Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Northern Lights 4x4 Jeep Tour from Akureyri

star-4.5
|
Akureyri, Iceland

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


iconFlexible
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Go in search of the Northern Lights on a nighttime tour from Akureyri. Travel by 4x4 Jeep outside of town to escape any light pollution, and watch the dark sky for one of Mother Nature’s most spectacular shows. This area of northern Iceland is one of the best places to see the lights, also known as Aurora Borealis, so don’t miss the chance while you’re here. Hot chocolate and an Icelandic doughnut will keep you warm and awake while you wait for the lights to appear.
  • Northern Lights tour from Akureyri
  • Take a 4x4 Jeep ride outside the city to wait for the lights to appear
  • Hot cocoa and a twisted doughnut included
  • Small-group tour limited to eight people provides a more personalized experience
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Hot cocoa drink
twisted doughnut (Icelandic "Kleina"
Food and drinks, unless specified

Departure Point

Hof, Strandgata 12, 600 Akureyri, Iceland

Traveler pickup is offered

Departure Time

10:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • The Northern Lights are a natural phenomenon. Sightings cannot be guaranteed even if the tour is operated
  • The Northern Lights 4×4 JEEP tour is dependent on the weather and sky conditions and we reserve the right to cancel at any time. If the evening tour goes ahead and the Northern Lights are not seen, we will offer the trip again for free next time we have a booking.
  • If you book a northern lights bus tour but conditions do not allow us to run the tour during your stay. You will receive a full refund.
  • OPERATED BY Star Travel Iceland

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
18 Reviews
4 stars
0
1 star
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-5 of 18 reviews
star-5
Amazing Aurora
Seijo_E
, Feb 2020
The experience was amazing. Reynir picked us up at the hotel and drove us outside the town to escape light pollution. Though the sky was mostly clouded, he found a couple of cloudless spots. Shortly after parking, the aurora showed up and were able to see it for about half hour, until the clouds covered them. All this while having hot chocolate and Icelandic doughnuts.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Thank you for a wonderful night and a great review
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Northern Lights Experience
ear718
, Feb 2020
Thank you so very much for a wonderful experience! Reynir is a very seasoned guide who generously shared his knowledge and expertise, right alongside his friendliness and warmth. His experience with the Northern lights was the reason we were able to see the lights at the right time and in the right location. We cannot wait to relive our memories by seeing his beautiful photographs. One thing to keep in mind is that vehicles such as the one we rode in, while perfect for the weather, the back row is challenging to enter/exit for those with mobility limitations. Otherwise, very comfortable and roadworthy.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for a wonderful night and a great review
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Northern Lights 4x4 Jeep Tour from Akureyri (max 6 in jeep)
CLye2019
, Oct 2019
It was a disappointment when we're pickup by a normal van instead of the booked 4x4 Jeep which we were very much looking forward to. The driver guide wasn't sociable and we were brought to his 'perfect spot' which was before a tunnel, and blocked by a hill/mountain. It was a very low possibility to catch aurora on 1 Oct, but i guess my birthday charm worked the magic and were so surprised when aurora suddenly appeared before us. This tour would have been perfect if we knew in advance we're not getting the jeep. A nice gesture will be to offer another night to view the lights or be compensated in refund would have been much appreciated.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Charis Lye Our 6 person jeep broke down before the tour and we had to take you in a mini-bus that night, but it was still maximum 6 person for the tour so you had a lot of space for you, sorry for that you did not have the jeep. Something like this can happen and It was good that you saw the Northern lights, we always offer another tour for free if we don´t catch the lights. The guide told me that you saw the Northern lights that evening, thank you for your time for the review. You are welcome to contact me if you have any question at reynir@startravel.is All the best Reynir
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing experience!
sjoyler
, Sep 2019
Reynir was a great guide! He took us out where there were no other spectators and it was like having a private show! He took photos on his camera, capturing some amazing views and emailed them to us the next day. The hot chocolate and doughnut was a nice touch on a cold evening. Highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you for taking a time to give us review, it was a great night with you. All the best Reynir
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Northern Lights
Nomad26321690191
, Mar 2019
Unfortunately bad weather arrived and our only chance slowly gave way to no possibility. Disappointed. Feel they should give you a voucher to redo. Jeep driver was awesome and showed us Godafoss which made the ride much better.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thank you so much for taking your time to write us a review and for choosing Star Travel. We always offer a second chance if the Northern Lights do not show up. If you come to Iceland again please contact me and we find another day. Email: reynir@startravel.is All the best Reynir
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 25963P3

Explore Similar Things to Do