Recent Searches
Clear

We’re committed to helping you feel confident as you get back out there. Check out our flexible cancellation policies and learn what steps operators are taking to keep you safe. As conditions evolve, check local regulations for the latest information.

Read More

Amsterdam Alternative Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

|
Amsterdam, Netherlands

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Get a flavor of Amsterdam’s famous coffee-shop culture on a walking tour with a local guide. Stroll through Amsterdam's narrow lanes and squares and dip two bohemian coffee shops to enjoy the laid-back atmosphere, savor delicious local snacks (own expense), and learn about the history and cannabis culture in the city. Upgrade to include more coffee shops, food tastings, and neighborhoods.
  • Amsterdam coffee shop culture walking tour
  • Visit coffee shops to learn about the history of cannabis in the city
  • Enjoy complimentary food tastings along the way
  • Upgrade to visit more coffee shops and neighborhoods
The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Amsterdam Alternative Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Amsterdam Alternative Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "And absolutely DO NOT purchase the 30 minute add on as it was a total waste of money." See review
  • "Not too much, but let's you go at your own pace!" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
83 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
star-1
Terribly unprofessional but not arriving and no response or refund
caylas2020
, Jan 2020
We were contacted the evening before to change the time of the tour. We arrived at the new time and the guide never arrived. The German guide arrived and could not get hold of the English guide. We are still yet to get a response, apology or refund. Terrible and complete waste of our time!!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
We have received no email or phone message from this customer. Unfortunately the English tour had already started the tour, so its possible this customer was late to the meeting location point. If they asked for a refund, they are granted one ( as it is not up to us but up to the company they purchase from, namely trip advisor) If you have not received a refund yet, its better to contact trip advisor directly, as opposed to leaving a review, as we have again nothing to do with refunds and it is handled through customer service. We see you are extremely upset for missing our world renowned tour and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Holland.
star-2
Ok tour but no food
green91
, Oct 2019
The tour guide was friendly enough but he seems keen to finish quickly and there was no food. We seemed to dash from one spot to the next and only had 5 or 10 minutes in a shop to try some
star-1
Coffeeshop and cultural tour
Nomad781167
, Oct 2019
Where to begin.. first, our guide was at least 15 minutes late. It was confusing trying to find them.. they didn't have an orange umbrella or anything that made them stand out from the rest of the crowd, which was extra tough because of the rain. Then once our German guide (don't remember his name) showed up late, we headed to a cafe where there were some snacks and interesting info about marijuana in Amsterdam.. the legal bits, permitting, regulation etc. Then off to the first coffeeshop. Of all the cute coffeeshops we have passed in our numerous walks around the city, it was a bit of a shock to enter a seedy/dive shop. The vibe was weird as we walked in.. and esp after everyone smoked a little as the guide didn't do much to keep the pace or conversation about the educational bits going. At 4pm, (2 hrs into the 2.5 hr tour and only 1 stop down so far,) people started to ask about heading to the next stop, as we were running out of time. Since this was a cultural tour as well, he took us around to point out various buildings, which if it wasn't pouring out and freezing would've been cool. So we were getting soaked for about 25 mins and freezing before we got to our next shop, which we didn't enter as a group. Apparently it's a place that doesn't allow group tours, so as we stood out in the rain, he said we can go in if we wanted. Just seemed weird. By the time we reached the 2nd shop, it was already 430p (when the tour was supposed to be finished) and he offered to still take folks to the 3rd shop which we paid for, but since all the time passed and we all had other tours to get to, we disbanded and went separate ways. Few things that stood out that made this a 1 star: 1. Over 15 mins late to even meet us 2. Spent way too much time at Cafe and first shop which made us run out of time 3. Not enough info to keep everyone engaged throughout the tour 4. Didn't get to finish the tour we all paid extra for due to reasons above 5. Didn't check in with folks to see how they were feeling after they partook. There was someone in our group having a bad/weird reaction that he didn't even notice 6. Didn't have a backup plan for rain... We were all soaked and freezing and he still wanted to quiz us on what we thought certain tiles on the side of the building meant. Even with people commenting on how cold it was, it didn't prompt him to switch it up to ensure people were comfortable. 7. Can't be sure but it seemed like maybe he partook at some point as his energy and pace changed as well Honestly, there are so many opportunities to make this a worthwhile tour, but they haven't worked out those details. You'd be better off researching highly rated coffeeshops and visit on your own time. Do a Google search on the history of it's decriminalization while you partake and you'll have a much better time than we did.
star-5
Ahmazing
sharvey1913
, Oct 2019
In the beginning I thought that this would be just a "get high" tour Boy was I wrong! Eric made sure not only did we know the values of what Amsterdam possessed but the overall culture as well along with "gettin high" lol He was so kind and helpful. A tour that you must take!!
star-3
First hour is worth it....
MNHannah
, Oct 2019
The first hour of the tour provided the most value...an overview of the coffee shop culture, informative information about weed, etc. Then the visit to the first coffee shop is fine...a dive, but fine and helpful experience. After that, it almost seems like we were filling time and there was very little value to the remainder of the tour. And absolutely DO NOT purchase the 30 minute add on as it was a total waste of money. My suggestion for improving this tour? After the dive coffee shop, go to another coffee shop right away that is on the nicer side....and then call it a day.
star-3
Not sufficient warning over space cakes
Laura T
, Sep 2019
The tour itself was alright, great insight into the coffee shop culture (the other detours were probably unnecessary) but I wish our guide gave more sufficient warning over consumption of the space cakes. We were initially told “one each”, but my husband insisted we shared one between us (thank god) and also insisted we head back to the hotel after consuming (thank god). We had the worst night of our trip. And I could not stop throwing up. We told our guide we hadn’t touched any of this for maybe 10 years and he still said “one each”. The reason we did a tour was so we could have more guidance around trying hash brownies, so pretty disappointed we wrote off a whole night out of our 3 nights in Amsterdam.
star-1
Missed the tour
messy85
, Aug 2019
My flight was delayed I desperately tried to call the number they provided but no one ever answered ever!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Did you contact trip advisor/viator? they are available 24/7 and have both companies numbers, as we were not contacted by them we assume you did not contact them. If you need a refund they are available 7 days a week to assist, we are a small group of guides and have limited hours we are available. Hope to see you next time
star-1
Did not attend
traceymayersnapier
, Sep 2018
Our plane was delayed over an hour. There were 10 of us in total. I called the vendor, they couldn't wait or accommodate us. Is a refund possible?
star-5
our guide was so sweet and nice...she...
MegK
, Aug 2018
our guide was so sweet and nice...she really made this tour great! you get to stop at 2-3 coffee shops and get a little history lesson along the way...so interesting to hear how all this got started and why Amsterdam is the way it is today.
star-5
A good insight about the coffee shop...
SONAM J
, May 2018
A good insight about the coffee shop culture, where to get the stuff from and how to manage its effects. Highly recommended for the coffee shop visitors.

Product code: 8550P1

Explore Similar Things to Do