: 2 hours 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Oller del Mas
Oller del Mas is not a common winery – its superb ecological wines have earned plenty of awards in the recent years. In fact, one of its wines won the “Best Wine in Catalonia” award in 2018. But the cellar is not only special for its wines. You will take a stroll by the vineyards, learn how the wine is made, and discover all of its secrets. *We work daily with different low-production, family-owned boutique wineries. Due to logistic reasons, you might visit another cellar instead of Oller del Mas.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Castlexperience Office (1st Floor - Section B - Ticket office A, B or C) Estación de autobuses Barcelona Nord (North Bus Station) Carrer d'Alí Bei, 80 (5 min from Arc de Triomf) PLEASE, YOU MUST CHECK-IN IN THE FIRST FLOOR BEFORE GOING TO THE BUSES AREA (GROUND FLOOR)
  • Tour starts at 8:45 a.m. Please arrive at the meeting point 20 min before the start of the tour
  • There is a limit of 18-20 people per guide, although transportation will be shared with other groups.
  • Comfortable clothes and shoes are recommended as there is some walking involved.
  • Temperatures in Montserrat and the winery tend to be more extreme than in Barcelona. Please check the weather forecast the day before and dress accordingly. We advise bringing water, especially in the summer season. 
  • Infants aged 3 or less may join the tour free of charge, but note that no car seat or meals are provided.
  • If you have reduced mobility, please contact us before booking. We do our best to welcome everyone on board!
  • We cater for any dietary allergies or restrictions – no need to warn us beforehand.
  • Montserrat is a Natural Park a very highlighted cultural destination that can't be entirely explored in a single tour. Your experience includes some free time in Montserrat. If you would like to spend extra time in Montserrat, please check with your guide upon arrival.
  • We work daily with different low-production, family-owned boutique wineries. Due to logistic reasons, you might visit another cellar instead of Oller del Mas.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Our company is composed of a deeply committed team of people. We are working hard in our team, and with all our partners, to be up to the current circumstances. When operating, all our services will abide by all health and security policies issued by the competent administrations. Our top priority is and will be ensuring a safe environment for all our customers and our team.
  • The tour is led in English.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Castlexperience Wine Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Montserrat Half-Day Tour with Tapas and Gourmet Wines?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Montserrat Half-Day Tour with Tapas and Gourmet Wines.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Montserrat Half-Day Tour with Tapas and Gourmet Wines?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Montserrat Half-Day Tour with Tapas and Gourmet Wines.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "if You are into Religious Pilgrimage, this tour can be of very high value indeed, due the presence of the called Black Mary statue, within the Basilica of MontSerrat." See review
  • "Easy to find the tour meeting place in the square!" See review
  • "Montserrat is stunning and the walk to the cross is recommended (although tiring!" See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
1,476 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 1,476 reviews
star-4
A good tour away from the city - 31 May 2022
Nidale_T
, Jul 2022
The tour consists of several small groups each with 1 guide. We 1st visited Montserrat which was absolutely amazing. It offered great views, there was a souvenir shop where you could do liquor tasting (recommended - it was 3 euros for 4 tasting) and there was also a restaurant. After a somewhat short stay we departed to Oller Del Mas winery for 3 wine tasting and cold tapas. Our guide Mariana was great explaining the different wines in a special lit room; but, the cold tapas were sadly below average. Overall, fun tour but we wished we had more time at Montserrat than the winery.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Nidale, First of all, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in such a beautiful way. Mariana is also going to love these nice words. So sorry to hear that the tapas disappointed you, I have to say this is not the feedback we usually receive. But, as you know, food is always a matter of taste:) In any case, we are sorry the winery part it didn't meet your expectations. Hope you come to see us anytime you visit Barcelona. Best wishes, Castlexperience team
star-5
100% recommend
Sidney_M
, Jul 2022
The trip was simply beautiful! My partner and I were amazed by the history of the monastery and the beautiful of the natural mountain scape. The wine tour was fun and we had great food!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Sidney, Thank you for your stunning review as for your recent visit to our tour. Your wonderful words encourage us to continue working hard to fulfill visitors’ experiences and make them live a memorable day. We would love to welcome you again if you come back to Barcelona. Thank you for recommending us! Kind regards, Castlexperience team
star-5
Magical
Tatiana_D
, Jul 2022
Absolutely amazing tour. I wish we could have stayed longer in Monserrat, it was a bit too rushed for me. The wine tour portion was lovely but the wine company seemed unprepared for us but the food was great. Again a fantastic tour I don’t regret a thing!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Tatiana, Thank you for your stunning review as for your recent visit to our tour. Sorry that you had the perception of the winery being unprepared, as we do, they always try their best! We would love to welcome you again if you come back to Barcelona. Kind regards, Castlexperience team
star-5
UNMISSABLE!
Constantine_M
, Jun 2022
Great trip. Our guide, Anays is excellent: knowledgeable, informative and humorous, including the winery part. She made the trip very enjoyable. The road up to the monastery is stunning but not one for those afraid of heights, but the drivers are excellent. The drive down being particularly gentle, careful...and appreciated! Very glad we chose to do this trip.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Constantine, Thank you for your kind words about our tour and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time. We appreciate your great comments regarding our wonderful guide Anays. Please rest assured your comments will be passed among our guide. We would love to welcome you again and thank you for recommending us! Warm regards, Castlexperience Team
star-5
Fun in Montserrat
MARIE_B
, Jun 2022
The whole trip was amazing! Our guide, Tony, was very nice and accomodating. He gave us useful tips on how to further enjoy our time at Montserrat. The wine tasting and tapas in the castLe were excellent! We had fun!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Marie, What a great review! We are absolutely thrilled with your very kind words and proud to hear such wonderful things about our guides, especially about Toni. We will pass along your compliments. Thank you for trusting our experiences and sharing a day with us! All the best and see you soon :) Castlexperience Team
star-5
Montserrat and Winery
Edwin_C
, Jun 2022
Excellent guide! Mariana was fantastic! She was informative, professional and spoke clearly. The tour was well organised and trouble free.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Edwin, On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our tours. We are very happy to read you enjoyed the tour as much as you enjoyed your guide’s work. Please rest assured your comments will be passed on to Mariana. Warm regards, Castlexperience Team
star-5
Delicious and fun
Gabrielle_S
, Jun 2022
Very knowledgable tour guides. Great food and fantastic vineyard discovery. Would have loved to have more time in each location (especially the vineyard since we only had 20 minutes after the food and wine tasting. An extra half hour/45 minutes in Monserrat would have been nice too).
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Gabrielle, Thanks for your review, we do appreciate that very much. TripAdvisor and its community wouldn't exist without people like you, who take the time to write comments about their experiences. We are sorry to see that you are a little bit disappointed with the amount of time you did spend in Montserrat, we do offer 4 different tours to Montserrat, with different times and itineraries trying to ensure people could choose whatever they prefer, and you booked one of the shorter ones. However, we would love to welcome again on one of our longer tours if you ever come back to Barcelona :) Kind regards, Castlexperience team
star-1
Fake.tour
kumada2010aug
, Jun 2022
There are many tours to {moncerate and winenary) I dont recommend this company. I have severL experience for winetour includind local sightseeing in several countrys in Eourope. On view of breif inforamtion in web on viater, they wrote its including lunch and have chance to have taste Cava. But actuallt no lunch, their lunch meaning small amount of tapas and no knife&folk setting. And tour guide herself expained about wine quality and never met distillars speciallisr. Im very dissapointed. Moncerate we had much time about 2 hours. But she did not ask to look at Black maria nearby. I checked the posobility with inforamation person to can enter the route to look at Maria. He answrred one hour later you can book. But free time was one hour, i gave up.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Kumada, We are sorry for not meeting your expectations on this tour. We are a company that aims to provide nice and friendly tours and it is very clear we have not met your expectations on this tour. We do understand your frustration for not having spent more time in Montserrat, since there are so many things to do and see. As a matter of fact, it is not uncommon for people to stay there for a few days and still not being able to do everything. Montserrat is a Natural Park and a very highlighted cultural destination that can't be entirely explored in a single tour. I would love to mention also that you went on our half day tour (that has to be back in Barcelona early, so providing more time in Montserrat is practically impossible) but from what I am reading it sounds like the full day tour, which offers more than two hours of free time, would have been a better choice in your case. When it comes to food, the tour you chose is advertised as a tapas/brunch tour with the possibility to have a 3 course lunch for an extra. Maybe again, you would have enjoyed this other tour better. I am deeply sorry for not being able to show you beforehand our different options to Montserrat so could have chose the right tour for you. For those Tripadvisor readers, on our section FaQ in Castlexperience website there is a section where you can see the differences among our tours as we do offer 5 different tours to Montserrat, where we let our customers be able to choose among different times and itineraries. On behalf of the whole company, I would like to apologize once again for not providing you with the outstanding experience that we aim for. Kind regards, Víctor Janer Tour Director Castlexperience
star-5
Great day tour!
Emily_J
, Jun 2022
Monserrat was beautiful and worth a trip! Wine tasting was a great experience. Lots of information and we had a great tour guide, Pol.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Emily, First of all, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in such a beautiful way. Pol is also going to love these nice words. Your opinion and the fact that you enjoyed the tour that much are extremely important to us. Hope you come to see us anytime you visit Barcelona. Best wishes, Castlexperience team
star-5
Awesome trip with incredible guide
srinivasduggirala
, Jun 2022
Beautiful serene monastery and chapel at Montserrat. The wine yard was also very chill and the tapas lunch superb. The best part of the trip was our guide, however - Mariana! She kept us entertained (and educated) throughout the journey while also giving us the time to take in the sights! Would definitely recommend her/this trip!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear traveler, On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our tours. We are very happy to read you enjoyed the tour as much as you enjoyed your guide’s work. Please rest assured your comments will be passed on to Mariana. Warm regards, Castlexperience Team
star-4
Great tour!
Kate_M
, Jun 2022
Montserrat is beautiful, but maybe a bit touristey. The basilica is also beautiful, but you don't get to go close to the Black Madonna without buying a special ticket. The winery was by far the best, and I felt that the tour guide knew more about the wines then the tour of Montserrat. The wines were amazing and so were the tapas.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Kate, On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our tours. We are very happy to read you enjoyed the tour, especially Oller del Mas. We are sorry the Montserrat part didn't meet your expectations that much. Montserrat some days is very crowded as it is a very famous destination here in Catalonia, and this can lead sometimes to a mass tourism, but this doesn't stop us to operate successfully our tours. I would love to say that the tour you chosen (Montserrat half day and tapas tour) it has a shorter explanation on Montserrat than our full day tour, so we think that could be the reason of you feeling that the information given at the wineyard was more than the monastery. Kind regards, Castlexperience team
star-5
Informative and fun day trip
Theodore_R
, Jun 2022
Wonderful experience. Our guide, Merak, was very informative and always had a joke to tell. Montserrat is very pretty and the wine and tapas were delicious.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Theodore, On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our tours. We are very happy to read you enjoyed the tour as much as you enjoyed your guide’s work. Please rest assured your comments will be passed on to Merak. Warm regards, Valeria M. Castlexperience Team
star-5
Must do if you like fun
Rosario_D
, Jun 2022
This was a fun tour! Pep was our guide and he did a great job at explaining and showing us the beauty of the monastery of Monserrat. The tapas and wine time at the vineyard were nice. Worth it!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Rosario, What a great review! We are absolutely thrilled with your very kind words and proud to hear such wonderful things about our guides, especially about Pep. We will pass along your compliments. Thank you for trusting our experiences and sharing a day with us! All the best and see you soon :) Castlexperience Team
star-5
Amazing trip lead my an...
Kate_H
, Jun 2022
Amazing trip lead my an amazing tour guide Daniel, so much fun and great recommendations. Would highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Kate, Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your tour with Daniel! He is an awesome tour guide who really knows how to connect with his guests. I hope the rest of your time in Barcelona was equally great! Have a great day, Valeria M. Castlexperience team
star-5
Excellent half-day trip
Samantha_K
, Jun 2022
Super nice tour! We got to explore the monastery and learn some of the history. Then, we had enough free time to do a short hike up to a beautiful view of Barcelona and eat some free cheese at the farmer’s market. The tapas and wine tasting at the end were amazing as well, even for vegetarians! Our tour guide Nuria was amazing!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Samantha, Thank you for sharing such a positive review on Tripadvisor. It is always inspiring for all our team members to know that we succeeded on our efforts to fulfill your expectations. We are very happy to hear that you loved Montserrat and you had a wonderful time with Nuria. Please rest assured we will pass your comments along. We are very much looking forward to welcome you back in our tours. Warm Regards, Valeria M. Castlexperience Team
star-5
A fun day
mattwilliamson_w
, Jun 2022
Great time, good value. Friendly and fun staff. I recommend visiting the art museum next to the basilica.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear traveler, Thank you for your stunning review as for your recent visit to our tour. Your wonderful words encourage us to continue working hard to fulfill visitors’ experiences and make them live a memorable day. We would love to welcome you again if you come back to Barcelona. Thank you for recommending us! Kind regards, Castlexperience team
star-5
Very impressed!
Micah_Z
, Jun 2022
My family and I really enjoyed this tour. The trip was well organized, with time dedicated to the guided tour and enough time set aside to wander the area by ourselves. Our guide Dani was wonderful. He was exceptionally knowledgeable and fun. He definitely elevated the tour up a notch or two! We would highly recommend this tour!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Micah, Thank you for your kind words about our tour and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time. We appreciate your great comments regarding our wonderful guide Dani. Please rest assured your comments will be passed among our guide. We would love to welcome you again and thank you for recommending us! Warm regards, Valeria M. Castlexperience Team
star-5
A must-do
Lacey_S
, Jun 2022
I had a wonderful time on this tour. Montserrat was incredible! For me, this tour was plenty of time to see everything I wanted to see, but you could easily spend many hours here. Our guide provided a lot of interesting history and seemed very knowledgeable. The other guests in the group were very friendly. Overall, it was a great day!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear traveler, Thank you for your stunning review as for your recent visit to our tour. Your wonderful words encourage us to continue working hard to fulfill visitors’ experiences and make them live a memorable day. We would love to welcome you again if you come back to Barcelona. Thank you for recommending us! Kind regards, Valeria M. Castlexperience team
star-5
Fantastic experience
Lewis_J
, Jun 2022
The tour guide, Pol, was excellent and did a great job of sharing his extensive experience and knowledge with the group. The trip was a wonderful combination of learning, sightseeing, and wine tasting that I would recommend to anybody visiting Catalonia.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Lewis, Thank you for your kind words about our tour and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time. We appreciate your great comments regarding our wonderful guide Pol. Please rest assured your comments will be passed among our guide. We would love to welcome you again and thank you for recommending us! Warm regards, Valeria M. Castlexperience Team
star-5
Five stars!
loco29
, Jun 2022
Had an amazing time with our tour guide Merak. He did an outstanding job. Thanks for everything!! Be ready to walk a lot in Monserrat in case you decide to take your IG pic at the cross.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello traveler! Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback :) We are very happy to read you enjoyed the tour and will make sure that Merak knows that his charm, knowledge and hosting skills didn’t go unnoticed! Kind regards, Valeria M. Castlexperience team

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Montserrat Half-Day Tour with Tapas and Gourmet Wines
Montserrat Half-Day Tour with Tapas and Gourmet Wines

star-51474

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$84.75

star-51942

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$111.25

star-571

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$68.90

star-5145

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$72.08

star-548

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$142.04

star-4.588

4 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$41.34

star-41272

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$58.30

star-4129

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$104.94
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations