Recent Searches
Clear

Traditional Oak Ship Whale Watching Tour From Husavik

star-4.5196 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Húsavík, Iceland
Traditional Oak Ship Whale Watching Tour From Husavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Realize your dreams of watching humpback whales in their natural environment on a 3-hour Original Whale Watching tour from Húsavik, capital of whale watching in Iceland. After selecting a departure time to suit your schedule, climb aboard a traditional Icelandic oak ship and set sail for a prime whale-watching destination on the ocean. With luck, marvel at the majestic mammals as they dive and plunge before your eyes, listening to informative commentary from your guide as you observe.
  • 3-hour morning, afternoon or evening whale watching tour from Húsavík
  • Marvel at humpback whales in their natural environment
  • Learn about the behaviour and breeding habits of the whales from your expert guide
Saved to wishlist!
Light refreshments
Live commentary on board
Professional guide
Pick-up
Shoes
North Sailing - Húsavík Whale Watching , Garðarsbraut, 640 Húsavík, Iceland

Meeting point is at North Sailing ticket office in Husavik at least 30 minutes before departure. Just look for a brown glass building with whale drawings and green letters on top saying Whale Watching Centre. Across the street from the Husavik Church.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 125 travelers
  • OPERATED BY North Sailing
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Traditional Oak Ship Whale Watching Tour From Husavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Traditional Oak Ship Whale Watching Tour From Husavik.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Traditional Oak Ship Whale Watching Tour From Husavik?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Traditional Oak Ship Whale Watching Tour From Husavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Traditional Oak Ship Whale Watching Tour From Husavik?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Traditional Oak Ship Whale Watching Tour From Husavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "I would suggest trying this at sunny day if possible." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
196 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 196 reviews
star-5
The weather was not the...
Luke_H
, Aug 2022
The weather was not the best, but the crew got us to see a humpback whale. The captain kept the encounter respectful and didn't harass the whale. Crew were helpful and informative
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
The (voluntary) Code of Conduct regarding whale watching is very important to us. We make all attempts to not harass the whales or make them uncomfortable as we are guests in their environment. Thank you for your review!
star-5
Well organised trip
Karenenash
, Jul 2022
Well organised trip. Very friendly and informative staff. We were lucky with the weather and even luckier to see 3 Humpback Whales.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Sounds like you had a great time! We make sure our staff are well trained to provide info about marine animals and they are all super keen to pass on that information. :) We hope you can come see us again when you are next in the Húsavík area!
star-2
Unprofessional trip
John_H
, Jul 2022
Slow boat, broken megafone, couldn’t hear the info; Quite unprofessional staff who couldn’t park the boat when returning to harbour
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are really sorry to hear that your tour with us wasn´t enjoyable. Please reach out to us at the North Sailing Office- 354 464 7272 - to discuss your experience with us further. Takk.
star-5
Being so close to so many...
Tal_M
, Jul 2022
Being so close to so many whales was great . Serving hot chocolate was a nice final although not hot
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Great to hear that you saw so many whales up close- the last few days have had some pretty amazing sightings here in the Bay!
star-5
That was an amazing...
Tamara_B
, Jul 2022
That was an amazing experience! In our 3 hours on the water we saw 4 humpback whales eating and diving in the bay. They where curious and came very close to the boat. The captain was very careful and stopped the boat in a good distance so that the whales could deside if they want to come closer or not. And they did! One of them even dived below our boat. I will never forget that and can only highly recommend that experience. Please also do not eat any whale meat in Reykjavik, whaling has to be stopped and these animals are much more beautiful alive.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it sounds very memorable indeed- you must have been so excited when the whale dived under the boat! We are always mindful that we are visitors to the whales´ habitat, and give them space as much as possible. We appreciate you sharing your recommendation of our tour, and hope to welcome you onboard again in the future.
star-1
Very bad experience
TULLIO_B
, Jun 2022
Big issues due to 1.bad sea conditions ( waves and strong wind) 2.no whales In general very bad experiences
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
I am very sorry to hear your recent experience with us was not great. The weather has been very bad here lately and that has lead to some pretty rough sea conditions. It´s very unfortunate that you didn´t get to see whales, our other tours have been more successful. Please reach out to us directly as we would love to hear more feedback from you. Again, our apologies for your experience.
star-4
Ok
Valentine_G
, Jun 2022
Friendly staff but only spend like 45 mins watching only 4-5 whales. Went on other whale watching trips before (not in Iceland) and it was so much better so a little bit disappointed by this..
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for leaving a review about your tour with us. Nature is always a little unpredictable, but our captains and guides do work hard to ensure that customers can view whales for as long as possible on the tours. Our boats travel to where the whales are located in the Bay, and sometimes the whales can indeed be quite far out. We hope that you will consider taking a tour with North Sailing the next time you visit North East Iceland.
star-4
Happy we went!
Claire_C
, Jun 2022
We really enjoyed this experience! We were plenty warm with the overalls they provided, and we lied the hot chocolate! It was an hour out to the place that was best for whale watching, and then an hour back. We saw dolphins and a certain whale several times (although the staff cannot control the wild life). The guide entertained us with fun facts about all the creatures we were seeing. The only thing that would have made it better would be to see more whales!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Yes, we agree that more whales are always good- but we are happy that you were able to at least enjoy one whale and some dolphins on your tour with us! We are happy to hear that the experience was an enjoyable one for you and we hope that you join us again the next time you are in Husavik.
star-5
Amazing
Keith_A
, Jun 2022
We were so lucky to see an extraordinary display from humpbacks breaching several times. Even the tour guide was amazed.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
That is great to hear Keith! It is always amazing when we get these great displays by the whales, they still impress us daily here! We hope you get to experience something like that again, and that you allow us to share that experience the next time you are in Husavik.
star-5
Amazing whale-watching experience in Husavik. 10/10 recommend!!
Hunter_H
, Jun 2022
We had an amazing trip from Husavik with the whale watching tour. It is never guaranteed that you will see whales, but we saw TWO blue whales and a humpback whale up close!! Our trip turned into 4 hours from 3 because we were all having so much fun and kept wanting to view the whales. I do recommend taking some medicine prior to boarding to prevent seasickness, but other than that, it was an amazing trip. I would recommend this to everyone who visits the northern coast!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Awesome! Blue whales are not as common here in the Bay, and I am so happy that you got lucky! Sometimes we do run our tours a little longer because who wants to return back to the harbour when you are looking at whales?!! Come see us again soon!
star-5
Eco-friendly view into the life of whales in Arctic waters
Pari_S
, May 2022
It is thrilling to see these magnificent sea mammals, but the most memorable part of the trip was the information shared by the marine biologists and the sensitivity with which the animals were treated in their habitats.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you so much for your review. We are very proud of our guides, and the knowledge and passion they bring to their work! We also still get very excited every time we see whales and dolphins in the Bay! We hope that you choose North Sailing for whale watching the next time you are in the area!
star-4
Great experience to do in the summer when there are more whales
Lorenza_P
, Apr 2022
The guide (a Spanish biologist) was very good! Sadly we didn’t see any whales, also because April is not really the right season
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Lorenz, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, we highly appreciate it. April can be a bit unpredictable when it comes to whale sightings, and we have to remember that we're dealing with the wild nature on all our tours - we never know what to expect. I hope we'll see you again someday when the whales are up for a visit in the bay! Kind regards, Þórný
star-3
Whale spotting - unfortunately no whales
Kristie_L
, Apr 2022
Unfortunately we did not see any whales. Which is obviously disappointing as it was the reason we visited. But also we understood there was a chance this would happen as it’s whales in their natural habitat. The warm overalls and the crew were nice and friendly and the scenery was still great. We are not able to come back for a free tour for as long as we want which I also think is a great thing!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Kristie, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. You are right, this is the wild nature we're dealing with and therefore we can never guarantee any sightings. The chances of seeing whales in this area are though very high in the summer, but it can be a bit more tricky in the beginning of the season (March/April). However, there's always a chance, and sometimes we get a fantastic whale watching early in the season - we never know what to expect :) I'm happy to hear that you appreciated the overalls and our nice staff :) We offer everyone who don't see any whales a complimentary ticket which doesn't expire, and I hope you'll be able to use yours if you're back in Iceland someday :) Thank you for your review, and happy Easter! Kind regards, Þórný
star-2
Cold, Boring Trip if No Whales
Elyse_P
, Nov 2021
The staff were very nice and the boat was just fine, but an expensive "site seeing" trip around the coast with no whales. They do offer a free trip if you ever want to return to Husavik and spend 3 hours outside on a cold boat.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Elyse_P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It saddens me that you were not happy with the tour. Since we're dealing with the wild nature, sightings can never be guaranteed. We do have 98% success rate on our tours in Húsavík, but unfortunately it happens that we don't find whales from time to time. We always offer complimentary tickets to our passengers whenever there are no sightings on our tours, like you mentioned in your review. These tickets do not expire, and we would be happy to welcome you on board with us whenever you come back to Iceland. Hopefully it won't be as cold as you describe, and you'll get a better experience :) Warm regards, Þórný
star-5
Great tour with Hot Chocolate at the end!
Bryn_G
, Aug 2021
This is the best whale watching tour I've ever been on. I know nature is fickle, but I have never seen so many whales on ONE tour! The tours all communicate with each other so everyone gets a chance to see something on their tour. Fantastic!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Bryn, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Sounds like you had a wonderful experience with us! We hope to welcome you again sometime! Kind regards, Þórný
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wales Waschung show
Pierre_J
, Aug 2021
All was Perfect , Wetter, staff, Wales but WhatsApp us nos annoying me US that you force me to Write 100 Charakters, this us the only Bad Point of this experience
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Pierre, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour and that you were satisfied with our services. Thank you for the kind words about our staff :) Kind regards, Þórný
star-5
Whale watching tour
Kathleen_R
, Jun 2021
Seeing more whales than anticipated! Crew was excellent. They took the time to provide valuable information.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for writing this wonderful review. I'm very happy that you enjoyed the tour and that it exceeded your expectations! Thank you so much for the kind words about the crew :) I hope we'll see you again sometime! Kind regards, Þórný
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Whales watching - never more
Martin_H
, Jul 2020
Strong north wind caused big waves on the ocean and it was raining, temperature 3 dgrees Celsius (in mid summer), but the trip was not canceled. The boat was so bumpy, that about 1/3 of the visitors were vomiting over the board and did not enjoy the trip at all. As the waves were going sometimes over the board, a lot of visitors had their shoes completly wet . There were no snack or drinks served as promissed.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Martin, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this honest review. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience, and that you were not satisfied with our services. I want to assure you that we find it very important to inform our passengers about the weather and sea conditions before every tour. I’m very sorry if that was not the case when you came to us. In the summer of 2020, the COVID-19 situation was getting quite bad, and for the safety of our crew and passengers we decided to stop offering refreshments to minimize the risk of infection. I hope you can understand. We appreciate your review, and hope that we get the chance of welcoming you on board with us again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Þórný
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
whale watching
SameerGheewala
, Jul 2020
a great morning on the peninsula with an experienced team which resulted in amazing whale watching and bird watching too. friendly , courteous and helpful staff overall,
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I'm so happy that you enjoyed the tour and were satisfied with our services. Hopefully we'll see you again someday :) Kind regards, Þórný
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A great morning
Sameer_G
, Jul 2020
great tour, very friendly and experienced team- knows the peninsula well and a good few hours watching whales in the wild.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write TWO such lovely reviews! We highly appreciate your kind words. Kind regards, Þórný

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Traditional Oak Ship Whale Watching Tour From Husavik
Traditional Oak Ship Whale Watching Tour From Husavik

star-4.5196

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$78.20

star-4.555

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.67

star-5149

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.56

star-4.540

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$76.64

star-4.555

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$95.93

star-4.579

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.552

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00

star-4215

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$80.29

star-4.550

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$97.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations