Recent Searches
Clear

Get Lost in Athens with an Insider

star-4.514 Reviews
|
Athina, Greece
14

From $30.47 / person

Price details

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee
1 Adult
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance

icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Experience the delights of eclectic Athens on a tour that includes bustling markets, ancient marvels and traditional coffeehouses. Explore the vibrant neighborhoods of Psiri and Kolonaki; browse the stalls at Monastiraki flea market and Athens Public Market; and admire ancient sites like Kerameikos Cemetery and the Temple of Hephaestus. Along the way, discover bold street art, foodie hotspots, handicrafts workshops and secret local hangouts.

Additional Details

  • Insider tour of Athens
  • Get off-the-beaten-track in neighborhoods like Psiri and Kolonaki
  • Experience local life as you explore markets, coffeehouses, and street art galleries
  • Pass historic sites like Kerameikos Cemetery and the Temple of Hephaestus
  • Get the inside scoop from a local Athens guide
  • Several departure times available throughout the day
  • Experience the real Athens, beyond the top attractions
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Greek coffee in a hidden traditional coffee shop
Guaranteed to skip the long lines
Drinks
Food and drinks
Food and drinks, unless specified
Lunch
Gratuities

Departure Point

Monastiraki, Athina, Greece

Departure Time

9:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Meet your guide in Monastiraki Square in the heart of the historic city to begin your Insider Tour of Athens. Jump right in and immerse yourself in local life as you browse the stalls of Athens Flea Market, the city’s largest and busiest market.

Pass by the ancient ruins of the Theseion, or the Temple of Hephaestus, and the Kerameikos Cemetery, and marvel at Athens’ striking juxtaposition of the old and new as you continue through the lively Psiri district. As you explore the vibrant neighborhood, stop to admire some of the city’s most impressive street art and learn how the art form has its roots in ancient Greece.

After exploring the bars, galleries and crafts workshops of Psiri, head north to the Exarheia neighborhood, the center of Athens’ student quarter. Make a beeline for Athens Central Market and lose yourself amid the colorful stalls and throngs of locals. Stop to browse the produce, learn about delicious Greek cuisine and browse the myriad herbs and spices, then duck into a hidden coffee shop for a traditional Greek coffee (included). Along the way, listen as your guide points out popular stalls, unique buys and little-known cafés and restaurants, and make a note to return at a later date.

Finally, head to Kolonaki, Athens’ artistic quarter and main shopping center, located on the slopes of Lykabettus hill. Your walking tour ends here, so bid your guide farewell and continue exploring independently or take the opportunity to hit the shops.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Monastiraki
Introduction
Pass By:  
Ancient Agora of Athens
Description of its role during the Antiquity, foto opportunities
Pass By:  
Kerameikos Cemetery
the Ancient Cemetery, the Holocaust Monument, the Jewish Synagogue
Pass By:  
Psirri
Street Art, Urban Culture
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Dress code is casual
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Urban Athens Collective

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Get Lost in Athens with an Insider?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Get Lost in Athens with an Insider.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Get Lost in Athens with an Insider?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Get Lost in Athens with an Insider.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Get Lost in Athens with an Insider?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Get Lost in Athens with an Insider.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Get Lost in Athens with an Insider?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Get Lost in Athens with an Insider.

Still Have Questions?


Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
14 Reviews
3 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews
star-2
It’s a great tour BUT….
Lynn_L
, Jun 2021
Everything on the tour was special and most areas I never would have seen on my own., but I could not understand the guide. She was warm and engaging and knows her information .It would have been perfect if her English was better.She even said if we didn’t understand( she had to wear a mask) she would talk louder, but that wasn’t the problem.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for taking time for reviewing us. We understand that we couldn't met everybody expectations, but Helen is one of our most experienced guides. She always does her best she does always this tour and has the best reviews. and except few moments that you were with her in crowded and noisy places, that probably this was created a problem and you didn't probably hear her very well. In any case when you will be again in Athens you are welcome to join another tour with us.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Must seen
MiguelAngel_R
, Mar 2020
Helena was a wonderful guide with a very good knowledge about street art and also about arqueology. If you’re planning to visit Athens I would recommend to do this tour
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Nice closure for Athens
carmenavrouskine
, Dec 2019
Our guide was a nice snd knowledgeable lady, showed us a different yet interesting side of Athens, it was a good closure for our short visit in Athens. Well done!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
One of my favorite tour, it's really...
nadim-6
, Sep 2018
One of my favorite tour, it's really helpful to be with an Insider, Dionysis was a great great guide! Thank you again for the tour, efaristo! :D
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
We were the only people on the trip...
Gretchen H
, Feb 2018
We were the only people on the trip and our guide was awesome. We went to areas that most tourist do not go, saw a lot and felt we got to know the true Athens. Went to a wonderful out of the tourist area for a drink and our guide gave us information about Athens that was interesting and educational. We will always remember this tour and guide.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Sorry did not do this tour because...
Genevieve L
, Aug 2017
Sorry did not do this tour because it was soooooo hot in Greece temps above 100 I knew I pass out from the heat maybe next trip : . I will rate it a four star
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
We did the get lost in Athens with...
Rod S
, Jul 2017
We did the get lost in Athens with Dionysus. He is very knowledgeable and fun to be with. Excellent tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
So much fun! Wound up being a...
Lynn F
, May 2017
So much fun! Wound up being a private tour. It was great wandering around the interesting flea markets and back areas of Athen. Would recommend to all.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
We enjoyed the tour on our first...
Karen D
, Apr 2017
We enjoyed the tour on our first full day in Athens as it helped give us our bearings and we probably saw places that we would not have seen otherwise. The tour consisted of just my husband and me and our tour guide so that was ideal too. The only criticism we had was that we would have liked to have learned more about the history of Athens in particular and Greece in general. I didn't feel as if we got as much in the way of history and stories. It was much more of a tour of walking from place to place. Our guide was nice and spoke English fairly well but it just wasn't quite as good as some other Viator tours we have taken.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
This is a most! The guide provides...
Luis D
, Jun 2016
This is a most! The guide provides an incredible insigigh on the city and will give you information that no one and no book would. She was also incredible generous with her time and wrote to us to give us additional tips that made our trip fantastic
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Product code: 25951P4

Explore Similar Things to Do